Estee Lauder Sensuous

3.9

248 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/19/2015 9:21:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I just treated myself to a bottle of this for my birthday recently, after testing it and wanting it for quite a while. Too pricey at the department store, so I searched online. Best deal was at overstock.com.. This is Eau de Parfum and 1 or 2 sprays really lasts.. I can smell it on my clothes for a day or 2 after spraying it.. Does anyone remember Flex Shampoo and Conditioner? I used to use this in the 1970's. I would say my first impression of this fragrance is that it reminds me a bit of the conditioner, but better... Sweet, somewhat spicy and woody.. I really like it. I wouldn't classify this as a floriental or an oriental by any means (I would say that about Opium, or something of the like) I guess it would be more of the "woody" class.. I would say it is more of a fall/winter scent, but I will probably use this year round, both day/night and office wear, just don't overspray as it's potent.
This has a nice sillage and lasts very well.. I have sprayed on my skin and clothes and both ways hold well. On overstock.com, I got a 1.7 oz. spray bottle of eau de parfum, plus $2.95 shipping, for about 40-43 dollars.. That's about 20 or so dollars below retail.. SCORE!

I highly recommend trying this fragrance.



on 11/15/2014 10:57:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Silver, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I kept trying this in the store and realized it seemed a little different each time I used it. I finally purchased it and found if I apply right after a shower while my skin is still damp it lightens the fragrance and I love it...

It is long lasting but not too heavy....I think it has a sweet vanilla smell and one light spray last all day. I think this was a good chose for me...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/24/2014 9:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I first smelled this years ago and fell in love with its woodsy warm scent and have loved it since. The top notes are jasmine, magnolia, and lily which are noticeable, but the jasmine are most noticeable to me. The middle notes are amber, wood, and ylang-ylang. The amber and wood are very distinct to me with a touch ylang-ylang. The base notes sandalwood, mandarin orange, pepper, and white honey which come out on me.

I find this a comforting and very warm. It has longevity and sillage is moderate. It will leave a small trail.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2014 8:58:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely adore this fragrance. Love the fresh, powder, warmth & comfort of this. Will purchase this repeatedly. This could be a year round scent. Day or night. Any occasion.
:) :) :) Very happy with this purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2014 6:11:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I tested this (also) today at the store. Personally, I think this is a lot like Modern Muse but with more vanilla and sweetness (honey?) in it. Having said that, I love vanilla and this didn't have enough of it. Not a bad scent whatsoever. It just didn't "do it" for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2014 3:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love the smell of this fragrance for I love spicy scents but it doesn't last long. After about four hours it's completely gone which is very disappointing for Estee Lauder. I hope to find something similar to this that has more longevity. Will not repurchase.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I couldn’t have named it better even if I’d tried. Its oozes sensuality with just a hint a sweet. Pssssstt, this one will get you the maximum compliments from the opposite sex.
Please stop by if you get a chance http://blue-arc-en-ciel.blogspot.in/


on 12/24/2013 9:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Very sweet and warm. More of a fall/winter fragrances, not that there is ever a fall or winter here in Florida. Very sweet yet spicy. Makes me think of snuggling up by the fireplace with a throw blanket on and a cup of hot cocoa.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 5/22/2013 5:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought the minis set of Estée Lauder and hated all of them, they all smell like old lady,


on 5/11/2013 8:58:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Ahh, Sensuous sounded so promising -- fronted by Gwynneth Paltrow & other models -- but no! This is described as "Woody Amber" on the EL display, and that's usually my type -- skin-musky scents are as well. Unfortunately, for me, Sensuous missed the mark.

Why so thin? Why the black pepper note? And why so much honey? To be "sensuous", it should have been smoooooooth! And deep! And rich! And musky! And well-blended! Not thin & black peppery & honey-sweetened! Bah!! The black pepper just never stops prickling my nose.

Yet I did get a compliment once, wearing this -- from a friend of my son's. It's just okay for me. I wish it could have been a signature, a holy grail (esp since it's so easy-to-find, even in my small town) -- but the notes never do come together into a "sensuous" blend, for me anyway -- because it's thin & sheer (were they trying to make it fresh?), black peppery, and quite honey-sweetened.

However, it is still in the golden/warm/woody/ambery family, and that's my wheelhouse, so I'm kind of on the fence with this scent. I do own a bottle, and I guess I'd probably repurchase. It's not the smooth, rich, deep, sensuous "woody amber" I was hoping for, but it's still a good one to have around. I think Gucci Guilty Intense (which I gave 5 stars to) is much closer to what I was hoping for and expecting from something named "sensuous" -- either like that or something more "nude" -- or like a natural musk scent (I'm a musk hound).

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top