NARS • Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Dolce Vita • Lipstick

rated 4.4(48 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 omgitsjenny on 11/23/2014 4:34:00 AM more reviews by omgitsjenny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This shade is so flattering against my olive skin tone. I absolutely love it. It gives me that pouty Scarlett Johansson look from Lost in Translation. You can either line and fill in your entire lip or just dab in the right amount for a very classic, understated look. It's matte as well, but not really drying at all.

My only gripe is that it constantly needs to be sharpened, so a lot of product is wasted when doing so. WIll continue to repurchase regardless.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DrGem on 10/2/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by DrGem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this stuff! Tried it on at the make up counter today and loved it straight away. A beautiful colour which even my husband noticed when he saw me that evening. Unfortunately it's only sold at a couple of places in the UK and is sold out everywhere. I plan to keep looking!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jtbeautyx3 on 9/20/2014 12:27:00 PM more reviews by jtbeautyx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I pulled this out today and wore it for the first time. I now know why everyone raves about this lip pencil. The formula is fantastic, super comfortable on the lips, and dare I say it - the price is justified (although I try not to think about how much I paid for this). This color is so unique because it doesn't look opaque but it IS. When I think about opaque lip colors, I think about how saturated and intense the color is but Dolce Vita is sheerly opaque...if that makes sense? It's very natural. My natural lip color is really pigmented but this color softened it up and made me look polished. Definitely an interview/work appropriate color. Great job Nars!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deanna424 on 9/16/2014 3:59:00 PM more reviews by deanna424

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This might be my new favorite lip color. It's a beautiful matte rose that looks extremely flattering on my NW15 skin. It's so easy to just throw on and go for everyday without being too understated or over the top. I always get compliments when I wear this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rmys on 9/15/2014 10:38:00 AM more reviews by rmys

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Perfect lip pencil ever

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blair_77_1999 on 8/16/2014 2:36:00 AM more reviews by blair_77_1999

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This color is unique but it applies gritty. Maybe I got a bad pencil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 graciegelz on 7/1/2014 7:48:00 PM more reviews by graciegelz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

love this! the color is unique and inviting, it feels soft and light on my lips, lasts a long time, and the packaging is adorable! overall I would definitly buy it again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sexyrishey on 6/18/2014 5:43:00 PM more reviews by sexyrishey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lipstick that i actually bought another one! The only bad thing that I could comment on this is they don't stay that long that I have to keep reapplying again and again. But over all am a big fan of dolce vita!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 suzieyellow on 6/3/2014 10:21:00 AM more reviews by suzieyellow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Argh, I hate to give any NARS product a bad or mediocre review because I love NARS to pieces. And I love the formulation of their Velvet Matte lip pencils. They have such a beautiful but not drying finish.

I just hate this colour so much. It's like this brick red that doesn't really show up all that well on the lips. I have the blush in Dolce Vita and it's lovely! I just don't know why the lip colour is so fail. It's just extremely unflattering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hwnpunch on 4/15/2014 10:23:00 AM more reviews by hwnpunch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of those products that I keep trying to make work because it was a ridiculously over priced mistake to buy. The color is a+ very pretty universally flattering shade but that's about the only positive thing I've got. Matte lip colors need to have a great formula that keep lips hydrated so that it wears well. This dries my lips out so badly that even if I exfoliate before applying, within an hour this looks patchy and my lips look gross and dehydrated. Formula wise I've used $3 lip crayons from Sally's that wear better than this. You can apply over a matte lip balm which helps but lessens the staying power and for $25 you shouldn't need a second lip product to make this work. Perhaps I got a dud because this gets great reviews but I'd never consider rebuying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products