NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Dolce Vita

4.3

52 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

c12 13 Alkyl Ethylhexanoate, Candelilla Cera (Euphorbia Cerifera Wax), Polyethylene, Cyclomethicone, Phenyltrimethicone, Silica, Dimethicone, Sucrose Acetate Isobutyate, Hydrogenated Coco Glycerides, Di Calcium Phosphate, Quaternium 18 Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, Aroma (Flavor), Lecithin, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Citric Acid, May Contain ( /-): Mica, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Red 30 (CI 73360), Yellow 10 Lake (CI 47005), Red 6, Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Red 22 Lake (CI 45380), Carmine (CI 75470), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163)


on 4/15/2015 12:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Of all the NARS Dolce Vita products, my favorite is the lipstick, followed by the Velvet Matte lip pencil, and lastly, the lip gloss. I found the VM lip pencil to be the warm MLBB with nearly brick tones. Formula is pigmented but dry, and has a bit of a waxy taste/smell as time goes on. Not my favorite Velvet Matte lip pencil or Dolce Vita lip product. I would consider the lipstick to be neutral and the lip gloss to be substantially cooler in tone.



on 4/12/2015 12:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love it! Matte not drying. Gives my natural lip colour some umph! Great as everyday wear, brings life to the lips for people who prefer the nude look esp with brown/olive skin tones


on 4/11/2015 12:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

received free samples of both this and 'cruella' in the sephora birthday gift this year. not impressed. the pencils require sharpening, yet the gift package didn't include one, so it seems like a cheap ploy to get people to buy a chubby sharpener in order to use these. that small annoyance aside, the colors themselves aren't all that spectacular. of the two, i prefer the dolce vita -- a muted pink similar to my natural lip color-- but the staying power isn't there, and the consistency's a little too stiff/waxy. i'm not really a fan of mattes in general though. this was my first try with NARS products, and based on this experience i don't see myself venturing further into this brand. i'm a MAC, bobbi brown, occasionally chanel person, so it's hard for others to follow those brands in my opinion. no offense, NARS --thanks, but no thanks.


on 4/3/2015 12:24:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this lip pencil. It is very natural and gives very nice natural color to my lips. The lip pencil is surprisingly not drying and stays on for long periods. When I compare this Nars lip pencil with Bobbi Brown art sticks, Nars seems more natural in color, but BB has more staying power for me. I use BB Dusty Rose/Pink and Nars Dolce Vita. Dolce Vita is a very natural color and needs more color to give a pigmented look, it also needs sharpening each time and runs out fast. BB is very pigmented and a little goes a long way. BB also has more staying power - while it transfers to other items, the high pigmentation also allows color to remain on the lips. However, I like both and use Dolce Vita more primarily due to the more natural color; BB seems too pigmented sometimes. The main downside of Dolce Vita is that it is very hard to find - due to it's popularity it sells out very fast.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2014 4:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This shade is so flattering against my olive skin tone. I absolutely love it. It gives me that pouty Scarlett Johansson look from Lost in Translation. You can either line and fill in your entire lip or just dab in the right amount for a very classic, understated look. It's matte as well, but not really drying at all.

My only gripe is that it constantly needs to be sharpened, so a lot of product is wasted when doing so. Will continue to repurchase regardless.


on 10/2/2014 6:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this stuff! Tried it on at the make up counter today and loved it straight away. A beautiful colour which even my husband noticed when he saw me that evening. Unfortunately it's only sold at a couple of places in the UK and is sold out everywhere. I plan to keep looking!


on 9/20/2014 12:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I pulled this out today and wore it for the first time. I now know why everyone raves about this lip pencil. The formula is fantastic, super comfortable on the lips, and dare I say it - the price is justified (although I try not to think about how much I paid for this). This color is so unique because it doesn't look opaque but it IS. When I think about opaque lip colors, I think about how saturated and intense the color is but Dolce Vita is sheerly opaque...if that makes sense? It's very natural. My natural lip color is really pigmented but this color softened it up and made me look polished. Definitely an interview/work appropriate color. Great job Nars!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2014 3:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This might be my new favorite lip color. It's a beautiful matte rose that looks extremely flattering on my NW15 skin. It's so easy to just throw on and go for everyday without being too understated or over the top. I always get compliments when I wear this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2014 10:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Perfect lip pencil ever


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This color is unique but it applies gritty. Maybe I got a bad pencil.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
187 Reviews
Provocalips
62 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
Back to Top