Bobbi Brown • Long Wear Cream Eye Shadow in Cement • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(32 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Burgandy1973 on 6/7/2014 5:39:00 PM more reviews by Burgandy1973

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Made my Hazel/Green eyes Pop.... Needed a new shadow and this was it! Its easy to apply with some mascara and I am good to go.... Did last all day with no creasing and easy to take off.... Very pricey though but treated myself for summer with a new look....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mementomori on 1/9/2014 6:40:00 AM more reviews by mementomori

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

stats: NW10/BB Alabaster, blue-grey-green eyes which are a little hooded and oily.

I've had this cream shadow for the longest time before I recognized its worth.

I must have bought it around late 2010, and ... it didn't do much. As in: you kinda had to know it was there. The colour pretty much disappeared on my lids right after applying it (on top of an eyeshadow primer, which I always use); I guess I must have rather strong grey undertones? Eh, idk. Texture-wise, I was a little disappointed: while it was easy to apply with my fingers and didn't apply patchy or anything, it made my (early-mid 20s) lids look crepe-y and dry. No bueno. Off into the Unloved Stuff pile it went. I did try it again from time to time, and I wasn't wooed.

So, why use this thing? While it didn't look exactly flattering worn alone, its staying power was impressive. So while it doesn't make for a great base colour - which would increase the crepeyness - I have found that it makes for a great mixing colour. So I'm dipping my left ring finger into the BB Cement, my right ring finger into another (cream or loose pigment) colour, rub my fingers to mix the products and apply the mixture directly onto my lids. I'm not very much into art-on-my-eyelids wizardry, so a wash of colour usually works best for me.

So far, I've had great results mixing Cement with my Chanel Illusion d'Ombre in Epatant, which on its own has terrible glitter fallout on my cheeks as the day wears on. Add Cement to glittery stuff and it'll tame them. Of course, it also decreases the intensity of the glitter shadow, but that's okay. I'm not getting younger anyway.
Another good mixture is using the Shiseido Shimmering Cream colours - for example BR709 (Sable). The Shiseido colours are about medium-pigmented and have a nice sheen to them, but can be a little flimsy on my lids. Adding the rather dry Cement makes for a better staying power and a toned-down sheen. I just add a little of Mac Vex around the edges of my uniform wash of colour and it makes for a great greenish-rosy-taupe eye.

About the packaging: the glass jar looks pretty, but the cream product itself is packed very densely with a rather small opening. Makes it a little harder to get out with my fingers (I've used up a third by now, I think), but the good thing about that is that the product doesn't dry out as it would in a glass jar with a bigger diameter; the surface exposed to oxygen is smaller than in, say, Maybelline's Colour Tattoos and therefore can be used longer without drying out. As I said, I've had this product since about 2010 and it's still going just as strong as in the beginning. There's a bit of a drying line around the edges, but it's minor.

Eh, considering that I was about to toss this product in a bin, it's been going places in my stash! I can see myself rebuying it once I've used it up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 12/7/2013 7:25:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am NW20, almost black hair (3N), brown eyes. I use Shore for spring and summer looks because it takes all the pink out of my eye and neutralizes the area, but it can be a touch too warm for these cooler months. I decided to try Cement for this for fall/winter. Cement wears much like MAC's Blanc Type did. Now, let me add, Blanc Type made me look like an extra from Twilight-I hated it. But Cement is a bit more wearable as it falls in the more greige category. If you are a fan of Blanc Type, you will love Cement. That said, this is working for me well for my purple/pink looks I am doing now. I think perhaps Malt or the new LE Maybelline Color Tattoo in Nude Pink, may be better color choices, but Cement is working nicely. There are just times when it skews a touch off on me. While I use the BB shadows as stand alone e/s, I also use them as a base. Regardless, I start my days with these then add shadow as desired. it does make an amazing base for my cooler toned eye looks and allows me to wear just this with a bold lippie and it looks amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DBelgium on 10/1/2013 3:58:00 PM more reviews by DBelgium

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Hi all, this is a super product. But I must admit that I never use it as eye shadow. I use it as an eye shadow base. So I put it on after my cleansing/moisturizing routine in the morning. And I can assure you that this stuff is the perfect base for any eye shadow! It is easy enough to apply, I use my finger tip. It does not need much to cover the eye lid. So usually it lasts for a few months or so. It dries really fast, takes about 20 seconds. Then I do apply my "real" eye shadow. I use the powder eye shadow of Bobbie Brown by the way, but on the weekends I also use other firms. But it does not matter: the eye shadow stays on beautifully with this base. Really, I am more the oily skin type. And very often I do not even need to refresh my eye shadows in the evening if I am headed to a dinner or something. And even if I do it's easy enough: I simply reapply the cream eye shadow over the old one, and add new powder eye shadow. I know, that sounds awful, and if you have the time you should do it properly. But I am often in a hurry and the result is then still great.
So this eye shadow is one of the very few products that I have in use for several years already and will continue to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 9/10/2013 3:08:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My go to "no make up look" eye base. I use Cement on its own to even out discoloration on my lids, it adds just a hint of light taupe and suits my cool toned complexion perfectly. I am NW15 with light blue/grey/green eyes for reference. For warmer skin tones Malted is the better option, on a friend of mine with NC30 skin Cement looked ashy while Malted was perfect. To each their own. Lasting power of these matte cream shadows is excellent. I am not a huge fan of the glass jars with the small opening, it is hard to get to the second half of the product and, albeit the packaging looks beautiful, it is dense, heavy glass and not very practical for travel. I have not had any issues with product drying out before finishing the jar. So only two stars for packaging, but this is overall a five star product, as is the powder shadow version of Cement. Retails for $25 for .12oz/3.5g.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PianoGirl1985 on 7/30/2013 1:23:00 PM more reviews by PianoGirl1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Beautiful color and a nice product BUT before you spend $25 on a small pot you can get this color by mixing Maybelline's Tough as Taupe color tattoo and MAC's paint pot in Painterly. If you don't enjoy MAC's paint pot and their staying power, the color tattoo really makes them work better and last longer.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shazzer1976 on 7/8/2012 3:27:00 PM more reviews by Shazzer1976

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great product. It was used recently on me in a MU demonstration at a BB counter. It is a great base for me for other eye shadows and to wear alone. It is a good match to my skin tone and hides any redness on my eyelids. My eye lids are quite wrinkly and this does not crease. I apply using an EcoTools eye brush. I could use my fingers but, as other reviewers have pointed out, the opening to the container is quite small and it is difficult to get you finger in and scoop out some of the product without getting it under your nails! Really pleased with my purchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TacoFlavoredKisses on 3/31/2012 11:42:00 PM more reviews by TacoFlavoredKisses

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Just like the previous review says- You need to apply these cream e/s's very thin and light, and then build from there if necessary. That way you can avoid creasing. THIS color is a MUST have! I am SO done with MAC Paint Pots. UGHHH, these make MAC Paint Pots seem like complete trash. This color is so pretty, and yet so basic and simple- It is like a Putty/Gray/Beige- Wearing this alone on the eyelid just makes your eyelid look FLAWLESS- I have worn this alone, nothing else, and it just makes me look so much more polished. The shade is not sparkly or shimmery in any way- this is a matte shade. I love, love LOVE these cream e/s's- and like I said, this one is a must-have!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liz91 on 6/10/2011 9:40:00 PM more reviews by liz91

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a light taupe (beige/gray) matte cream shadow. I originally gave this 5 lippies, changed it to 2 lippies, now I'm changing it back to 5 lippies. I thought this was creasing on me, but it turns out that you have to put on a light coat for it not to crease. If I do one light coat, wait awhile, then put another light coat over it, it won't crease. I feel like the idea of matte cream shadow is genius. These cream shadows seem to hold the color of whatever powder shadows I apply over them better than a regular primer. There is .12 oz of product in this compared to .17 oz in a MAC paint pot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gwynnie on 4/13/2011 12:49:00 PM more reviews by gwynnie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Great slightly cool neutral color - not too dark or light. It's my daily wear HG. The formulation is easy to swipe on with a finger yet doesn't really crease like most cream shadows. One jar lasts a while and doesn't dry out. I gave the packaging a 3 because the jar opening is so small that it's hard to dip your finger in without gouging the product with your fingernail (even mine which are clipped short).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Eye Shadow products