Essie • Island Hopping • Polishes

rated 4.1(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 9/25/2013 1:19:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Georgous color - between mauvy gray and brown. Absolutely love it!
Perfect for autumn and winter. Lasts for days with good top coat (I use Poshe).
I always get lots of compliments when wearing this color.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmherman on 9/15/2012 10:30:00 PM more reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I surprisingly adore this color. It is a nice neutral color. I know this might not be very neutral for others, but for me it is. Until recently I have been solely a neon polish gal. Not anymore!


This is a great mauvy rose color that looks brown in some light. Combined with CND Stickey base coat and Essie Good to Go top coat I got about 4 days of wear out of this polish. I had tip wear and only one small chip from working.


I usually have a new polish of some sort that I want to use and rarely want to repaint the previous color on my nails, but I seriously thought about repainting my nails this. I didn't because I have another new Essie polish I bought and felt I should use it or I'd feel badly for spending the money.


If this catches your eye try it out!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kirs13 on 3/5/2012 7:10:00 PM more reviews by Kirs13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

(Used with Essie base and Herome topcoat)

This is my first essie nail polish and overall I am happy with it. The application was a pain though. The brush is small and the consistenty is thin, so I had a hard time getting the right amonth on the brush, I either applied to much or too little and had to remove everything and start from scratch 3 times before I was satisfied with the result. I hope that I will get used to essie's formulars overtime and it will not such a hassel next time(Why I gave it 4 stars).

But when I had finally succeeded, I was very pleased. The color was exactly what I was looking for, a sort of muted purple. Making it interesting, but still nice for everyday.
It lasted almost a entire week without a chip, the longest I have ever experienced. Whether or not I will rebuy depends on whether or not I get used to the formular. If the application keeps being so difficult, I don't think so. But I am counting on it too get better, so I said yes. Will edit when I wear it again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ainacupcake on 3/4/2012 12:33:00 AM more reviews by ainacupcake

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Essie Island Hopping is a mauvey-gray perfect for in between seasons. Unlike other Essie formulas this applies streaky and thin but after 2 or even 3 coats you get an opaque finish. I brought this to my nail salon and even a professional could not get it right on the first coat! LOL But I do adore the colour, its a mauve but with an edge and not too girly girl. Looks great in medium to tanned skin- fingers and toes!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LauLau215 on 2/17/2012 1:16:00 PM more reviews by LauLau215

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beautiful purple - mauvy color with a little shine! Once you add your top clear coat tho, look out - shine city! It's beautiful and seems to last a week. I usually apply a clear coat every night just to be sure it lasts! I have received compliments on this as well. Very attractive color! Looks beautiful on toes too!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 foppery on 11/12/2011 9:46:00 PM more reviews by foppery

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Island Hopping is one of the prettiest shades I own, and the application is fine: on the thin side of Essie's formulas, but nothing unbearable. But I find that it chips within a day or two even with a topcoat. Luckily, I get bored with my polishes after a few days, so this isn't a real problem for me, but it may be for others.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Linlovesxo on 9/17/2011 12:05:00 PM more reviews by Linlovesxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Well well, this is one very few polishes that I donít know if I like.. or not. I know it sounds strange but some mornings Iíll wake up and will love it the next, not so much. I purchased it about two years ago in search of a midtone purple that wasnít too blue and this seem to fit the bill just fine. I wore it once and then for the following two years just seem to dismiss it. Like most Essieís, I love the packaging and the brush! Love the formulation and how itís two coats to glossy opaque goodness but the color is so blahhhh.. oh! and I've had it on my nails for the pass four days and no chips! hope this helps

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rainbowseason on 7/15/2011 10:49:00 AM more reviews by rainbowseason

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It's more runny than I thought it would be. 2 coat does the job for me and It looks super nice. I don't have any problem with it so far.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AnonymousOneThree on 9/6/2010 4:00:00 AM more reviews by AnonymousOneThree

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

ULTA was having a buy 2 get 1 free sale on Essie and OPI, and I was getting most of them for gifts but I saw this shade and decided to try it. I think it was one of those cases where it looks really nice in the row with all the other colors. When I got home, I thought about switching this with Bahama Mama, but decided to keep it. I regret that a lot. First of all, I prefer OPI's formula, which lasts longer on my nails. I do have other Essie colors, the formulas of which are fine. This one, however, is super thick and goopy, and very streaky. The brush is really thin, which makes it even harder to apply a nice even coat. As far as personal preference, I don't like the color on my skin tone (NW15-20). It makes my fingers look red. I really prefer dark colors, but thought that since it was summer I might try something different (OPI Dutch Tulips is as "summery" as I get). Too bad. This will go to my sister-in-law who likes these kinds of colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 liveitup on 6/1/2010 5:22:00 AM more reviews by liveitup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The color is gorgeous but not on me! I'm so sad, I really wanted this to work. I usually force drab colors (that I like in the jar) on my nails, but no matter how hard I tried telling myself it looks nice, it just didn't work. I'm fair skinned and it looked like a reddish, brownish, purplish dirt had stained the tips of my fingertips. Oh well, on to the next one.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products