MAC • Volcanic Ash Exfoliator • Scrubs

rated 3.7(136 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 Kdefrain on 4/16/2014 11:26:00 PM more reviews by Kdefrain

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Was very excited to try this product, because of all the small bumps that I had on my forehead. I really thought it would help, and I really wanted to like it. Sadly, it caused a breakout on my face every time that I used it. I would not recommend this product to anybody who has acne prone skin, seeing as it could make it worse. The only thing that I loved about this product was the color, and the smell. I used it in the morning before work and I would get whiffs of it during the day and it smelled sooooo yummy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 saabrinad on 3/21/2014 5:13:00 AM more reviews by saabrinad

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Other than the price, this exfoliator orks wonders for my skin. I have been staying away from any exfoliators with beads in them (Olay, Clean & Clear) due to the fact that they broke me out horribly. I literally looked like I was infested with hives on my cheeks after using Olay and Clean & Clear. Anyway, I would say that my skin is quite sensitive when it comes to exfoliation, and out of the few exfoliators I have come across thus far, MAC's volcanic ash has got to be my holy grail for wanting perfectly soft skin with no dry patches at all. Before using this exfoliator, my skin (esp nose, undereye, cheek areas) would always have dry patches after foundaiton application and trust me, that is a NO.
This exfoliator is gentle on my skin which is why I use it 3 times a week (Tues, Thurs & Sat). I really like the feeling of the beads dissolving. The scent is a bit odd; however, it does not bother me at all.
Overall, a really great exfoliator because it gets rid of my dry patches upon foundation application, leaves my skin extremely soft and is not rough at all. Would recommend and repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cainca on 12/8/2013 11:02:00 PM more reviews by cainca

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The crystals dissolve too quickly for my liking (20-30 seconds) and its far too heavily and artificially perfumed. It DOES work and its a pretty decent effective exfoliator overall. I much prefer the Rodan & Fields one I used before this though and will go back to that instead of buying more of this (though it is much, much more expensive than this product which is why I tried this one).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupjunkie11786 on 12/3/2013 4:34:00 AM more reviews by makeupjunkie11786

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This has become my favorite weekly facial exfoliant. (the one shown in the tube) I have skin that's more on the oily side and used to only use the St. Ives Apricot scrub. while that is a good one to i'm glad that I stumbled upon this one. I had read an article recently about the benefits of exfoliating once or twice a week and read that unfortunately some people do not realize that they can "overscrub" their skin and do more damage than good. Although I'm sure I haven't been doing so I really like how the exfoliating crystals in this melt a little while into rubbing it in your skin and how it just turns into a creamy/foaming cleanser. So it exfoliates your skin just enough but not too much. It leaves my skin feeling nice and clean with a healthy glow. No tight dry feeling and no greasiness. Just right. and I love the way it smells. I use this twice a week. The only thing I don't like about it is how messy it can be with the black dripping from your face when using it. I use it in the shower so it all goes down the drain, no big deal. But if you prefer to exfoliate at the sink you might not want to with this particular product. other than that ( and the price being on the higher side), I am very pleased with this product and would highly recommend to people with oily/combo or normal skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Meganmck on 10/1/2013 8:38:00 PM more reviews by Meganmck

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I need to start by saying that before purchasing this product, I had never bought a MAC skincare product. In all honesty, when I think of MAC, great skincare is not at all what comes to mind.

That being said, this product is making me change my mind...

This exfoliator is among the best I have ever tried. It works incredibly well and I'm not sure my skin has ever felt smoother after using any other exfoliator.

I have very sensitive skin that is prone to a lot of redness and acne. This product does not aggravate my skin whatsoever! This is practically unheard of for me as many skincare products are too harsh for my skin.

For the price of this product, about $38 where I live, you get 100 ml of product which is pretty generous I have to say. I also absolutely love the packaging, so shiny!

Overall, this product is a must try if you're in the market for a new/great exfoliator. I will definitely repurchase this product when I use this one up!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lyrics on 3/28/2013 9:14:00 AM more reviews by Lyrics

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A very expensive, non-effective, pimple-provoking, pore-clogging exfoliator. Haven't had those in a while.

It's very pretty in bathroom though. I think that's why I bought it.

Please don't fall for the scam and make the same mistakes I did!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fieeeh on 2/26/2013 4:25:00 PM more reviews by Fieeeh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

This is a gentle exfoliator to me - the sugar crystals melt a little too fast for my liking, I like to rub for a good couple minutes before rinsing off, and these go away within 20-30 seconds.
The Philosophy microdelivery peel is still my all time favorite exfoliator for baby smooth skin :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Merina on 2/15/2013 11:38:00 AM more reviews by Merina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Where has this been all my life?!?! I used to use MK's microdermabrasion kit and it would leave my skin smooth and silky but it's sooo scratchy and would hurt! Now that I've found MAC's volcanic ash, I will exclusively use this product. It has both cleansing and exfoliating properties. It's not scratchy at all and smells great! The sugar crystals "melt" into your skin and rinse off easily. My skin has never been so smooth and soft! $28 for a large 100 mL squeeze bottle with flip top cap and it was confirmed by a MAC employee that this is in their permanent line.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BrittGlass32510 on 12/29/2012 1:18:00 PM more reviews by BrittGlass32510

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Ahhhmazing product! Smells wonderful, makes my skin super soft and smooth. Total spa experience with this one!! I'm not sure if it's LE or not, but I will definitely be buying this again and I hope I don't run out anytime soon! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ricerice on 10/16/2012 8:27:00 PM more reviews by ricerice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product basically feels like scratchy sugar with black colouring and too much fragrance. You could easily get the same effect by using sugar and some olive oil. I wouldn't buy it again because I don't think it's worth the money. It's also a very messy product to use because of it's colour. By the way, a chemical exfoliator would be much better than this because this may cause harm to your skin because of its scratchiness.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Scrubs products