NIA 24 • Sun Damage Prevention 100% Mineral Sunscreen • Sunscreen

rated 3.8(37 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tindra78 on 8/4/2013 8:31:00 AM more reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I ordered this product in a mini- size to try it and have used it for 3 days. I have really, really problematic sensitive skin with adult acne and melasma at the same time. It's really hard finding a sunscreen that both LOOKS nice and doesn't cause more BREAKOUTS. It's all an trial and error. Right now I've used Elta Md clear for a long time, but during hot and humid summerdays my makeup literally melts off my face and I have to blot every hour, to be able to look normal - but who has got that time at work?? I need something more mattifyingSo, this product; this is quite a thin cream, but not a fluid. Feels really silicone-packed, and slides around at your face and fingers first when you apply it. It goes on bluish-white, but that disappears after some minute on my NC 15-skin.

It really keeps the makeup at place for many more hours than the Elta. Quite a matte look. Even if you get that "mineral look" that especially titanium dioxide usually gives (enlarged pores and skin looks more uneven) , you can hide that with a little makeup. Still this gives a more even look than the other mineral sunscreens I tested at the same time; Glycolix elite spf 30, Pca perfecting protection spf 30 and neostrata daytime protection cream spf 15.

Even if this looks ok, and keeps the makeup at place I would like a sunscreen that is much thinner. I'm also concerned about the amount of titanium dioxide in it, 9,45% - some say that TD is more tend to clog pores then Zink. It contains a lot of silicones ( even if the chinese sunscreens are even worse on this point) which usually break me out after a while.

I guess I'll have to order one more travelsize to be able to find out about if it affects the acne.

One con is that it's hard to find from Europe...

But until now, I'd give it 3,5 lippies if I could.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 estubbs on 4/4/2013 12:16:00 PM more reviews by estubbs

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I received a sample of this from the dermatologist when I had an annual skin cancer check. I really don't like it.

First, it has a terrible smell, which is not dissipating. Second, it made my skin burn. Not sure why that would be if it is just 100% minerals.
Last, there is a heavy and noticeable whitecast. Although I need and prefer strong sunscreens, this is certainly not it. My old favorite had been the Shiseido SPF 55, but I don't care for the reformulation with more chemical and less physical blocks. So, let me know if you have any better ideas.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* asian_vixen on 3/4/2013 3:29:00 PM more reviews by asian_vixen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

After having great results from NIA 24 Skin Strengthening Complex, i was a bit disappointed with this sunscreen. i use it in the AM; it has a whitish cast but disappears in a few minutes, then i put my shiseido powder on. As i went off to do my errands, I noticed my skin a bit warm and itchy, but I didn't mind it. It also had no oil control compared to my shiseido sunscreen. By the time i got home, i had hives on my face, my eyes are watery (and it said on the Nia website it is OK to use around the eye orbit area) and it irritated my face so much, i was afraid i was going to go back to big cystic pimples that i worked so hard to calm down in 4 weeks. Unfortunately, i can't go back to this and i wanted to like it so much because i had success with the SSC. UPDATE: Tried it again because i ran out of my shiseido sunscreen and it was more bearable, no hives or welts. It was ok as long as i dont start to sweat. the minute i feel some sweat, i start to feel a bit itchy but not as bad as the first time. I guess it is my back up until my shiseido arrives.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 colorsinbloom on 6/12/2012 6:02:00 PM more reviews by colorsinbloom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

APPLICATION: I like the smooth glide of the application, however, it ends there. Being that I'm tan, this puts a haze SO WHITE on my face that I would label it a FLOURESCENT blue, for about an hour after application.

FINISH: After an hour, the flourescent haze disappears and makeup goes on top of it well. Doesn't get super greasy.

WELLNESS: I've been using it for a week so far, and haven't noticed any improvements on my skin.

CONCLUSION: I'll be sticking with my current SPF that has double the SPF and no flourescent haze.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 smhr on 3/15/2012 9:38:00 AM more reviews by smhr

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I don't care for this sunscreen or Smashbox's Halo glow, but the combination of the two together, makes a really nice tinted moisturizer. I placed a small amount of sunscreen into a small plastic container and shaved off a decent of amount of the SHG and got a creamy, silky, neutral tinted moisturizer. It dried down to a matte finish and the tint looks really natural. The sunscreen does burn some and found it irritating, so there is no chance, I will repurchase the sunscreen again, which is a shame, because this made such a lovely tinted moisturizer. I never experienced burning or irritation with the SSC or IRC and have no clue or reason for the sunscreen burning like it did.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 road2lane on 10/10/2011 5:59:00 AM more reviews by road2lane

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Well I love this stuff!
I love the smell even though it's fragrance free it has a natural smell that I love.


It blends in and does not look white. It has vitamin b in it so it can(make your) and does make my skin a little red and hot for about 10 minutes( though my friend uses it and it does not happen to her at all) this just means its working and is 100% normal with niacin its called the "niacin flush". It helps circulate your blood and is great for your skin!

I love this and would buy again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Horny on 9/14/2011 9:07:00 AM more reviews by Horny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I cant quite decide if I like this product or not. It can be quite drying (which is handy for oily skin) and I find it very white! I dont find it irritating however, but I think there are better sunscreens out there with a higher Zinc and Titanium Dioxide content (this one only has approx 3.6% ZnO and 9.45% TiO2, whereas I would like a higher percentage of Zinc ) But it is a cheaper way to get the 5% pro niacin. I will probably stick with this in the winter months and use a stronger spf in the summer.
UPDATE: Nope, this SS is too irritating for my skin after all and have experienced redness. I will just stick with Nia SSC which I have no problems with from this range.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carla8 on 7/21/2011 10:03:00 AM more reviews by carla8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm really impressed by this product. I wanted a sunscreen that could be worn on its own (when I've been to the gym in the summer) or over a moisturiser. This feels lovely when I'm putting in on and I don't get any white marks, but then I do love to spend a minute or two rubbing (gently of course) any lotions in my face. It doesn't clog pores although not cheap, you don't need much.
I will be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 enotkatya1 on 5/10/2011 1:39:00 PM more reviews by enotkatya1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE LOVE LOVE BEST

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 klb1223 on 3/22/2011 5:39:00 PM more reviews by klb1223

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have purchased this twice. I'm a sunscreen junkie and always on the lookout for the perfect sunscreen. I rated this a 4 because I always seem to come back to it when trying out other sunscreens because my skin tolerates it well. It's a physical sunscreen which is good for me because I have a hard time with any of the chemical filters. I'm not sure what the PPD rating of this is but I don't think it's very high which is why I'm still on the lookout for a high PPD sunscreen that I can tolerate.
I love that it has niacin in it which is good for anti-aging and to help with pigmentation (of which I have a ton of due to hormones). Paraben free, oil-free and fragrance free. It leaves a slight white cast, nothing terrible. Has a smooth feel, lots of silicones (not something I actually like though). Seems to wash off easily without any harsh rubbing or oil cleansers.

I have noticed people saying it really dries out their skin. It does mine as well but only for the first few days I use it. As I mentioned, I go off of this from time to time and come back. When I come back I always get a flakey face for about 5 days. Then I'm fine. It's mentioned on the website that your skin can seem dry at first while the barrier is changing due to the niacin. If you have combo or oily skin like mine and try this and get dry, stick it out for a few days. Also, some people can be sensitive to the niacin in this product which can cause irritation and breakouts or flushing. I don't have that problem so this is fine for me.

I'll probably buy a third time when my tube runs out. Not HG but definitely a good formulation for me.

TRY FIRST - I have contacted the company several times through their website about various products and they will send free samples upon request. I always try before I buy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NIA 24 products

More Sunscreen products