Mario Badescu • Drying Cream • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.5(272 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 daisyismydog on 12/12/2014 1:27:00 AM more reviews by daisyismydog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was really hoping this would be my miracle cure so I tried it countless times on small little pimples and on big cystic ones, with varying amounts and over/under different moisturizers. Since it also has a strong surface smell, I find the recommendation from Mario Badescu to use it as a concealer under makeup to be somewhat unreasonable as I wouldn't want anyone to think I stink and only used this at night.

Unfortunately, it never did anything to improve the condition of my dehydrated-normal acne-prone skin and would actually make it worse, making my skin redder where it was applied. This made my blemishes more prominent, the exact opposite of what it was supposed to do.

This product didn't work for me at all, but as with all skincare products your mileage may vary, especially if you have a good track record with sulfur.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DanielleFitz1 on 11/5/2014 11:32:00 AM more reviews by DanielleFitz1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I think this product is a bit of a joke because I started using this supposedly as it's meant to banish spots by drying them out and reduce the acne breakouts, especially my pimples which can get quite bad at times. A couple of days into using it I just felt it wasn't really doing much at all, my skin as a result felt dryer, except by spots were just getting slightly more flat but in actual fact the spots were pretty much still there and still looked bad! Over time the acne never really appeared to be clearing, just more flatter but visible. It wasn't getting to my route of my acne, instead I decided to give it up because the more times I used it the results looked very minor. I'm starting to think these types of things don't worked on the skin. When I found something called biocurrex, I actually don't have to apply anything to my face, it just seems to work on the inside when I take this powder in a drink, and that seems to do the trick more than products like these ever seem to do! I've definitely noticed more changes which for someone like me with acne skin, it really boosts my confidence!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tvall on 11/5/2014 11:11:00 AM more reviews by tvall

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have a bit of a love hate relationship with this stuff, all in all I think it will always be something that I have on my bathroom shelf.

I bought it for my under the skin tiny skin-colored bumps on my forehead. At first I smeared this stuff all over and for a week or so I felt like almost crying with happiness, for once something seemed to be working on these closed comedones! Sadly this was pretty short-lived as the 'drying' aspect of tho cream caught up with me. My forehead was dry and scaly, I realised every single one of the bumps were still there, they were just flatter and slightly less visible.

I stopped using the cream and started moisturizing as much as possible to get it back to normal.

Once it was ok again I used the drying cream a lot more sparingly but it kinda lost its touch and stopped working.

Having said the I do like this for if I have a painful red breakout turning up around that time of month as I feel like it does help reduce the redness and the size. I also like it for the times when you can't help but to squeeze a pimple and you want a treatment to put on it after. I pop a bit of the cream on it with a q tip and then dab it in and go to sleep.

It's not an overnight miracle but I do believe it helps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jk2323 on 10/23/2014 1:50:00 AM more reviews by Jk2323

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product because: A. It dries up pimples and B. It's a great spot concealer for when you don't want to wear makeup because it's tinted. I would def buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PaperAlias on 8/21/2014 8:13:00 PM more reviews by PaperAlias

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I ran out of my old sulfur acne treatment and wanted something I could use as a spot treatment during the daytime and nighttime, so I got this at Ulta (USD$14 for .05oz). It comes in a little plastic pot. It doesn't seem like a lot of product, but considering I only dab a very little amount on blemishes, I'm thinking that most of this cream will go bad before I get a chance to use it all. If you wanna be cost-effective, split a pot with a friend.

This stuff is supposed to be used on small pimples that have not yet come to a head (whereas the Drying Lotion is meant for whiteheads and the Buffering Lotion is meant for cystic breakouts). This does a pretty good job of bringing small/standard-sized pimples to a head rather quickly. It would usually take my zits a few days to finally come to a head, but this works in a day or two (sometimes even within a few hours or overnight).

It's a vaguely flesh-colored thick cream. MB claims it can double as a concealer, but it's way too grayish/pale for my NC20-25 skin. If you have very fair skin, you may be able to pull it off. However, since it is so pale, I can actually get away with wearing a little bit of it underneath my real makeup. A lot of people complain about the smell, but I'm one of the weird ones that actually isn't bothered by it (dare I say I actually kind of like it?). It's not quite the rotten egg sulfur smell... I guess the aloe covers that up. This also contains lemon extract, which might explain why a lot of people notice spots getting noticeably lighter. I don't notice any drastic improvements in my zit redness, personally.

This is my last step in my evening (and sometimes morning) skin care routine. I dab a small amount on the offending spot (be sure to blend it well -- it doesn't absorb as easily since it's quite thick) and then add another dot of it over the zit (only at night). It's no miracle worker by any means, but it's pretty good at bringing the crap to the surface in a short amount of time. Doesn't do anything for my blackheads though.

If you don't like BP or SA, this treatment could be worth a try. I'd repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tC_girl on 7/10/2014 7:05:00 PM more reviews by tC_girl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I received this in a sample at Ulta and I'm pleasantly surprised by how well it works! Normally, I use Retin-A a couple nights a week for my acne-prone skin but I found the drying cream to be more effective at drying out pimples. Last Sunday, I developed a very painful cystic bump that would normally take at least two weeks to form a head and heal and I decided to test out the drying cream on the bump. Today is Thursday and it has gotten significantly better. Now it's just a small bump which I can easily cover with makeup and most importantly, the pain is all gone! I've been applying it twice a day, morning and night. A big bonus is that I can wear it under my makeup (right after I moisturize). I'm seriously convinced this stuff is amazing. It will definitely speed up the healing time of large pimples and diminish the pain within days! Will definitely purchase the full sized version in the near future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marquiseazzie on 6/23/2014 3:45:00 AM more reviews by marquiseazzie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm newly obsessed with this stuff. Judging by other reviews, I don't know if it works for everyone, but it absolutely works for me. I began using a retinol product (that I love - MUAC serum), and using benzoyl peroxide spot treatments (particularly, Neutrogena On the spot) started giving me insane, almost-chemical-burn-like dry patches. So I went for this stuff when purchasing the Badescu glycolic toner (another HG). I took the cultishness about the drying cream with a grain of salt - I've used BP for years and years, though it's always been love-hate - the dry patches it left on my easily-flaky skin were impossible to cover, and there was always a little acne scar, no matter how small or large the pimple was. (I'm very pale; they stay for months on my skin.)

I first tried the drying cream out on a medium-sized red bump which was probably going to turn cystic (PMS time) and overnight the bump was gone. GONE. Not even a scar remained. I guess my adult breakouts just respond better to sulfur... But, the best part - there was NO flaking. Nothing. I've spent the last week with a face all spotted up with drying cream (at home, obviously - it looks ridiculous), taking down tons of little closed comedones and bumpy pores - and it seems to work just as well on them.

The only problem is the packaging, which is obviously not the most sanitary, and the container is very slick plastic - last night I accidentally knocked it over spilling half the product.

No BP ever again. HG forever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 karimonster on 6/5/2014 2:46:00 PM more reviews by karimonster

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Let me preface this by saying I have sensitive skin, but its only with certain products. My usual cleanser is the Clinique Mild Facial Soap in the morning and St. Ives Apricot Scrub for Blemishes with my Clarisonic Mia at night. I'm not the person who can only use Cetaphil, but for some reason certain things really aggravate my skin and I'm not sure if it's an allergic reaction to something or what. I got the sample of the Drying Cream and used it 2 times in addition to a few other Mario Badescu products. It's now the 3rd day and I've discontinued use because I now have crazy irritated skin that is broken out and itchy. It is all along my chin which leads me to believe it may be this stuff because that is where I applied it another product for that specific issue since that is where I applied it, but my whole face has been hot and red since using these products. Unfortunately I'm not sure which product(s) is the culprit. Its probably my fault for bombarding my skin with all new stuff, but I heard Mario Badescu products were natural and gentle and didn't think it would cause such a big issue an issue. Lesson learned. As far as actual capabilities of this product I'm giving it a 3 because I do think it works. The first time I used it I applied it at night to a small scab from a blemish I kept picking at (I know, its bad) and it was pretty much gone in the morning. So I do think it could work for some people. I think I will wait for my skin to heal and go back to my normal products with this as a treatment only on pimples to narrow down if this causes irritation and I will come back and edit my review.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sawitham on 5/15/2014 11:39:00 AM more reviews by sawitham

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this in a set with the drying lotion and silver powder. It helped my skin slightly but overall has caused my skin to really dry out and eventually made my whiteheads worse. I've had to start using benzoyl peroxide to clear it up and this worked much better that the drying cream. I think if you maybe suffer from the odd pimple and use it on there it may help, but as long as you don't pick it would clear up on its own. If you have sensitive skin that is acne prone, I'd stay away from it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cubbiejules on 4/21/2014 11:22:00 AM more reviews by cubbiejules

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I had high hopes for this product. I ran out of my Drying Lotion and I hated that I couldn't use it during the day (well, obviously unless you're okay with having pink dots all over your face!), so I picked this stuff up to see how it does.
Now let me say this, it's NOT a miracle product by any means. It worked very very slowly for me. I used it beginning on Sunday night for a cluster of stubborn pimples and by Friday (using twice a day) they were nearly gone. Of course the benefit of this is that you won't have those pesky acne marks (don't pick!) since it works so slowly, giving your skin a chance to heal.
I like that I can use it throughout the day, but I don't use it as a concealer at all since it's way too light. I don't mind the smell at all and this pot will last you for a very very long time since a little goes a long way. I also love that if I have a pimple that has a whitehead and I have (gently) extracted the gunk, this stuff dries it up significantly. With whiteheads either they enlarge after you pop them or they shrink. With this stuff it gets in there and shrinks them nicely.
I took the two lippies off because it doesn't work overnight and the product can be a little more user-friendly without the white wash you get after applying. But if you have patience and use just a dab, you'll be good to go!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mario Badescu products

More Treatments (Face) products