Garden of Wisdom • Manuka Honey • Treatments

rated 4.8(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 jg8794 on 12/18/2013 11:02:00 AM more reviews by jg8794

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought raw organic honey at Wal-Mart for about $8 and loved that stuff. It made my oily acne-prone skin less oily. It didn't help prevent new acne...grr...but it balanced my skin oils, so I guess in a way less clogged pores. Then I bought manuka honey, first 250mgo then 400mgo, and I have a love, hate relationship with that. I applied it as a spot treatment and as my morning shower face wash. Within hours my clogged pores and deep cystic acne came to a head and all the bacteria was cleaned out from my pores. The downside was the scarring it left after the dirt came out. I stopped using it after my pores where as visibly clean as they could get and the scarring is slowly fading away. It doesn't permanently treat acne but it definitely helps speed the process.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Iampo0kie on 4/23/2013 8:13:00 PM more reviews by Iampo0kie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because of its fabled antiseptic powers. I wanted to use it as a spot treatment for cystic acne.

When I tried it, I used it while at home and left it on for 4 hours, then reapplied after my shower, put a band-aid on top and went to bed. When I woke up, nothing changed except the pimple hurt less and was less inflamed.

This product is pricey and for the results I feel like it isn't worth it. Especially since it is sticky and hard to manage. I feel like other natural spot treatments (like tea tree oil) are more effective and can penetrate the skin better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smellyworm18 on 10/13/2012 2:23:00 PM more reviews by smellyworm18

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently purchased a kit with many sample size ingredients and bought the GOW Manaku Honey HA Serum as well.
I have oily, acne, hormone prone cystic chin breakouts and never thought my skin was sensitive, dry or dehydrated.
Well, to my surprise after all my years of being as product junkie and will any price low-high for results, my skin was dehydrated and flaky due to my years of drying it out with excessive amounts of Retin A, Glycolic Acid Serums, Vit C and BHA all at once.
I just started using oils to cleanse and treat my skin from the GOW. I have to rave about this Manaku Honey Serum, it works well over an active pimple to keeping my skin balanced.
I had no idea, I could never buff make-up with a brush as others was because my skin was dehydrated. I just thought, it was me!
I am degunking stuff that I thought was in my skin forever. Even a DERM said they were textural changes and enlarged pores from so many pimples on my chin. I am having stuff come out that was so deep and that is why the same places broke out badly about 4x/year. I thought the core came out but obviously not the whole core!! I am using the manaku honey along with a few other serums to heal the skin. Just this morning the 5 new pimples I had yesterday, which normally would cause me to not leave the house and hide, are interesting to see. I would never thought a pimple would be interesting to see!! This am, they all had clotted over and are in the healing stage that I would not expect to see until a week later. I had a core come out while washing my face, that again was in there for years, now the area is not bumpy, it's flat and smooth!! I thought I had to live with a bumpy chin for life. I never knew, they were deep clogs!! I have a small beauty store of products in my cabinet that looks like a dept store! I always thought honey would clog my pores and be horrible for my skin. I suggest anyone who thinks they have oily skin with chin stress, hormonal related acne go to GOW and purchase Manaku Honey serum, Lavender, Cherry healing and the many more for healing and detoxifying.
I also see not all oils, or natural products are created equally. I was buying from Skin actives and stopped due to their message boards deleting anything that didn't say they were the best or gave an honest opinion about saying a pricy product worked! So one door closed and another opened and I see the difference in the quality and concentration of these pre-made treatment serums. All those who have fun adding actives to products please go to GOW and try their pre-made products. Yes a tad more costly then SA but OMG the quality is way better! The Manaku Honey is 17+in a hyaluronic acid base with manaku tee tree oil. They use no parabens , where SA does!! Isn't that defeating the purpose of good for our skin products. Optiphen is used as the preservative in Manaku Honey Serum and great to add the HA for absorption vs just water alone!!! I know I am going on and on but just pleased to see I don't have to bumps under my skin, which was thought to be texture type mild scars!! In just a few days so much junk is coming out of my t-zone and mainly my chin, this product is great to apply after to kill bacteria and decrease inflamation. I thought I had good skin with NO WRINKLES for using sunscreen and retin a since 19 but never believed it could get better!! I am looking forward to trying more GOW products to see what my staples from GOW will be . Manaku Honey Serum will be 100% one of them!! I finally believe thanks to GOW that drying my skin out causes more oil. I knew this but never saw results with other products that claim this! That oil treats oil!! But if poor quality, beware!! Want to add some great products to your arsenol of weapons, go to GOW!!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeMeDown on 9/20/2012 5:00:00 PM more reviews by MakeMeDown

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Love love this. super gentle, removes makeup, has mild exfoliating capabilities... also, this doesn't piss of my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 purplerain71 on 9/20/2012 4:57:00 PM more reviews by purplerain71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This Manuka Honey is my beauty secret to smooth, and glowing skin! I use this on my husband, his wrinkle reduced, more glowing too! Love this kind of manuka honey from new zealand!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 organicgal on 8/7/2012 10:49:00 PM more reviews by organicgal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I rarely ever review products but my success with a recent combination makes me want to share. I have been getting sporadic hormonal breakout for the past six months. I have always had combination skin with moderate acne issues, but lately it has been worse. I used Proactiv with success at reducing the acne (not shocking, as this has worked for me in the past), but with the tradeoff of having dry, itchy, red skin. I wanted to find a more natural solution. After experimenting with some natural products, here is what works the best for me.

I use a combination of manuka honey mixed with matcha green tea powder. I purchased the Wedderspoon 16+ Manuka Honey and mixed with Teavana brand Matcha powder. Both of these items are expensive, but the benefits are so worth it! It doesn't take very much of either ingredient. I mix a little of each (half teaspoon of the matcha and half teaspoon to full teaspoon of the manuka) and apply as a facial mask for as long as possible. I try to leave it on atleast an hour. The green tea powder is full of antioxidants that replenish the skin and reduce inflammation. Manuka honey has amazing antibacterial qualities that help to reduce pimple size (even the painful cystic ones), even the skin tone, and gradually reduce hyperpigmentation. I use this mask daily and even leave the combo on as spot treatment overnight for pimples and pigmented/scarred areas.

The results in skin health are evident after about four days pf heavy use for me (3 hours of mask daily). Yes, you will look like a green monster while the goo is on your face, but I had fantasic results with this. Smoother skin, reduced pimple size and redness, and faster healing. Pigminetation/scars take longer to heal, of course. After a month of use, I have seen significant improvement in my newer hyperpigmentation marks and no new breakouts.

I have read that eating the honey can help prevent breakouts, but I don't think the honey works as well for me this way. Apparently, your stomach acid breaks down the elements in the honey that work for your skin topically. I will add as a default that I drink two cups of the matcha tea each day (hot water, teaspoon matcha powder, teaspoon regular organic honey). I won't even get started on the skin and health benefits of matcha tea in this review, but I do think this has helped to combat the breakouts internally. I hope this works well for you! I have heard that there is an initial purging phase from switching to from chemicals to natural products, but I did not experience this.

Hope this works well for some! Breakouts suck, quite frankly, but you shouldn't have to bleach you skin with chemicals forever to have a nice complexion. :)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 monty713 on 5/20/2012 11:29:00 AM more reviews by monty713

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Manuka honey (any brand that has at least 8 UMF) is an incredible product to have on hand. Take it by the spoonful for sore throat/cough or apply it directly to face for 10-30 mins for a lovely mask that will take away redness, dry skin and leave your skin feeling smooth. It's a go-to for irritation, I wouldn't be without it in my pantry... Get some!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ExoticBeauty88 on 11/15/2010 2:48:00 PM more reviews by ExoticBeauty88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE Manuka Honey!! I use this as all over facial mask (30 min) or as a spot treatment and it greatly reduces imflammation and redness immediately! It is VERY soothing and is a fantastic non-drying alternative to Benzoyl Peroxide and other OTC stuff that dries out your skin. Also works wonderfully on cold sores! I had my dad dab a little on a sore that popped up on his lip and it disappeared overnight.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pawnshop_rose on 10/4/2010 4:41:00 PM more reviews by pawnshop_rose

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This honey rocks! I purchased the sample size, just to see what all the fuss about Manuka Honey was all about. I do use regular or local honey in my homemade body scrubs, etc. I have used local honey on my face as a mask before but I think that manuka honey is superior for use on my face. I use it as a mask but it really is great as a spot treatment on pimples. I had a rather large, painful pimple on my jaw and I used the manuka honey as a spot treatment and by the next morning it was about 60-70% better and the redness was greatly reduced. My skin is dry but prone to blackheads and redness. I have not had any adverse reactions to manuka honey or honey in general but you might want to spot test first, just be sure. A def. repurchase!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pintsized on 1/29/2010 11:42:00 PM more reviews by pintsized

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I bought all the women I knew a sample jar of this stuff. Its awesome. It heals and really DOES work on my pimples. I was VERY skeptical in the beginning but my skin responds very well to this honey. When I feel a big cystic TOM pimple coming on, I slather on this stuff and it shrinks down to nothing (about 80% of the time). Overall I really love this stuff and I will buy it over and over again because it works very well for my skin. My friends have reported that they love it too.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garden of Wisdom products

More Treatments products