Garden of Wisdom • Manuka Honey • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.8(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 smellyworm18 on 10/13/2012 2:23:00 PM more reviews by smellyworm18

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently purchased a kit with many sample size ingredients and bought the GOW Manaku Honey HA Serum as well.
I have oily, acne, hormone prone cystic chin breakouts and never thought my skin was sensitive, dry or dehydrated.
Well, to my surprise after all my years of being as product junkie and will any price low-high for results, my skin was dehydrated and flaky due to my years of drying it out with excessive amounts of Retin A, Glycolic Acid Serums, Vit C and BHA all at once.
I just started using oils to cleanse and treat my skin from the GOW. I have to rave about this Manaku Honey Serum, it works well over an active pimple to keeping my skin balanced.
I had no idea, I could never buff make-up with a brush as others was because my skin was dehydrated. I just thought, it was me!
I am degunking stuff that I thought was in my skin forever. Even a DERM said they were textural changes and enlarged pores from so many pimples on my chin. I am having stuff come out that was so deep and that is why the same places broke out badly about 4x/year. I thought the core came out but obviously not the whole core!! I am using the manaku honey along with a few other serums to heal the skin. Just this morning the 5 new pimples I had yesterday, which normally would cause me to not leave the house and hide, are interesting to see. I would never thought a pimple would be interesting to see!! This am, they all had clotted over and are in the healing stage that I would not expect to see until a week later. I had a core come out while washing my face, that again was in there for years, now the area is not bumpy, it's flat and smooth!! I thought I had to live with a bumpy chin for life. I never knew, they were deep clogs!! I have a small beauty store of products in my cabinet that looks like a dept store! I always thought honey would clog my pores and be horrible for my skin. I suggest anyone who thinks they have oily skin with chin stress, hormonal related acne go to GOW and purchase Manaku Honey serum, Lavender, Cherry healing and the many more for healing and detoxifying.
I also see not all oils, or natural products are created equally. I was buying from Skin actives and stopped due to their message boards deleting anything that didn't say they were the best or gave an honest opinion about saying a pricy product worked! So one door closed and another opened and I see the difference in the quality and concentration of these pre-made treatment serums. All those who have fun adding actives to products please go to GOW and try their pre-made products. Yes a tad more costly then SA but OMG the quality is way better! The Manaku Honey is 17+in a hyaluronic acid base with manaku tee tree oil. They use no parabens , where SA does!! Isn't that defeating the purpose of good for our skin products. Optiphen is used as the preservative in Manaku Honey Serum and great to add the HA for absorption vs just water alone!!! I know I am going on and on but just pleased to see I don't have to bumps under my skin, which was thought to be texture type mild scars!! In just a few days so much junk is coming out of my t-zone and mainly my chin, this product is great to apply after to kill bacteria and decrease inflamation. I thought I had good skin with NO WRINKLES for using sunscreen and retin a since 19 but never believed it could get better!! I am looking forward to trying more GOW products to see what my staples from GOW will be . Manaku Honey Serum will be 100% one of them!! I finally believe thanks to GOW that drying my skin out causes more oil. I knew this but never saw results with other products that claim this! That oil treats oil!! But if poor quality, beware!! Want to add some great products to your arsenol of weapons, go to GOW!!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 omilael on 4/16/2009 3:07:00 AM more reviews by omilael

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Manuka Honey is a hidden gem! I am prone to cystic acne, and I owe the healing of my skin to Manuka! I used this as a mask- I leave it on for as long as possible and then remove with a wet washcloth. My irritated cystic skin is left smooth, moisturized, less red, with reduced inflammation! I notice that when I use this daily my skin clears up dramatically and my existing spots heal faster. When I break from using this daily I definitely notice a big difference- especially with the texture of my skin. I highly recommend this to anyone with cystic acne who wants a gentle effective treatment. Of course you can't expect miracles overnight, but with patience and diligent use this truly has saved my skin! I will never be without Manuka Honey! (I also recommend a UMF of 15 or higher!)

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmbechtle on 9/6/2009 12:16:00 PM more reviews by pmbechtle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have used this mixed with cleanser for my face and with conditioner for my hair in the shower. I have mixed it with a little sugar for face/body exfoliation and undiluted for a 20-minute mask to calm the redness in my skin. It works fabuously well for all of these purposes.
-
That said, I won't be repurchasing it. Why? Because the natural clover honey I buy at Trader Joe's for $3.99 works just as well. No difference, whatsoever. I absolutely love honey, but the manuka just isn't worth it imho.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pintsized on 1/29/2010 11:42:00 PM more reviews by pintsized

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I bought all the women I knew a sample jar of this stuff. Its awesome. It heals and really DOES work on my pimples. I was VERY skeptical in the beginning but my skin responds very well to this honey. When I feel a big cystic TOM pimple coming on, I slather on this stuff and it shrinks down to nothing (about 80% of the time). Overall I really love this stuff and I will buy it over and over again because it works very well for my skin. My friends have reported that they love it too.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 organicgal on 8/7/2012 10:49:00 PM more reviews by organicgal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I rarely ever review products but my success with a recent combination makes me want to share. I have been getting sporadic hormonal breakout for the past six months. I have always had combination skin with moderate acne issues, but lately it has been worse. I used Proactiv with success at reducing the acne (not shocking, as this has worked for me in the past), but with the tradeoff of having dry, itchy, red skin. I wanted to find a more natural solution. After experimenting with some natural products, here is what works the best for me.

I use a combination of manuka honey mixed with matcha green tea powder. I purchased the Wedderspoon 16+ Manuka Honey and mixed with Teavana brand Matcha powder. Both of these items are expensive, but the benefits are so worth it! It doesn't take very much of either ingredient. I mix a little of each (half teaspoon of the matcha and half teaspoon to full teaspoon of the manuka) and apply as a facial mask for as long as possible. I try to leave it on atleast an hour. The green tea powder is full of antioxidants that replenish the skin and reduce inflammation. Manuka honey has amazing antibacterial qualities that help to reduce pimple size (even the painful cystic ones), even the skin tone, and gradually reduce hyperpigmentation. I use this mask daily and even leave the combo on as spot treatment overnight for pimples and pigmented/scarred areas.

The results in skin health are evident after about four days pf heavy use for me (3 hours of mask daily). Yes, you will look like a green monster while the goo is on your face, but I had fantasic results with this. Smoother skin, reduced pimple size and redness, and faster healing. Pigminetation/scars take longer to heal, of course. After a month of use, I have seen significant improvement in my newer hyperpigmentation marks and no new breakouts.

I have read that eating the honey can help prevent breakouts, but I don't think the honey works as well for me this way. Apparently, your stomach acid breaks down the elements in the honey that work for your skin topically. I will add as a default that I drink two cups of the matcha tea each day (hot water, teaspoon matcha powder, teaspoon regular organic honey). I won't even get started on the skin and health benefits of matcha tea in this review, but I do think this has helped to combat the breakouts internally. I hope this works well for you! I have heard that there is an initial purging phase from switching to from chemicals to natural products, but I did not experience this.

Hope this works well for some! Breakouts suck, quite frankly, but you shouldn't have to bleach you skin with chemicals forever to have a nice complexion. :)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luv2smilexo on 11/5/2009 4:35:00 PM more reviews by luv2smilexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

miracle product!! My skin is very sensitive because i am on retin a and a benzyl peroxide wash for my acne. When i came back to school in san diego my skin went absolutly nuts. It was breaking out in terrible painful cystic acne. I wanted to cry. However, i went on the garden of wisdom forum after hearing about it on mua and they were super helpful. They recommended this and several other products, all of which i really like. I use manuka honey as a mask and as a spot treatment for pimples that havent come to a head yet. It is great for decreasing redness and making the pimples popable...yes i pop them. i'm bad i know. My only qualm with this is the pot if comes in. verryyy unsanitary imo. I dont like having to stick my fingers in something, especially when its terribly sticky. Anyway, i will still definitely be repurchasing

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kellybella on 5/25/2008 12:35:00 PM more reviews by kellybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have oily/dehydrated, acne prone skin and this is by far my favorite mask and blemish treatment. If my skin is irritated or a little dry and flakey I leave this on for a couple hours and my skin is smooth, calm, and less red. I also dab this on any blemishes that are forming and it works wonders!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jg8794 on 12/18/2013 11:02:00 AM more reviews by jg8794

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought raw organic honey at Wal-Mart for about $8 and loved that stuff. It made my oily acne-prone skin less oily. It didn't help prevent new acne...grr...but it balanced my skin oils, so I guess in a way less clogged pores. Then I bought manuka honey, first 250mgo then 400mgo, and I have a love, hate relationship with that. I applied it as a spot treatment and as my morning shower face wash. Within hours my clogged pores and deep cystic acne came to a head and all the bacteria was cleaned out from my pores. The downside was the scarring it left after the dirt came out. I stopped using it after my pores where as visibly clean as they could get and the scarring is slowly fading away. It doesn't permanently treat acne but it definitely helps speed the process.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Forestprincess2006 on 11/28/2008 6:25:00 PM more reviews by Forestprincess2006

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Omg!! This is a wonderful product! I've used it on very large, upset zits that i'd picked at. Left it on for about an hour and when I washed it off the places were flat, not red anymore and my skin was so soft!! I've also used it on rashes - I had a rash on my jaw that was red, bumpy and itchy. This calmed it down and after 2 applications it was completely gone!! This is a miracle product!! Plus its yummy too!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ExoticBeauty88 on 11/15/2010 2:48:00 PM more reviews by ExoticBeauty88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE Manuka Honey!! I use this as all over facial mask (30 min) or as a spot treatment and it greatly reduces imflammation and redness immediately! It is VERY soothing and is a fantastic non-drying alternative to Benzoyl Peroxide and other OTC stuff that dries out your skin. Also works wonderfully on cold sores! I had my dad dab a little on a sore that popped up on his lip and it disappeared overnight.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garden of Wisdom products

More Treatments (Face) products