Caudalie • Beauty Elixir • Toners

rated 3.5(185 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 iloveryanryley on 3/25/2014 11:55:00 PM more reviews by iloveryanryley

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used this first night and woke up with tiny bumps on my cheeks. I thought its only an initial thing but after a week the bumps kept multiplying. They are very small but I can feel them. I decided to stop using it after finding a zit on my chin in addition to bumps and used acne face wash. They are gone after two days including the zit that is starting to inflame.

I wanted to like it because it was pricey and would like to get my money's worth but my neutragena toner worked better than this if only its in a spray bottle like caudalie elixir. I could have lived with the smell if it worked.. I will give it a try again after a week and let you guys know.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 PerfectManicure on 2/17/2014 12:49:00 PM more reviews by PerfectManicure

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Some background on my skin: I'm 33 years old and while my skin is free from blemishes and fine lines, I do have some issues with unevenness due to sun damage. My skin tends to get dull and lacklustre very easily so I have to exfoliate regularly.

What Caudalie promises we can expect: The Beauty Elixir "smooths away fine lines, tightens pores and gives the complexion an instant boost of radiance".

My personal experience: This comes in an atomizer bottle, so the droplets are on the heavier side, which is fine by me because I enjoy the freshness and cooling feeling of having a "wet" face. The Beauty Elixir smells like pure relaxation - the fragrance is stimulating with a strong mint/rose presence, but it is calming as well (the rose I suspect).

This product did not smooth away any fine lines nor did it provide me with an instant boost of radiance, as for pore tightening - I don't have problems with pores, but I imagine the ingredients do tend to tighten pores with cumulative use.

I would categorize this as a pampering aromatherapy treatment and not a skin care product. That said I would not repurchase this product for any of Caudalie's claims, but I would repurchase it purely for its aromatherapy properties IF it weren't C$53.

So I'm afraid, while it did smell nice, I'm not prepared to spend that kind of money on face perfume that makes me feel good for just over a split second (the smell does not linger). I will not be repurchasing this product nor would I recommend this to anyone who was expecting this product to live up to any of its promises.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 1/27/2014 6:06:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A small bottle of this came in a Caudalie gift set I got. Horrible product. Can't think of anything worse to use on your face unless you enjoy ruining your skin. Too many lavender extracts and citrus, and alcohol. This burned when I sprayed it on just my arm. It's like spraying perfume on your face, only it smells even stronger than some perfumes. I wouldn't spray this on my face even if someone paid me.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnnaGrace26 on 1/24/2014 9:13:00 PM more reviews by AnnaGrace26

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is a must have!!!!! I tried this about five years ago and have been buying it ever since. A great gift for anyone who is travelling somewhere warm as the mist refreshes and moisturizers without feeling heavy. Let's not forget to mention the essential oils that totally rejuvenate and give your mind and senses that feel good feeling. Love! Love! Love! Love this product and a staple for every beauty diva out there!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lemonz4us on 1/17/2014 7:45:00 PM more reviews by lemonz4us

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Super irritating
Burns like crazy even on my hand
2nd ing is alcohol
Plus rosemary and citrus oils ?
No. You're better off spraying water on your face

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 magnisky on 1/15/2014 12:48:00 AM more reviews by magnisky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
-lifts the face
-smells natural, green, refreshing
-cooling sensation
-works on many different skin types, does not make ppl brake out

Cons:
-isn't a godsend miracle by any means

I don't want to say this is a con, but currently I am not sure the effects it has on the skin, perhaps there aren't immediate, excluding the lifting effects, but caudalie is well known for the vino source formula, so there is a chance it might be good for the skin.

I would like to say, this is not a toner, but in the skin care industry, this is called a facial/skin refresher, or essence spray.
Regardless, my sis and I love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 1/10/2014 9:46:00 PM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I've purchased this spray several times, it is just a luxurious step in my skin are and makeup routine. It smells wonderful to me, and feels so cooling and refreshing going on. It sets my makeup perfectly and I don't have to use powder. Just lovely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hesperia on 1/7/2014 9:25:00 PM more reviews by hesperia

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use this whenever I traveled. It kept my skin hydrated in the long hours inside the plane.

I don't travel half as often anymore, so I stopped buying this. Lately, I've been reading a lot of very enthusiastic reviews on this product as a MU setter, so I decided to try it. The reviews were right. This a great setting spray. The spray is very fine, it gives the skin a nice glow (and I mean "glow," not the greasy look some people insist on trying to convince the rest of us passes for glow), prevents the dry powdery look (especially for those of us who refuse to give up setting powder), leaves the skin looking refined, and has a refreshing feeling. I like it better than Urban Decay's All Nighter and I LOVE that one.

Since I retired I don't wear MU up every day anymore, so the small bottle of this will last me a long time. Some people may find it expensive at $18, but it's a HE end product and a very good one at that. I even like the herb-like smell.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 primadonnablue on 1/3/2014 10:19:00 AM more reviews by primadonnablue

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

At the price it's sold at I'm only ever getting this at City Pharma in Paris. I cannot bear paying $20 for a 30ml bottle. Still, it is an amazing product. My skin has this thing where when I fly it breaks out and gets really red. I've tried all sorts of moisturizers and creams but nothing has worked until this! I spray it only my face before, during and occasionally after the flight and my skin is like I never got on the plane and sometimes even better! I also use it when I have a bad breakout or my skin looks dull and I have an event the next day. It's an amazing product but because of the price I use it sparingly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vgbluefire on 12/17/2013 7:06:00 PM more reviews by vgbluefire

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't get the hype for beauty/face sprays. As a toner, I think they are pointless; to me, toners in part are supposed to wipe away residue left over from facial cleansers and to de-flake skin. If you are spraying the stuff on your face without wiping "away" anything, then what's the point? If it is supposed to be anti-aging product, well, I rather spend my money on serums and creams. I do like the glass bottle packaging, and the spray mechanism is nice - it delivers a very nice fine mist on the skin. Though, you will use up the product fairly quickly. The scent, while not great, is not too shabby either. I bought the small bottle - just to try it out. However, I am not planning on buying this stuff again. I don't think it is really of any benefit to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Caudalie products

More Toners products