Unlisted Brand • Abreva Docosanol 10% Cream for Cold Sores • Lip Treatments

rated 3.7(35 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 jaysfan652 on 5/30/2013 9:12:00 PM more reviews by jaysfan652

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the only thing on the market for cold sores that I have tried. It works really really well as long as you apply it within the first signs of having a cold sore! It does explicitly state this on the packaging so for those complaining about why it doesn't make their fully developed sores go away, that's why. If you do apply it on a newly developing sore, it will stop it from getting bigger, but will not make it go away quicker. It is pretty expensive, but you don't need much and I don't get cold sores often so I don't mind.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brio815 on 1/20/2013 3:08:00 PM more reviews by brio815

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This works if you catch the sore VERY early. Once the sore is there & a bump has surfaced, don't expect much. At that point nothing but time will help. When I feel a tingle I use this and nothing comes up. It's expensive for such a small tube. But, if you're getting a cold sore once a year then this will last. I used past the expiration date.

I had two cold sores when I was very sick, recently. I tried the Abreva patches. That was a waste. I tried the cream. It was too late. I use vitamin E from the capsules & that helped the pain and assisted in helping the sores heal up nicely. Still took 2 weeks to go away. But eh. I'm 31 and have only had actual cd sores I twice. So, can't complain. If you get them more often, see your PCP or derm for a script. You can also try taking lysine!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nevroth on 1/3/2013 4:17:00 PM more reviews by nevroth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!! It does NOTHING... NOTHING!! I used to use this product, but then gave up after too many stress induced fever blisters (aka cold sores) caused me much more stress and embarrassment. I searched and searched online, and finally found a remedy that works.

1- Get a cotton ball
2- Get your acetone based nail polish remover
3- Dab cotton ball with some nail polish remover
4- Gently press on cold sore area THE MOMENT you feel it coming.

This has worked for me every single time as soon as I feel one coming. The acetone dries it out or something, I'm not quite sure, but it works that that's all that matters. The unfortunate time I did not have any polish remover on hand (I was at the airport awaiting my flight to Europe), my friend gave me some of her prescription creme to try, and it did NOTHING either. Still suffered with a nasty fever blister on my European vacation. Please ladies, give this a chance and save your money! Only a few dabs AS SOON AS YOU FEEL IT COMING, and it the blister will never appear. I've even dabbed like 10min later for extra security, and again, the blister never appears, the numbness and bump goes away. TRY IT!! I too, have a discoloration scar from a fever blister years ago, and I wish someone had told me of this remedy sooner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 katrinaQ on 12/31/2012 3:27:00 PM more reviews by katrinaQ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

--UPDATE--mar. 6

Blistex works on COLD SoREs! :)

I've used blistex for years to treat extra dry cracked lips, but never on my cold sores...Until I saw my husband use it and it worked better than ABREVA!

So I finally tried and it truly does make a cold sore smaller, heal quick, and not develop into the puss stage and peeling/bleeding stage. It soothes the cold sore so you don't feel the tingly itchy feeling.

I will keep buying Blistex from now on and will never buy abreva again. Abreva dried quick and left me feeling itchy. It only worked if you used it immediately on first signs of the cold sore, and it still led to peeling of the skin and bleeding! I have a scar from one time , even after using abreva. With blistex-NO scar.

Blistex works and costed about $3.99 on sale (economy size, which I can cut open at the end to finish it all)
Abreva costs $19.99 for a stupid metal tube that's puny in size, and cannot open it up when it's almost done.

Try Blistex next time u have a cold sore! Apply about 4 times a day for good results.

(That polysporin patch i wrote about below didn't help really, only to hide it a little).


--OLD POST--

Abreva is sooo expensive and the packaging is too small. I have not bought the pump but read that it srays too much when pumped once.

The tubes are so small (2 grams) and are made of metal, so you cannot easily get the last bit out or cut it open like a toothpaste tube to finish all of it. If you aren't careful, it could bend and rip open...

I only found it effective when I had it on me and started applying it on my cold sores at the very first sign (hot tingly feeling, no bump yet). Other times, I was at school or work while a cold sore started growing and no Abreva on hand. Once home, there's a bump and using Abreva will not do much (cold sore still lasted a few days), and continuous use just dried it out and it peeled, bled, and left a scar... TO THIS DAY i have a SCAR from a cold sore I had months ago :( with use of Abreva too.

I got a cold sore yesterday evening, and on my lunch break today went and found Polysporin patches for cold sores, I bought it and put one on. Leaving it on for 8 hrs or until starts peeling off. Hope it heals my sore faster than Abreva!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrz329 on 4/28/2012 4:32:00 PM more reviews by starrz329

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Friday 4/27 - My lip the past 72 hours had been tingling. I had no idea that that was a sign of an impending cold sore, since I've never had one before. I woke up this morning and there was a small bump in the center of my lip. After doing some googling, I realized that this was a cold sore. It was new and had not scabbed over yet. Still on the smaller side but red. I immadetly went to CVS and got Abreva. The sooner you can start this the better. I have a 1st date on Sunday and a cold sore is definately NOT the way to make a good 1st impression. Since then I have been applying it every 2-3 hours...

(UPDATE)
Saturday 4/28 - After 24 hours of consistent application, I have noticed a huge difference on how the cold sore looks today. It has started to dry out some, swelling and redness and decreased. I am amazed that it looks alot better after 1 day. Its not completly healed of course. But definately alot harder for most to notice. I will continue to use it every coule of hours and update tomorrow ....

(UPDATE)
Sunday 4/29 - I woke up today and I am still in shock and amazement. The cold sore is about 80% gone! Theres a tiny scab from it healing but its not noticible to anything, barely even to me. Swelling is virtually gone. Tgeres definately no redness. My lip still twiches/tingles which tells me Im not out if the woods yet, but Im just so happy that the cold sore is almost gone! At this point my lip looks completly normal, and looking straight on at my lip, it looks 100% clear. Now I can only see it ehen I get really close in the mirror. A huge improvement from Friday! I am still using the cream every 2-3 hours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 1/31/2012 9:59:00 PM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: Shortens the life of the cold sore, but usually only if you catch them early. If you put this on beforehand (when the tingling, weird sensation is there), it will really help shorten how long it lasts or even prevent it. Two weeks ago, I had the tell-tale tingle, and I immediately applied it at least a few times a day. I had the tingle, and there was no doubt it was the tingle, for about four days. Kept up with the abreva (and lip sunscreen) and of course, stayed away from acidic foods/drinks. I NEVER broke out in a cold sore. It also helps it from spreading as much as it would without it.


CONS: Packaging (I use the pump) squirts out a little too much each time, which is a big deal because of the fact that it's very expensive. The tube is worse, as it can sometimes squirt out as soon as you take the lid off. (I didn't take off from the rating for this, since there's a separate section in the rating for price and packaging already.) But this works better than anything else out there. Wish there was something that worked even better, but at least it's better than all the others I've tried, especially the ones that just highlight them with a shine that says, "Look at my cold sore!"


ALTERNATES: It's also helpful to take Lysine (see your local health food or vitamin store employee for more info) when you have one. Some even take it to prevent and swear by it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 1/31/2012 9:59:00 PM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: Shortens the life of the cold sore, but usually only if you catch them early. If you put this on beforehand (when the tingling, weird sensation is there), it will really help shorten how long it lasts or even prevent it. Two weeks ago, I had the tell-tale tingle, and I immediately applied it at least a few times a day. I had the tingle, and there was no doubt it was the tingle, for about four days. Kept up with the abreva (and lip sunscreen) and of course, stayed away from acidic foods/drinks. I NEVER broke out in a cold sore. It also helps it from spreading as much as it would without it.


CONS: Packaging (I use the pump) squirts out a little too much each time, which is a big deal because of the fact that it's very expensive. The tube is worse, as it can sometimes squirt out as soon as you take the lid off. (I didn't take off from the rating for this, since there's a separate section in the rating for price and packaging already.) But this works better than anything else out there. Wish there was something that worked even better, but at least it's better than all the others I've tried, especially the ones that just highlight them with a shine that says, "Look at my cold sore!"


ALTERNATES: It's also helpful to take Lysine (see your local health food or vitamin store employee for more info) when you have one. Some even take it to prevent and swear by it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LadyNicc on 10/25/2011 4:05:00 PM more reviews by LadyNicc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Ive tried other cold sore meds but this is the only one for me. You can consider it steep at $20 for a tiny tube BUT what people dont realize is a little goes a long way. You dont squeeze the tube, the product practically comes out on its own. Unscrew the cap and dab on the cold sore. You only need the tiniest amount, enough to cover the sore. Anymore than that is just a waste. If enough is not coming out, apply as light as pressure as possible on the tube with your fingers. Thats all you need. Its simple. Yes the tube is tiny (which makes it easy to misplace or lose which I have done right after I purchased a tube) but its also practical for other reasons. Do you want some huge tube in your purse/pocket or while you're applying it at work or around people that screams: "I HAVE HERPES!!!!" Probably not.

I get one cold sore a year and one tube will last me several years (havnt even finished my first tube yet). So in essence, the product really doesnt cost that much if you use it properly. May I add I also apply this product numerous times a day when Im fighting a cold sore (minimum 7 days per day) and I hardly see a dent in the tube. Ive seen people complain they go through a tube for a single cold sore because the tube is so small, its just hard to believe unless your cold sore lasted for several months or unless your face is a cold sore..

The first time I got a cold sore, I had no idea what to do. I didnt know there was medications for it (lol) and the cold sore lasted for weeks. I use abreva now and it lasts maybe 5 days? Once you apply the cold sore stops growing as well and starts healing itself. Apply as soon as you feel a tingling sensation. I have felt a tingling sensation a few times, applied right away and nothing popped up. Def recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JK701 on 9/19/2011 10:35:00 PM more reviews by JK701

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I use a combo of Abreva and L-Lysine to combat cold sores. I keep them in my car, my kitchen, my pocketbook, and in my bathroom. I feel like it works so well! As soon as I feel a tingle, I'm on it! It's better than letting the cold sore happen, because that could take days and even risk scarring on my face. I've used Zovirax before, but I trust Abreva more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nancem on 6/17/2011 2:37:00 PM more reviews by nancem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been getting coldsores for as long as I can remember. When I get one which is about every 3 months I am so self conscious, I don't even want to leave the house. When I was little and I would get them my mom would buy everything for coldsore spending around 60.00 and nothing would work at all. I seen advertisments for this product in magazines and on tv about 5 years agho and I desperately wanted to try it but it was not sold in Canada yet. My sister then took a trip to Las Vegas and brought me home a tube and Ive been using it ever since. Luckily they started selling it in Canada about 4 years ago. This product is amazing!! The second I feel the tingle I use it and it never surfaces. I have told everyone about this and everyone says the same thing. It is expensive around 20.00 for a small tube but you have to think of it as an investment. one tube will last me about 6 months which is 2 outbreaks. and I feel tingling sometime 3 times a month. so in the long run spend 40.00 a year or living with 3-5 coldsores. I'll spend the 40.00!!! I have tried prescription coldsore cream and it comes in a huge bottle but without benifits it costs me 165.00. The only thing I don't like about the product is the packaging. if I squeeze the tube to hard a whole lot will come out (about half the tube) and then its a waste. I squeeze the tube into a old lip gloss container I had (so it was less obvious that I was putting on cold sore medicine) and it dried it up so I done recommend that. over all its the best product for coldsores and I will contiune to buy it as long as I have coldsores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Lip Treatments products