Sonia Kashuk • Blending Sponge • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.1(186 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 mangolis on 2/16/2015 7:13:00 PM more reviews by mangolis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I purchased SK at Target, and like other reviews, i bought this because BB is pricey..
I like used it, because it made my makeup flawless and more even especially at that time i am beginner to make up.. I like used the pointy to the side of my nose, and the round to even up my make up..
But after i bought BB, SK is nothing compared it.. BB so soft, and make my face look more flawless.. I still used the SK though if my BB get washed because sometimes the densed sponge is better than softer one and SK is still make my makeup flawless, until when at time i like to play with brushes rather than sponge.. My SK and BB lying untouched..
After a while, i begin used sponge again, and i washed again BB and SK before used it.. BB is like first time i used it, still soft and easy to clean.. But SK now too hard and rough, and also i noticed my SK get broken a little bit when i washed it..
So BB is much better investment in my opinion because it still in its original shaped and soft after a long time and rewashed many time and do not get broken either.. SK is okay, but i am really dissapointed, when i found out my SK get broken after didn't used a long time and get hard and rough..
I have my BB for 3 years now, and its still good.. But i only used my SK for a few months, keeping it for another few months, and i cann't used it again.. Very disappointed..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 10/2/2014 6:34:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

If you've tried the beauty blender, you will know that the Sonia kashuk sponge comes nothing close to it. Yes, $20 is pricy for a makeup sponge but the beauty blender is worth it!

The SK sponge is much more dense and it doesn't feel good on my skin when I apply makeup to my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 macademia81 on 8/3/2014 12:50:00 AM more reviews by macademia81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

well... this does not compare to Beauty Blender in even a 1 % (regardless the price- I am talking use here).. It is much more dense, does not expand when wet, and it feels more hard on your skin- which means it is not pleasure to work with at all!!! if I would want to slap myself I would do it without the sponge!!! so fail for me here.. I actually really want to compare it to sponge from QUO ( I am in Canada and we have this brand is Shoppers drugmart- no idea if US have it to).. but let me tell you this- Sonia Kashuk sponge ( failure to BB already), costs 10 CAD here, QUO sponge ( purple color- only one I saw)- costs 5 CAD..and if I would compare apples to apples I can tell you right now that the QUO sponge is absolutely amazing- it is the same density as BB ( I have both), it applies foundation same way, it is soft and bouncy.. shaped different- actually shape is exactly like Sonia Kashuk one- personally I could not care less.. and price is absolutely is a steal! so long story short- Sonia Kashuk sponge-NO, BB-YES, QUO-YES, and extra point for price!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nykrod112 on 5/26/2014 10:54:00 AM more reviews by nykrod112

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Never used the BB so cant review from that perspective BUT that doesnt stop me from raving about this product. Im not usually one to jump on the bandwagon but im fairly dissapointed in myself for not doing so earlier with the makeup sponge!

To make your foundation last (both in the bottle and on your face) dab a small amount on your face (little dabs around your face) then use the damp sponge to blend it in. This way the sponge isnt sucking in all the foundation but rather dabbing it around the face evenly.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katautumn on 3/2/2014 1:23:00 PM more reviews by katautumn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am of the opinion that every woman who wears liquid foundation should have a decent quality cosmetic sponge. For many women, myself included, the original Beauty Blender is very cost prohibitive. The Sonia Kashuk sponge is not only more affordable, it's more accessible as well. I can pick mine up at the local Target, whereas the BB is a little harder to find. One big difference, besides the shape, is the density of the foam material. The SK sponge is very dense and when wetted doesn't expand anywhere near as much as the BB.

The pointed tip is excellent for blending foundation around the creases of the nose and for blending concealer around the eyes. While everyone has a different method for using this sponge, I like to squirt some liquid foundation on the back of my hand and tamp the flat bottom end of the SK sponge into that dollop of foundation and then roll the bottom of the sponge across my skin. I use the flat sides of the pointed tip to blend out around my eyebrows and into my hairline. Then I just roll it around to even everything out. This gives me a nice even finish. This brush also cleans up nicely using Dr. Bronner's 18-in-1 Miracle Liquid Castille Soap. I use the peppermint version for its natural antibacterial and antifungal properties. Plus it leaves my brushes smelling nice and refreshingly clean.

My only complaint is that this sponge soaks up a ton a product and does't deposit all of it onto the skin. Maybe that's because I use a light hand, or maybe it really does suck up that much foundation. I find a go through about a third more foundation using this sponge than when I use my Eco Tools flat foundation brush. But the trade-off is a flawless application, which the Eco Tools brush cannot achieve.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dtormon on 2/14/2014 1:31:00 PM more reviews by dtormon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

I tried this out before investing in the BB. It put on the foundation just fine, but definitely did not leave it super blended/airbrushed. The sponge is a bit hard and feels less soft/bouncy than the BB. Overall, it does the job but it doesn't do it particularly extraordinarily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cheer15star on 1/1/2014 8:51:00 AM more reviews by Cheer15star

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this sponge and it was nice but was so hard, even when wet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lexi477 on 8/2/2013 7:55:00 AM more reviews by lexi477

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to buy the beauty blender however the expensive price made me hesitant, instead I bought this at target for ten dollars. It does a much better job than any of my brushes and has never smeared my foundation when applying. It doesn't dry very well and seems always damp, without the purchase of cleanser to clean it , it gets very stained. I had high expectations for this since everyone gave it great reviews i think ill try the beauty blenders from sephora next time

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 superlibrarian on 8/1/2013 9:22:00 AM more reviews by superlibrarian

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Love this egg shaped blender from SK. So much more affordable than the MAC one. Not much more to say that hasn't already been said by other reviewers but it's fantastic for creases, curves, edges and blending into hairline. Perfect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 otreasureo on 11/28/2012 5:38:00 PM more reviews by otreasureo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The little sponge is amazing! In the past, I wanted to try out Beauty Blender, but this SK Blending Sponge was readily available at my local Target, so I decided to purchase it. What a GREAT discovery! This puts my foundation brushes to shame! I've never in my life had such flawless application of foundation from anything else other than this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sonia Kashuk products

More Misc Beauty Tools products