Sonia Kashuk • Blending Sponge • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.1(183 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 katautumn on 3/2/2014 1:23:00 PM more reviews by katautumn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am of the opinion that every woman who wears liquid foundation should have a decent quality cosmetic sponge. For many women, myself included, the original Beauty Blender is very cost prohibitive. The Sonia Kashuk sponge is not only more affordable, it's more accessible as well. I can pick mine up at the local Target, whereas the BB is a little harder to find. One big difference, besides the shape, is the density of the foam material. The SK sponge is very dense and when wetted doesn't expand anywhere near as much as the BB.

The pointed tip is excellent for blending foundation around the creases of the nose and for blending concealer around the eyes. While everyone has a different method for using this sponge, I like to squirt some liquid foundation on the back of my hand and tamp the flat bottom end of the SK sponge into that dollop of foundation and then roll the bottom of the sponge across my skin. I use the flat sides of the pointed tip to blend out around my eyebrows and into my hairline. Then I just roll it around to even everything out. This gives me a nice even finish. This brush also cleans up nicely using Dr. Bronner's 18-in-1 Miracle Liquid Castille Soap. I use the peppermint version for its natural antibacterial and antifungal properties. Plus it leaves my brushes smelling nice and refreshingly clean.

My only complaint is that this sponge soaks up a ton a product and does't deposit all of it onto the skin. Maybe that's because I use a light hand, or maybe it really does suck up that much foundation. I find a go through about a third more foundation using this sponge than when I use my Eco Tools flat foundation brush. But the trade-off is a flawless application, which the Eco Tools brush cannot achieve.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dtormon on 2/14/2014 1:31:00 PM more reviews by dtormon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

I tried this out before investing in the BB. It put on the foundation just fine, but definitely did not leave it super blended/airbrushed. The sponge is a bit hard and feels less soft/bouncy than the BB. Overall, it does the job but it doesn't do it particularly extraordinarily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cheer15star on 1/1/2014 8:51:00 AM more reviews by Cheer15star

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this sponge and it was nice but was so hard, even when wet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lexi477 on 8/2/2013 7:55:00 AM more reviews by lexi477

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to buy the beauty blender however the expensive price made me hesitant, instead I bought this at target for ten dollars. It does a much better job than any of my brushes and has never smeared my foundation when applying. It doesn't dry very well and seems always damp, without the purchase of cleanser to clean it , it gets very stained. I had high expectations for this since everyone gave it great reviews i think ill try the beauty blenders from sephora next time

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Brunette555 on 8/1/2013 9:45:00 AM more reviews by Brunette555

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Don't waste your money on a cheap imitation!!! Buy the real thing, BeautyBlender, which is best makeup tool and it's not expensive at all for the quality and use.
www.beautyblender.ca
I'll never buy an imitation again!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 superlibrarian on 8/1/2013 9:22:00 AM more reviews by superlibrarian

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Love this egg shaped blender from SK. So much more affordable than the MAC one. Not much more to say that hasn't already been said by other reviewers but it's fantastic for creases, curves, edges and blending into hairline. Perfect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 otreasureo on 11/28/2012 5:38:00 PM more reviews by otreasureo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The little sponge is amazing! In the past, I wanted to try out Beauty Blender, but this SK Blending Sponge was readily available at my local Target, so I decided to purchase it. What a GREAT discovery! This puts my foundation brushes to shame! I've never in my life had such flawless application of foundation from anything else other than this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HelloPretty21 on 11/20/2012 9:17:00 PM more reviews by HelloPretty21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE,LOVE,LOVE THIS SPONGE!!!
It makes my makeup look so natural and professional and it makes any foundation,powder,blush or concealer go on amazing.
The only thing I didn't like about this sponge is that it absorbed a lot of product an it made it look Germy and nasty no matter how much I washed it which I believe caused my face to break out a bit :(
I did discover though pouring a bit of make up remover and then washing with a mild shampoo (after ever use,religiously) removed most of the product and helped from causing breakouts. Other than that I cannot think of a single thing bad to say about it and I will purchase it again in the future. It is WELL worth the upkeep trust me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 junelove on 11/13/2012 11:06:00 AM more reviews by junelove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I prefer the beauty blender over the Sonia Kashuk blending sponge for several reasons. The beauty blender is shaped like an egg, so it rolls onto he skin smootly fining out any harsh foundation lines. I like to wet mine before I apply foundation and it holds in the moisture really well, whereas the SK blending sponge is too dense to do that. Although the SK blending sponge has a finer tip, which allows you to really get into the corners of your eye, the beauty blender can achieve the same look even though it has a slightly more rounded tip. In all, I would definitely recommend the beauty blender even though it is a little more expensive, it is definitely worth investing in something that you could potentially be using on a daily basis, especially if you are trying to achiece that flawless finish

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SweetMoonbeams on 11/13/2012 7:53:00 AM more reviews by SweetMoonbeams

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have not tried the Beauty Blender, so I can't compare the two products, but I do love the SK blending sponge. I got it a couple weeks ago at Target for around $10 USD. I had a couple of foundations that I just couldn't get to look right, no matter how I applied them. They looked patchy, streaky, or just all out unnatural (CS Whipped Creme, I'm looking at you). After using this sponge for a couple of weeks, I'm convinced that it will make any foundation look good. After moisturizing, I get the sponge thoroughly wet and wring it out. I don't wring all the water out...I just find that it works best that way for me. I apply small dots of foundation to my face with clean fingers and "bounce" the foundation with the sponge into my skin. I use the pointed end around my eyes and nose, and the flat end to blend the foundation around my jawline and across my cheeks. I can't even tell that I'm wearing makeup. I get the coverage that I want from the foundation without having the look of makeup. This also blends concealer effortlessly. It's just a great tool in my arsenal.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sonia Kashuk products

More Misc Beauty Tools products