Jane Iredale • Powder-Me SPF Dry Sunscreen • Sunscreen

rated 4.1(36 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Cbarnes81 on 11/25/2014 4:08:00 PM more reviews by Cbarnes81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I got this first in translucent, which left too light a finish on my skin. Next, I bought the Golden shade, which was a bit too dark. Strange that, cause I imagine my skin shade (medium light) would be shared by the majority, so too bad they don't have a shade in between. I kind of found a solution by missing it up with MUF translucent HD loose powder, and that has helped. In fact, it improved the finish!

I use this powder mainly in the summer, because of the high SPF, which is great. It does not offer the best finish in terms of powder, but it is not bad at all either. No, it's more than 'not bad', it is in fact quite good, just not the best. Apart from the shade situation, I find it cakes on my skin a little bit especially under the nose and eyes, which I manage to avoid anyway by putting less product there.

I don't mind the sponge applicator which many have commented on. I actually manage to take off the sponge, wash it, and put it back on. But I have to be very careful doing this, cause obviously it is not the kind of sponge I can just get a replacement for. It would be great if Jane Iredale offered sponges for sale, or better even, include a spare sponge. The problem I do have with the packaging is with the outer cap, which comes off quite easily, hence, not great for carrying with you at all!!! I wish they'd come out in a screw-open kind of cap.

In summary, good SPF powder, especially as there aren't many out there, but disappointed about the shade range and the cap/cover in the packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 janesawp on 7/6/2014 5:02:00 PM more reviews by janesawp

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

My daughter gave me a sample of this product - Colour Tanned - I used it as a light dusting over my usual foundation and got a load of compliments! It made be glow and was beautifully translucent. Lately I've been using only moisturiser and the powder lightly blotted all over my face (no foundation). Again - even more compliments! My natural colouring shows through the translucent powder and it stays put all day. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this product and even though it costs a small fortune to buy it online (I live in SA and our currency is not great at the moment) I will replace it when I run out. Which will be a looooong time yet. It's winter now, so I'm not entirely sure how it will hold up on a hot summer day, as I've previously only used it in the evenings for the sheen and glow. And only once I read the label tonight to find out if I could buy it in my own country, did I notice it is a sunscreen! Duh.
Well, even better. I certainly wouldn't apply it to my body or scalp (maybe neck and shoulders, cleavage area too just because it looks so pretty) but it is my absolutely favourite everyday face product right now.

PS - but I do have to say, that it would never have occurred to me in a million years to buy this product as a sunscreen. Far too much fuss and bother to have to dab, dab, dab all over. I think this packaging - for a sunscreen - is just way off the mark! My immediate reaction was to use it as a face dusting/blotting/finishing powder, and as I said above, I've been ecstatic with the results!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dxwl on 9/11/2013 4:15:00 PM more reviews by dxwl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product after having tried countless sunscreens. I like to use sun protection because i work outdoors and also use a strong retinoid nightly. My skin is quite sensitive and I found that chemical sunscreens, after a few weeks use, broke me out. I have also tried endless physical/mineral sunscreens in liquid formulas and they always felt heavy. In addition, being a guy, nearly all of the physical sunscreens looked very obvious; they left a noticeable white sheen on my skin (I have medium/tan skin); looked like I was wearing some sort of foundation; or balled up in my stubble.
This product is lightweight, absorbs oil and so far, hasn't broken me out. Although the product is transparent (they make a golden one) the whiteness is only noticeable when first applied and quickly blends into your face in a couple of minutes.
The negative aspects of this product are that the applicator is fiddly to use and I am not entirely sure how long the sponge will last. Perhaps, it would be easier just to use a powder brush to apply this. Also, the main sunscreen ingredient is titanium dioxide. I am of the opinion that the benefits of zinc oxide are much better and can never understand why it is not used more that titanium dioxide. Perhaps someone else could shed some light on this for me?? Nonetheless, this product is well formulated, isn't irritating and will have to do until I find an alternative.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 faffner on 7/29/2013 4:29:00 AM more reviews by faffner

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wish I could give this product four and a half lippies. I am generally happy with it and am relieved to have found a sunscreen I can use, but it does have a few issues.

First the good: It doesn't make me angry. This statement may seem odd to a lot of you, but I think some of you out there may understand. Most sunscreens I have tried are thick and occlusive. They keep my skin from breathing properly, leading me to overheat, and the minute I put them on I feel disgusting and greasy, like I need to take a second shower. I have to admit that, although I know these things are trivial in the day to day course of life, I can't help it -- they make me grumpy. Powder-Me SPF allows me to use whatever moisturizer works for me underneath it, a distinct advantage considering my highly sensitive, pimple- and rash-prone skin. When I use it with NOW Foods brand grapeseed oil, my skin can breathe, I feel normal, and I don't get extra rashes or any pimples, which has never happened with a sunscreen before.

Now the disadvantages: Applying my moisturizer first and then patting and blending this all over my body adds a significant amount of time to my morning routine. Also, as other reviewers have noted, the applicator is kind of a pain. The topmost powder puff fell off onto the floor when I was using it, and when I contacted Jane Iredale to inquire about the best way to clean it, the customer service rep said that she didn't think the applicator would stand up to washing. She was extremely nice about it and sent me extra applicator pads, but I feel that the inability to clean the applicator, especially when you're supposed to reapply sunscreen throughout the day over accumulated grime, is not the best design choice.

Overall, I am very happy with this sunscreen and will keep using it. My sensitive skin cannot tolerate anything else (I've tried many, including other powders like Susan Posnick), and I love the fact that I can change the underlying moisturizer as I please. But those of you for whom ease of use is a priority might find application of this product annoying.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* polarpooch on 6/20/2013 1:27:00 PM more reviews by polarpooch

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i deleted my old review and am replacing it with a new one. first, i think this is a very effective sunscreen IF you can get it applied properly. application is tricky. but it definitely works. HOWEVER, i want to offer this review for women WITH VERY VERY OILY SKIN only, who have struggled to get their makeup to stay on for any length of time. i'm writing this for the ones who have spent hours on the internet searching the terms "best foundation for very oily skin" or "solutons for oily skin" and found nothing that worked for them.

i used every primer known to man and nothing worked to keep even the strongest makeup (EL DOUBLE WEAR!) from sliding off my face in under 6 hours (6 hours is the MAX, even with ELDW). i needed something that stayed on longer than that, because i work 14 hour days. so one day, i was going through my mountain of cosmetics, and found my old JI Powder Me. I thought "hmmm...maybe a POWDER would work better as a sunscreen on my FACE, too". so i put aside my sunscreen (which did nothing but make my oily skin worse), and used this instead.

i applied a very thin layer of hourglass mineral veil primer on my t-zone. i applied a medium application JI Powder Me (with a powder brush)--waited about 2 minutes to let everything "melt". then applied my Double Wear over it.

first, it LOOKED GOOD. so, it didn't look chalky or weird. the powder actually helped my foundation go on smoother. applied a very light dusting of clinique almost powder over my whole face to set it all, and headed off to my 14 hour day.

this did not really control oil that well....BUT...BUT...somehow it kept my makeup on ALL DAY. i did use fewer blotting papers, but really, the big win was that my foundation stayed on. for 14 hours--even on my face, which is so horribly oily, you'd all feel really sorry for me if you saw it!

yes, you'll still have to blot. no, it won't make you stop getting oily. but jeez...isn't just having your foundation last worth it? it is to me.

so there. get some of this and try it as a primer. it's a sunscreen, so you can toss out your other liquid SPFs. it helps makeup go on smoother. and somehow, at least with EL double wear, it made my makeup last all day.

can't even believe i finally found something that worked. smack me if you hate my idea, but i'm sticking to this plan!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pinky911 on 5/20/2013 6:36:00 PM more reviews by Pinky911

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this in conjunction with my Meow Cosmetics mineral makeup, for added sun protection (I think my mineral makeup provides a barrier as well). I haven't had any noticeable breakouts yet and this seems to provide a nice finish over makeup.

The packaging it comes in is awful, end of story. However, the first time I used it, I just dumped about 1/4 of the original container in to an empty Meow Cosmetics case (plastic, with lid and holes/filters). This works just fine. I tap some out on to the lid and apply with a kabuki brush just like I would my makeup. Hoping my skin continues to like this as I gave up on finding a liquid sunscreen that wouldn't break me out or make me greasy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brooke1984 on 4/14/2013 1:54:00 AM more reviews by brooke1984

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Great product for my blemish prone skin. Does not make my face look oily like most liquid sunscreens do. However, the applicator could be improved to make it more user friendly. JI could also consider introducing more shades into the range.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DaisyKenyon on 7/18/2012 6:52:00 PM more reviews by DaisyKenyon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

My dermatologist recommend this product and after sampling it, I purchased. I wish there was a "maybe" option on whether or not I'd buy the product again, because I'm not 100% on it.

I use it over moisturizer and it protects my skin without looking cakey and gives me a natural, subtle coloring. I agree with other reviewers that the sponge applicator is not especially easy to use. If it gets on your clothing - either spillage or from contact to your skin, it easily washes out. For me, it doesn't release enough of the product without my having to beat myself silly with the darn thing. Also, the top is a pull-off, not a twist-off. And the reason why this is good to note, is that if the top has been loosened from a natural instinct to twist it open, you might just end up with the sponge-top on the vanity and a face full of expensive powder (ask me how I know this...).

So overall, the product is good and I like it. The better a sunscreen is and the more attractive it can be on the skin, the more it will be used. The packaging could be reworked to make it more efficient to use, and that's the main reason I don't embrace it 100%.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mollyduprat on 6/18/2012 6:29:00 AM more reviews by mollyduprat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this spf powder, very protective for my light skin. I use it on a very oily cream, as a primer, and I add a very light layer of mineral make up (sheer miracles or meow cosmetics);
However I have critics : the lighter color is too light, the darker is too orange, so I used to mix both before the new medium shade went on.
And I do not like the packaging : the sponge may be nice for body, but for the face it is too big. So I open the jar, put a small quantity in a bowl and apply the power either with Jane Iredale's flocked sponge or with a synthetic kabuki (Eminence powder brush is nice too) - I could wear it alone, it is nice, but when I want to be more sophisticated I add some mineral make up. I have already bought several jars of this powder, and will do it again. very reliable for the sun protection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wiresinhisheart on 8/9/2011 2:39:00 PM more reviews by wiresinhisheart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i had been looking for a sunscreen that wouldnt cause irritation or acne for ages, and read many reviews on various websites saying this stuff was good.
the jar this product comes in has a little application sponge attached to it, that seems really gross and unhygienic to me, so i used a make up brush to apply instead.

this sunscreen is GREAT at protecting my skin against the sun, my skin tone has really evened out since i started using it, but thats the only real positive. i bought the tinted version which works very well with my yellow-based skin tone, although it would probably make a lot of pale people look orange. it works like a light foundation and my skin looks improved when im wearing it. however, it causes terrible irritation on my cheeks. i dont pick my cheeks, but every time i use this stuff i end up with little scabs/grazes on my face that dont heal. once i give my face a break from the sunscreen for a week or so everything heals okay (i do have some scarring on my cheeks that have always been clear up until now :( ) and as soon as i start with the sunscreen again, more grazes/scabs develop.
i am waiting to try ellaroseminerals foundations from etsy as they contain sunscreen ingredients and claim their products are non comedogenic, so im hoping their products work for me, because this doesnt sadly.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jane Iredale products

More Sunscreen products