Jane Iredale Powder-Me SPF Dry Sunscreen

4.1

38 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891) 15% Ingredients: Mica (CI 77019), Montmorillonite, Boron Nitride, Isopropyl Jojobate, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract. May Contain: Iron Oxides (CI 77489, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)


on 8/4/2015 6:44:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I loved this when I first found out about it. I have always wanted a way to apply SPF over makeup! And this would be a full 5 lippie product on performance. HOWEVER for packaging and price it loses mega points. I kept the rating as a 4 lippie to be fair...cuz the product is good. The packaging is crazy bulky. I would love a pressed compact to keep this in my purse for when I find myself out at a patio having drinks but might need to add an SPF layer. The current packaging is not portable. Not that it is any better, but they had a small compact I could put in my purse so I went to Bare Minerals SPF powder. I find the price to be ridiculous. Yes, the product itself could last forever, but I don't think the integrity of the SPF is going to stay in tact as long as you would still have product to use.

Over all good product itself, horrible delivery method/packaging and price.



on 8/4/2015 5:49:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been wanting a sunscreen with at least SPF 30 that is easy to reapply without the stickyness, oilyness or white cast of traditional lotions or creams, plus easy to travel with (no bulky container and no sticky mess in my bag). After reading mixed reviews I decided to try this.
I actually think this is just per-fect. It has SPF 30 PA+++ which is a huge bonus. The container works well, at first you do have to bang quite hard to get the product out, but after it starts to distribute evenlyt it works just fine. No problems with the cap not closing either. The sponge can be removed easily for washing.

I got this in Golden and it matches my NC35 skin. It is more on the neutral side than the yellow side though. First I tried this over a light coverage foundation and applied it as described (pat and buff) but I found that this makes it way to cakey and sinks right into my pores. Since I started skipping foundation recently (because no product ever does what I need it to do), I just use this powder and I am so very pleasantly suprised by how it works on its own! It evens out my skintone beautifully, has the most natural velvety finish without being too powdery, it covers my pores plus it keeps oil at bay all day long. If it wasn't for the sunscreen purpose, I wouldn't even have to re-apply at all. I can hardly believe I have finally found what I've been looking for for so long. This product combines every single one of my beauty demands in just one convenient product and as a foundation it litteraly does everything I demand.

For reference, I have normal to a slight combo skin. I don't use the buffing technique, I just pat it on and maybe finish with some downward streaks with a very light hand for a more even distribution. This way it doesn't cake up, even when re-applied every two hours.


on 11/25/2014 4:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I got this first in translucent, which left too light a finish on my skin. Next, I bought the Golden shade, which was a bit too dark. Strange that, cause I imagine my skin shade (medium light) would be shared by the majority, so too bad they don't have a shade in between. I kind of found a solution by missing it up with MUF translucent HD loose powder, and that has helped. In fact, it improved the finish!

I use this powder mainly in the summer, because of the high SPF, which is great. It does not offer the best finish in terms of powder, but it is not bad at all either. No, it's more than 'not bad', it is in fact quite good, just not the best. Apart from the shade situation, I find it cakes on my skin a little bit especially under the nose and eyes, which I manage to avoid anyway by putting less product there.

I don't mind the sponge applicator which many have commented on. I actually manage to take off the sponge, wash it, and put it back on. But I have to be very careful doing this, cause obviously it is not the kind of sponge I can just get a replacement for. It would be great if Jane Iredale offered sponges for sale, or better even, include a spare sponge. The problem I do have with the packaging is with the outer cap, which comes off quite easily, hence, not great for carrying with you at all!!! I wish they'd come out in a screw-open kind of cap.

In summary, good SPF powder, especially as there aren't many out there, but disappointed about the shade range and the cap/cover in the packaging.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2014 5:02:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My daughter gave me a sample of this product - Colour Tanned - I used it as a light dusting over my usual foundation and got a load of compliments! It made be glow and was beautifully translucent. Lately I've been using only moisturiser and the powder lightly blotted all over my face (no foundation). Again - even more compliments! My natural colouring shows through the translucent powder and it stays put all day. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this product and even though it costs a small fortune to buy it online (I live in SA and our currency is not great at the moment) I will replace it when I run out. Which will be a looooong time yet. It's winter now, so I'm not entirely sure how it will hold up on a hot summer day, as I've previously only used it in the evenings for the sheen and glow. And only once I read the label tonight to find out if I could buy it in my own country, did I notice it is a sunscreen! Duh.
Well, even better. I certainly wouldn't apply it to my body or scalp (maybe neck and shoulders, cleavage area too just because it looks so pretty) but it is my absolutely favourite everyday face product right now.

PS - but I do have to say, that it would never have occurred to me in a million years to buy this product as a sunscreen. Far too much fuss and bother to have to dab, dab, dab all over. I think this packaging - for a sunscreen - is just way off the mark! My immediate reaction was to use it as a face dusting/blotting/finishing powder, and as I said above, I've been ecstatic with the results!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2013 4:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I bought this product after having tried countless sunscreens. I like to use sun protection because i work outdoors and also use a strong retinoid nightly. My skin is quite sensitive and I found that chemical sunscreens, after a few weeks use, broke me out. I have also tried endless physical/mineral sunscreens in liquid formulas and they always felt heavy. In addition, being a guy, nearly all of the physical sunscreens looked very obvious; they left a noticeable white sheen on my skin (I have medium/tan skin); looked like I was wearing some sort of foundation; or balled up in my stubble.
This product is lightweight, absorbs oil and so far, hasn't broken me out. Although the product is transparent (they make a golden one) the whiteness is only noticeable when first applied and quickly blends into your face in a couple of minutes.
The negative aspects of this product are that the applicator is fiddly to use and I am not entirely sure how long the sponge will last. Perhaps, it would be easier just to use a powder brush to apply this. Also, the main sunscreen ingredient is titanium dioxide. I am of the opinion that the benefits of zinc oxide are much better and can never understand why it is not used more that titanium dioxide. Perhaps someone else could shed some light on this for me?? Nonetheless, this product is well formulated, isn't irritating and will have to do until I find an alternative.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2013 4:29:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I wish I could give this product four and a half lippies. I am generally happy with it and am relieved to have found a sunscreen I can use, but it does have a few issues.

First the good: It doesn't make me angry. This statement may seem odd to a lot of you, but I think some of you out there may understand. Most sunscreens I have tried are thick and occlusive. They keep my skin from breathing properly, leading me to overheat, and the minute I put them on I feel disgusting and greasy, like I need to take a second shower. I have to admit that, although I know these things are trivial in the day to day course of life, I can't help it -- they make me grumpy. Powder-Me SPF allows me to use whatever moisturizer works for me underneath it, a distinct advantage considering my highly sensitive, pimple- and rash-prone skin. When I use it with NOW Foods brand grapeseed oil, my skin can breathe, I feel normal, and I don't get extra rashes or any pimples, which has never happened with a sunscreen before.

Now the disadvantages: Applying my moisturizer first and then patting and blending this all over my body adds a significant amount of time to my morning routine. Also, as other reviewers have noted, the applicator is kind of a pain. The topmost powder puff fell off onto the floor when I was using it, and when I contacted Jane Iredale to inquire about the best way to clean it, the customer service rep said that she didn't think the applicator would stand up to washing. She was extremely nice about it and sent me extra applicator pads, but I feel that the inability to clean the applicator, especially when you're supposed to reapply sunscreen throughout the day over accumulated grime, is not the best design choice.

Overall, I am very happy with this sunscreen and will keep using it. My sensitive skin cannot tolerate anything else (I've tried many, including other powders like Susan Posnick), and I love the fact that I can change the underlying moisturizer as I please. But those of you for whom ease of use is a priority might find application of this product annoying.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2013 1:27:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

i deleted my old review and am replacing it with a new one. first, i think this is a very effective sunscreen IF you can get it applied properly. application is tricky. but it definitely works. HOWEVER, i want to offer this review for women WITH VERY VERY OILY SKIN only, who have struggled to get their makeup to stay on for any length of time. i'm writing this for the ones who have spent hours on the internet searching the terms "best foundation for very oily skin" or "solutons for oily skin" and found nothing that worked for them.

i used every primer known to man and nothing worked to keep even the strongest makeup (EL DOUBLE WEAR!) from sliding off my face in under 6 hours (6 hours is the MAX, even with ELDW). i needed something that stayed on longer than that, because i work 14 hour days. so one day, i was going through my mountain of cosmetics, and found my old JI Powder Me. I thought "hmmm...maybe a POWDER would work better as a sunscreen on my FACE, too". so i put aside my sunscreen (which did nothing but make my oily skin worse), and used this instead.

i applied a very thin layer of hourglass mineral veil primer on my t-zone. i applied a medium application JI Powder Me (with a powder brush)--waited about 2 minutes to let everything "melt". then applied my Double Wear over it.

first, it LOOKED GOOD. so, it didn't look chalky or weird. the powder actually helped my foundation go on smoother. applied a very light dusting of clinique almost powder over my whole face to set it all, and headed off to my 14 hour day.

this did not really control oil that well....BUT...BUT...somehow it kept my makeup on ALL DAY. i did use fewer blotting papers, but really, the big win was that my foundation stayed on. for 14 hours--even on my face, which is so horribly oily, you'd all feel really sorry for me if you saw it!

yes, you'll still have to blot. no, it won't make you stop getting oily. but jeez...isn't just having your foundation last worth it? it is to me.

so there. get some of this and try it as a primer. it's a sunscreen, so you can toss out your other liquid SPFs. it helps makeup go on smoother. and somehow, at least with EL double wear, it made my makeup last all day.

can't even believe i finally found something that worked. smack me if you hate my idea, but i'm sticking to this plan!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2013 6:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I use this in conjunction with my Meow Cosmetics mineral makeup, for added sun protection (I think my mineral makeup provides a barrier as well). I haven't had any noticeable breakouts yet and this seems to provide a nice finish over makeup.

The packaging it comes in is awful, end of story. However, the first time I used it, I just dumped about 1/4 of the original container in to an empty Meow Cosmetics case (plastic, with lid and holes/filters). This works just fine. I tap some out on to the lid and apply with a kabuki brush just like I would my makeup. Hoping my skin continues to like this as I gave up on finding a liquid sunscreen that wouldn't break me out or make me greasy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2013 1:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great product for my blemish prone skin. Does not make my face look oily like most liquid sunscreens do. However, the applicator could be improved to make it more user friendly. JI could also consider introducing more shades into the range.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/18/2012 6:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My dermatologist recommend this product and after sampling it, I purchased. I wish there was a "maybe" option on whether or not I'd buy the product again, because I'm not 100% on it.

I use it over moisturizer and it protects my skin without looking cakey and gives me a natural, subtle coloring. I agree with other reviewers that the sponge applicator is not especially easy to use. If it gets on your clothing - either spillage or from contact to your skin, it easily washes out. For me, it doesn't release enough of the product without my having to beat myself silly with the darn thing. Also, the top is a pull-off, not a twist-off. And the reason why this is good to note, is that if the top has been loosened from a natural instinct to twist it open, you might just end up with the sponge-top on the vanity and a face full of expensive powder (ask me how I know this...).

So overall, the product is good and I like it. The better a sunscreen is and the more attractive it can be on the skin, the more it will be used. The packaging could be reworked to make it more efficient to use, and that's the main reason I don't embrace it 100%.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Jane Iredale Products

image

Handi Brush

124 reviews
image

Magic Mitt

59 reviews
Back to Top