EltaMD UV Physical SPF 41

4.1

79 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients as of 09/2011. REFORMULATED TO A MUCH DARKER TINT: Ingredients (alphabetical order): Aluminum Hydroxide, Butylene Glycol, Citric Acid, Dimethicone/Methicone Copolymer, Hydrated Silica, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Isopropyl Palmitate, Lecithin, Linoleic Acid, Octyl Stearate, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Oleth-3 Phosphate, Perfluoronyl Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Polyacrylate 13, Polyisobutene, Polysorbate 20, Purified Water, Quercitin, Sodium Hydroxide, Sodium Selenite, Soft Tex Yellow Iron Oxide-C337773, Soft Tex Red Iron Oxide-C337775, Soft Tex Russett Iron Oxide-C337721, Soft Tex Black Iron Oxide-C337751, Thioctic Acid, Triethoxycaprylylsilane.


on 4/4/2015 9:09:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Is it a good physical sunscreen? Yes. Does it do the job of a tinted moisturiser? No. Would I buy it again? Possibly. I like the fact that with 9% zinc and 7% tiox it gives better protection than my Paula's Choice tinted moisturizer SPF30 (which has 5% of each). It seems gentle, though possibly slightly drying so I use moisturizer underneath. The tint is only partially successful, however. It comes out of the tube a kind of neutral beige slightly darker than my PC t/m in level 2/light (though the tint is uneven, it looks kind of granular though it isn't - difficult to describe). But when spread on the skin, it goes on much whiter. Beautypedia says this product has a yellow tint, but it's not so at all - more neutral/cool. It still makes me paler, and the finish is not quite comparable to a tinted moisturizer in terms of elegance. It does even out skin just a little; I don't like to wear foundation on top. I do wear powder because, if applied in sufficient quantity (for the SPF), it's a bit shiny. Still, I am battling against melasma, and this is the most wearable high-spf non-chemical sunscreen I have found so far.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/7/2015 1:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It's been hard to find a good physical sunscreen. I tried Cotz (which I forgot to review been too long) I've been trying to find a good one that's lightweight, has good UV/UVA balance and stability and overall not too greasy or chalky. I was hesitant on trying because I read mixed reviews (amazon) and I didn't want to waste anymore money.

At first, I noticed that it broke me out in the tiniest ways (small whiteheads) but I pushed through and my skin thankfully got used to it. It feels pretty silky and soft upon application, the finish almost feels and wears like I primer. The color is ok, as the one I have is tinted, I wish they could come out with different color choices. But I can almost get away without wearing any foundation over this, which is saying a lot! It almost makes my skin looked airbrushed and soft focused looking. I'm impressed, I wish it was cheaper, but I'm gonna continue to purchase because it's really great. I would caution anyone with acne prone skin, it might break you out but it could get better if your skin normalizes to it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2014 1:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm considering tossing this just because of how fussy it is. It's barely used and 7 months old....and I'm a daily facial sunscreen user so.....

It's non irritating. But it is drying.....the tint is just too off for me... It's not just that it's too pale, it's too grey/violet. I wore it again this morning, under a darker tinted cc cream to correct the color.....it's already pooling and separating on my face and it's only been 6 hrs.

I'm staying away from sun screen with titanium dioxides from now on....

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/20/2014 12:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have been using Elta MD's UV Daily Broad Spectrum 40 for a while now and I love it. It is very moisturizing for my dry skin. But this past summer, I have been getting some faint sun spots which of course, may or may not be happening on my very fair skin as I live in a sunny area and do like to be outdoors (not tanning of course but gardening, walking dogs, etc.). So I wanted to go all physical and I tried this one tinted. I have to say, if it did not leave my skin feeling kinda flat and dryish, this would be my most favorite sunscreen. I really protects and the tint worked on my very fair skin. I was heistant as how could one tint color really work for many people but it does blend in. I just miss the moisturized feeling I get with the Daily version. I will keep this and wear it for summer months and just deal with the lack of moisture but use the daily one the rest of the year. If you have some oil in your skin, I can imagine this would be just fantastic.
UPDATE: OK, I have added an jojoba oil to my routine in the morning and I then apply this over that and it is great. The dry and flat feeling is now gone and I am loving this. The tint is just perfect and allows me to only use a little concealer if necessary and my skin looks very good.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/22/2014 10:07:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is one of my favorite tinted moisturizers with excellent sun protection. I have tried so many tinted moisturizers, BB creams, and of course foundations, and this one and Nars' are my favorites! The coverage is light, but enough to cover my redness and other imperfections. It is not enough to cover a pimple, but it does help to some degree. It stays on my combination skin almost all day long. If it is very hot and humid, I have no problem to apply another layer -- and my face looks fresh again. It is very moisturizing, and it doesn't cling to dry patches on my face, which is not the case with almost all foundations (cheap and expensive). If your skin doesn't need a lot of coverage, this is something for you. The color is good for light and maybe medium skin tones. For the reference, I have light skin, neutral undertone, and NARS tinted moisturizer in Finland (and Terre Neuve as well), and Laura Mercier in Nude are my perfect match. Elta MD SPF 41 could be maybe too dark for very pale people.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2014 1:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have found a sunblock which doesn't make my everyday make up routine less fun!
Usually my least favorite part of make up and skin care is applying sunscreen but not with this sunblock.
It does not irritate my skin at all. I forget about it right after application.
Its not greasy! it doesn't feel tacky or heavy and this is so important especially summer time.
It is tinted which is great because it spares me from the white cast which physical sun blocks usually have, plus it covers my redness and i can skip foundation step in summer. I still can apply foundation on top without any problems.
It contains some antioxidants which is always a plus!
It is spf 41 which i guess is ok for hot summer days ( even though i did not test its protection being under the straight rays).
Its water resistant (good for joggers).

What else to wish?
i do recommend it especially for those who have oily and sensitive skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2014 11:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I started to think all physical suncreens were sticky and tacky with a white cast but this one is not. I prefer physical sunscreens to chemical because my skin is very sensitive and since I use Retin-A sunscreen is a must. This stuff has a smooth texture and is slightly tinted, just enough to make my NC20-25 skin look a bit more even. This and some concealer are all I need instead of full foundation which is great for summer. I see that sonme people found this drying. I haven't found that to be the case but I use a moisturizing antioxidant serum underneath so maybe that's preventing the dryness on me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2014 5:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I live in Florida, use Retin A (every other day, at most) and have extremely sensitive skin. Plus a bit of dermatitis around my nose. My first basil cell was removed 20 years ago so I don't regularly spend time in the sun (though the beach is 1/2 mile away) and if I do, I'm covered head to toe with SPF clothing as well as tons of sunscreen. I do suspect my husband is a bit embarrassed when we go for walks on the beach by my OTT sun protection armor (though he'd never admit it, the dear.)

So, for over half my life my have been desperately seeking sunscreen that doesn't irritate my skin. Fortunately, my body (excluding décolletage) isn't as sensitive to sunscreen as my face, neck and décolletage. I believe I've tried most brands out there, particularly the physical, non-chemical ones. This product, which I first discovered through my dermatologist a year ago, is the only one I've come across that has an appealing, wearable texture and has never, ever bothered my skin. No stinging upon application, no burning that begins 8 or so hours after application, no icky, gooey, gloppy, greasy mess, and no irritation that, at times, has lasted days after trying a sunscreen just once. Nope, it's not sweat proof and the tint, though subtle, does transfer and smear when exercising or being out a while in humidity,etc.. Though I exercise indoors before the ol' beauty routine, I can see that being an issue for others. However, when I'm outdoors in hot, humid weather I wear a hat and don't experience horrifying drops of tinted sweat & melting sunscreen (ew, that's kind of gross-sounding .... sorry.)

Application is a breeze - just pile it on with my fingers. It absorbs immediately and, only if I unintentionally spread some over my rather thick eyebrows, do I ever need to wipe off extra. It's not greasy or shiny or sticky or thick like it needs to melt a bit before applying - who has time? This might sound nutty, but it actually feels refreshing when applied. Every other liquid anything makes my face feel ... not refreshed. I use this Elta product on face and upper part of neck (no tint-creep onto clothes for me) and then the Elta UV Clear SPF 46 on décolletage, ears and rest of neck. Even though the UV Clear does irritate my face, it doesn't irritate those slightly less sensitive areas. Over the rest of the body I rotate using less expensive drug store brands, depending what activity my day holds. Kind of offsets the price of the two Elta MDs.

Under the sunscreen, I use an eye moisturizer and facial moisturizer with lots of antioxidants - including on décolletage and neck. Perhaps this is why I don't have an issue with dryness mentioned by other reviewers. Over the sunscreen, I use mineral concealer and foundation, both with a light hand. I don't have experience using other types of foundations with this sunscreen. Eye primer and under-eye concealer apply nicely. The tint of this sunscreen works on my very fair, freckled skin. Regarding removal issues, I've found that all physical/mineral sunscreens are tougher to remove. I added a toner to my night time cleansing routine just to make sure I have removed everything. Regarding break-outs, this sunscreen has never caused me to break-out - although others have. It is important, though, to remove all of it before bed. Silicone primers also have the same effect. Unfortunately, menopause hasn't eliminated that particular issue:-(

I'm so happy I found this sunscreen!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2014 7:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I hate the white bottle. It always gets messy. I've been using this now for 2 years. I'm a loyal Paula's Choice skin care user, but her sunscreens are hit or miss for me and the one water resistant sunscreen she makes, I'm really allergic to. I don't break out when I use this product and it doesn't sting my eyes, cheeks or chest area, but when I run, I have to wear dark colors because the tint will start to leak all over the place and it looks horrible. But, it does wear well under makeup and lasts all day. I do value this stuff, because, like I said, I can run with it on, and it won't cause me to have pimples, despite the high mineral sunscreen actives. It also doesn't give me a shiny face, like the Peter Thomas Roth Uber Dry --- yuck!!! Another good add on is that this brand doesn't test on animals.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/29/2014 9:33:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this product for a few years. I'm surprised to see so many negative reviews. I love this sunscreen. I use it every day, rain or shine. It seems to blend perfectly with my fair (yellow undertone) skin. My skin has very few wrinkles, but is somewhat dry. During the winter I wear a moisturizer underneath, but in the summer I often go without a moisturizer. The sunscreen blends easily and within a few minutes it cannot be detected. It is never greasy or shiny, has no odor, and never irritates my skin. I don't need foundation with it, so it really simplifies my morning makeup application. With some products, I'm always on the lookout for a better product, but this sunscreen is perfect and I am completely satisfied.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top