EltaMD • UV Physical SPF 41 • Sunscreen

rated 4.1(78 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 sbender on 9/22/2014 10:07:00 AM more reviews by sbender

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite tinted moisturizer with excellent sun protection. I have tried so many tinted moisturizers, BB creams, and of course foundations, and this is my favorite! The coverage is light, but enough to cover my redness and other imperfections. It is not enough to cover a pimple, but it does help to some degree. It stays on my combination skin almost all day long. If it is very hot and humid, I have no problem to apply another layer -- and my face looks fresh again. It is very moisturizing, and it doesn't cling to dry patches on my face, which is not the case with almost all foundations (cheap and expensive). If your skin doesn't need a lot of coverage, this is something for you. The color is good for light and maybe medium skin tones. For the reference, I have light skin, neutral undertone, and NARS tinted moisturizer in Finland (and Terre Neuve as well), and Laura Mercier in Nude are my perfect match. Elta MD SPF 41 could be maybe too dark for very pale people.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ispania on 7/31/2014 1:29:00 AM more reviews by Ispania

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have found a sunblock which doesn't make my everyday make up routine less fun!
Usually my least favorite part of make up and skin care is applying sunscreen but not with this sunblock.
It does not irritate my skin at all. I forget about it right after application.
Its not greasy! it doesn't feel tacky or heavy and this is so important especially summer time.
It is tinted which is great because it spares me from the white cast which physical sun blocks usually have, plus it covers my redness and i can skip foundation step in summer. I still can apply foundation on top without any problems.
It contains some antioxidants which is always a plus!
It is spf 41 which i guess is ok for hot summer days ( even though i did not test its protection being under the straight rays).
Its water resistant (good for joggers).

What else to wish?
i do recommend it especially for those who have oily and sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* riotkitty on 7/22/2014 11:43:00 AM more reviews by riotkitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I started to think all physical suncreens were sticky and tacky with a white cast but this one is not. I prefer physical sunscreens to chemical because my skin is very sensitive and since I use Retin-A sunscreen is a must. This stuff has a smooth texture and is slightly tinted, just enough to make my NC20-25 skin look a bit more even. This and some concealer are all I need instead of full foundation which is great for summer. I see that sonme people found this drying. I haven't found that to be the case but I use a moisturizing antioxidant serum underneath so maybe that's preventing the dryness on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennigo on 6/28/2014 5:15:00 PM more reviews by jennigo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I live in Florida, use Retin A (every other day, at most) and have extremely sensitive skin. Plus a bit of dermatitis around my nose. My first basil cell was removed 20 years ago so I don't regularly spend time in the sun (though the beach is 1/2 mile away) and if I do, I'm covered head to toe with SPF clothing as well as tons of sunscreen. I do suspect my husband is a bit embarrassed when we go for walks on the beach by my OTT sun protection armor (though he'd never admit it, the dear.)

So, for over half my life my have been desperately seeking sunscreen that doesn't irritate my skin. Fortunately, my body (excluding décolletage) isn't as sensitive to sunscreen as my face, neck and décolletage. I believe I've tried most brands out there, particularly the physical, non-chemical ones. This product, which I first discovered through my dermatologist a year ago, is the only one I've come across that has an appealing, wearable texture and has never, ever bothered my skin. No stinging upon application, no burning that begins 8 or so hours after application, no icky, gooey, gloppy, greasy mess, and no irritation that, at times, has lasted days after trying a sunscreen just once. Nope, it's not sweat proof and the tint, though subtle, does transfer and smear when exercising or being out a while in humidity,etc.. Though I exercise indoors before the ol' beauty routine, I can see that being an issue for others. However, when I'm outdoors in hot, humid weather I wear a hat and don't experience horrifying drops of tinted sweat & melting sunscreen (ew, that's kind of gross-sounding .... sorry.)

Application is a breeze - just pile it on with my fingers. It absorbs immediately and, only if I unintentionally spread some over my rather thick eyebrows, do I ever need to wipe off extra. It's not greasy or shiny or sticky or thick like it needs to melt a bit before applying - who has time? This might sound nutty, but it actually feels refreshing when applied. Every other liquid anything makes my face feel ... not refreshed. I use this Elta product on face and upper part of neck (no tint-creep onto clothes for me) and then the Elta UV Clear SPF 46 on décolletage, ears and rest of neck. Even though the UV Clear does irritate my face, it doesn't irritate those slightly less sensitive areas. Over the rest of the body I rotate using less expensive drug store brands, depending what activity my day holds. Kind of offsets the price of the two Elta MDs.

Under the sunscreen, I use an eye moisturizer and facial moisturizer with lots of antioxidants - including on décolletage and neck. Perhaps this is why I don't have an issue with dryness mentioned by other reviewers. Over the sunscreen, I use mineral concealer and foundation, both with a light hand. I don't have experience using other types of foundations with this sunscreen. Eye primer and under-eye concealer apply nicely. The tint of this sunscreen works on my very fair, freckled skin. Regarding removal issues, I've found that all physical/mineral sunscreens are tougher to remove. I added a toner to my night time cleansing routine just to make sure I have removed everything. Regarding break-outs, this sunscreen has never caused me to break-out - although others have. It is important, though, to remove all of it before bed. Silicone primers also have the same effect. Unfortunately, menopause hasn't eliminated that particular issue:-(

I'm so happy I found this sunscreen!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashleywilkes on 6/17/2014 7:36:00 PM more reviews by ashleywilkes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I hate the white bottle. It always gets messy. I've been using this now for 2 years. I'm a loyal Paula's Choice skin care user, but her sunscreens are hit or miss for me and the one water resistant sunscreen she makes, I'm really allergic to. I don't break out when I use this product and it doesn't sting my eyes, cheeks or chest area, but when I run, I have to wear dark colors because the tint will start to leak all over the place and it looks horrible. But, it does wear well under makeup and lasts all day. I do value this stuff, because, like I said, I can run with it on, and it won't cause me to have pimples, despite the high mineral sunscreen actives. It also doesn't give me a shiny face, like the Peter Thomas Roth Uber Dry --- yuck!!! Another good add on is that this brand doesn't test on animals.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ltbookt on 5/29/2014 9:33:00 AM more reviews by ltbookt

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for a few years. I'm surprised to see so many negative reviews. I love this sunscreen. I use it every day, rain or shine. It seems to blend perfectly with my fair (yellow undertone) skin. My skin has very few wrinkles, but is somewhat dry. During the winter I wear a moisturizer underneath, but in the summer I often go without a moisturizer. The sunscreen blends easily and within a few minutes it cannot be detected. It is never greasy or shiny, has no odor, and never irritates my skin. I don't need foundation with it, so it really simplifies my morning makeup application. With some products, I'm always on the lookout for a better product, but this sunscreen is perfect and I am completely satisfied.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MamaSher on 5/14/2014 3:59:00 PM more reviews by MamaSher

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I received quite a few samples of this ss. I have rosacea, and was a little nervous to try this. The first couple days, it looked great, no irritation. I have been using for a week now, and my cheeks are so broken out. Bummed that this didn't work for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nickyy on 4/28/2014 10:45:00 PM more reviews by nickyy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

@kiley:Did you put regular moisturizer before applying this sun screen?
i bought this spf month ago and i am pretty impressed.
i have normal to dry skin and i started having acne few months ago first time in my life! (why? i have no idea i think have to be this country never had acne in my like before i moved here) anyway i have also really sensitive skin and i can use only fragrance free and hypoalergenic moisturizers and i am allergic to chemical sun screen so my dermatologist recommended elta md as i am very fair skin person.
its drying i agree but if i put moisturizer 10 min. before applying this spf its fine.
didnt broke me out thats miracle and didnt irritated my skin at all whats the another miracle. i am really happy with this product also color is amazing , not pink not yellow not orange just perfect! i am actually using it as a make up with little bit concealer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KileyMc on 4/23/2014 3:50:00 PM more reviews by KileyMc

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this for our recent trip to Hawaii to replace another Elta s/s that I really loved. Why I didn't just repurchase that is a question for the ages:-) But I get bored like we all do here. I echo the other reviewers. Horribly drying. I can't imagine how it could be so drying as I'm a sweating, greasy mess when we're in Maui. I was flaking and peeling. And I got a face full of tiny little red pimples. And I know when it's a product because they're in unusual places (for me) like my cheeks and forehead. Very strange product. I'm not really sure who this would work for and I can recommend almost any other Elta product but this one. Sads

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zero347 on 3/27/2014 11:08:00 AM more reviews by zero347

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product was recommended to me by my derm's office as a good foundation for my mineral makeup.

Pros:
Non greasy and absorbs easily. It also does not rub off like many other tinted moisturizer/sunscreens do. It has light coverage, enough to cover large pores but not as much as a bb cream. I would say it was more matte than the average tinted moisturiser. The color is good, not too pink or too yellow and will suit a variety of skin tones. I did not break out from it at all even though I have a tendency towards acne.

Cons:
I do not know what they put in this but this stuff makes my skin get a super dry almost burned surface. This is weird because as I mentioned I have a tendency towards acne and very oily skin. It looks and feels like what happens after you get a chemical peel where the skin pulls tight and then flakes or peels off. I have used other sunscreens and BB creams with a physical sunscreen in them and did not experience the same issues. I can only assume that it is something unique to this product. At 27.50 USD I would also put it in the higher price range for sunscreens.

Overall I would not buy it again mostly due to the strange drying action that the product caused.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More EltaMD products

More Sunscreen products