EltaMD • UV Physical SPF 41 • Sunscreen

rated 4.1(69 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zero347 on 3/27/2014 11:08:00 AM more reviews by zero347

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product was recommended to me by my derm's office as a good foundation for my mineral makeup.

Pros:
Non greasy and absorbs easily. It also does not rub off like many other tinted moisturizer/sunscreens do. It has light coverage, enough to cover large pores but not as much as a bb cream. I would say it was more matte than the average tinted moisturiser. The color is good, not too pink or too yellow and will suit a variety of skin tones. I did not break out from it at all even though I have a tendency towards acne.

Cons:
I do not know what they put in this but this stuff makes my skin get a super dry almost burned surface. This is weird because as I mentioned I have a tendency towards acne and very oily skin. It looks and feels like what happens after you get a chemical peel where the skin pulls tight and then flakes or peels off. I have used other sunscreens and BB creams with a physical sunscreen in them and did not experience the same issues. I can only assume that it is something unique to this product. At 27.50 USD I would also put it in the higher price range for sunscreens.

Overall I would not buy it again mostly due to the strange drying action that the product caused.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slidingdoors on 12/11/2013 1:56:00 AM more reviews by slidingdoors

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

With this product, I thought I had finally found a sunscreen/tinted moisturizer that I could use.

Unfortunately, it's almost great, but it just doesn't work for me.

Positives
+ It's a physical sunscreen -- with no chemical sunscreens (which give me a rash)
+ It goes on easily, spreads well, blends well
+ After being applied, it dries nicely and does not stay "greasy" and rub off like some sunscreens do
+ It does a pretty good job of covering my larger pores (on my nose), which even many fully-fledged foundation liquids do not do
+ It's not fragranced
+ The color is very good for my NC20 tone. It gives a hint of healthy color, but doesn't look fake. It's fine for my skin tone in both the winter and the summer.
+ It doesn't seem to break me out, which most products seem to do
+ It would seem to be fine to layer under a liquid foundation, although I have not tried that
+ The bottle contains a relatively decent amount of product and it would last me a good amount of time, I expect, even if I used it regularly
+ It's oil-free

Negatives
- It is relatively expensive, especially when not on sale or bought with a discount code from a retailer
- It's pretty stubborn to get off at the end of the day - I pretty much have to use a liquid soap and facecloth and rinse quite a lot to get rid of all traces of it
- It has something of a chemical smell (though I'm pretty sensitive to odors in general)
- As the day wears on, something in the formula starts to waft up and irritate my eyes, even when I do not apply it near my eyes
- It sucks out moisture from my skin, even my oily t-zone, and after an hour or two of wear, it causes scores of dry flakes to rise up all over my face, which can be easily seen by other people. This makes me look older and unkempt, and makes my skin feel dry, cracked, and uncomfortable. It usually takes a couple of days of not using the product before the dry flakes resolve themselves. This is not something I am used to, because most of my life I've had oily skin, especially in the t-zone area.

To try to counteract the drying effect of this, I once put on plain moisturizer first, and layered this sunscreen on top, but my t-zone skin doesn't do well with ordinary moisturizer and usually breaks out a little from it and my forehead develops sebaceous hyperplasia even after just one or two days of most moisturizers, so it would not be a long-term solution for me to always use moisturizer under this sunscreen, but even with the moisturizer underneath it, this product still made my skin start to look as crinkled as a parched river bed in a hot summer's drought!

It's so unfortunate that the product has these couple of major negatives, because the numerous positives of it are amazing and very hard to find in a product.

Note: If you are reading *all* the reviews on this product listing, especially those that were written more than a year or two ago, I guess this sunscreen was reformulated a while back, and apparently it is more drying now than it used to be, and the tint is different now. I have only tried the newer formula (purchased 2013). The current tint is great for my coloring, but the drying effect the product has on my skin after a couple of hours of wear is about as harsh as wearing a thick clay mask for an hour or two would be! That was pretty unexpected.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 whenuwakeup on 10/24/2013 4:21:00 PM more reviews by whenuwakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I noticed there are two entries for the sunscreen so I am double posting =p


-----My skin
Oily, acne prone, nc25~30, illiamasqua skin base 6.5

-----color
It's lighter than what it really looks like when you squeeze the sunscreen on to your face.
It somehow becomes lighter when you start spreading it on your face then becomes a little darker(no grey cast). It it a lighter than my actual skin color but it's not too obvious.
It provides sheer~medium coverage.

----texture/oiliness
It isn't super matte like Shiseido/Anessa sunscreens but I find that I do not need to blot my face more than 2x during the day. My face becomes oily and have to blot within 1 hour of applying my non-mattifying makeup that's really meant for normal~dry face.

------acne?
Mattifying sunscreens I tried so far dries my face out terribly and gives me painful, deep acne. These include Shiseido / Anessa / Obagi products.

I tried COOLA which was a physical sunscreen that wasn't very oily but it turned my face grey.

Elta MD hasn't broke me out yet! Woohoo! Finally a sunscreen I can wear!

Price is reasonable if I purchase in US. I think it's close to $40 in Canada.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NightShift on 9/26/2013 12:38:00 AM more reviews by NightShift

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

((My skin: Slightly dry to combination, rosacea, very sensitive, with micro acne)).

For me, this is a difficult product to review.

This sunscreen was recommended to me by my dermatologist after a disastrous experiment with new skincare products that left my face even more sensitive and red. She said this product has the "correct" percentages of Titanium Dioxide and Zinc. Whether that's true or not I couldn't say, just being a messenger :)
I was also interested in it being a tinted sunscreen with antioxidants, and using only zinc and titanium dioxide. So off to ebay I went and found it for a good price.

The first thing I noticed is the texture-when you first squeeze it out it looks rather thick and grainy, but once applied to the skin it becomes smooth and easy to work with. I find this leaves a shiny finish.

The actual color of the tint I think is somewhat neutral, but sometimes it seems like it's more pink and other times more yellow..it's hard for my eyes to see a clear distinction. But I can say that it seems to tone down the redness in my cheeks, which makes me feel it leans more yellow. Lol, please see my larger-than-life pic to judge for yourself :)

It terms of performance, It *feels* very protective. I have a slight sun allergy and I can instantly tell my face feels better and I'm not getting the full effect of the sun on my skin. My skin also looks much better in terms of color and not as blotchy; it looks brighter. I haven't gotten any extra color while using this. Also this does not irritate my skin, which hallelujah praise the universe because that is a rarity :)

Now for the bad-

For me this is very drying. I wonder if it's because of the higher mineral content and no added moisturizers, but for me I found this really dried out my skin, which then began to aggravate the dermatitis in my eyebrows-not terrible but I noticed it. The best way I've found thus far is to use a hyaluronic acid serum underneath (I'm using Mandom Beauty Repair Concentrate atm) and that seems to help a lot. I also received a sample of the companies AM Therapy and that seems to work very well with it too.

I've also found that this will pill on some days on my more oily areas, such as my nose. Sweat will certainly make this flake off, and may cause some to be itchy in those areas (such as the top of my rosacea cheeks, but that only happened once on a particularly humid day at an outdoor festival).

And lastly..the color. As it's been said this will most likely be too dark for a lot of people. On me I can get away with wearing this in the summer because it gives me a slight tan, but in the winter this would look very fake. My skin tone doesn't easily fit NW or NC shades, but I would say I'm a "neutral cool" that leans more beige when my skin isn't flushed or irritated, and NC/NW 15 are usually too dark.

This will also come off on white clothes, and it's not easy to remove with a cleanser-you'll need a makeup remover to go over your skin first. And If you're placing this on the back of your neck make sure to get that area as well, otherwise you'll have tinted sunscreen on your light pillowcases.

Having said all that though, I really do like this sunscreen. While it's certainly not HG status, I think it'll be an excellent summer sunscreen, and after trying this I think the Elta MD brand is a good one to look in too while I continue my search for soothing products :)

Thanks for reading!


4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wenqing on 9/14/2013 4:23:00 AM more reviews by wenqing

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

light tinted physical sunscreen, oil free, fragrance free, doesn't irritate my hypersensitive skin, doesn't leave a white cast when applied liberally. it may look a bit obvious on very fair skin as it is a light to medium shade with yellow undertone but very sheer. on me i find it has a nice light coverage which can cover pores and even out my skintone a little bit. what i love the most about it is it's a great base for mineral foundations. it contains 85 gram of product which is a great value for a sunscreen can be used on the face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yarndreams on 7/30/2013 10:08:00 PM more reviews by yarndreams

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this sunscreen, have re-purchased twice. I'm a pale redhead and the tint blends in fine with my skin. The first tube I bought was a much different tint than the last two; it seemed darker with a more gel like texture. Particles of pigment seemed visible in the sunscreen, almost like small 'sparkles'. The newer tubes contain a more traditional looking product, with a creamy, almost mousse-like texture. I find the Elta MD SPF 41 to be a bit drier upon application than Clinique City Block SPF 25 in a pleasant way, with a quicker dry down. It provides light coverage, which is fine for everyday. I do find this is similar to most physical s/screens in that one needs to moisturize well before applying. Given the size of the tube, I find the price quite reasonable.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DeboraS on 7/27/2013 12:40:00 AM more reviews by DeboraS

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

After a long search, this is my new HG sunscreen. This fits my criteria of good protection, no irritation & a lovely finish to skin. This does NOT have that irritating shine or white cast that most sunscreens have. I was worried about the tint - I'm a very pale redhead with cool undertones & I have a big problem finding foundations or TMs that match my skin tone, but this is sheer enough that it blends in well. It is too sheer to provide coverage - it isn't a foundation, after all - but it does even out my skin tone enough that I don't feel any need for foundation. I have dry skin, but I don't find this sunscreen drying - I still do my entire skincare regimen and use this after moisturizer, not instead of. On the Elta website this is categorized as a sunscreen - not moisturizer. I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BonChicBonGenre on 7/17/2013 10:29:00 PM more reviews by BonChicBonGenre

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised the "buy again" stat on this isn't in the 90s - this is holy grail level for me. This is a physical sunscreen with SPF 41. Reviewers below say the PPD is about 7-8. I love the tint and the texture. In fact, this is exactly what I have always wanted a tinted moisturizer to look and feel like. It doesn't itch or feel strange when applying at all. It absorbs very quickly. It is probably a tad light for my Asian NC25-NC30 skin, but the formula is so great I really just look right past that. I apply powder to set it. I live in Texas and have been wearing this in the summer and it's held up really great. I may have to buy a few backups.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Robynnna on 7/2/2013 2:13:00 PM more reviews by Robynnna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have a fair complexion with mild rosacea and need to wear an all physical sunscreen. This is the most cosmetically elegant all physical sunscreen I have ever used. It feels amazingly light to me (not greasy/heavy/pasty). I have tried several sunscreens including: Olay Complete Sensitive SPF30, Neutrogena SPF50 with purescreen, Kiss My Face Face Factor SPF30, Paula's Choice Tinted Moisturizer SPF30, Blue Lizard and more. My skin is maybe a little dry but I moisturize before applying the sunscreen so I have had no problems with it being too dry for me. I wear a light translucent powder over the sunscreen with no problem.

The peachy tint of this product worried me when I first squeezed it out of the tube but it blends in well with my skin. It doesn't cover my redness but I think it tones it down. The price (about $20-$25 depending where you buy) seemed high at first but you get a 3 oz tube so I think its more than reasonable. Give it a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 poemaXX on 5/28/2013 8:56:00 PM more reviews by poemaXX

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so happy with this tinted sunscreen, which I use daily on my face and neck. It feels surprisingly light compared to other cream sunscreens (this is more of a lotion texture) and the peachy tint blends well with my warm fair skin (~NC10-15) leaving a dewy finish. I use 1/4 teaspoon on my face and another 1/4 on my neck, as typically recommended with sunscreen.

Love the price tag compared to most tinted moisturizers with SPF on the market! (And I'm sure the protection is much better than most sunscreen products sold by cosmetics companies.**) I use it as a base of my daily makeup; sometimes I just dust some powder over it, other times I layer my foundation and concealer with it. Either way, it works splendidly!

**Aside from the SPF 41, this sunscreen also has a decent PPD of ~8.6 -- so it will give good protection from UVA rays which cause premature aging and hyperpigmentation.

Unlike other reviewers, I have not found it drying on my normal/sensitive skin. Then again, I use moisturizer nightly.

This is a Holy Grail product for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More EltaMD products

More Sunscreen products