Dr. Alkaitis • Organic Purifying Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.9(13 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 2ndNatureBeauty on 2/26/2014 6:40:00 AM more reviews by 2ndNatureBeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this cleanser!! It cleans so well without drying my usually sensitive dry face. It is very very expensive, but it's the best cleanser I've come across (and I've tried my fair share).

I use it twice a day, follow it with the soothing gel and I use the night cream every evening. I think basically the whole range is amazing it's just a shame can't afford it all.

xxxx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 beautyjunkyannonymous on 4/15/2013 12:04:00 AM more reviews by beautyjunkyannonymous

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I was quite let down by this cleanser. I dove right into this line, buying a full size of the cleanser without even sampling it first because I was so impressed with the ingredients and Dr. Alkaitis' entire philosophy regarding skin care. My skin can get quite shiny throughout the day, yet I wouldn't say I'm particularly prone to breakouts and I find my skin is quite prone to dehydration, especially if I'm using a stripping cleanser. On the positive side, I thoroughly enjoyed the scent of this product- it's a sweet herbal scent that reminds me of lavender and vanilla. I will also point out that this did not strip my skin, as when I didn't immediately apply moisturizer after cleansing my face felt comfortable and not at all dry and tight. However, this is not only very expensive for a cleanser (I have spent loads of money on skin care, but the amount you're paying for the amount you're getting with this cleanser is a little bit crazy), but it seemed to cause some breakouts for me (which is really quite rare, especially for a cleanser). It caused really tiny, red pimples on my nose, chin, and forehead. The pimples weren't painful and deep, and they weren't the worst things I'd ever seen, but if I'm paying this much for a cleanser I expect my skin to look a few notches above average, and, these pimples aside, my overall complexion did not look any better than usual while using this cleanser. I also didn't find that a little went a long way; the bottle only pumps out a little product at a time, and I found myself using about 4-5 pumps (probably the equivalent of 1-2 pumps worth of product from a typical cleanser bottle) to get my skin feeling clean and fresh and the only reason I see this as a con is because of the amount you're paying for the amount you're getting (and for a product that is supposedly so concentrated, I did not expect to have to use this much product). For this price, I'd say you could definitely find something more impressive.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BayRidge on 7/30/2012 12:22:00 PM more reviews by BayRidge

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

If money were no object I would bathe in this. Its super concentrated, I use only 2 pumps for my entire face so despite the exorbitant price tag it does last for a very long time.

I use this after doing an oil cleanse. My skin is normal, a bit oily during the summer time, and this cleanser leaves my skin soft, not stripped. Not sure what else to say that hasn't been said below by the other positive reviews.

So instead, I'm off to buy my lottery ticket so I can afford more of this (and the rest of the line).

(The reason I gave this only a 3 despite my love for it is for the price - $60 is shocking for a cleanser.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Khiandra on 3/26/2012 6:02:00 PM more reviews by Khiandra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Love, love, looove this cleanser. I usually stick with cream/lotion facial cleansers most of the time but when i need something a bit more deep cleaning i use this. I especially love this cleanser when my skin is a bit chaotic/ congested. It's very gentle. Leaves my skin feeling clean and fresh. I adore the scent. Kinda sweet. The consistency is nice. A thick amber colored gel that does foam a bit. I wish that you get more product for the money but oh well. The ingredient list is amazing and most important it's pure and organic!! Doesn't cause me any break outs which is a huge plus. This cleanser is reeeally goooood :) A++++

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 z1e2b3r4 on 8/12/2011 10:46:00 PM more reviews by z1e2b3r4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this cleanser along with the soothing gel and nourishing oil for 10 days and my acne has completely cleared up. Also, scarring has faded tremendously. I don't wear much makeup- concealer, mascara and blush and this removes everything. It doesn't burn my eyes=) I love the gel consistency. For the quality, the price is not too bad considering how much money I have spent on products that never gave results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* surferchick2 on 4/2/2011 1:52:00 PM more reviews by surferchick2

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Im kind of middle of the road with this. Sometimes it works nice, other times, it seems like it doesn't take my makeup off and leaves a film. It doesn't break me out at all and when I use it in the morning, when I have no makeup, it seems to do fine. I don't really use coverup...just a little concealer and a very light mineral makeup so there really isn't a lot to take off. When I heard it stings eyes, I actually thought that would mean it would be strong enough to get your skin squeaky clean but I didn't experience that. It's kind of inconsistent, so as much as I'd love to add this to my skincare routine for it's ingredients, I wouldn't purchase this. Even though it didn't work for me, I don't want to turn anyone off who may want to buy their sample kit. He still has great products that are worth a try. Like the nourishing treatment oil, which is the absolute best of the best!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ComplexBeauty09 on 6/29/2010 1:37:00 PM more reviews by ComplexBeauty09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This doesnít leave my skin feeling tight or dry. After using, my skin feels clean and refreshed. I love the smell, lavender with a bit of vanilla? This cleanser foams up nicely and removes all makeup. It does burn eyes! So be careful when using it around your eyes. This could defiantly be my everyday cleanser! Itís pretty perfect.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cowgurl on 3/2/2010 11:55:00 PM more reviews by cowgurl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

A castile soap. Made my face irritated and itchy. I have used it again with my clarisonic and rinsed well with washcloth. Your skin may build a tolerance to the itchiness, but I used it after a soccer game the other day and it irritated my eyelids. I like that it has herbs in it, but the castile just doesn't work for me -- the problem is that I keep reaching for it because I love the texture, color and aroma of it. I do feel like this is a good cleanser -- it may be worth a try. But looking at the price, I think one could easily take a pass.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kruemmelchen on 1/21/2010 6:19:00 PM more reviews by Kruemmelchen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this cleanser for about 3 weeks. It is not a bad cleanser but it's also nothing to write home about. It does an okay cleansing job and smells herbal (which I like) but other than that no visible benefits for my skin. Definitely not worth the $55.00(gasp!!) pricetag.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ginny133 on 9/21/2009 5:16:00 PM more reviews by ginny133

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the only product from Dr. Alkaitis that I didn't like. Luckily I got it from the travel kit. It's a paste like cleanser that does not foam up, which is fine with me. The reason I didn't like it is it makes my face dry up afterwards. I feel like it strips away all the moisture from my face after using it.

So won't purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dr. Alkaitis products

More Cleansers products