Santa Maria Novella • Melograno • Fragrances

rated 3.6(34 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Melloney on 3/22/2012 12:31:00 AM more reviews by Melloney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

From a fresh bottle : blasts of aldehydes , light tart fruit , light incense - musk and some powder.
From a decant: , aldehydes ,little fruit, more powder, incense and musk.

I love this scent. Other reviewers are correct with the similarities to Chanel No. 22, Arpege and Vol de Nuit.
Fresh from my new bottle, Melograno is very bright, smooth ,clean - soapy and tart fruit on a bed of light powder and musk . Somewhat different from my decant as I noted above.
I will buy this again ,repeatedly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntFarm on 10/1/2010 8:58:00 PM more reviews by AntFarm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Don't let the name fool you. Melograno means "pomegranate" in English, but this smells nothing like pomegranates in any way, shape, form, or even concept. This is straight powder. It's for ladies who like a little powder with their powder. It's not soft, it's kind of a classy, sharp-tongued powder. It reminds me of the powdery scent of a Cabbage Patch Kid who has grown up into a woman who smokes cigars on the veranda. Her Gatsby-esque lovers often wonder...who is this Xavier Roberts?

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 7/11/2010 3:15:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Goes on aldehydic and very old-style, but nicely done and elegantly constructed. it reminds me powerfully of Chanel 22 ( a favorite) or some of the Neil Morris blends with their soapy aldehydes and richly blended woods and florals. It develops a definite wood/English leather masculinity towards the fourth hour, but still manages to be a nice fancy perfume. It does remind me of other things, but if it costs less than those other things, there will be a sale in it...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shirl195 on 4/10/2010 1:33:00 PM more reviews by shirl195

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Black    

so i got this for my birthday without smelling it and when i opened the bottle, upon first smell i was not impressed. im a big fan of the classic mature fragrances like no. 5, coco, je reviens etc. and this smelled like that without being anything special. however, after application, it smells A LOT better. and a lot more unique. the lasting power is great for a cologne, it doesn't overpower. it lingers around the wearer. so if you are a no. 5 fan, i suggest you try this or try to get a hand of a sample of this bc its a difficult scent to understand. my only complaint is the price. $110 at lafco.com and the packaging. the actual bottle it comes in just has a screw on top but lafco provides a screw on spritzer cap enabling you to spray the cologne. but that was so cheap it fell apart in five minutes, so ive had to dab it straight from bottle to skin. it's a lovely scent, but im still unconvinced considering the price. i was expecting dusk in the tuscan countryside or some other type of magical experience, but it was very similar to no.5 or some other chanel fragrance (not mademoiselle). i think im going to try to sample other santa maria novella fragrances after this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gummiibears on 12/22/2009 1:16:00 AM more reviews by gummiibears

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Upon initially smelling this perfume from the bottle, I was a bit put off. It was very cloying, and although I am not averse to aldehydic perfumes, this one was a bit strong in that area. It also seemed too mature for me, but I sprayed it on anyway. I will admit that I was not a fan for a while. It smelled like a mixture of soap and cheap cologne, with a splash of some noxious fruity scent--I suppose this was supposed to be the pomegranate.
However, after about 15 to 20 minutes, I had a change of heart. The perfume had transformed from a sloppy mess to an olfactory delight. While definitely noticeable and distinctive, the fragrance is light and unobtrusive; you can get away with wearing this to work, in other words, as long as you go a little easy on it. The smell can best be described as a combination of powder, musk, and florals, with a slight leathery basenote (note: I am not a leather lover, but the leather in this is quite lovely, not offensive in the least). If you are a fan of aldehydic perfumes (think Chanel no. 5 & 22), this one should go on your list to try.
Once applied and dried, it did not reek of "old woman" like it did in the bottle; it's definitely a mature perfume, but 'mature' in this sense brings to mind someone clean and well-dressed.
As far as longevity, I was surprised at how long this perfume lasted, but again, that's probably due to the inclusion of aldehydes. I'd still carry it around with me if I was going to be out all day, but its lasting power is better than average.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 klytaemnestra on 12/8/2009 5:12:00 PM more reviews by klytaemnestra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm a snob when it comes to perfumes. I rarely care for what tends to be so commercially popular. The clean, bright, cliche' scents that so many perfumers tote these days. It's because of this that I tend to be a bit adventurous, I hate smelling that everyone else and embrace older perfume houses, particularly of the Italian fare.

Melograno was one of those perfumes I bought without smelling it first. I didn't really know much about the scent prior to ordering it except that it was the fragrance worn by Vesper Lynd in the film Casino Royale. The bottle was very vintage and the size of it was very appealing since when I find a perfume I love I tend all but forsake all others for at least a month or so. When the bottle arrived from Lacof I realized that I had known what SMN was for a number of years, I simply hadn't placed a name to the packaging which is beautiful in it's own right. The perfume comes with a parchment detailing the history of the monastery and perfume house. This is the perfume house that Margie so loved in the Hitchcock-ean thriller the Talented Mr Ripley.

I opened the bottle and it was an experience unlike any perfume I've tried. I've found that Italian perfumes are distinctively different from French and Melograno is a distinctively Italian perfume. It has a very Old World feel to it, the scent is neither friendly or safe. It can be completely overpowering when not used in some form of moderation, but when it is it's bold, beautiful. It opens with something distinctively aldehydic before drying to an incense-y almost soap-like powder.

I will be the first to agree that Melograno -- or SMN in general -- is not for everyone nor is it for just anyone.

That said, Melograno has become my absolute favourite. An elegant, unforgiving scent.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nelci1 on 10/25/2008 12:20:00 PM more reviews by nelci1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

In one word: Womanly!! A very comforting and powdery fragrance with some incense, musk and wood notes. I am not a huge fan of incense, but here it's perfectly blended with the floral notes and suggests comfort. The result is a "soapy incense", if it makes sense :0)
Perfect to be worn in cold weather, SMN Melograno has great staying power and sillage, considering it's an "eau de cologne".

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rnornan on 3/17/2007 12:01:00 PM more reviews by rnornan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Great scent if it only stayed at the topnote. This smells like L'heure Bleu to me, I don't get any fruit much less a pomegranite but I was never looking for that in the first place. I needed a fix after seeing it in Casino Royale. What an awesome movie! If Vesper liked it, I could certainly try. The top note has that doughy warm powdery note that L'HB has and if only it lasted. Then it dries down in record speed to a powdery simpler scent that is not as much to my liking. The deal breaker is that it won't last 1/2 way into my date with Bond so what's the point of even wearing perfume?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 supermarky on 12/23/2006 4:59:00 AM more reviews by supermarky

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this stuff it is indeed very utilitarian smelling and I think very masculine, unisex at best. It's also great for layering to turn a lot of sweetiepie fragrances into something more macho. Extremely "clean" this is what Gendarme meant to be perhaps only it got the whole concept confused...with Woolite! Fantastic with other SMN scents too. I love to wear it with Opoponax and Frangipane, all three. Or with Opoponax and CdG Avignon, all three, fantastic! And those are just combinations I've tried frequently. This scent creates a sort of "canvas" I feel, or it's as though one has picked a "Medium" as in "I am going to make a sculpture in concrete" and from there you add things that are in a way the "subject" or "melody" to its bass/harmony. Several SMN scents are simply not "perfumes" as we think of perfumes, and I tend to think of them as a form of drag/costuming. This scent says: I am a very clean in the extreme guy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovefragrance on 8/23/2006 2:53:00 PM more reviews by lovefragrance

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This fragrance is soap, soap, soap. It smells like old-fashioned, fairly utilitarian soaop that say, a family would've had in their bathroom in the '30s. Very strong, acrid, sharp, sort of "lyey" soapy quality in that way. Smells almost JUST like this bar of soap my grandma always has in the bathroom. It also has some chypey notes. Like TOUCHES of citrus? and maybe cedar? But it is mainly soap. When I found out (AFTER sniffing) that this frag. was supposed to be pomegranate I was STUNNED! pomegranate! It doesn't resemble it in the LEAST! Very strange...... I usually like Santa Maria Novella but this one's not for me...... if you want a soapy frag. you should give this a try, but if you want pomegranate this is WAY off. I'm giving this a 3 lippie instead of 2 because its not HORRIBLY unpleasent and some people might like it. If I were "lippieing" it based solely on its pomegranateness I'd give it 1 or none! ;) :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Santa Maria Novella products

More Fragrances products