Santa Maria Novella Melograno

3.6

35 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/26/2015 7:23:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Ah, finally I got the chance to smell this after I always had it in mind since seeing it with Vesper Lind in James Bond. So, I have to say I really like this scent and as coincidence I tested the famous L'Heure Bleue by Guerlain last week. This L'Heure Bleue totally failed for me because it just smells sharp and dusty and like hairspray. So today, without knowing it, I tested Melograno and alas, this is exactly what I originally expected from L'Heure Bleue! There it is, dusk before the stars appear, lovers, sultry, dark, sexy but in an oldfashioned way. So for all who liked the idea of L'Heure Bleue and were disappointed, try this, it actually lives up to the original idea and description of that Guerlain scent like I imagined it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/22/2012 12:31:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

From a fresh bottle : blasts of aldehydes , light tart fruit , light incense - musk and some powder.
From a decant: , aldehydes ,little fruit, more powder, incense and musk.

I love this scent. Other reviewers are correct with the similarities to Chanel No. 22, Arpege and Vol de Nuit.
Fresh from my new bottle, Melograno is very bright, smooth ,clean - soapy and tart fruit on a bed of light powder and musk . Somewhat different from my decant as I noted above.
I will buy this again ,repeatedly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/1/2010 8:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Don't let the name fool you. Melograno means "pomegranate" in English, but this smells nothing like pomegranates in any way, shape, form, or even concept. This is straight powder. It's for ladies who like a little powder with their powder. It's not soft, it's kind of a classy, sharp-tongued powder. It reminds me of the powdery scent of a Cabbage Patch Kid who has grown up into a woman who smokes cigars on the veranda. Her Gatsby-esque lovers often wonder...who is this Xavier Roberts?

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 7/11/2010 3:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Goes on aldehydic and very old-style, but nicely done and elegantly constructed. it reminds me powerfully of Chanel 22 ( a favorite) or some of the Neil Morris blends with their soapy aldehydes and richly blended woods and florals. It develops a definite wood/English leather masculinity towards the fourth hour, but still manages to be a nice fancy perfume. It does remind me of other things, but if it costs less than those other things, there will be a sale in it...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2010 1:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Black

so i got this for my birthday without smelling it and when i opened the bottle, upon first smell i was not impressed. im a big fan of the classic mature fragrances like no. 5, coco, je reviens etc. and this smelled like that without being anything special. however, after application, it smells A LOT better. and a lot more unique. the lasting power is great for a cologne, it doesn't overpower. it lingers around the wearer. so if you are a no. 5 fan, i suggest you try this or try to get a hand of a sample of this bc its a difficult scent to understand. my only complaint is the price. $110 at lafco.com and the packaging. the actual bottle it comes in just has a screw on top but lafco provides a screw on spritzer cap enabling you to spray the cologne. but that was so cheap it fell apart in five minutes, so ive had to dab it straight from bottle to skin. it's a lovely scent, but im still unconvinced considering the price. i was expecting dusk in the tuscan countryside or some other type of magical experience, but it was very similar to no.5 or some other chanel fragrance (not mademoiselle). i think im going to try to sample other santa maria novella fragrances after this


on 12/22/2009 1:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Upon initially smelling this perfume from the bottle, I was a bit put off. It was very cloying, and although I am not averse to aldehydic perfumes, this one was a bit strong in that area. It also seemed too mature for me, but I sprayed it on anyway. I will admit that I was not a fan for a while. It smelled like a mixture of soap and cheap cologne, with a splash of some noxious fruity scent--I suppose this was supposed to be the pomegranate.
However, after about 15 to 20 minutes, I had a change of heart. The perfume had transformed from a sloppy mess to an olfactory delight. While definitely noticeable and distinctive, the fragrance is light and unobtrusive; you can get away with wearing this to work, in other words, as long as you go a little easy on it. The smell can best be described as a combination of powder, musk, and florals, with a slight leathery basenote (note: I am not a leather lover, but the leather in this is quite lovely, not offensive in the least). If you are a fan of aldehydic perfumes (think Chanel no. 5 & 22), this one should go on your list to try.
Once applied and dried, it did not reek of "old woman" like it did in the bottle; it's definitely a mature perfume, but 'mature' in this sense brings to mind someone clean and well-dressed.
As far as longevity, I was surprised at how long this perfume lasted, but again, that's probably due to the inclusion of aldehydes. I'd still carry it around with me if I was going to be out all day, but its lasting power is better than average.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm a snob when it comes to perfumes. I rarely care for what tends to be so commercially popular. The clean, bright, cliche' scents that so many perfumers tote these days. It's because of this that I tend to be a bit adventurous, I hate smelling that everyone else and embrace older perfume houses, particularly of the Italian fare.

Melograno was one of those perfumes I bought without smelling it first. I didn't really know much about the scent prior to ordering it except that it was the fragrance worn by Vesper Lynd in the film Casino Royale. The bottle was very vintage and the size of it was very appealing since when I find a perfume I love I tend all but forsake all others for at least a month or so. When the bottle arrived from Lacof I realized that I had known what SMN was for a number of years, I simply hadn't placed a name to the packaging which is beautiful in it's own right. The perfume comes with a parchment detailing the history of the monastery and perfume house. This is the perfume house that Margie so loved in the Hitchcock-ean thriller the Talented Mr Ripley.

I opened the bottle and it was an experience unlike any perfume I've tried. I've found that Italian perfumes are distinctively different from French and Melograno is a distinctively Italian perfume. It has a very Old World feel to it, the scent is neither friendly or safe. It can be completely overpowering when not used in some form of moderation, but when it is it's bold, beautiful. It opens with something distinctively aldehydic before drying to an incense-y almost soap-like powder.

I will be the first to agree that Melograno -- or SMN in general -- is not for everyone nor is it for just anyone.

That said, Melograno has become my absolute favourite. An elegant, unforgiving scent.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2008 12:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

In one word: Womanly!! A very comforting and powdery fragrance with some incense, musk and wood notes. I am not a huge fan of incense, but here it's perfectly blended with the floral notes and suggests comfort. The result is a "soapy incense", if it makes sense :0)
Perfect to be worn in cold weather, SMN Melograno has great staying power and sillage, considering it's an "eau de cologne".

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2007 12:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Great scent if it only stayed at the topnote. This smells like L'heure Bleu to me, I don't get any fruit much less a pomegranite but I was never looking for that in the first place. I needed a fix after seeing it in Casino Royale. What an awesome movie! If Vesper liked it, I could certainly try. The top note has that doughy warm powdery note that L'HB has and if only it lasted. Then it dries down in record speed to a powdery simpler scent that is not as much to my liking. The deal breaker is that it won't last 1/2 way into my date with Bond so what's the point of even wearing perfume?


on 12/23/2006 4:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this stuff it is indeed very utilitarian smelling and I think very masculine, unisex at best. It's also great for layering to turn a lot of sweetiepie fragrances into something more macho. Extremely "clean" this is what Gendarme meant to be perhaps only it got the whole concept confused...with Woolite! Fantastic with other SMN scents too. I love to wear it with Opoponax and Frangipane, all three. Or with Opoponax and CdG Avignon, all three, fantastic! And those are just combinations I've tried frequently. This scent creates a sort of "canvas" I feel, or it's as though one has picked a "Medium" as in "I am going to make a sculpture in concrete" and from there you add things that are in a way the "subject" or "melody" to its bass/harmony. Several SMN scents are simply not "perfumes" as we think of perfumes, and I tend to think of them as a form of drag/costuming. This scent says: I am a very clean in the extreme guy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1366 Reviews
Si
37 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Back to Top