LORAC • Starry Eyed Baked Trio in Starlet • Eye Shadow

rated 4.8(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.92%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Euphoria93 on 9/3/2012 7:33:00 AM more reviews by Euphoria93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't think they sell this brand in my country (Norway), and when my mother brought it to me from vegas I was all... "Meh, where's the M.A.C products you bought?" But after a couple of days I picked it up and swatched it on the back of my hand and was pleasantly surprised. The baked formula is very smooth and pigmented, and even if it's shimmery it's not chunky and gross like other shimmer eye shadows tend to be. It can be a bit fallout if you pick up too much on the brush, but if you tap if off and put it on nice and carefully you should be alright.


And the colors are amazing - the perfect smokey eye trio. The black is just the right amount of shimmery with a subtle brown/purple undertone, and the brown is just such a pretty chocolate brown with a purple highlight effect. The highlight color is my absolute favorite. It's definitely the color I have used the most, and if they sold this color separately I would buy it in an instant. It's a very shimmery light pink/champagne color that's just gorgeous for the inner corner or as a brow highlighter. It just instantly brightens up my eye, and stay put all trough the day. Since it's a baked formulation you could probably use this wet too (the black and brown as an eyeliner?), but I find it pigmented enough as it is. I have tons of eye shadow trios and palettes, but this is the one I reach for the most. The quality can even be compared to M.A.C after my experience. I don't know the price of this, but I assume it was fairly cheap compared to other brands with the same quality. If you want a standard, yet high quality eye shadow trio, then this is for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maya37 on 12/23/2011 10:25:00 PM more reviews by maya37

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

AMAZING. I've been an eye shadow junkie for 25 years and own over 100 shadows, ranging from Wet 'n Wild to Dior limited editions. The blendability, pigmentation and depth of color of this brand is superior.

I am really picky about purples and shimmer is tricky on older skin. This palette handles those challenges beautifully. Not cheap, but you get a lot of the product and the quality is worth every penny.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 counterlydefined on 5/3/2011 6:07:00 AM more reviews by counterlydefined

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

love love love Lorac's trio's. i own all of them and i love very single one of them. they are very blendable, buildable, and pigmented. simply gorgeous!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peppermintcupcakes on 3/5/2011 3:19:00 AM more reviews by peppermintcupcakes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing eye shadow that I would recommend to anyone! There really aren't any downsides to this product at all (maybe aside from the price; it is not the most budget-friendly item out there). It is very pigmented, long lasting, good texture and no fallout. The packaging is one of my favs. It comes in a thick, solid case that has good weight to it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovesyndrome on 1/18/2011 12:35:00 AM more reviews by lovesyndrome

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favorite eyeshadow palettes. I don't know why I don't wear it more often. Last time I wore it, I received a lot of compliments. However, the compliments were from several middle-aged men. I swear I did not look like a prostitute though because I was wearing my Taekwondo dobok (martial arts uniform) and I wore the eyeshadow trio subtlety with the lighter purple color on the lids, a small amount of the dark purple in the outer corner, and the champagne color on my browbone.

Anyway, the pigmentation is great, the texture is fabulous, and its blend-ability is superb. Colors are beautiful for my light Asian skin and brown eyes. Perfect for creating a purple smokey eye. The colors work together, can work alone, and with colors from different palettes.

Price is reasonable for such high quality and 3 shadows. That's basically $8 per color, and there is A LOT of product. I feel like it would take me a very long time to go through the whole thing, even if I did use it daily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blog_antagonist on 1/5/2011 9:39:00 PM more reviews by blog_antagonist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I really don't know why Lorac doesn't get more MUA love. These shadows are truly outstanding, as are every one of the (admittedly few) products I have tried.


I got amazing pigmentation from this trio, which yields rich, velvety color in just a stroke or two. The texture is insanely soft and smooth. I've never used shadows that blend so effortlessly. I'm not easily impressed, but this product really impressed me.


These particular colors are simply gorgeous. I'm too pale to pull off an evening eye using black and too warm to use gray, so purple is my go to color for a smoky look. And these colors are superb for that, although versatile enough to create a pretty, polished day look as well. These are pretty true plums, with no silver or gray cast to them. But they do have a deliciously smoky quality; no 1987 purple here.


I'm definitely going to be purchasing more of these little gems. They're a little high end for my pocketbook, but definitely worth the expenditure when I'm in the mood to treat myself.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angellove1705 on 8/17/2010 12:28:00 AM more reviews by angellove1705

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

At first look these are just beautiful shades right off the bat. They are very pigmented so a tiny bit does so much. I love that these are very easy to blend and can be used day or night. These shades are perfectly matched and you can use two colors or all three which offers multiple looks to play with. The one thing I do not like is the hard plastic shell casing. It is very easy for it to break if you drop it. Altogether though this is so worth the purchase price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TakenByHim on 6/30/2010 10:33:00 AM more reviews by TakenByHim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Wow..these colors are absolutely gorgeous especially if you love shimmer. They are shimmery but not chunky or glittery. I usually hate mineralized eyeshadows but these are very pigmented and smooth. They are also very easy to blend. The dark shade is perfect for night time smokey eyes. The medium shade can be worn on the lid during the day with the darker shade in the crease. I prefer to wear matte highlighters so I don't use the lightest shade as a highlighter but it's nice for the inner corners. I can't rave enough about this..the price is reasonable as well. You get three colors for only $24..that's $8 per eyeshadow and there is a lot of product. You won't run out for a long time even with daily use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Crump360 on 3/11/2010 10:53:00 AM more reviews by Crump360

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have had this Lorac shadow palette for quite a while and just started using it recently. The colors are quite lovely. The shadow blends beautifully. The shadows really accentuate brown eyes. I would definately recommend, esspecially if you are new to purple makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 catzie8 on 2/4/2010 11:37:00 PM more reviews by catzie8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in a set, so I thought the value was great. I'm not quite sure what it retails for by itself, but I'm sure I would shell out whatever it costs and more for it.

My favorite eye shadows of the moment!

Every color in the eyeshadow trio is gorgeous. All of the colors are shimmery and well-pigmented, but not glittery. The white is perfect for all over and highlight up to the brow. The brownish color is great for the lid and the deep purplish color is awesome for the crease. The darker colors look a lot more purple in the package and more brownish-purple when worn.


The lightest color is my absolute favorite, which I use over my Stila smudge pot in Kitten or my Bobbi Brown cream eye shadows in Galaxy, Sand Dollar and Beach Honey. (I am sure I will post pictures of these looks later).


I also use the purple deep color for liner on my lower lash line or to set the gel eyeliner I use on my top lid. I have found that the little brush that comes with the set works quite well for lining purposes, but doesn't do a good job as a shadow brush.

http://hapagurl8.blogspot.com/2010/02/lorac-secrets-of-hollywood-starlet.html
for pictures

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LORAC products

More Eye Shadow products