By Kilian • Cruel Intentions • Fragrances

rated 3.9(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 6/23/2012 4:57:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

On me, this smells like an antique cabinet; wood, lacquer, cedar lining. Rather nice for that, but the floral notes seem completely MIA, as do the vanilla and musk notes. Mostly Gaiac, vetiver and papyrus on me. I like it anyway, but it's a severe scent without sweetness or soft edges. Not for days when I'm feeling sentimental or girly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 debrsl on 11/1/2011 8:23:00 AM more reviews by debrsl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Sophisticated, different and beautiful. I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* awesomeness2 on 10/20/2011 8:58:00 PM more reviews by awesomeness2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Cruel Intentions reminds me something ... can't put my finger on it. I get a bit of Encre Noir (Femme) with the rose & vetiver, but it's the styrax, I think ... or maybe oud. Puzzles me and causes me to take even more deep breathes of this fine fragrance.


I love this. Very well-balanced fragrance with just a hint of florals. I've had some difficulty wearing the sweet or boozy Kilian fragrances. However, I find Cruel Intentions unusual and right up my alley. Unisex for sure, maybe just on the femme side, if that.


I've sampled most everything in the sampler pack, and for me Cruel Intentions & Back to Black are full bottle worthy.

Highly recommend giving this one a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cerulfox on 10/18/2011 4:00:00 PM more reviews by cerulfox

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

All I got from Cruel Intentions was sandalwood, sandalwood, sandalwood. A good quality, heady, milky, almost musty sandalwood like in Tom Ford's just-released Santal Blush, but sandalwood nonetheless. And just like Santal Blush it drowns out all the other notes to the point of nearly being a single-note scent. Not *bad* per se, but I have no desire to smell like the inside of an Asian furniture store.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rpolisk on 3/2/2011 9:01:00 AM more reviews by rpolisk

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The first bursts of scent from Cruel Intentions are juicy green Vetyver and something else (Papyrus?) which prompted me to try it on my skin. This is a beautifully blended smokey/incensy scent which, despite some strong players, manages to stay close to the skin. After the first hours the "raspiness" of Haitian vetyver lifts and beautiful rose begins to come through and continues to develop over time as the edges of this gorgeous scent soften and become creamier. It's as if you're smelling rose through a veil of herbaceous oud. There is nothing overtly floral about this scent nor is it sweet or gourmand at all. This is what I was hoping Rose 31 would be like on me. Longevity is excellent (8+ hours) and this would obviously wear quite well on men and women alike. Try it if you are a fan of vetyver and very well crafted woody scents. I find its price point very reasonable, especially if you don't go for the whole song and dance of the box and key. Large refills are available for 125$ and there is a lovely travel atomizer with 3 or 4 refills available for 150$. Given the quality of the ingredients and the gorgeous crafting of this scent, pricepoint is appropriate in the current fragrance market. A definite purchase for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ellizam on 2/24/2010 4:13:00 PM more reviews by ellizam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The price point bothers me. I really dislike it when fragrances go over $100 for a 1.7, much less a 3.4. While overall the Kilians are exquisitely made with great ingredients, a really skilled nose, and gorgeous packaging, at this stage in my perfume thing, I don't want to expend the resources necessary to have any of them.


On the positive side, the juices are of great quality, original, beautifully made, and I haven't disliked or disrespected any I've tried. They're also all of astonishing concentration -- he at least gives you your money's worth! The packaging is exquisite and I have to say, it does add value even if one doesn't care about that type of value. As objets d'art, they look exquisite (haven't seen actual bottle) and if I were advising someone wi/lot of money on presents to give, factoring out the idiosyncracies of fragrance appreciation, this would be a STUNNING gift! You'll think me perverse, but for a goth, it would be a great entry into the reality behind alot of the faux. Yes, BPAL, I'm talking to YOU!


The names are overblown - perfumer taking self and project awfully seriously, but he's young. We do that at that age.


Cruel Intentions is witty. It's a dry, green, woody incense, kind of the green of envy delicately overlaid on sophistication. For a Killian, it has light sillage, which isn't to say it's watery, just that it doesn't project hugely. I got sandalwood, maybe touch of cedar in the base with something very astringent and green, perhaps galbanum? Checking the notes, they list papyrus, and that's just about right. A light green, dry, a little wood pulp, nothing hard hitting but clearly present. There's a very delicate incense waft, might be coming off the wood but I'm guessing the guaicwood, maybe a bit of the agarwood as well. There's a little floral, accounting for the sophisticated feel - notes have orangeblossom, which I can find (and it's of the very best quality!), as well as bergamot, violet, and rose. The floral doesn't feel soliflore, more an expensive accord. I don't get any vanillic sweetness. Again, the notes at Luckyscent have vanilla, but don't worry that you're going to get something gourmand. This is a classic, very elegant, incense/wood combo mediated with aromatic florals on top and laid in a light overlay of green. Really beautiful.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 twitches on 11/15/2009 12:28:00 PM more reviews by twitches

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I am not good at detecting notes in a perfume, so my review cannot be helpful to anyone in that regard. What I can say is that I do love unusual fragrances, but in general I refuse to spend over $100 for anything because my tastes change too frequently to ever use up a bottle. I did not like this one when I first tested it in Saks, because the inital blast is quite overpowering. But the drydown is amazing - there's something leathery and soapy going on at the same time - and after vacillating back and forth for weeks over it, I finally broke down and bought this one. I have NEVER paid $225 for a bottle of perfume, but in my opinion Cruel Intentions was just THAT mandatory a purchase for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cavewoman on 8/13/2009 8:43:00 AM more reviews by cavewoman

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I received a set of six Kilian samples from Bergdorf, and was eager to give each of them a fair try. Cruel Intentions has violet, rose, and sandalwood listed in the notes, and since these are favorites of mine, especially rose and violet together, I couldn't wait to test this one. Immediately I was just about assaulted with the powdery, resinous notes, and although amber isn't listed as a note, it's strongly powdery amber to me. If powdery ambers are something you like, you'll love Cruel Intentions. I personally hate powdery scents, and ambers especially, and after a few minutes of wearing Cruel Intentions, I actually became nauseous. Just goes to show, again, that you can never really tell what a scent will be like on your skin from only reading a list of notes! This one, to quote my friend Ceil, is a scrubber. I never smelled any rose or violet in this scent. It went straight to the base notes on me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dagney on 4/11/2009 6:01:00 PM more reviews by Dagney

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Cruel Intentions is a beautiful oriental fragrance. I smell a pungent, fruity amber in the beginning with incense joining in towards the heart of the fragrance. Drydown is mostly incense/vanilla. Did not last very long on my skin at all. And, I wouldn't say this is the most interesting oriental. 4 lippies for being a good smelling fragrance but no sale for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SensualSusanna on 3/13/2009 8:20:00 PM more reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Cruel Intentions opens very smokey and resionous which reminds me quite a bit of Habanita. Then .. it goes into a stinky body odor that doesn't last long. After about an hour --- it morphs into a creamy woodsy skin scent that is captivating. However, I can't imagine ever wearing this fragrance for a long period of time. I don't think I'd be able to tolerate the opening and middle notes to enjoy Cruel Intentions long term. Pass for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More By Kilian products

More Fragrances products