NYX • Doll Eye - Water Proof • Mascara

rated 3.1(55 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 jshuipetitefille on 6/10/2014 8:30:00 AM more reviews by jshuipetitefille

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The first time I tried this mascara, I was unhappy about it. It is too wet for my liking (I prefer dry formula mascaras since they tend to hold my curls longer) and when I apply it, it is too heavy on my lashes - it doesn't matter how I curl them. The moment I switched to a good mascara base, I began to appreciate this more. It doesn't clump with the mascara base I am using. I might repurchase because it is good value for my money (really cheap) but I kind of want to explore more of the expensive mascaras out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mousquerader on 5/18/2014 1:39:00 AM more reviews by mousquerader

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Terrible mascara. I've always heard good things about NYX, so when I saw this at Target, I decided to try it. It's waterproof, but the formula is so wet it completely takes down the curl in my eyelashes even though I JUST used an eyelash curler. I can't deal with that. As for what the mascara looks like on the eyelashes it's hard for me to tell if they're lengthened when they're pointing straight down, but it makes me lower eyelashes look thicker and longer. However, the brush is a bit fat and even if I'm being careful, I end up hitting the brush on my skin and making my eye area look a little messy. Too bad for the formula, because did could have been such a decent mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heathermrm on 2/15/2014 10:57:00 AM more reviews by heathermrm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Pleasantly surprised by this! Background - I only wear drugstore waterproof mascaras in as dark a black as I can find. Pet peeves in this category = when too much product comes out on brush, brushes too big to reach the corners of my lower lashes, mascara that claims to be waterproof yet smudges or flakes w/in a couple of hours, d/s mascaras trying to pass themselves off as hi end by jacking up their prices.

Now, this stuff passes all of my pet peeves :) I get defined, voluminized, long lashes w/ this stuff. Only reason I didn't give it 5 lippies is I have not yet gone swimming w/ this stuff on.

I will definitely keep this in my rotation :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Asterique13 on 2/15/2014 8:36:00 AM more reviews by Asterique13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This mascara is a complete failure. It is way too wet, it takes ages to dry on my lashes and therefore smudges all over my eyelids when applying. However, what really made me run screaming from this product is that it really weighs down your lashes. It does not hold a curl for a minute, not even after recurling my lashes a second time (with a heated curler). Combining it with a second mascara as kind of a base didn't do the trick either.

Normally I'm using Clinique's lash power mascara, this one's really (REALLY) good. Maybe I should have bought this one in waterproof instead...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dattrumpet on 12/12/2013 1:43:00 PM more reviews by dattrumpet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My eye lashes are pretty thin, but there are a lot of them . I don't have any natural curl to them (I would die without my eye lash curler- it's like a push up bra for my eyes!), and at the ends they get very wispy and cross over each other.
Honestly, this mascara was great for me. Where I live, it's humid all year around. My hair might not survive the day, but my eye lashes sure did with this. They held their curl, didn't flake, and I didn't have to do any touch ups throughout the day. I even worked out in this and felt that my eyes were just as glamorous after the exercise. I didn't have any problem getting it off in the shower, either. My average makeup remover took it right off and there wasn't any residue left behind.
Before this mascara, I used Maybelline the Falsies waterproof, and I was convinced that I'd never change. I'm so happy I did! The brush was even a great size to get the tough corner lashes and to separate the tips of the lashes that often cross over each other on me. Will definitely buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alasia1 on 12/6/2013 9:58:00 PM more reviews by alasia1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I was really excited to get this mascara, read a ton of reviews and I love Nyx so i picked it up. And the first time I used it I hated it, too wet, my lashes didn't hold a curl, which NEVER happens with a waterproof formula, and it made my lashes hard and brittle. I don't know what happened here, Nyx is such an amazing brand, I don't think I'll be repurchasing another mascara from them in a while. Although no flakes, no smudges, but also no volume and no length. Same exact formula for me as Wet N Wild Megalength and that's only $3.00. Hopefully it will dry out and work better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 clairerenee on 10/28/2013 9:34:00 PM more reviews by clairerenee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried this as it is fairly cheap. I was pleasantly surprised. I used a coat of my current daily mascara-lancome definicils and then brushed a coat of NYX on top. I was amazed at how one coat totally defined and fattened up my lashes. Not sure yet if it will hold a curl (which is why I used the definicils first) will update review once I try. In the meantime, holding some hope that this will be my HG replacement for Cover Girl Marathon Mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cyberhd on 8/13/2013 1:40:00 PM more reviews by cyberhd

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Disappointed with this mascara. For a waterproof formula its too wet, it weighed my lashes down as soon as I applied. Maybe it will dry up a little in a couple of weeks but I bought this to use it now, not couple of weeks later.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 miaculpa on 6/15/2013 2:41:00 AM more reviews by miaculpa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have extremely oily skin and am in a high humidity/hot climate. NO mascara was staying put and I would end up with raccoon eyes- NO LONGER!

This mascara survived an intense outdoor workout in 96 degree high humidity with sweat dripping into my eyes and down my face. It actually looked better after the workout. I found a couple of teeny flakes, but no raccoon eyes. I am SOLD on it.

It came off fairly easily with virgin coconut oil. It was almost like blinc mascara in the way it came off. It lengthened my latisse enhanced asian lashes a lot. I would buy this again and again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 funnygirlup on 5/29/2013 11:06:00 PM more reviews by funnygirlup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

this mascaras a disappointment. it doesnt lengthen or volumize and God forbid if you try more than two coats because it turns into a hard dry clumped up mess. it lasted all day and didnt smear but taking off proved challenging and i lost a few lashes through that process.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Mascara products