Sebamed • Everyday Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.8(18 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 rockycoastofmaine on 4/20/2014 5:24:00 PM more reviews by rockycoastofmaine

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

First shampoo that has never caused me any issues. I have used free and clear, DHS and various natural brands that have all caused itching and flaking. I have used all the ones in the drugstore at one time or another with same reactions, plus these are usually way too scented to me. This is a clear gel, does have a very slight floral fragrance, I think sunflower fragrance. It is pretty expensive for the size, but I find it's concentrated, lathers just fine,rinses well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* westside on 4/23/2013 1:21:00 PM more reviews by westside

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I recently broke out with eczema all over my face, ears, neck, chest...you name it. I'm not sure if the cause was chlorine from the pool or bad detergent...anyway I used prescription creams and antibiotics, which I found didn't really work well. 10 days into treatment, though, I saw a big display of Sebamed at Costco. (I had tried their moisturizer when it was BOGOF at CVS). The vendor at Costco gave me a good deal and I walked out with (4) 1-Liter bottles of Sebamed products for $100. The face and body wash, shampoo, and body lotion have all REALLY helped relieve my eczema. I like the multi-use of the products, the lack of fragrance (though the face and body wash does have a bit too much of medicinal smell compared to other Sebamed products), and how clean and comfortable I feel afterwards. The body lotion is creamy enough for the the whole body, but I use it on my face too. While it may be a bit greasy, it settles into the skin pretty quickly. My new favorite product, though, is the shampoo! I get a thorough rinse that seems to last a lot longer than other hair products I've used. I also appreciate finding something that doesn't smell like everything else, you know, the flowers and peaches :) I am now a devoted Sebamed user and will shell out a few hundred dollars a year because the products work!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shazzac on 3/7/2013 3:58:00 AM more reviews by shazzac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've only used it twice - today and yesterday morning. So far, my itching has stopped. When I use my nail to 'scrape' the scalp lightly, no white residue appear on my nails which is good news.

It was a tad dry for my hair though but I only use this on the scalp and when I rinse it, I let the remaining shampoo pass through the lengths of my hair.

Will update once I've finished up the 200ml bottle.

Note: I have oily but sensitive scalp.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vintagenavyblue on 12/24/2012 3:30:00 AM more reviews by vintagenavyblue

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The first time i used this shampoo was to wash 2nd day hair. My hair dried but had a slighly greasy feeling. I decided to wash my hair again the nxt day to properly clean it. However,even with using a shampoo brush,my hair was not clean and did not dry properly after my shower. I now alternate this with sulfate-free shampoos and also wash twice while using this shampoo. My hair does not feel overly dry even while rinsing twice. The shampoo has a nice floral scent that i like. I prefer packaging with pumps so that i do not need guesswork to decide how much shampoo i need.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Annyutka on 10/4/2012 4:55:00 PM more reviews by Annyutka

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this shampoo and the conditioner in desperation one day to ease my inflamed-feeling and itchy/painful scalp one day. I've never in my life had scalp issues (dandruff, eczema, senstivity more than the average person) but after an accident last year where I hit my head and cut/bruised an area, I've had strange sensitivity with itchiness and eczema-type symptoms all around where the wound had bee....

So, while trying to find a non-irritating shampoo/conditioner that would improve the condition of my scalp but ALSO CLEAN my hair and keep it nice (I have long fine, thin, fly-away hair but LOTS of it fyi), I settled on this one. This stuff (used together 'poo/cond.) has REALLY helped my scalp - the results were almost immediate and have only improved with usage over time.
My routine:
I.) I used Sebamed strictly as my sole poo/cond for about 2-3 weeks. I noticed an improvement right away.
II.) Then I alternated it every other time with my other moisturizing 'poo as it does tend to be slightly drying after multiple uses and the conditioner is quite lightweight.
II.) Now I use it just once a week or less as a sort of "maintenance" regimen. Or I'll use it if my scalp starts getting tender/itchy again and if I want to re-balance out the pH again.

Thank god for this shampoo (and conditioner)!
Easy to find in CVS/Walgreens/RiteAid.
More expensive than regular drugstore products, but well worth it, IMHO.
I do wish the bottles came in larger sizes, since it doesn't last very long with the current size.
I recomend this if you have any of the above problems or similar ones that I touched upon.

10/4/2012

~UPDATE~
I have to knock off one lippie for drying out my hair a little too much, which isn't such a mass issue if I take the time to re-hydrate it, but it's still annoying. I still recommend this for scalp and buildup issues, though.

02/27/2013

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 miasuraya on 7/24/2012 10:07:00 AM more reviews by miasuraya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I can't wear drugstore and salon shampoos - something I'd discovered for the past two years. My scalp gets irritated. I don't think it's the usual dandruff, probably eczema/dermatitis. I've been using an organic shampoo until it ran out, unfortunately sold out at the pharmacy, too. The pharmacist handed me this Sebamed shampoo as an alternative and asked me to try it out.

I wanted to love it, but since I started using the shampoo, my scalp is scaly again. I get dandruff and an irritated scalp. Smells nice, gives volume. But sadly, still not good enough for the scalp.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mymelody87 on 4/8/2012 2:56:00 PM more reviews by mymelody87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I can't really remember why I bought this shampoo. Maybe it was the pH factor or maybe the seriousness of the packaging. I'm not sure.

Anyway, I've got greasy hair. I've also got greasy skin. Everything about me is just very, very oily. So my biggest concern was that this shampoo wouldn't clean enough. But after using it awhile I see that it cleans a perfect amount. It's not stripping my hair but it's not leaving it oily either. And, possibly because it's not stripping my hair completely, I've been able to start shampooing my hair every other day, rather than every single day. So my scalp has settled down somewhat. I've also noticed my face being less oily and acne-prone as well since I've begun using this.

I've noticed I don't have to use conditioner after using the Sebamed. It doesn't lather particularly well, so the ends of my (long) hair don't get particularly cleaned from using it. I can still feel the slickness at the ends after I shampoo. Only my scalp is clean. At first I thought this was a problem and a sign that it wasn't working. But now, after using this shampoo for around a month, I realize that that's actually ideal; I don't need to be shampooing the ends of my hair every day. Consequently my hair has been splitting less and I'm losing less hair when I shower. I'm also using less conditioner, and some days it even seems as if I don't really need any conditioner, but I always use it anyway.

It has a slight smell but nothing that bothers me. And it leaves absolutely no smell in my hair. But I don't care about the smell anyway. The most important thing for me is that this shampoo lets me keep my hair's oiliness under some semblance of control without causing it to break or fall out. It's a perfect balance.

Word to the wise, I've found that no shampoo can be used "daily" in hard water. Even this shampoo stops working for me if I use it continually. But it's about as good of a daily shampoo as could be expected under the conditions. What I have to do to keep it working is mix it up with Redken's Hair Cleansing Cream about once a week, to remove mineral deposits from my hair. As long as I do that, the Sebamed keeps working. But if I don't use a clarifying, chelating shampoo, this shampoo stops working in about a week. But I don't blame the shampoo for that. I blame the shower water.

Anyway, if your circumstances are anything like mine I suggest giving this shampoo a try. I'm happy to have it around. It does what it's supposed to. And I do feel that my hair is healthier and less prone to falling out since I've begun using it. I have to intermix it with something clarifying here and there, but it's worth it. I'm also using less conditioner. And I'm satisfied with the slight scent. This shampoo is a bit expensive, maybe 13 dollars US? I don't remember. But it works and it lasts a long time. If you're on the fence I say give it a shot.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Safin on 5/3/2011 3:33:00 PM more reviews by Safin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Why is everybody looking for a sulfate free shampoo, while the alternatives are soo drying. This is no exception. This Shampoo gives enough foam and the bubbles feel soft when working in the hair, but at the end my hair feels dry and my scalp irritated, I even got some eczema (SD) on my scalp and hairline. I do not react very well on Decyl Glucoside after all.
And why oh why do they add fragrance in products for sensitive skin?

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ambre76 on 3/12/2011 4:32:00 PM more reviews by ambre76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been constantly looking for the mild shampoo and finally found this. At first I used Sebamed's Face and Body Cleanser also for hair during one long and exotic backpack trip. Turns out it was brilliant idea, so I gave a try to this product too.
When switched from regular SLS-containing DS product, at start it took some time to accustom. Using this for a couple of weeks and I noticed that sebum production was normalized and hair are soft and manageable. Natural waves came prettily back.
Package bottle is okay, minimalist and I love the delicate smell on a shampoo.
Price was quite good - 5-6 Eur, but apparently sells have gone up, because I see a higher price tag every time I go to the drugstore.
Generally, germans know how to make great derma-drugstore products (Eucerin, Dr. Scheller for example)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 starsmaycollide on 1/2/2011 7:18:00 AM more reviews by starsmaycollide

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

have a dry and sensitive scalp (from eczema) and had used other products from sebamed like their anti rash cream etc. anyway, i love the way they package their stuff, simple and so 'doctor's office' feel like indicating the p.h level and no sulphates etc etc. but anyway i got like 2 humongous pimples on my scalp after using this, and it seemed to dry it out as well. also, what is with the smell it's like a strange sort of celery? and very very chemical... i will definitely be sticking to my regular (not to mention much cheaper) shampoo, from the Simple brand.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sebamed products

More Shampoo products