TheBalm Bahama Mama

4.2

132 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Mica Ci 77019, Isoeicosane, Silica, Polyethylene, Zinc Stearate, Polyisobutene, Dimethicone, Iron Oxides Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499, Bismuth Oxychloride Ci 77163.


on 5/22/2015 2:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For the product in the pan itself = 5/5! This works soooo well with my NC40 skintone. I have finally found my HG contour product!!! It blends wonderfully, and it doesn't look muddy at all on my skin. Neither is it orange at all. Just PERFECT. I like how slim the packaging is, but it is flimsy. The packaging is the only downside for me. Would I buy this again? A huge YES!



on 5/20/2015 12:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i didnt really like this. it was hard to blend. its very dark. i prefer too faced chocolate soleil


on 5/17/2015 9:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Great for contouring! I think it fits a lot of skin tone, i am NC20 and it is great to create shade.


on 5/10/2015 12:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The shade of this bronzer is the most gorgeous matte but luminous bronze shade. It's not orange, not brown or muddy- just a true golden brown. It's extremely pigmented so you don't need a lot and it would work well on a variety of skin tones.

Now for the cons:

- does not last
- breaks me out

I've now resorted to using it for short nights out instead of an a daily basis. What's the point of taking the time to apply something that's gone in a few hours and gives you zits? So much potential but not worth it for me :(


on 5/6/2015 1:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not a fan of the packaging because it can crack and break up too easily. I am a fan of this product though. It's a beautiful color, highly pigmented and great for contouring as well as bronzing because it's more of a matte finish instead of shimmery. Highly recommended.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For reference, NC15-NC20ish skin that's almost always spray-tanned to about NC30.
(This bronzer works beautifully for whichever shade I wake up with in the morning!)

Instant WIN from a bronzer connoisseur :)

I've been swiping all kinds of bronzers on my face for 10 or so years and this is a stand-out as 1 of my faves.

If contour is what you're looking for, this IMO is one of the more foolproof choices to play around with. Matte, brown bronzers can sometimes look ashy or dirty on the skin, but even with my heavy hand I have yet to encounter that problem.

-GORGEOUS color --> truly looks like you just got back from a sunny climate
-SLIMS the face so beautifully
-doesn't get patchy or break-up around oily or dry patches of my face
making it ideal for cheeks, forehead and all over contour
-plays well with other bronzer
-long lasting

I love the packaging. Initially concerned about the cardboard but honestly, it's pretty tough. I favor this type of packaging over Benefit's Hoola b/c I can fit my large EcoTools face/body sculpting brush in this one (gotta get that neck and décolletage..). I bought mine at Kohl's. (Would love it Ulta or Sephora would start carrying theBalm that way I could get my points!)


on 4/2/2015 2:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Instantly LOVED IT! Its a bit pricey for the little amount you get and the packaging could be better... but the product is amazing! My new favourite bronzer! Will definitely be purchasing again when it runs out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/4/2015 10:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

First, I like how natural it looks on my skin tone. It's not dead matte. It really does give you the sun-kissed glow without the additional shimmer. It doesn't break me out (I have a very sensitive skin). Coverage is easy to control (I use my Charm Blush Brush) meaning you won't get that creepy brown lines on your face even if you're a first time user of a powder bronzer. For my case, it lasts the whole day of school (I live in a tropical country). It's cheaper compared to other brands like Bobbi Brown and Mac but still a tight competitor. I like the packaging cover/design but not the paper-like built of it. It feels like you're going to break it unintentionally anytime. I still gave the packaging a 4-star rating due to the inclusion of a compact mirror. I would definitely buy Bahama Mama again. This is highly recommended. With this price tag and quality, it's worth the try! *Main issue: rans out immediately, at least on our local makeup store*

Update: I just realized I gave this a 5-star for its price. I just found out it's cheaper here in the Philippines despite its $2 price increase this year. :))

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2015 12:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

My HG bronzer for sure. This is a cooler toned brown so it actually works best (on me) as a contour. It looks natural and blends so easily into the skin. A little goes a long way with this as it is pretty pigmented.

The packaging is adorable too! :D

I will definitely repurchase if I ever run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2015 12:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the colour of this bronzer. It's not too dark or too light for my complexion, and I am light to medium. It might look muddy on paler skin tones though. I use this to contour/bronzer the face. I'm not a makeup artist so I don't look to much into how to use it. I simply just sweep it down my face in a 3-motion and leave it at that. If I really wanted a contoured look, then I'd use a darker colour eyeshadow to the Bahama Mama, to lightly contour the hollows of my cheeks.

For what it is, this bronzer is pigmented and long-lasting. It can be used as an eyeshadow as well, and it is an amazing warm transition colour. I also love the packaging because it's different from the usual plastic material. I recommend everyone give this a try!


Popular Bronzers


HOOLA
1213 Reviews
Bahama Mama
132 Reviews
Chocolate Soleil
406 Reviews
Laguna
1249 Reviews


Top Rated TheBalm Products

image

Mary-Lou Manizer

368 reviews
image

Frat Boy

52 reviews
image

Down Boy

64 reviews
image

Hot Mama

212 reviews
Back to Top