Unlisted Brand • Benzaclin Gel • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.2(65 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 laurenheartsmakeup on 6/22/2014 8:19:00 PM more reviews by laurenheartsmakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this since I was 13, I am now 20. It works great! I use the generic one. For me, the product has not become any less effective despite me using it for several years. My pharmacist told me to refridgerate this---this is key because it prevents the ingredientsfrom breaking down. I would not advise storing it in your bathroom, keep it in the fridge. I use this twice a day and it does have a drying effect like some have complained about. It's drying though because it is trying to dry the pimple up. You only need a tiny amount don't slather it all over your face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gingie7 on 5/28/2014 11:29:00 PM more reviews by gingie7

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is really a question regarding this product. I just purchased for my son. The name brand was $50 in Chicago area with my insurance and the generic was $15. Has anyone tried both or know if there is a difference? I decided to go for the name brand to give it a fair shot. I will report back when we get results. Today is day 1 with this product, along with an antibiotic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shazaiya on 3/19/2014 10:33:00 PM more reviews by shazaiya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I did not have severe acne compared to other people, but I did have white heads spread over my cheeks and forehead. I believe this was a result of trying too many products. One day I go sick of it and visited a doctor and he prescribed me with Benzaclin. It did wonders. By the fourth day I had seen a huge difference. I even have pictures of a go through. However I had stopped using everything (facial cleanser / moisturizer / makeup). It did really dry my skin out. One side of my face is clear and the other side is left with one bump and scarring.

I would recommend this product. If you have any questions about after care feel free to ask me. Ps. It has been my second month I have been using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tlee1031 on 2/18/2014 11:25:00 AM more reviews by tlee1031

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is a total lifesaver for me. A couple years ago, I began to suffer from large, deep painful cystic acne, all over both cheeks and jawlines. Nothing I tried worked, only dried my skin out and broke me out even more. Finally, my doctor prescribed Benzaclin (I got the generic version), and my skin completely cleared up within 3 weeks. Literally, a miracle. When I stop using it for a couple weeks, I begin to get small whiteheads and breakouts again, so I do have to use it at least every other day to maintain clear skin.

In my experience, it does not dry my skin out - on the contrary, since I have oily skin, it actually helps to manage the oil on my T-zone and my makeup lasts for hours without becoming an oil slick.

The only minor issue that I have with this is - sometimes the pharmacists seem to mix it differently, and it will come out stickier than usual, which is annoying to apply bb cream/foundation over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ruselaandrea on 12/14/2013 4:23:00 PM more reviews by ruselaandrea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for 2 weeks now and I'm actually starting to see results so I'm hopeful that if I keep using it, it would clear up my face completely. It's not as drying as the other products I have been prescribed (e.g. tazorac). Will update in 2 weeks!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sapage89 on 7/7/2013 3:46:00 AM more reviews by Sapage89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I used this two mornings in a row and for the past three days my skin has been so insanely dry. And itchy. Nothing I've tried really works (clean and clear dual action, coconut oil, extra virgin olive oil), but I'd rather deal with acne than this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 goundersheryl on 4/13/2013 12:49:00 AM more reviews by goundersheryl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Got prescribed this for my acne a while ago when I was breaking out really bad. It worked wonders and cleared up my skin. I stopped using it and my skin seemed to start getting acne again so I recently got another one. It works great other than the fact it needs replacing after 3 months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Taraelizabeth6 on 3/26/2013 11:02:00 AM more reviews by Taraelizabeth6

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

**Edit: I used this for 3 nights in a row but on the 4th day my nose was peeling as well as my cheeks. No change in blackheads. & i think this medicine has caused stomach issues, since it is an antibiotic & your skin abosorbs it.
******

GOLD. PURE GOLD.

Packaging is a little annoying cause I hate dipping my hands in it nightly but I understand the pharmacy mixes it when you pick it up.

This does not leave my skin red like Retin A did (omg never again). It can be drying if you use it a few days in a row & your skin may "itch" for approx 30 minutes after application.

This clears up my cysts in 1/2 the time. I can't speak for its work on blackheads but I plan to try it on them and edit my review.

The best part? It's $9 with insurance & the jar lasts 3 months (before it suggests replacing). The BEST.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 anita2336 on 2/14/2013 7:27:00 PM more reviews by anita2336

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I started to receive hormonal acne about three months ago ( roughly related to over working myself and stress). I tried everything from antibiotics, to various antibacterial creme's but nothing seemed to surpress it. Finally my dr suggested Benzaclin. While yes it did calm all my acne down, it took almsot a full two months of me using it to see the results and for my acne to be almost compeltely gone. So please be patient while using this product as it truly does take over 8 weeks to work! It also does dry out our skin terribly ( would notice dry flaky patches during the day) so be sure to use a good moisturizer along with it ( i suggest YONKA or Eminence- All natural). Also make sure to spread the Benzaclin very well across your skin. I did the mistake of layering too much of it ( thinking more is better on my acne spots) and really broke out even more for the first two weeks after using this product. Just use a PEA size amount for each area of the face ( cheek, chin, forehead).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 camycheq on 1/12/2013 10:20:00 AM more reviews by camycheq

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I suffer from frequent zits, and so I went to the dermatologist about 2 months ago and requested a prescription to Benzaclin.
This product has cleared up my face like no other product has before.
The only problem is that I still have a few dark spots from previous acne and Benzaclin doesn't help with that.
It feels so good to actually have clear skin from active breakouts.
I ended up paying about 80 dollars for this, expensive but definitely worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments (Face) products