Benzaclin Gel

4.2

71 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/21/2015 5:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this product is amazing for pimples. but it doesn't do a lot for marks, blackheads, and whiteheads. it will get rid of a pimple for me within a few days and does not cause me to break out. if you suffer from pimples this is the perfect product for you. it can be over drying though.



on 2/22/2015 2:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have suffered from adult "stress acne" for about 3 years now. As a teen I had no pimples EVER so I was extremely upset when I started getting moderate cystic acne on the forehead and chin. I tried everything out there to try and combat it including face creams and washes high end and drug store and I even changed to a vegan diet which I continue to maintain. Nothing made a difference. I went to the doctor on a particularly bad skin day and she recommended Benzaclin. I got the brand name as I do have drug benefits and it cost me 5 dollars canadian. The regular price is 85 dollars canadian where I live. I was a bit skeptical to try this because I have severely dry skin on my face as well as body and others said their oily skin was dry. I decided I didn't have anything to loose. It has been 2 months now and the results are truly miraculous. Within the first week my forehead acne was reduced to half and much less painful. after 2 months now my forehead acne is completely gone and 100% clear. My chin is also clear but I do get the odd pimple on my chin. I did discover some tips for people using this with SEVERELY DRY skin. 1 Be patient! it isn't instant and you might break out a bit until all the pores have been cleared. Keep using it it will get better. 2 DO NOT slather this stuff on your face. you only need a nice thin even layer like use a pea sized amount. 3 put your moisturizer on then the product. This goes against what they say but it seriously works better this way. 4 don't overuse moisturizer. this stuff is trying to dry out and shrink your pores so only use moisturizer when you really really need it. 5 try not to use makeup while your trying to clear your skin. it breeds bacteria. to sum it up I used. Brand name benzaclin 2 times a day once morning once night. spectro gel dry skin face wash. aveeno daily moisturizer (yes this is a body moisturizer I use it on my face and it's amazing). I am so happy with my skin and will never go without benzaclin!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I don't usually write reviews for things, but this stuff deserved one! I have had fairly oily skin since I was 12 and always had some sort of acne on my face but it got worse as I got older. When I turned 16, I was getting hormonal cystic acne around my chin and bumps on my forehead. No normal drugstore skincare regimen seemed to work to stop the breakouts and I was getting frustrated.

I saw my physician who prescribed this stuff and I've been using it for around 6 months now- It's a miracle worker! I have no trace of those horrible, painful bumps on my face, except some scarring that has been fading with time. The hormonal breakouts I do get are tiny and disappear within a couple days, leaving no scar at all. I can finally say my skin is clear after 5 years!

The first few days/weeks of using this were not a walk in the park. I experienced some redness, irritation and a little bit of peeling- it's extremely drying, but my skin still remains oily (boo). It also burned slightly for the first few times I used it (I was using it twice a day, as recommended) but I stuck with it, hoping to see an improvement, which I did. After a week I started only applying this at night because it was quite hard on my skin. I now wash my face with Cetaphil and use an oil free moisturizer to keep other irritants out of my routine and it's worked wonderfully!

I get this for a cheaper price with my clinic and I know it's quite expensive without insurance, but if you can get it for the reduced price and have moderate acne, give this a go! You won't regret it. :)


on 1/20/2015 9:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have suffered from mild to moderate acne since 1996. I have tried numerous treatments including antibiotics and topical formulations. It seems that since I have gotten older nothing works. I decided to ask my doctor to prescribe this as a last ditch effort. I have been using almost one month and I can say that I have not had any new breakouts. The old stuff is healing. I have tons of blackheads on my cheeks. It seems to be helping with that. The scars are fading. I am not sure if it's the medication or lack of me picking at my pimples. I think it is important to mention that I have started exercising and eating fairly healthy. Limited drinking and no smoking. I am not sure if the combination is the reason for my skin clearing or the medication but I am happy about it. I have oily skin. I use this once per day at bedtime. No drying effects for me. I will definitely continue to use this. Very expensive without insurance. With insurance, it was $9.


on 1/5/2015 2:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Absolutely amazing. If there's anyone on this planet who has tried almost every acne treatment, that's probably me. Lol. I've tried almost everything whether its homemade remedies, toothpaste , clean and clear , the body shop, neutrogena, tablets, sephora acne treatments ... LITERALLY EVERYTHING TRUST ME LOL whether it be low or high end. My last resort was to ask another doctor what I can do and she told me to keep calm and try benzaclin. I'm 17 and I've been using this stuff since I was 14. I had the worst acne scars from repeatedly popping pimples and I couldn't get rid of them but it just brought my self esteem down. Now when I started using this stuff, within 3 weeks I saw dramatic results. The scars faded and newly coming pimples just vanished and my skin was glowly and clear within about 2 months. Yes it does bleach but just my pillow covers which I just sleep on with a towel covering my pillows. And NO IT DOES NOT DRY YOUR SKIN OUT. That only happens when you put way more than you are supposed too but just be patient and put a tiny bit and massage it onto your skins after washing your face before bed and I guarantee you all will see a HUGE DIFFERENCE ! Xx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/28/2014 7:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I normally use clindoxyl gel for mild/modrate acne. Due to a shortage in my area it has been unavailable for almost a year, so it was recommended I try benzicilin. It has the same percentage of clindamycin and benzoyl peroxide so I figured why not, it seems like the same thing. I thought maybe I'll even like it better after reading reviews but something else in this must be different. I have been using this for a month now and my acne is the worst it has ever been in my life! and RED! it burns, it itches, it bleaches EVERYTHING. I take a break for a day and go back to it thinking it will start to get better but no...I get a few more every day.
Something about this medication isn't working for me and I think it's time to call it quits! :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this since I was 13, I am now 20. It works great! I use the generic one. For me, the product has not become any less effective despite me using it for several years. My pharmacist told me to refridgerate this---this is key because it prevents the ingredientsfrom breaking down. I would not advise storing it in your bathroom, keep it in the fridge. I use this twice a day and it does have a drying effect like some have complained about. It's drying though because it is trying to dry the pimple up. You only need a tiny amount don't slather it all over your face.


on 5/28/2014 11:29:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is really a question regarding this product. I just purchased for my son. The name brand was $50 in Chicago area with my insurance and the generic was $15. Has anyone tried both or know if there is a difference? I decided to go for the name brand to give it a fair shot. I will report back when we get results. Today is day 1 with this product, along with an antibiotic.


on 3/19/2014 10:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I did not have severe acne compared to other people, but I did have white heads spread over my cheeks and forehead. I believe this was a result of trying too many products. One day I go sick of it and visited a doctor and he prescribed me with Benzaclin. It did wonders. By the fourth day I had seen a huge difference. I even have pictures of a go through. However I had stopped using everything (facial cleanser / moisturizer / makeup). It did really dry my skin out. One side of my face is clear and the other side is left with one bump and scarring.

I would recommend this product. If you have any questions about after care feel free to ask me. Ps. It has been my second month I have been using this.


on 2/18/2014 11:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is a total lifesaver for me. A couple years ago, I began to suffer from large, deep painful cystic acne, all over both cheeks and jawlines. Nothing I tried worked, only dried my skin out and broke me out even more. Finally, my doctor prescribed Benzaclin (I got the generic version), and my skin completely cleared up within 3 weeks. Literally, a miracle. When I stop using it for a couple weeks, I begin to get small whiteheads and breakouts again, so I do have to use it at least every other day to maintain clear skin.

In my experience, it does not dry my skin out - on the contrary, since I have oily skin, it actually helps to manage the oil on my T-zone and my makeup lasts for hours without becoming an oil slick.

The only minor issue that I have with this is - sometimes the pharmacists seem to mix it differently, and it will come out stickier than usual, which is annoying to apply bb cream/foundation over.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
528 Reviews
Nerium AD
70 Reviews
Sudocrem
136 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Back to Top