Lavanila • HEALTHY LIP SHINE - VANILLA GRAPEFRUIT • Lip Gloss

rated 3.4(9 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.33%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 cls82 on 1/15/2010 4:19:00 AM more reviews by cls82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

this stuff smells great and looks beautiful, but does nothing to ease dry, chapped lips and the packaging is horrible. the tube split open in under a week, so i didnt even get very much use out of it. and withthat being said, it is too expensive to purchase another one and have the same thing happen.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maykim on 11/3/2009 1:05:00 PM more reviews by maykim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I liked the fact that it is one of the few less harmful and in fact a beneficial products. Love the VG fragrance, have the deo,too. Although, the smell was really nice, citrus candy like, within 5-10 minutes you could see it almost running down on the SIDES of your mouth..It felt like I put some kind of OIL on my lips..
If you are tight with your money and if you want somewhat stay-put gloss, this could be waste of money..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleyanders on 2/7/2009 4:52:00 PM more reviews by ashleyanders

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

What it Claims:
"This shimmering pink gloss is infused with tangy pink grapefruit and fresh Madagascar vanilla bean for mouth-watering flavour and irresistible high shine. This all-natural, sheer wash of colour gives lips a glossy, high shine while super anti-oxidants deliver 30 essential vitamins and minerals for healthy, glowing lips. "


Claims - True or False?
1) Mouth-watering flavour: False.
2) High shine: True.
3) Healthy, glowing lips: False.


Packaging:
The same packaging as basically 90% of glosses. If the cap is screwed on too tight though, it WILL break the packaging (occurred with my pure vanilla one). Aesthetically, it's a very beautiful package, simple and elegant.


Smell:
Not the best scent, but nothing I can't live with. Definitely does not smell like grapefruit though, I don't really think it has a fruit smell to it.


Consistency:
Thin and glittery. Not at all sticky, but quite glossy. Because it is thin, it will not last as long as thicker glosses, but I constantly am reapplying my glosses, so it's not an issue for me. Smooth, but a little rough due to the glitter particles.
The gloss goes on with basically no colour, so it's great when you don't want to wear something opaque.


Ease of Use:
It's a gloss, what's so hard about using a gloss?


Bang for your Buck:
A good median price for a product that is worth trying out. Under 20 dollars, and with regular use would last at least 6 months. Because I am a gloss junkie, I have yet to really finish any gloss, so if you are like me, it will last for a long time.


Final Consensus:
I've definitely had better, but this is a solid gloss that I enjoy putting in my purse for those days when I want a little extra glitter and sparkle. Definitely not for everyone. If you dislike thin or glittery glosses, skip this one. I will possibly repurchase, but perhaps not this exact fragrance.


Overall Rating: 3/5
Price: 2/5
Packaging Quality: 3/5
Would you buy this product again: No.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jostrows on 11/17/2008 10:32:00 PM more reviews by jostrows

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love the vanilla grapefruit fragrance- I have both the EDT and the body lotion. I was excited to try the lip gloss. Unfortunately, I didn't care for this lipgloss very much. It felt greasy on my lips. I didn't like the texture at all- it made my lips feel slippery. It also had very little staying power. The scent was OK- not as nice as the edt or body lotion. It showed up clear on my lips. Would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bittersweetjess on 5/14/2008 11:26:00 AM more reviews by bittersweetjess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wear the Vanilla Grapefruit EDP, so I had high hopes for this lip gloss. While I think it's a nice product, I'm not blown away. The scent is yummy, of course, but the gloss itself doesn't have any type of taste to me. I like the fact that it contains all natural ingredients but I didn't find the performance to be any better than a plain old petroleum jelly-based lip balm. It's worth checking out if you are into natural ingredients, but for me it's just not worth the $14.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DREAMING8745 on 5/11/2008 6:53:00 PM more reviews by DREAMING8745

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I wish this had SPF other than that its perfect. I like the smell and it's very moisturizing . I like it better than the Philosophy lipshines because its less sticky . It looks pink in the tube but looks clear on . Kind of expensive but worth it . no parabens or lanolin .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 4/23/2008 7:45:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this based on productguru's review below. On my pigmented lips it looks like clear gloss. It feels very cushiony and plush, and has silver shimmer throughout that isn't overly obvious once applied. However, this isn't very unique, and is a bit pricey at $14. If you're into natural products this might be worth looking into, but otherwise it's nothing special. Fragrance is nice but I doubt I'd repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rubytuesdy on 4/15/2008 2:04:00 PM more reviews by rubytuesdy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I just bought this! I don't leave many reviews, but I saw this on the main page and thought I would add to it. I love their vanilla grapefruit perfume (some days, other times it seems a little too intense), but when I saw this at sephora I was dying to have it, as vanilla+grapefruit+natural is bound to be a fave. Sure enough, it's delicious! Beautiful and shiny and totally natural with a great subtle vanilla grapefruit flavor. Yummy!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* productguru on 4/14/2008 9:08:00 PM more reviews by productguru

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I should just copy and paste my last review of their Pure Vanilla Healthy Lip Shine, but there's so much good here, I'll want to add the pluses of these gorgeous glosses that I've already listed. For $14, I can't believe this gloss is THIS good....better than glosses I've paid $24 for, this formula is SUPER shiny WITHOUT being tacky or sticky. I may be stretching it, but I swear my body knows this stuff is natural....When I usually put on a gloss (and i'm allergic to most), its usually made of vaseline or some petro-derived ingredient (until now, nothing natural would give me any shine that I'd be happy with). When I put these non-natural glosses on it feels like I'm covering my lips with plastic ...like your skin can't breathe...while they leave my pout looking wet and glossy, I hated the feeling....But, when you put THESE shines on, you get a gorgeous shine without feeling like you're coating your lips with chemicals...your skin breathes through the shine, and it feels fantastic. This is a super light pink gloss has a superb shimmer....it's like sparkling pink mineral water. To top it off, it's 100% natural so no artificial chemicals or flavors ...I predict this lip shine to be the top seller of the four....Imagine the taste of fresh pink grapefruit and creamy vanilla bean custard...seriously, need I say more?? It's ridiculously amazing. NEW INFO: HAD to SHARE...I have no idea why, but this scent completely curbs my appetite for sweet things....WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN ALL MY LIFE!? I usually want to each chocolate after each meal...i put this scent on and I'm no longer obsessin'! :)

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Lavanila products

More Lip Gloss products