Stila • Stila Kitten Palette Summer 08 • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 ural0000 on 7/10/2011 10:41:00 AM more reviews by ural0000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Every summer, reliably, I get this little gem out of my box of "make-up I'm not wearing right now, but that I'm definitely not throwing away".
Very wearable selection of shades, although I'm not a great fan of Ray which looks a bit too pumpkin orange on me. The blue-turquoise shade makes it a nice day-to-night item.
I like the slim but sturdy metal case which makes the palette travel well.
I would repurchase, but even in the 4th summer of using this, I've only made a fairly small dent in Sun, Wheat and Kitten - I doubt I'd need a replacement any time soon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kitten14 on 12/3/2010 4:44:00 AM more reviews by kitten14

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the colors in this palette, especially Kitten. All the colors are especially nice in the summertime, as they are all high in shimmer and look great with a tan. The formula of Stila eyeshadows is really smooth and heavily pigmented, which I love... but it makes them crumble very easily in the case. In fact I have to keep this palette in the original box that it came in because otherwise bits of the shadow fall out and get all over my makeup bag. All in all this is a great palette and perfect for creating a laid back summertime look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dancinxelise on 9/29/2008 3:56:00 AM more reviews by dancinxelise

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this palette. I love Stila eyeshadows and this palette is pretty and contains six nice shades. Sun is my favourite followed by prize and wheat although I find prize a bit overly powdery. It gets everywhere. But I still like the colour. Ray looks nice in the pan but not on me however I might see if it works as a crease colour or something. Mystic is nice too but being blue I try to be careful about not going over-the-top with this shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kattymat on 9/28/2008 8:08:00 AM more reviews by kattymat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I must say that I love the colours in this palette, particularly mystic (the blue/aqua one) but...and I can't believe I'm saying this ...I think I'm over Stila. It's so pretty and girly but verging on way too shimmery. I keep thinking maybe I'm getting too old for the glittery look that these give you. They are soft too so it can get messy if you are used to MAC or NARS which are harder in the pan. I didn't find that you could build the colour, it seemed to build shimmer. Still, it's nice, but no I wouldn't repurchase and I am sitting on the fence about whether to swap this away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rickisyed on 8/21/2008 8:12:00 PM more reviews by rickisyed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This color is beautiful neutral, and since I have medium skintone, it matches exactly my skinshade, and the color sparkles like crazy all day long. It actually looks beige on me but I know sephora describes it as shimmering nude pink, it doesnt look pink at all. I received this color in a kit, and its pretty, but for the price, I would rather buy borjois for lesser price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SweetEngineer on 8/17/2008 4:17:00 PM more reviews by SweetEngineer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

Wonderful palette. It was sold out at Sephora, but luckily Ulta had them in stock. It is a thin and slim palette, with mostly neutral shimmery shades and one subtle blue/teal shade. I like to pack light when I travel, relying on multi-tasking products, but will definitely bring this palette along. Since these e/s colors are neutral, don't expect anything drastic going from shade to shade. Often times I use just a single shade all over my lid, and black eye liner. It gives a pretty and natural look, in minutes. The only shades I don't wear alone are Ray (coppery brown) and Mystic (blue). I use Ray as a crease color, and Mystic to lightly line my lower lash.
Interestingly though, these e/s don't have the same texture/finish as the ones sold individually, except for Kitten. I love all the shades here, so when I saw Stila website selling a Brown Palette with some of the same colors (Prize and Sun), I jumped on it. However, I found that Prize e/s has a lot less shimmer and is kind of dry and powdery. Sun e/s is equally nice, but again, less shimmer. So far, they're all good. I wear the less shimmery ones to work, and save the Kitten Palette for weekends. When I say shimmer I don't mean big glitters or anything teen-ish. It is more like a finish you get when you apply the Stila e/s wet, giving a nice shimmer "sheen".

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smhilgy on 8/15/2008 6:40:00 PM more reviews by smhilgy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this palette!! The colors are so flattering. I have very fair skin, blue eyes, and blond hair, and found these colors are a perfect complement. Most of them are quite subtle, and even the teal color is a fairly sheer, shimmery shade. They are easy to apply (I often use my finger and skip the brush entirely.) I'm bummed that this is a special edition, but I think that many of the shades are available individually, year-round. Gorgeous, shimmery (but not too sparkly) shades with real staying power. HIghly Recommend!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elnash on 7/22/2008 6:08:00 PM more reviews by elnash

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

The longer I have this palette, the more I fall in love with it! I've had it since it came out in May, and at first, I just wore it to work. Simple neutrals for a more conservative day in summer - the bronzy neutrals were perfect when I needed a toned down look. And I still wear it to work. But it has found new life as a weekend palette when I go away to visit my parents, friends, or anywhere else. I hate carrying lots of makeup for one weekend, but I also want lots of options, so this palette is PERFECT. The neutrals are appropriate for dinner with Grandma, and the blue-green can make my look more fun if I'm hanging out with my friends. It's a staple for me - I wish it was permanent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 schpahky on 7/7/2008 1:05:00 PM more reviews by schpahky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Great redhead palette! This is my first Stila eyeshadow experience. The texture is smooth, the mill is very fine, and the coverage terrific. Others have complained about the shimmer, but I wear glasses and don't mind it -- I benefit from the little bit of push. Also the blue-green is gorgeous, similar to UD's Shattered but very handy with the neutrals here. I also like how compact the palette is though I will see how it fares in my purse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trulylovely on 6/19/2008 2:00:00 PM more reviews by trulylovely

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am fairly new to Stila, but I love the few palettes I have. I did not previously own Kitten, so I figured this was a good investment for me. I took a chance and ordered it from beauty.com, even though I have heard horror stories of broken shadows. Luckily, mine arrived safely, actually wrapped in bubble wrap.


I have added two pictures to the gallery for this review, one of the palette and one of my swatches. This is a great combination of neutrals, as there is a definitely a color for everyone. I love pairing the colors together and trying different combinations, and this is a great palette for summer. The shadows are very soft, as I found when I was swatching them with Q-tips and made a huge dent in one of the shadows.

This is not for those who don't like shimmery, as this palette is definitely high on the shimmer. I don't find it too frosty though, as the shadows sheer out easily and blend very nicely. I'm a self-proclaimed neutral lover, and I've never been a fan of blues but figured I could live with Mystic, since it came with so many nice neutrals. I've recently been trying Mystic paired with the other colors, and I actually like it.

This is a great palette for Stila lovers and neutral lovers, these colors are gorgeous and I would definitely reccommend it!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Eye Shadow products