L'Oreal • Solar Expertise Active Anti-Wrinkle & Brown Spot Matte Fluid Protection SPF50+ • Sunscreen

rated 4.3(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seramadis on 6/16/2013 9:30:00 AM more reviews by seramadis

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only sunscreen I've used for the past 2 or 3 years, since I discovered it. I don't know if it's the best out there, but it's the best I've tried so far and probably the best for this price also. Maybe if you weren't on a budget and you could buy pharmacy brands, you could get something better. And maybe one day I won't be on a budget anymore, and could find out for myself! But in the meantime....... Anyways, until I tried this sunscreen EVERY SINGLE sunscreen I had EVER tried turned me into a greaseball as soon as I put it on! I thought I could blot, but I read someplace that the sunscreening properties are actually what makes sunscreen greasy, and if you blot, then you're taking away the sunscreen part too. But this L'Oreal sunscreen actually dries matte! Okay, so like the previous reviewer says, perhaps this is because of the alcohol content, since alcohol is drying, But then, the alcohol is precisely what makes this sunscreen so perfect for those of us with oily skin, since it dries out the product and keeps us from becoming oil slicks. I wouldn't know, but I don't think alcohol can be all that bad for you, after all you rub it on when you get a cut, and sometimes when it is hot out too, as it cools you down, and it doesn't hurt you when you do these things. This sunscreen is pretty much perfect for me, it dries matte, doesn't give a white cast, doesn't shine and stays put. I don't know how long it lasts, once I had a very long day where I put it on at 6 in the morning and I didn't get home until midnight, and it wasn't there anymore. But I think it lasted till about 7 in the evening, and at that hour you don't need sunscreen anyways.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Walko on 11/2/2012 10:02:00 AM more reviews by Walko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I used this a few years back and I really loved it. Over the last few years I've done quite a lot of research into skin care ingredients what's irritating etc, and was horrified to discover this is FULL of denatured alcohol. I wouldn't go near this now.Yes it's ok as a sunscreen, but it's like robbing peter to pay paul. Protect your skin from the sun with spf , but ruin it with alcohol and the amount of alcohol this contains is irritating to say the least.There are far better sunscreens out there without the added irritants.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TwiPixie on 6/18/2012 12:14:00 PM more reviews by TwiPixie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First of all I am not exactly if this is the right place because mine is SPF30, but it's the only one I found and the only one sold where I live.
I have quite a few brown spots from a previous sunburn and I won't leave the house without sunscreen, I've been using La Roche Posay Anthelios Fluid Extreme 50+ for years now but I thought this would give me less of a white cast and a matte finish. It didn't.
The white cast part it really solved - this isn't totally white and you do not look like a ghost after using it. But I found it quite sticky, less shiny than LRP but very stiky. I would put up with it if it wasn't for the bumps.
Everytime I use it I get home with tiny red bumps, no acne, just bumps. I think I may be alergic so sunscreens but if you're not you should try it, the promisses are really good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LookingGood85 on 12/15/2011 3:46:00 PM more reviews by LookingGood85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

YES YES YES! I would certainly buy this over and over! I wanted a high SPF for my holiday to spain (im in UK) this year (last may). I wanted something light and none greasy from my combo, acne prone skin. While this left a sheen on my face and was SLIGHTLY greasy, it was amazing, in that NO spots appeared in the 7 days i used it :D I will be repurchasing next year for my next hol!

PS I bought this at 50% off in TK Maxx!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 curlykat on 7/13/2010 4:24:00 PM more reviews by curlykat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very good sunscreen and one of my favorites! I've written other reviews of other sunscreen products on MUA but they are all older reviews and no longer relevant. For the past year I've used this and I absolutely LOVE it. I have pale, somewhat olive & combination skin and I mix this with whatever liquid foundation I'm using at the time and it's PERFECT! For the summer it works great with tinted moisturizer because the tinted version SS has excellent coverage anyway and a really nice color to it so I find the added foundation just gives your complexion that little extra little kick. If you have outstanding skin, I can imagine you wouldn’t even need foundation.

The SS coverage is excellent and I really notice if I ever forget to put it on. Say if I run out with my toddler and I'm outside longer than I planned to be my face will certainly get red (I'm in the US in the South).

I have family send it to me in the US since it's hard to buy here. For the price, quality, coverage, tinted version & product elegance it's definitely my HG and I couldn't be without it! If I could change one thing it would be to make the consistency less runny but it's not a biggie and certainly not enough to remove a lippie for. Check this out definitely!

Edit: I've since found a product that I like more (La Roche-Posay Anthelios XL SPF50+ Tinted Cream 50ml) but on the whole the L'Oreal Expertise is still a very close 2nd and one I would use in a heartbeat.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gymfox on 11/11/2009 5:27:00 AM more reviews by gymfox

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great sunscreen. Does not leave skin greasy and no white cast showing. Dries to a matte finish and the price is not bad either for a high spf sunblock. Would definitely rebuy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pumi on 11/11/2009 4:19:00 AM more reviews by Pumi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Hi,

This sunscreen is so far the best one that I've used. It is excellent for oily skin as it does not leave my face greasy at all unlike other sunscreens. It dries pretty fast to a matte finish and it's easy to apply make-up after that. No greasy- feeling, no breakout and works like a primer. I don't use any moisturiser before or after this sunscreen as I have very oily skin but this works like a charm with or without make-up. Definitely a must buy for oily skins. Pricewise it is cheaper than other brands. The only negative point is it's strong fragrance. Would love if it would come in a fragrance-free version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gingery on 8/3/2009 2:42:00 PM more reviews by gingery

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I picked this up on the weekend based on the reviews here and so far I'm not disappointed. This is definitely matte - it dries almost instantly and did a good job of controlling my oil with only a slight touch-up of powder needed mid-day. It goes on a bit white to begin with but disappears almost instantly and didn't sting at all on application. It did ball-up a bit when I first put it on, but that might have been the aloe I had on underneath. My concealer and mineral powder went on fine over-top. I don't have overly sensitive skin, but I do get the occasional break-out, so I'll update if I see any.

I bought this for an upcoming trip to Mexico. I live in London, so generally don't need 50 SPF protection, but I may just keep wearing this since I so far I like it better than the 25 SPF Clinique Sheer that I've been using (I like that product, but I prefer the matte finish of the L'Oreal.) I also bought the tinted version of this since they had a 2 for 1 deal on at Superdrug. When I try that one, I'll add the review for it as well under the separate listing.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juadlu on 7/22/2009 4:28:00 PM more reviews by juadlu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i can't rave about this enough.After years of either having an oil slick on my face or pigment from not being able to use enough of an spf due to richness,i have finally found the solution! This is my third summer using this product,.I can pile loads of it on and it leaves my skin feeling velvety,it truely is 100% non greasy.Make-up goes on easily after too.
Although it says for fair skin-i have an olive/medium complexion and in the summer suffer with pigment which darkens quickly,so it's great to know at last there is a facial SPF that i can apply enough of without looking an oily mess!!
I have never reacted or had any breakouts from using this high SPF and i use it daily from May through to the end of September.
A wonder product which deserved it Marie Claire Prix d'excellance award!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maiana on 7/2/2009 12:06:00 PM more reviews by maiana

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the only facial sunscreen I've EVER used which doesn't turn me into a frying pan! And I've tried lots of sunscreens, Avene, Polysianes, Clarins....... Rave rave rave! Also has super protection from both UVA and UVB rays, whenever I used other L'Oreal sunscreens I never even got a tan which for me is good, means they work great. I don't much like L'Oreal cause they test on animals and I never buy L'Oreal products, but I do love their sunscreens.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Sunscreen products