Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Microfinish Powder • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(774 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 iloveurbandecay on 1/27/2015 7:37:00 AM more reviews by iloveurbandecay

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Total HG. I've worn this powder every day since I first discovered it several years ago. My #1 most important product in my very well-stocked makeup arsenal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessica1988 on 1/27/2015 7:26:00 AM more reviews by Jessica1988

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This powder is the best I ever had. It doesn't show that you have it on. Make sure that you don't put too much on. A bit pricy, but totally worth the money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Athenia on 1/3/2015 6:34:00 PM more reviews by Athenia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My go to powder, totally worth the price because the product will last your forever

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vaclevel on 1/1/2015 8:49:00 PM more reviews by vaclevel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this in a sample size after reading rave reviews. Unfortunately, the first day I tried this was before an out of town shopping trip. To my horror, when I went into a dressing room to try on a pair of jeans, I noticed about ten *really* red bumps scattered about my otherwise clear face. These weren't pimples, mind you, just red irritated dots.

I figured it was the powder, so I tried it again on a weekend when I didn't have to go out in public. The same thing happened. This product just wasn't for me.

I ended up giving it to a coworker who loves it, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Snicole27 on 12/22/2014 4:24:00 PM more reviews by Snicole27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Bar far the best powder I have ever used. Makes your skin feel like silk from when you put it on till when you take it off. A little powder goes a long way. Worth every penny and has been my go to powder since 2010!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asideofladies on 12/14/2014 10:35:00 PM more reviews by asideofladies

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is MAGIC. Sets my makeup nicely and keeps my face looking fresh all day, no matter how oily or sweaty I feel! I used it for the first time in the middle of a summer convention, when I usually have to blot the crap out of my face, but this stopped me from looking oily and gross! The only thing I find is the packaging makes it hard to use in moderation, I always end up with too much on my brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nekkun on 12/11/2014 8:15:00 PM more reviews by nekkun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is great. Kinda expensive, but the fine-milled silica does make a difference. I never thought to write a review because this is such a staple. I use it to set sunscreen and foundation so my face isn't oily, or to dust my t-zone when it's not cooperating and is an oil slick. Kinda blurs out imperfections but in a very soft-touch, forgiving way. No, your makeup won't look photoshopped, but your skin will look nicer overall. I don't take pictures with flash so I don't know if the whole ghost face thing is true! :P

Oh, and I've had this for like, 2 years and am just getting down to the last bit. Good value!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sewdope on 12/5/2014 9:20:00 AM more reviews by sewdope

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I completely forgot that I had this product in my makeup case. I just started using it again along with Sephora Anti-Shine Primer and I'm in love again! Because the powder is so white and can make my brown skin look ashy and dull, I put a bit on my brush and then mix it with my regular Bronze/Brown pressed powder for a perfect matte finish. I highly recommend this product if your face turns into an oil slick within minutes after applying make up. I can get a good 3-4 hours before I need to blot my face. Thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 unicornlover on 11/28/2014 7:54:00 PM more reviews by unicornlover

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I dare say I am SHOCKED at the 66% rating on Makeup Alley! I totally thought this would be a HG for so many (it is a new HG for me).

So, you know how at Sephora you get "points" for every dollar you spend and then you can get little samples with the points? Well, one day the sample was this stuff so I got some.

What a smart move by Make Up Forever, because this is the kind of product that sells itself. It's like crack...give a makeup addict a taste and they will be back for more!

And I was! Before the whole sample was gone I ordered the big container and have loved it ever since. You only need a little and it sets your face and gives you a lovely matte finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 racheslor on 11/23/2014 8:28:00 PM more reviews by racheslor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Before I begin with my review, let me just list the pros and cons of this product

Pros:
-versatile (I'll explain this down a little moreE)
-not cakey looking at all!
-does make skin look smoother and more poreless
-doesn't break me out
-improved container (there's a little stub on the top now that makes the powder less likely to fall everywhere when you open it)

Cons:
-price (damn, like 40 dollars a jar)
-highlights flakey/dry skin
-messy

I really REALLY like this product because it absorbs oil really well and does make my skin look a lot smoother. Not only that, but it's versatile. By versatility I mean, I put it under my eyes and dab a little bit on my mascara so it doesn't give me that panda rim LOL (I'm quite oil at times). It also works really well on lips if you want a matte lip but don't have a matte lipstick!

That being said, this powder DOES highlight flakey skin. Make sure you exfoliate everyday if using this. Despite that improved packaging, it's still very messy to use. As soon as I open/close the jar, tons of powder fall everywhere (perhaps it's inevitable?).

Overall, I do like this product a lot and would buy it again. The price, however, hurts me and my wallet deeply.

Thanks for reading! (:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Loose Powders products