Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Microfinish Powder • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(764 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liz48170 on 10/23/2014 3:51:00 PM more reviews by liz48170

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a very small jar of this (GWP) and keep refilling it with a larger full sized jar. It makes my make up bag simple and smalll.

I barely use any powder, and have dry skin. I find I need to set my concealer, and dust over my cheeks before I use blush.

I use the same brush for blush as I do this powder, as it is a transparent product and you only need a tad to press into your skin.

I really prefer this to the huge powders / discs that I see elsewhere, it is much lighter, brightens, smaller (with my small jar), and as it is transparent I can use the same blush brush for powder application

My goal is LESS is MORE in my cosmetic bag so anytime I can use a small jar or use one brush for 2 products, that makes it a great purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 amitayumi on 10/17/2014 2:44:00 PM more reviews by amitayumi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i would say i love this product for daily used. .but not for special occasion where i have to take pictures..coz it does effect the pictures :(( my face look so white in some part and some part dark. .just horrible. ..i dont recommend this product for you who want to take picture esp with the blitz

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emandemsinalamb on 10/13/2014 1:53:00 PM more reviews by emandemsinalamb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So I'm going to have to be a downer here and give this a so-so review, despite its massive popularity (which I really do understand---this product is perfect for a certain skin type...just not mine).

About me: I have quite fair, dry skin.

Pros:
- Controls oil pretty well. (Or it would, if I had any to speak of.)
- Despite its white colour, it doesn't actually look white on the skin, although I imagine it might appear whiter on someone who isn't already as white as me.
- Very finely-milled.

Cons:
- Very expensive, at $39 CAD, for what amounts to a pot of finely-milled silica (which is indeed the only ingredient in this powder). e.l.f. has a similar powder for $6.
- May show up very white on deep skintones.
- It's not suitable for dry skin, and will cling to and enhance the appearance of dry patches. It's a very dry powder, by virtue of being pure silica.

It wasn't an awful product by any means! And I can see why others love it. It just wasn't for me and my needs. If you have dry skin, you may want to skip this; however, if you have oily or combo skin, you may love this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ambercarr on 10/9/2014 2:30:00 PM more reviews by Ambercarr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This breaks me out in painful pimples and doesn't control shine for very long. However I do use it on models and it photographs well. I'll finish the tub, but I won't repurchase. I prefer dermablend translucent loose powder to this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VegetaFanGirl on 9/24/2014 6:57:00 PM more reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an excellent powder! I bought this because I was curious about what a finishing powder could do, but I didn't know how to use it. While I was away for the summer, I ran out of powder, and I wasn't able to go out and buy a replacement for my normal one; so, I decided to put this HD powder to the test. I was not disappointed at all.
The powder itself is white, but it does not cast any white tint onto your face, even when I had to use my darker foundations. It applies clear, and blends flawlessly. Its texture is very fine and smooth, and it gives skin a velvety feel; this must be the "finishing" aspect of this product.
I was really surprised at how mattifying this powder is! Even for my most dewy foundations, the HD powder mattified with ease and actually kept my skin matte for much longer than regular face powders! You can get a solid 8 hours of shine control out of this product without reapplying. I absolutely love it!
My only real issue with this product is the packaging. It's a loose powder in a very classy little container, but the mesh through which the powder comes out is very closely woven. So, it can get difficult to get the powder to come out, especially since it's so velvety, it tends to bind together like flour. If the mesh was slightly wider, then it would be a lot more convenient to dispense the powder.
Also, its price tag carries some weight. You can get a full-size powder for $34, or a slightly smaller one for $19. I got the cheaper one, and it lasted me for a solid 2 months. I definitely recommend this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cutelildeadbear on 9/19/2014 9:07:00 PM more reviews by cutelildeadbear

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I actually only bought the travel size to keep in my make-up bag for after the gym or on my way to work (yes I do my makeup in my car- I'm that good at it and I have an hour commute). I chose this because it is translucent. I didn't realize at the time that it was a loose powder, but I actually don't mind that considering the packaging for the travel size bottle is actually really easy to work with. A ton doesn't come out and it doesn't fly everywhere. Although, I have never had an issue with loose powders doing that, but when driving or in a hurry after the gym I wanted something easy and was surprised that this was easy to deal with.

I use it to set my foundation. As far as that is concerned, it is a little more drying than I would prefer. My pressed powder at home is Laura Mercier and that is my HG, so to me this feels chalky almost. I like that it doesn't have a ton of color because my blush shows up nicely.

Overall, I wouldn't buy it again but I have it now so I will use it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 buytoomuchmakeup on 9/8/2014 5:43:00 PM more reviews by buytoomuchmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product a while ago at sephora cause I had heard so many people talking about and loving this powder so I thought I'd give it a try - SO GLAD I did.
This is everything when it comes to setting my eye concealer. You don't really need a lot of product, just a very little amount. It doesn't cake or crease under my very dry under eye are.
I just moisturize my skin, put my concealer on and press a tiny bit of this powder on top to seal everything in and I've never had my concealer last so long. I used this along with a MAC concealer and it literally stays on all day!
I've didn't use this to set my foundation yet cause I think it's too expensive for a setting powder, but I will try setting my makeup with this around my nose, where I tend to get very oily, I'll update on that soon.
But this far I can say that I absolutely love love love this powder. Definitely worth its money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 unoeme on 8/22/2014 3:01:00 AM more reviews by unoeme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this product! It makes my face look flawless and im dying to try the pressed powder version because obviously the loose powder just flies all over. I just wished it's more long-lasting and less expensive.

And to those who comment about the white-cast, you're supposed to apply this sparingly and blend it in with a kabuki brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fierymermaid on 7/19/2014 5:36:00 PM more reviews by fierymermaid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought the wee size of this for $15 one time when I needed something else to use my coupon at Sephora. I'm sure this was amazing when it was the only silica powder on the market, but you can now get the same thing for $7. You're literally paying for the name and wonky packaging with this.

The holes in the container are so tiny, that you have to shake it like a BEAST to make it come out. I guess MUFE wanted to be kind and help folks get their daily workout in. How nice.

The product is completely translucent, and does a great job of blurring out imperfections such as large pores. Sweet! It's not so great for oil control, though. Talc is better for that. Where can I get a talc and silica powder, guys? I want the best of both worlds.

You only want to use a SMALL AMOUNT, especially if you are going to an event. Combined with flash photography, this stuff has the potential to ruin your day. Ever seen pictures of celebrities on the red carpet, and their noses look like they just snorted coke? It's this powder. You also see it show up on celebrities under the eyes, where it looks like weird white warpaint (why haven't celebrity make-up artists figured this out?). With flash, the silica reflects an opaque white. DERP!

Find a cheaper alternative, and avoid camera flashes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sophiedoodle on 7/8/2014 4:07:00 PM more reviews by Sophiedoodle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This powder to me is very much like Too Faced Primed Poreless Powder, but at a lower price (at least here in Sweden) and I love that! The powder is really light yet effective at keeping everything in its place and smudge free. It does not feel cakey, even if you re-apply it. It's a translucent powder so it fits every skin tone which is obviously a bonus for everyone.

I would absolutely recommend this powder to anyone, especially if you have trouble with make-up getting in the fine lines (for example under eyes) because that's what I told the lady at Sephora that I had a problem with and she recommended this one for me.
The best trick I have is to "PRESS" the powder on with a soft brush (especially underneath eyes), NO "rubbing" (!) as is often so easy to do when you "brush" on the powder. This technique is good especially if you want more cover and for me it makes the makeup last longer.

I give this powder 5/5 because it's the best but it ain't some miraculous fairy dust so you obviously may need to re-apply it if you sweat a lot.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Loose Powders products