Philosophy • when hope is not enough replenishing oil • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.4(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 sunnyweather on 3/4/2012 2:40:00 PM more reviews by sunnyweather

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I wanted to love this product, but my skin couldn't handle it. It caused cystic acne on my normal/dry skin. I think there are too many different fragrances & oil types in this product. My face does pretty good with many types of moisturizers & treatments, so I was surprised I reacted so bad to this stuff. I can even use fish oil capsules directly on my dry areas without problems, so this thinner serum shouldn't have been a problem. That's why I think it may have been the fragrance or other additives.

I agree that the bottle is a pain to use. Philosophy needs to do something about most of its products packaging!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paladique on 8/7/2011 4:25:00 PM more reviews by paladique

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I apply it only at night and after a week or two of use my skin was radiant in the middle of winter. I have extremely dry skin so it always looks dull...until I found this stuff! From reading the reviews it seems as if this stuff can be home made, maybe I'll try to do that cause this stuff is expensive and the packaging freaks me out as I have butter fingers!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MommyMomdri on 2/26/2011 11:39:00 PM more reviews by MommyMomdri

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I always welcome other opinions, but I have to say, when someone hasn't used the product- then they shouldn't have an opinion on the product. That said, this is my second night using the oils in combo with the facial wash and lotion. The other two mentioned I've been using for a week. Second night that it's gone on smooth like silk, second night that It's shed my dry bumps, and second night that it's got rid of the rough dry patch on my eyelid.

This came in the kit, but the price for it alone is horrendously expensive, but I have to say it's worth it. CAN you get some of the ingredients at a health food store? sure, I guess, but most of us don't do that.

Also, again, unless your skin is dry- not combo dry, but out-right dry, do NOT use this line.

I'd definitely buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Carebear8605 on 1/13/2011 9:15:00 PM more reviews by Carebear8605

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the When Hope is Not Enough Trial Kit Skin Care System for Dehydrated Skin Seeking Replenishment (<--mouth full) to try and combat this winter parched skin thing I have going on. The kit came with the hydrating cleanser, this oil, and the replenishing cream. So I used the whole kit together as directed. I was a little skeptical about putting oil on my face, but it wasn't bad. I used it at night so I didn't have a greasy face to deal. It absorbed nicely, and didn't have a noticeable scent. The bottle is tricky, and I was always so scared of spilling it. In the end my skin wasn't any more hydrated. I still had dry patches on my cheeks. This product wasn't worth the money based on it's lack of results. I won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rpinto323 on 4/20/2009 1:35:00 AM more reviews by rpinto323

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I'm still on the fence about this product. It is a nice serum to use under a night cream for dry skin, but there are many oils (sweet almond, jojoba, etc.) that you can purchase for way cheaper that will do the same thing. For the price, I'm not sure if it's worth it. But is smells great, and feels nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nverno on 1/13/2009 12:19:00 AM more reviews by nverno

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I find this oil soothing, repairing and very nourishing. I love it.


I am very oily and acne-prone in some places and dry/dehydrated (even occasionally peeling) in other spots. My skin is seriously all over the place. I have balanced it out to some degree, but in the winter it can get a little wacky causing me to get the dry peelies here and there or breakout.


I just add this to my skincare routine to repair, soothe and moisturize my skin. I put it on after cleansing and toning, either with or instead of my normal serum. For an oil, it actually absorbs pretty quickly into the skin leaving it soft and only slightly shiny. I put it all around my eye area with no irritation at all. I can actually leave it at that because it gives a decent amount of moisture to my combination skin, or apply my moisturizer or cover fx skinprep fx primer on top of it.


It adds a nice boost of moisture and even though I am acne-prone, this never oil never breaks me out, ever. If I have a blemish at the time of use, I feel that this actually helps to heal it. The slight shininess of the serum is gone by the time I finish doing my foundation and powder, or goes away with just a little powder. It's not a problem at all, and I think that's because most of it is absorbed into the skin.


I don't know so much about ingredients and all of that, but what I can say is that I like what this does for me. It has omega 3, 6, and 9 in it among others. I take omega supplements because they're good for your heart, skin and overall health, but I think they actually contributed to helping clear up my skin. Anyways, whatever's in it does some nourishing. I can see and feel a difference and my skin looks and feels extra soft when I use it. The smell is very light and pleasant and doesn't irritate my allergies at all. It goes away right after applying.


WARNING: SPILLS EASILY !
I hate the packaging. Be careful, because it's easy to spill to make sure it's not in a place where it can easily be knocked over cause it will all spill out like what happened to me and make sure you close it right away after using it..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mahirsch on 9/25/2008 4:03:00 PM more reviews by mahirsch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I got this in a kit. It is expensive ($45 per 0.85 oz). It does hydrate your skin and it does absorb quickly. I did not detect any scent. It is a mixture of oils and silicone.

I do believe that it is Philsophy's version of Dr. D's hydroshield. I would not recommend this for oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lizawithaz on 3/22/2008 2:51:00 AM more reviews by Lizawithaz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

$45 for .85 oz of what is bascially sweet almond oil, silicone and fragrance. I could make this from ingredients at the health food store for $10. This was marketed as replenishing the essential fatty acids using omega 3, 6 and 9. Basically, all of the interesting oils and antioxidants in this "serum" are listed after the fragrance. I am not a chemist but when I see "fragrance" listed in the MIDDLE of the ingredient list, I know enough that this cannot be good. That means anything interesting is in a very, very tiny amount. One of the antioxidants was listed just before the fragrance, still meaning it cannot be included in any significant amount, and everything else of any interest is listed after the fragrance. This is another ridiculous product like the philosophy booster serum, which also lists the fragrance in the middle of the ingredient list, before any of the peptides or antioxidants. What is going on here? I was always so impressed with all the products by this company. This is such a disappointment, but couple that with the ridiculous price and I don't just feel like I bought a bad product, I feel like I've been taken for a ride. Save your money and buy some sweet almond oil from the health food store skin care section and add a few drops of vitamine e oil and break open a few evening primrose oil capsules in it as well. You'll have a far more interesting product for a fraction of the cost. Note: this is listed on some websites as a "serum" but the bottle I bought had a sticker over the "serum" replacing that with calling this a "replenishing oil".

40 out of 45 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Philosophy products

More Treatments (Face) products