Sonia Kashuk • Highlighting Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.3(183 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 5/3/2013 6:23:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I personally love using this brush for blending my blush and bronzer together. It's not dense so it blends products together without taking anything away! Bristles are wide so you can cover a large area. Definitely would repurchase! ;

Edit (9/24/13):
I've been using this brush to set my foundation. Love it because it gives light coverage and doesn't cake on the powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Amlymei on 3/4/2013 4:09:00 PM more reviews by Amlymei

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this for 12.99 and was very excited to try it out, but I can't stand the results. I can't be sure if my problem is an operator error, or if its the brush, but basically it doesn't blend. I stipple my liquid foundation and at the end it doesn't blend it, ( definitely not airbrushed!) I have foundation splotches randomly around my face. I've tried different ways of applying the foundation ( dipping the brush into the foundation, applying dots on my face then using the brush, etc,etc) it just doesn't work! I'm wondering if the foundation might just not be right with the brush?

All that said, the brush is okay, is soft when felt on the hand but I find it a pit pokey on my face. There was no shedding either. I'm going to attempt to return it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Scarlett0722 on 12/13/2012 3:58:00 AM more reviews by Scarlett0722

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this brush. I wanted a stippling brush after I saw YouTube makeup videos on the advantages of stippling foundation on. I use this when I'm broken out & want to cover blemishes but not look like I've caked on makeup. I put some liquid fndtn on a hand mirror, dampen the brush & stipple it on. Then stipple on powder & blush so as not to ruin the whole stippling & concealment effect. It works brilliantly. I quite love how it makes my blush look, so this may be my new method of applying blush. Works well for use hilighters as well. I always use this brush when applying liquid fndtn (I usually wear powder fndtn) so as not to feel mask like & troweled on makeup. I'm going to buy multiples of it, that's how much I love it. Good price as well considering how hard it is to find DS stippling brushes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mzjade22 on 10/7/2012 8:34:00 PM more reviews by mzjade22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

There isnt anything really spectacular about this, Its a run of the mill skunk brush. I noticed it gives a streaky finish with thicker foundations, its ok for applying super pigmented blushes and liquid highlighter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Boricua333 on 7/5/2012 11:26:00 PM more reviews by Boricua333

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I love this brush! For $12.99 it's amazing and definitely comparable to the MAC #187 (the #187 seems stiffer than this one which can be a good or a bad thing). The #187 seems more ideal, because it seems to have a narrower brush head which is better for hard to reach places like the nose or the temples, but for $30 dollars less I'm not complaining!
I was kind of apprehensive about this brush because there were a lot of reviews saying it's too flimsy and it sheds like crazy. I didn't encounter either of these things. I've washed this brush two times already and it doesn't shed much. I think some people might be stippling too roughly (your face or the foundation should not make contact with the black hairs).

FULL PROCEDURE: Stipple the foundation onto your brush, only covering the white hairs while lightly stippling the foundation onto the brush.Then you stipple it on your face, lightly not touching the black hairs. Now swirl the brush, blend out with a wet sponge or with a denser brush.
Overall, It's not flimsy, it stipples on foundation decently. The bristles are sturdy, yet soft. I would definitely buy this again, but I have a feeling I won't need to. I thought I wouldn't be able to use this with full coverage foundations, however it works great with both ELDW and Revlon Colorstay.
The only thing I disliked was the plastic packaging the brush was stuffed into because it gave the brush such a weird shape at first, but the shape was back to normal once I washed it.
Update: Still a great brush that I use for blush, light powdering, and foundation application (on days where I have more time). I wish it was a tad stiffer, but it still stipples fine.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tightkitty on 5/11/2012 9:52:00 AM more reviews by tightkitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

Oh hell no. This thing sheds like crazy. At first I didnt notice but my s/o would tell me I have a hair on my face and it was everytime I used this brush. Then I started to nice it leaving more hairs on my face and left me trying to swipe them off only adding more on y face,so then I was left picking them off after I took time to apply my makeup. What a pain. I can't use this brush for ANYTHING since it sheds no matter what on me. No thanks! and oh yeah I purchased this due to most of her brushes being fairly reviewed on here.This was my first experiance with any Sonia brushes and the experiance was so awful it leaves my sceptical to try any others.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tricyclesinskirts on 3/21/2012 4:58:00 PM more reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This brush sheds worse than my pugs. Every time time I wash it, it loses a significant number of hairs--I'm pretty sure after another year of use I'll be left with nothing but a white handle. I use diluted bronner's Castille soap or two-in-one shampoo/conditioner on all of my brushes (MAC and ELF alike, I don't discriminate,) so i don't know why this one is like that. Its also miserable to reshape...almost as bad as my MAC 224. I gave it 3 lippies anyway cos this brush taught me how to love obnoxiously bright blushes, an item I've always been a bit leery of in the past. I would not repurchase it--i think you're better off saving for the 187 or trying another dupe (I'm eyeing sam chapman's of pixiwoo fame line of brushes at ulta myself...)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fleetgoddess21 on 3/15/2012 1:24:00 AM more reviews by fleetgoddess21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have several duofiber brushes as they are my very favorite for face products. I've got the Mac one, the older sigma version, the newer sigma version, this one, and an ecotools one. My fave is definitely the MAC one, then this one and the newer sigma one are tied for second. This brush is a very good drugstore version, but it's not quite as dense as the mac one, so very bright pigmented blushes don't go on quite as airbrushed as with my mac brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 redcherry32 on 3/14/2012 11:44:00 PM more reviews by redcherry32

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this brush I was not looking for another duo fiber brush because I all ready have about 5.i have the elf one.the rite aid one.the eco tool one, the sarah chapman one etc.in all honesty the rite aid one was my, favorite one.i think I found a new love with this one I also brought the fan brush for my powder blushes.one swipe and my blush is flawless and prefect without me overdoing it.i love the fan brush so much I'm going to buy another one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 strangechild on 1/17/2012 11:48:00 PM more reviews by strangechild

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the first "stippling" type brush I've purchased and I am truly a believer, both in the use of these brushes for foundation application, and in the brush itself.
I love Sonia Kashuk brushes in general. I feel they have a high end feel and high end performance for a low end price. After seeing and hearing so much about how stippling brushes give an airbrushed look to the skin, I made up my mind to try it. I like instant gratification so I opted to purchase this brush instead of ordering one online and I am glad I did. I use it with liquid foundation and for me, the key is to stipple first for coverage, and then lightly buff to blend - don't press so hard that the bristles splay out, and don't load it up with foundation so that the black bristles get coated. I have very large pores on my cheeks on the sides of my nose and the weight of the brush really helps to fill them in. The brush did not have a strange smell out of the package and I have not noticed any shedding whatsoever, during use or cleaning. I have been using the Sonia Kashuk brush cleaner (which I also like and purchased for the sake of convenience) and the brush cleans easily, dries quickly, and retains its shape nicely.
I really can't think of anything bad to say about this brush. Seriously.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sonia Kashuk products

More Makeup Brushes products