New York Color • Smooth Mineral Pressed Powder Foundation • Foundations

rated 4.0(33 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 BeautyJunkie123 on 4/17/2010 2:44:00 PM more reviews by BeautyJunkie123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

If you don't need a lot of coverage, like me, its a good product. It lightens up your skin (makes it look brighter) and minimizes shine.
However, if you need lots of coverage, try something else.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Missy on 2/23/2010 8:27:00 AM more reviews by Missy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Ummmm....NO coverage at all? Why even bother? This product is so sheer, you may as well not put anything on your face. Doesn't conceal redness, doesn't mattify, doesn't do anything. I accidently dropped mine after a few days and shattered it. I didn't care. LOL Also, the brush is the most worthless thing ever. Tiny and scratchy. If you used this with the product made for "sensitive" skin, you would irritate and scratch the heck out of your face, defeating the purpose of the product in the first place. I give it a 2 since it didn't break me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 A314159P on 2/10/2010 4:14:00 PM more reviews by A314159P

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This overall is a great foundation. I find that it goes on quite smoothly but in my opinion slightly not as buildable compared to other mineral foundations. If a lot is put on, it looks a little cakey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jmp24 on 2/2/2010 7:20:00 AM more reviews by jmp24

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I was pleasantly surprised with this, and only bought it because I needed foundation last minute and this one had the best color compared to other DS brands....except for Loreal, which has beautiful colors but a lousy formula.

The color selection is limited, but the foundation is comparable to any of the high end brands, and I found that if I mixed a little BE Clear Radiance into it, it gives it a nice glow and lightens it up a little. Coverage was nice, it gives a soft finish.

Staying power is about as good as most mineral foundations, which I usually have to touch up mid day anyhow.

Give the useless little mini brush that comes with to your 5 year old (they actually make great paintbrushes) and use a better quality brush.

Other than the obviously cheaper packaging and small color selection, I really can't think of anything bad to say about this - Pretty good stuff!

Edited to add that in the long run, this foundation was not so impressive, mostly due to lasting power and finish. It really only looked good for the first hour or so after putting it on. Too much touching up. Did not repurchase

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ksells5 on 10/29/2009 10:46:00 PM more reviews by ksells5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Its my favorite setting powder for my foundation! Great product/great price! I only buy drugstore products So i havent been able to try anything higher end, but if your budget only allows drug store products, I'd say try it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* my3sons5 on 10/29/2009 10:03:00 PM more reviews by my3sons5

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I too use this as a setting powder. It is gives a wonderful soft finish and feels very smooth to the touch. One very, very nice product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* almost40 on 10/9/2009 5:52:00 AM more reviews by almost40

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really like this little compact and little is my only gripe with this product.I love the colour,I use natural light and its great on my pale skin.Its smooth and goes on lovely but it is rather small for its price.That said,I will continue to buy it,I use it over foundation to add extra coverage then top with a light dusting of powder.My skin looks lovely and smooth and it doesn't break me out.If you dont like it as a foundation,try it as either a setting powder or as an extra layer over foundation and under face powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dollgirl on 8/30/2009 6:15:00 AM more reviews by dollgirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really love this product. I'm super pale and have yet to find another foundation that's such a good match to my colour. It's not got the best coverage and I have to use concealer over every blemish, no matter how light. It says on the pack that you should build up coverage but this leaves your skin really powdery and fake looking. People say when i'm wearing this that I don't look like i'm wearing any makeup because it's so natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 7/28/2009 10:41:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I saw this talked about on Good Morning America, and wanted to know what could possibly be so good in an NYC product. It's a fantastic setting powder. Not great for just a foundation, but as a setting powder it's amazing!!!!!!!!! It's ultra smooth and soft. It gives a soft focus glow to skin. When I say glow, I don't mean glitter or shimmer. It's just a glow. Very subtle, which keeps skin looking great. It keeps me shine free for hours. Genius little compact. I use a seperate brush. I will be buying this forever. It brightens the skin while looking natural.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kianaa on 7/11/2009 9:20:00 PM more reviews by Kianaa

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I use this over my foundation (revlon colorstay) to cover my dark circles and tiny blemishes on my skin. I use a small tipped brush, works great. For me it works wonderful. The brush it came with is not good..it actually brushes away the powder and it kind of scratches my skin. If i am in a rush I also use this alone, swipe or two over my entire face, then more coverage to my dark circles/blemishes. Works for ME.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Foundations products