Silk Naturals • Perfecting powder (untinted) • Loose Powders

rated 4.7(30 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Ellaryn on 10/26/2014 5:09:00 AM more reviews by Ellaryn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Product: Perfecting Powder - Sheer and gorgeous finishing powder

This product is great, it makes your skin look like it has a healthy glow/sheen. I use it to set my tinted moisturiser and it makes my skin look so healthy and flawless (even with some redness in my cheeks)

It is not glittery or shiny in any way, but gives your skin this gorgeous subtle glow. The powder is easy to apply and I don't find it makes my makeup look cakey or look like it has a white cast (NC25 for reference).

I find a little goes a long way, and you get a decent amount for the price!

I am glad I stumbled upon this product, it is a great translucent finishing powder.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 northernlights111 on 10/15/2014 5:56:00 PM more reviews by northernlights111

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This really makes my skin look flawless. It's good over foundation too, but I hardly wear it, so use this alone, over my spf moisturizer. After it settles for a bit I catch my reflection in the mirror during the day and really love how it makes me look. Like my own skin, but more perfect, no pores, even tone. I do have good skin to start with though, other than undereye concealer don't need any cover up. My skin is fair, but not like English Rose fair, mine is more translucent and I can look too pale. Well, this powder makes my skin look porcelain, still fair, this doesn't oxidise, but good, not sickly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 taliacrayon24 on 6/25/2011 11:53:00 PM more reviews by taliacrayon24

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Makes my skin look pretty much flawless, even without foundation. I don't have oily skin, so I can't comment on its oil control. But it makes my pores invisible, and I love it! I use a flat powder brush and place it over the sifter, turn the jar upside down, and tap the bottom once. I use that for one cheek. I repeat and use that for the rest of my face. Love Silk Naturals, and the shipping is CRAZY fast. Thanks SN!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 integritybites on 4/21/2011 3:55:00 PM more reviews by integritybites

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a decent perfecting powder if you're not looking for coverage. Oil control wise is just so-so though. Goes on very sheer and light.

I'm a bit meh about this as I prefer other perfecting powders from SN and from other Indie companies. It's not a bad powder, just kinda blah for my needs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 caitmeg10 on 4/3/2011 7:38:00 AM more reviews by caitmeg10

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The reviews are all true. This seemingly simple white powder makes a big difference in the finish of my foundation. Softer, more even toned, without adding heaviness. It can be used in a variety of ways. Sometimes I add it over my blush to create a more natural effect, sometimes I mix it with a bit of the mineral foundation for a slightly tinted, less transparent look.

Overall it's a terrific product and my only gripe is that I wish it would be sold in a larger size. This is a general gripe I have with all SN powered products. They seem to sell products in the same volume and in disproportionate sizes to their individual uses. Example: Base shades of mineral makeup is sold in the same size as the concentrated color powders used to mix them with. The mix ratio is generally 10 to 2, base to color. The Perfecting Powder is used in a larger concentration than any of the foundation so why sell it in the same volume, 1 tablespoon at a time? I'm starting to feel like a drug dealer with all the little plastic bags with powder. :D

PS: Silk Naturals! Your website needs an overhaul! I love you Karen, I love your products but I really don't care for your site. Not user friendly and confusing.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Greidah on 7/12/2010 2:58:00 PM more reviews by Greidah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this product! I use it with a small powder brush to set my under eye concealer. I find that it is the only powder I have ever used that doesn't give me that crepey look.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 boncukkucuk on 7/9/2010 8:40:00 AM more reviews by boncukkucuk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i love this powder. As another reviewer said: Just sort of soft-focus. I have dry skin, with eczema patches on the cheeks. and it does not irritate at all. its really good quality, natural product. i use it to set my makeup, and also against shine on the T zone. Also, to matte my sunscreen, which is quite oily, and i do not like the shiny look if it. the powder endures hot weather. I will definitely buy. my only complaint is the packaging. it could be a bit more user friendly.
but i will definitely go back since it is top quality with very affordable price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gingerrama on 7/3/2010 6:00:00 AM more reviews by gingerrama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It's a powder. It perfects. And it's perfect at it. An unreserved 5 lippies.

A fine, lightweight powder. White, translucent on the skin. Also available in darker tints; the untinted one is perfect on NW05-15. I've applied it using a sponge, a velvet puff, and a brush; I prefer the latter, being faster and easier and easier to clean. Tool of choice: EcoTools retractable kabuki. Or using the Clinique "powder rub-down" method: tip a small amount into palm of hand, rub palms together, and pat around face from there. Use fingertips to ensure you've got the nose.

I just generally buff this all over as a finishing powder. Indeed, my only facial slap other than dabs of concealer if and as necessary. Using this on top of moisturiser and sunscreen. Makes only a tiny amount of difference to skin-- but that's the idea, and the difference is definitely there. Everything is smoothed out, softened and blurred, pores vanish (well, to be fair mine were small to start with--but you can see this around the corners of the nose). Not matte; not shiny either. Just sort of soft-focus. In a word, "perfecting."

Very good in hot weather; though SN also offer special oil-control version(s), probably a better bet on oilier skin and/or in a hotter and more humid climate.

In the past, my best plain translucent powders have been silk, rice, and arrowroot powders. Arrowroot is by far the cheapest; it and rice the best at dealing with summer heat & humidity. But this is the best year-round finishing-touch flawless perfecting thing ever.

Minimal ingredients, zero irritation, no clogging. Fragrance-free, cruelty-free, nice company to deal with, and pretty cheap. The full size is 0.14oz / 4g (USD8.95 in baggie, $1 more with jar): similar price range to Laura Mercier's Mineral Finishing Powder ($32/12g), Lancôme Ageless Minérale ($42/similar). Cheaper if your skin's OK with their stuff (mine isn't: grittiness, result/finish, colours, and then the irritation): BM, Everyday Minerals, CoverFX.

SN's jars are pretty good; but I'm using an old LM jar, which has a nifty second cover inside that moves to slide over the sifter-holes, so you can close them off between uses, and not end up with lots of powder in the lid when you next open it (and then powder everywhere).

INGREDIENTS: mica, silk powder, silica microspheres.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chuugle on 4/5/2010 6:59:00 PM more reviews by chuugle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was absolutely shocked at how small the jar was when I received the product. At first I thought there was a mistake b/c the website had said I would receive 30 grams. But the jar actually comes in a 4 gram jar and you get a tablespoon of product. The sifter jar and accompanying powder puff is so tiny that it is actually kind of hard to apply the powder. It's annoying how small the powder puff is, my one index finger barely fits under the ribbon. And after 3 weeks of us, the ribbon is tearing off already. I don't have fat fingers, mind you! Application with a powder puff is necessary to absorb oil and set my makeup. If I just use a brush, the application is too light and I get oily really quickly. Once I find a bigger sifter jar, I'm going to move it to that asap. The small jar is REALLY annoying to use.
I'm on the fence about this powder. The powder itself is decent at setting makeup as long as I use a powder puff and it doesn't make me too pale or anything. But at the same time, Ben Nye is loads cheaper and it does a great job of keeping the oilies away w/o use of a powder puff.

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dizzyme124 on 3/10/2010 3:34:00 AM more reviews by dizzyme124

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Love it, use it every day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Silk Naturals products

More Loose Powders products