L'Occitane Candle, various scents

4.5

19 reviews

94% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/1/2009 11:47:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

L'Occitane candles are a relatively inexpensive indulgence. They cost AU$25 or US$18 on average (more for certain scents.)


For some reason L'Occitane keeps tinkering with the packaging. Many are still in the hexagonal aluminium tins, but some have changed to round or square glass jars with or without lids, and occasionally they're in something different altogether. At the moment, it seems the Harvest candles and others with corresponding perfumes are sold in glass jars, while the "home fragrance only" scents are still in the tins. Annoyingly, the Verbena jar candle is still 100g, but now the burn time is listed as a mere 17 hours instead of 20. :(


Also, they keep discontinuing some scents only to bring them back again a few years later. Creme Caramel was discontinued, only to be brought back once or twice. (It's still available on the US website.)


Despite these annoyances, I've tried the Verbena, Creme Caramel, Winter Forest and the Relaxing Aromatherapy candle, and will keep coming back for more. (But that does stop me from awarding them 5 lippies.)


L'Occitane candles are strongly scented, made of palm wax, don't have a problem with soot or smoke, most have lids and thus prevent the scent from fading, and any wax residue in the hexagonal tins can be re-used as a DIY tart. The scent range is also divine!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 12/19/2006 5:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

my fave indulgent candles! I like the ones in tin jar/cans. the candle in the glass container didnt impress me at all - i had one in vanilla and the scent is too faint. plus was not impressed with the way it burned - through the middle with lots of wax left on the sides (despite burning according to instructions). the candles in the tin cans have a much stronger scent and is wonderful just left open with the lid off - the scent fills the room. even stronger when burned. will def. buy again. always look forward to their new scents released around xmas :)


on 5/15/2006 10:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm burning the honey candle as I write. Normally I would never ever fork out $AUD25.00 on a candle, but a friend sent me a sample (along with the honey water and a few other goodies in the dear little L'Occitane honey cosmetic bag, too sweet) which filled the house with the this beautiful, warming mead-like scent(previous reviewer was correct, its mead - stronger, richer than honey). Now this goes to show (if anyone from the companies actually read our rants) that sampling works! I thought, I cannot live without that scent - my 15 year old son loves it too - so off I toddled to the L'Occitane shop and so far I am on the second candle. Absolutely divine. While I was at the shop I also bought the soap, which is nice, but not an absolute must have like this candle. I think this is a lovely candle for winter: soothing, warming and inviting.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/24/2005 6:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I got several smells of these candles for Christmas but my favourite is "Candied Fruits" which my Mum also loved since the very first light ;)
Funny thing - it smells like "Innocent Angel" EDT I have used to spray on me several years ago!
Unfortunately I have not been burning the candle as it's recomended by L'Occitane - not the whole surface got burn evenly .So that not to have it finished too fast I had to cut off the wax around the edges of the candle, not too pretty but effective solution. Very expensive thing, but highly addictive :)


on 11/15/2005 9:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I keep returning to their candles. L'occitane make great scents and whenever they come up with limited edition ones, they are usually very surprising to the senses. Look out for this christmas' LE 6 triangle candles. enjoy..


on 9/21/2005 7:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Yes!Yes!Yes! I love this. I have the vanilla scented candle and itīs the best scent Iīve ever had! Its rich, full and in no way "chemical" and not too overpowering. Just perfect. Never thought a candle could smell this good...I will always keep buying this


on 3/31/2005 10:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got these in Vanilla and Creme caramel. They are divine ! Pity they discontinue the Creme Caramel though, I love the smell so much.


on 1/11/2005 5:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have only tried the Creme Caramel scent, but I'm hooked. These are the only scented candles I've ever used where you didn't have to have your nose an inch from the flame to smell them!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/25/2004 12:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have owned the Marine, Miel (honey), Candied fruit and winter forest and the brand new mimosa candle. I am absolutely addicted to these candles. they're better than votivo or those henri mendel candles in that they REALLY fill up the room with fragrance. they're one of the few candle makers to use 12% fragrance in their candles. The scents are so unique and true to form. I LOVE these candles... they're wonderful. The new fragrances are nice too and they're in these really pretty glass jars. wonderful gift, look nice in the house... a little pricey but well worth it if you're a fragrance junkey like me. >>> Since that last review I've come to my senses a bit (I got a little bit hyped up about these candles.) Every time I burn them, my guests complain that the smell is too strong, the metal tins get REALLY REALLY hot and discolor, and no candle is worth 45 dollars... especially candles with as unimaginative and plain packaging as these.


on 8/9/2004 11:13:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

These L'Occitane candles are great, and the best thing about them, that many brands lack, is the scent throw, like mentioned by other reviewers. I have the Miel and the Creme Caramel candles and they are a joy to use. Every time I use one, my whole house fills with an authentic honey or caramel scent. The quality is great, with not much soot buildup, although they do burn really hot, compared to other brands. The container can get extremely hot since it's metal. I love these and will probably get the vanilla one next, as the throw is some of the best I've found.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Candles


Yankee Candles
Yankee Candles
142 Reviews
Baies Candle
Baies Candle
35 Reviews
Sun and Sand
Sun and Sand
39 Reviews

Top Rated Candles



Back to Top