Revlon • ColorStay Pressed powder • Powder

rated 3.2(146 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 msbuttercuo06 on 2/26/2015 6:06:00 PM more reviews by msbuttercuo06

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this mostly to set my liquid foundation. I know you shouldn't do it but it's what works for me; if you use a brush and don't go overboard it's fine.
I've got the shade Light and it looks almost pastel yellow in the packaging but applies way darker. When setting makeup it works fine as you don't use that much, but once I tried actually using this as foundation, applied with the sponge, blended with a brush and it looked orange. Absolutely orange. Not impressed.
It also feels really drying, almost painfully drying, when used on its own. It clings to the fluff on your face and doesn't leave a good look. I'd say it feels smooth and creamy when you swatch it or take it on with a brush/sponge but it sure does feel&look chalky and dry on the skin. It gets better after spritzing with Mac Fix+, both the feeling and the look, but the colour is still off.
The packaging is bulky and sometimes the wrong compartment comes open; I feel like you could break the product by opening the sponge compartment and then accidentally slamming the powder one on top. However, I don't have much of a problem with it as I don't carry it around.
Overall, it's only okay to set your makeup and use in small quantities. As a foundation it's a bad product. When I run out I'm not repurchasing; I think I'll buy a legit transparent or semi transparent setting powder and a loose powder if I want to use powder foundation.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GimpyPoop on 2/20/2015 3:57:00 PM more reviews by GimpyPoop

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this a year ago, when I realized I had left my MAC Blot Powder at home and Walgreens was having a 40% off Revlon sale. Glancing at Revlon's site, Walgreens and most retailers don't seem to carry the full range of shades. Darker skin toned ladies will likely not be able to find a suitable match in this range. I opted for Medium and it seems to be a good match for me.

I have combination skin with a very oily T-zone. Give that this is part of the Colorstay line and the liquid foundation is rather long-wearing on me, I expected the same from this powder. No such luck. I was in the habit of using strictly concealer and powder for a few months and this powder was no match for my T-zone. I would become shiny again within an hour or two during the summer months. Even as a setting powder over powder foundation, it didn't seem to abate the slick T-zone situation nearly as well as MAC Blow Powder. The powder is finely milled and doesn't impart an overly powdery look with used with a fluffy powder brush, but it's nothing special.

The packaging is really bulky and annoying. I suppose I should appreciate that Revlon includes a bottom compartment for the spongey puff, which is perhaps more sanitary than constantly resting it on top of the powder. However, as someone looking to streamline my handbag and clutch, this isn't ideal. Plus after dropping this compact a few times, the top hinge finally broke off, as then tend to do with similarly packaged powders.

I'm not convinced that this is the best there is in drugstore pressed powders. Will not be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AdriannaJ1997 on 12/25/2014 12:41:00 PM more reviews by AdriannaJ1997

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This would be AMAZING for people with Oily-Very Oily skin (I got shade light-medium). I have Combination, so it made my dry patches look BAD, but it does keep you matte for 4-5 hours and has medium-high coverage. I wouldn't recommend for touch ups, because it can very easily look cakey and feel heavy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 janis13 on 12/13/2014 12:52:00 AM more reviews by janis13

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Hello all...light/medium is my color and I apply with a powder puff. A big fat one. I pat it on and then gently spread it out and I love it. Put it on top of my BB cream, Evens out skin color, sets make up, keeps blush in place. Does not seem to settle into lines or pores. A good fit for me. Does not cake or discolor, and does indeed last a good long time.
Cheers!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cherryraven on 12/1/2014 9:13:00 PM more reviews by Cherryraven

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My thoughts about this product is that it's average at best. In Australia this powder costs a whopping $34.95 and it just isn't worth the money. The coverage is not that great and on a warm day it doesn't last very well at all and I have dry skin! I'm pretty disappointed with this product and I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maekay on 10/31/2014 3:10:00 PM more reviews by maekay

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Got this to try a change of pace from my usual L'Oreal True Match. Doesn't do any better of a job keeping shine at bay and has a much more dry and powdery finish than True Match. Got it for super cheap on sale at Ulta but the actual retail price is pretty high for such an average product. After two week's worth of wear I'm done with this and just bought a new True Match powder. I'd rather carry around shine blotting sheets in my pocket and use True Match, with its finely milled texture and smoother finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chickeys on 8/12/2014 3:39:00 AM more reviews by Chickeys

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This pressed powder is okay by me. I bought it as a hopeful replacement for my beloved Physicians Formula organic wear (discontinued, waaah), and it's not bad. I apply it to my normal/oily T-zone face after sunscreen and concealer go on, and I use the Sephora mineral powder brush (which is awesome, forget that crappy little pad in the package): I use circular buffing motions on my cheeks and pressing motions on my T-zone. I got the color Light, and it's just a tad too light for my NW25 skin...oh well. It doesn't provide a lot of coverage (which is fine with me; if I were going for coverage I'd use a liquid foundation), and the staying power seems to be enough to get me through an 8-hour workday. I think the packaging feels cheap and bulky, but I can live with it. There appears to be a lot of powder in the compact. I'll repurchase if I can find a better color match!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 7/30/2014 5:35:00 PM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am an NC42, and I chose medium-deep which was the darkest color on the display. So far I'm impressed. The color match is just about perfect, and it provides the matte finish I require. Doesn't have a scent, and it's reasonably priced. I got this at CVS for $2 after the Revlon coupon and the ECB reward.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sage4dylan on 7/23/2014 2:41:00 PM more reviews by sage4dylan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

pretty decent powder. Its not full coverage but i only need it to set my foundation, which is full coverage. the color happens to be just right and this last me a long time. dont care for the bulky package but its ok. will buy again if i dont decide to try something else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RainaVixen on 7/13/2014 8:21:00 AM more reviews by RainaVixen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this Powder, it's really the best powder i've tried in a long time ! It's not cakey, it feels very firm on the skin and is very skin tone friendly, Price is reasonable and i just love how it feels on my skin! Very good powder, I buy it ALL the time, highly recommend this product !!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Powder products