Organix Tea Tree Mint Shampoo

3.0

102 reviews

42% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Di Water (Aqua), Disodium Laureth Sulfosuccinate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, Glycol Distearate, Dimethicone Copolyol, Cetyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cocamide DEA, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Polyquaternium 11, DMDM Hydantoin, Silk Amino Complex, Panthenol (Vitamin B5), Australian Tea Tree Oils, Soy Milk Proteins, Peppermint Oil, Shea Butter, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Fragrance


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Let's talk about the big elephant in the room-for one- this brand is anything but organic. The play on the word "organics" is very misleading and apparently the less-than-stellar reviews seem to accurately reflect the quality of the "pure and simple" products by "Organi-x" Anyways, I'm not bashing the brand, ( yet) because I've only tried one product from this brand but so far I'm not impressed.

I have Multi-Textured 3c, 4a, and 4b hair. I have low porosity, and my biggest issue is very dry.

In fairness, I purchased just the shampoo, and it was average. It's not so much that the product "dried out" my hair or "damaged" it...it really just did nothing. The smell is awfully fake- similar to synthetic soap with a subtle hint of mint ( maybe tea tree I don't know.) Considering the fact that peppermint and tea tree are sustainable and cheap essential oils, I'm baffled as to why I can't even detect it in the shampoo. . .

Overall, this shampoo is an over-hyped, generic shampoo that doesn't deliver on their promises. The only positive feedback I can give for this sub-par product is that their bottle designs are cute, and it didn't "damage or dry" my hair.



on 2/23/2015 11:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have very thick long hair. I sort of like this shampoo and sort of don't. As another person said, it is bogus and crappy the fact that they play up on the word organic when this product is definitely not and it is more pricey that what it should be. I find that irritating. I do loveee the smell even if it is fake and not of essential oils. (partially why I went back to this shampoo, the smell alone I like). Smells fresh and unique, it does feel a little minty on my scalp when washing and that feels nice. My hair is beautiful, soft and shiny hydrated after using BUT the most annoying thing I find is that, my scalp is itchy after..soo I probably won't buy again :(. It's funny that my scalp would be itchy and have some bumps after a shampoo that has tea tree and mint..since tea tree usually helps with that type of thing so it must be the other chemicals and ingredients in this that my skin finds irritating. Sucks because I do like the feel of my hair after and love the smell. I have used the morrocan argan oil shampoo from this brand and I like it but my hair isn't as soft as it is with the tea tree mint. Their Kukui oil shampoo/conditioner, I didn't like at all..left my hair dry and gross.


on 2/16/2015 6:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The packaging is a bit bulky but very sturdy. Everyone is saying that this product dries out their hair but honestly it's so moisturizing and leaves my long, fine hair feeling like silk. It's sulfate-free and cleans amazingly without leaving my scalp dry and tight. The consistency is a gel-like green formula which is great for my oily roots and dry ends. If you are super prone to dryness I would skip this & go for a formula that is more rich and creamy but for me it moisturizes my hair beautifully. Even thought it's not the cheapest for the amount you get this is the only shampoo from the drugstore that is truly gentle and sulfate free which is HUGE for me since sulfate filled shampoos leave my scalp so tight, dry, itchy and frizzy. I absolutely adore the mint chocolate chip scent but I can understand why other people would dislike it.


on 1/4/2015 7:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love Organix and their products. I use several of their products, and this is my staple item. It always leaves my hair really clean and fresh.

I have very thick, coarse, frizzy hair, and am frequently applying oils and using shampoos and conditioners to help make my hair shiny. Sometimes if I use too many products or silky shampoos, my hair will produce too much natural oil, and even after a fresh wash might start to appear oily.

When that happens, all I need is one good wash with my Tea Tree Mint Shampoo and Conditioner. It cleanses my hair to a more natural form without stripping it. While washing, the mint invigorates my scalp and makes me feel awake while the tea tree oil leaves my hair moisturized but not oily. It lathers very nicely, smells very nice, and makes my hair feel really clean. It replenishes my hair to a nice clean state, but still takes away unwanted frizz. After the shower, my hair is naturally soft and healthy!

This is the first Organix product I tried, and it is still one of my favorites. The price is incredible, and the results are worth triple the price at least. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a shampoo/conditioner that will clean your hair well while also making it soft and healthy for a great price!


on 1/3/2015 1:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I think everything about this brand is bogus. Organix does not even use organic ingredients, it just plays on the name to confuse people and convince them to pay more for inferior products and non-organic ingredients. This shampoo does not work as well as other cheaper shampoos and actually left my roots greasy and my ends frizzy. I would not repurchase this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/21/2014 4:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have tried a lot of the Organix shampoo and conditioners and I find that either they are pretty good or not that great at all. This one has a really good smell that I love but what makes me ultimately not like it is the fact that it doesn't make my hair soft or untangled enough to even brush out after my shower. I feel like most moisturizing shampoos/conditioners leave your hair soft and this one left it feeling pretty rough and not manageable. It is more of a clarifying shampoo, so I guess that's why it doesn't really make it too soft. It lathers well but that doesn't matter to me. The smell is enough to make me finish the bottle but after its gone I will not be repurchasing, just cause I prefer something that will make my hair soft and healthy feeling instead of rough and overly clean.


on 11/19/2014 2:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a great shampoo because it gives a deep clean while actually moisturizing your hair at the same time. I bleach my hair, so as a result I have pretty dry ends, but my roots get super oily. Clarifying shampoos get all the grease out of my roots but tend to leave my ends tangled and dry. Moisturizing shampoos keep my ends looking healthy, but make my roots look like I haven't washed my hair in weeks. This has been a lifesaver because it gives me a thorough clean, but it makes my hair feel soft, shiny, and manageable. Added bonus -- I've been dealing with a dry scalp latley, and using this regularly seems to really have helped.

This stuff smells amazing -- I don't notice any tea tree scent, just a super minty smell. If you're not a mint lover, though, I haven't noticed the scent of this lingering in my hair, so no worries. The consistency of this is kind of weird. It comes out in almost gel-like blobs. It's not runny or slippery at all like most shampoos are. Because of the consistency, I find that I have to use quite a bit of this to get it to lather in my hair. But if I use enough, this gives a nice lather and it rinses clean -- no residue or coated feeling in the hair afterwards.

I'll definitely be picking this up again, and I'll be trying more from this line (I believe the line is called OGX now). I recommend this to anyone who likes minty scents in the shower, and anyone who needs a lilttle extra moisture in their their hair or scalp.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/4/2014 2:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Oh how I love the scent of this.
It makes me so happy.
I wish the bottles were larger or the price less because it really does not do anything for my hair other than smell good.
I would still buy this maybe just once a year when I want to take a long hot shower and have a little treat and unwind but because there is no benefit to my hair, the bottles are so small, and my hair very very long, I have no other use for this but to make my senses happy and it does lol

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have long curly hair and this product works wonders. Removes build up and leaves my hair feeling fresh. I love the scent as well.


on 7/26/2014 9:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have a bob right now that is a few inches above my shoulders. My hair is super straight and tends to be on the oily side. I only have to condition maybe twice a week. I usually go for volumizing shampoos, nothing with heavy moisture.

I LOVE this shampoo. It smells so wonderful and makes my hair soft and manageable.. way better than my normal Dove shampoo. This is a good balance for me between cleansing and moisturizing. I've been using it for 2 months now and my boyfriend seriously loves it as well- the tea tree oils and mint just feel so good on your scalp.




Back to Top