Unlisted Brand • Dabur Amla Oil • Treatments

rated 3.9(38 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Sp6 on 3/29/2014 2:58:00 PM more reviews by Sp6

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Loved using this product, not sure if it's the best oil out there but I was recommended this by several of my Indian friends. Smells beautiful, very easy to apply but you only need a small amount. Definitely made my hair shinier, possibly a little greasy as I sometimes used too much product ! I wouldn't say it made my hair grow, but it definitely appeared more healthy. I bought this of ebay very cheap, can't wait to buy my next bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emmjaepenniman on 12/12/2013 5:10:00 AM more reviews by emmjaepenniman

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Another product from Dabur that I highly recommend. I use this as a pre-poo treatment, I leave it on my hair for an hour and wash and condition it out... it makes a difference in your hair and it smells nice. I've also used the jasmine oil and give it the same rating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bubblygirl on 12/3/2013 8:39:00 PM more reviews by bubblygirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I totally hate this product and probably wouldn't buy it for myself. Why the four lippie review and the "yes" to repurchase? Well, it actually does work.

I'm of Indian heritage so I'm familiar with our traditions of hair oiling. There is also an obsession in the Indian world with hair breakage and shedding (or "hairfall"). While I prefer using another Dabur product (the Vatika hair oil) or other Ayurvedic based coconut oils, my sister and mother have started using the Amla oil as their hair treatment and are staunch defenders of this product.

My sister uses a smaller bottle from an Indian grocery store; I think she paid about $3-5 for it. For that same price, in India we got a 500 ml bottle, no joke. My sister says it makes her sometimes color- and chemically-treated hair much softer and shinier. For my mom, it makes an even more dramatic and important difference. My mother has always had really, really thin hair due to a combination of genetics and really poor health. You can see her scalp in certain areas. Additionally, she went gray at a young age (again, poor health). After using the amla oil, some of her hairline has been restored, and some of her white hairs have turned into a darker steel gray color. While she doesn't have the thick hair my sister and I have, it's still a noticeable improvement--this has been the nicest her hair has been in about 20 years.

I've used it occasionally myself when I was shedding more than usual, and believe me, this WORKS. I just have a few issues with the product myself, which is why I'll never buy a full bottle myself (I'll just sometimes use my sister's or mom's bottle). First, the cap on the bottle is enormous and you can't control the amount that comes out. I guess this can be remedied easily by changing the bottle. The second issue is that this contains mineral oil, which I try to limit. Mineral oil isn't necessarily bad for hair, but for my hair, a really high amount means it can't be washed out, yet doesn't get absorbed, preventing all my moisture from entering. In this sense I believe that the export quality ones are inferior to the bottles in India--the Indian ones have more vegetable oil content, while many of the export quality ones have only mineral oil and amla. The third, and most important for me, is that this oil smells like rotting vegetables to me and my father. My mom and sister say they can't smell anything. While it is far too stinky for me to ever buy, if you have a hairfall issue, don't let smell bother you, because it does go away after shampooing. It's just for me, I oil overnight, or during the entire day, so I can't use something that makes me want to gag that long.

If you are in the mood to try other oils, my two other favorites are the previously mentioned Dabur Vatika oil, and the Dhathri Herbal Hair oil (this one is harder to find; to date I've only found it in India, but I have friends that claim they've seen it in Indo-Pak stores in the US).

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 redlipsthickhips on 11/14/2013 12:47:00 PM more reviews by redlipsthickhips

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to use Amla as a pre-poo treatment for my hair. Like others have already pointed out there is a distinct smell but it doesn't bother me. It actually reminds me of incense. If it's too bothersome for you, you could try adding some drops of lavender oil. I found the opening of the bottle inconvenient so I emptied it into a spray bottle instead. This made it much easier to operate. I also found the color of the oil (a dark green) a little off putting. I left it on for an hour as instructed. I recommend washing this out more than once and using a conditioner afterwards. I didn't and my hair turned out quite dry and limp. It hasn't darkened my color although my hair is pretty dark to begin with anyway. As of right now I'm not overly impressed with the results but I'm going to keep using it for at least another month and I will update again soon. Edit: I've tried my best to stick it out but I've come to the conclusion that this isn't the right oil for me. My hair doesn't look shiner or healthier and I'm very disappointed. I could put up with the smell but the final straw for me was the static it produced. Big thumbs down.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emilken on 10/7/2013 4:14:00 PM more reviews by Emilken

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this oil. It's funny, because I have very oily hair and that oil it does not strengthen it.. It makes my hair better, darker (I'm a brunette), extra-volume. The only problem is application - when ypu put it on your hair for all night, should wear some towel or just have worse bedding or cushions (I always wash my hair in the morning).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 8/17/2013 11:36:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Mineral oil base - I prefer coconut oil as it conditions better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laylaperdomo on 4/1/2013 12:08:00 AM more reviews by laylaperdomo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been combating dandruff due to my regular keratin treatments for years now.

Nothing I have tried, including dandruff specific shampoos, coconut oil and olive oil have completely fixed this issue.

My dandruff got increasingly worse as time has passed.

On one of my husband and daughter's recent trips to Morocco, they came back with a small bottle of this oil that was being used on my daughter's hair by her grandma.

I started putting this on my scalp as a spot treatment after washing my hair and noticed that despite the not so great smell, it was actually helping A LOT!!

I then came to the bible of all make up related reviews, MA, and realized this was indeed a BIG deal!

I also did additional research and learned that women in India have been using this for decades to treat dandruff, hair loss and to promote long, lush dark hair!!

I was so amazed by the discovery that I immediately googled the nearest Indian goods store and stocked up.

Ladies let me tell you that this is hair nutrition at the MAX.

My hair is dandruff free, rich and silky. Plus shedding has diminished SUBSTANTIALLY which is a welcomed added bonus

HOW I APPLY IT:
-Generously massage it into my scalp and ends after wetting my hair for enhanced absorption.
-Leave it on over night and wash it off in the morning
-OR put on a plastic cap and get under the hair dryer for 15 minutes

NOTE
-This must be shampooed out 2-3 times to get it out completely
-The smell is the worst but it does not linger and totally worth the outcome

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anjana2255 on 2/4/2013 10:32:00 PM more reviews by anjana2255

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I purchased Panjami Herbal Hair Oil after seeing their ad in google and I read about the oil that it will give results within a month. So I just gave a try and it was unbelievable that as they promise, I got results in two weeks time. One good thing i like about the product is it is purely herbal. The dealer also has sent me a lot of reviews to my mail after my request. This made me confident to give a try at this product. I had two problems before that is hairfall due to dandruff and some white hairs. After using Panjami hair oil, dandruff has gone in no time and my white hairs also got converted to black hair. Really a nice product.I dont know about amla hair oil as I have not used it.Read here mystronghair.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ProductRater on 1/12/2013 9:02:00 PM more reviews by ProductRater

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I purchased Dabur Amla Hair oil a while back when I was in Egypt. first off , It was so cheap! I got 12 bottles for about five Canadian dollars.This product has sped up my hair growing process tremendously thanks to its excellent nourishing oils.Although ,sadly , I do have some complaints. The packaging makes it difficult to properly apply the product in your hands , it has a large opening that makes the contents spill out.Very annoying.Also , the smell is terrible.Lastly , I can only use it on days where I don't get out of the house because its so greasy.I would prefer something like a daily cream that contains the same nutrients.Overall , I will purchase this product again just because it does an excellent job of keeping my hair long and healthy.I would definitely recommend it to all girls who want strong,healthy hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 10/29/2012 12:04:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I use Dabur Amla Gold. It contains the following ingredients in it:
Paraffinum Liquidum, Canola Oil, Palm Glycerides, Emblica Officinals (Amla) Extract in Canola Oil, Fragrance, t-Butyl Hydroquinone (Anti oxidant), Colors: D&C: Yellow No. 10, Green No. 6, Red No. 17

I find this product to be very moisturizing to my hair. It also leaves my hair nice and shiny looking. And, it also aids in keeping my hair healthy and strong as well.

I find the smell of the oil to be okay. It's certainly not the best or the worst that I would say. For me, it is completely tolerable.

Also, the price for this oil is quite cheap. I was able to purchase a 10.14 oz. bottle of this stuff online for 4.99 (w/o s& h costs included). And, even though it does have mineral oil listed as its first ingredient, it doesn't cause any problems for my hair at all. I use this oil as a pre-poo treatment for my hair. After about 1-2 hours or so, I cleanse my hair to remove the oil from my hair. Therefore, the oil is not be left in my hair in large amounts, which would cause buildup issues in such a case.

Overall, I highly recommend this product as well as the Dabur Vatika Oil as well. They are absolutely terrific for gaining the most shiniest, healthiest, and longest hair possible!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments products