St. Ives Olive Cleanser

3.2

119 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua, Eau), Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, Olive Oil PEG-7 Esters, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, PEG-150 Distearate, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance (Parfum), Phenethyl Alcohol, Citric Acid, Polyquaternium-7, PPG-2 Methyl Ether, Linalool, methylisothiazolinone, Orange 4 (CI 15510), Green 5 (CI 61570), Glycerin, Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract.


on 8/2/2013 12:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought 5 bottles in a single shot, its not one of those brand cleansers to make a difference, its there if you dont have makeup remover handy just to clean and refresh your face very mild and pleasant refreshing face soap lets put it this way,happy overall A+



on 7/11/2013 4:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This cleanser DRIED OUT my skin. It stripped and made it feel awfully tight. Whatever moisturizing olive oil ingredients it contains, somehow remained on my skin and made me want to use another cleanser to wash.

I don't really regret purchasing since I got it on a huge discount, but it ended up as my brush cleanser. I will certainly not repurchase and my bottle is thankfully almost finished.


on 5/24/2013 9:41:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

As other reviewers have noted, although this is clearly marked as 'moisturizing' on the label, it is the harshest cleanser i have ever run across.

Running out of my beloved Ponds Cold Cream in mid shower, i thought i would try this out. St. Ives usually makes decent products, and this had been sitting in my stash for a while waiting to be trialed.

I have the usual comb skin (oily T zone, dry cheeks), and as soon as i dried off, I knew it was a mistake. My face was painfully tight, and my cheeks felt like they were burning. By the time the night came, my cheeks, chin and nose were peeling in obvious chunks. It took a couple nights of vitamin e oil applications to return my poor skin to normal.

This cleanser is so strong you could strip paint with it. You would need to have extremely thick oily skin to get any benefit out of it. And for a product that promotes itself as moisturizing, that's just unacceptable.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2013 4:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

When I bought this it was on sale and I trust my facial cleanser to this brand. It clearly said moisturizing but for some reason it dried out my combination skin. (Mostly my forehead) I would not buy this again because of this however I would recommend it for someone with oily skin because it cleaned very well.


on 9/29/2012 12:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't like cleansers that remove all trace of moisture from my skin. Imagine using a hospital grade alcoholic disinfectant wipe all over your skin. The drying effect you get from doing about 2 wipes of that is the same as with this St Ives cleanser.
Its cleansing ability is astounding, it removed even my eye makeup quite powerfully. I was rather amazed because it does not specialise in makeup removal. No wonder it stripped my skin of ALL of its moisture, and boy, I mean ALL of it. If I didn't tone my skin in about 1min and 30 seconds, my skin would start to crinkle up in a very uncomfortable way.

Now I use it as a cleanser for my makeup brushes. It is so so so effective and quick. A powerful cleanser for my brushes, but too much for my skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/30/2012 10:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have dry skin that can be sensitive at times. This cleanser left my skin feelings stripped of any and all moisture that I had. My face was so tight that it crinkled when opened my mouth. There is definitely too much lather in this cleanser to be considered moisturizing. I did get it for $2 at Big Lots so I wont bash it too much. What can I expect for a $2 cleanser. The smell also gave me an instant headache. It stinks of old sweet smelling dish rag. It also lingered after awhile. I massaged my moisturizer on and that helped tone the scent down considerably but its still there. Dry skin people steer clear of this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2012 12:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my favourite cleanser! I've rebought this product a couple of times, I like it that much. I have very sensitive skin, especially with facial cleansers, and most make my skin red and blotchy. This one, however, does not do that.

It cleans my face with drying, removes make up, and since it doesn't have any medicated active ingredients, it's safe to use on my eyes to remove my waterproof mascara (keep your eyes closed, obviously).

I also really like this product for washing my makeup brushes.


on 2/23/2012 1:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This felt like washing my face with hair gel. After the first and only use I am left with a
face covered in red papules. I realize now that the only St. Ives products I can use are
the body lotions and the apricot blemish scrub (on my feet!) The tea tree cleanser - papules. Green tea scrub - cysts. The cleansing cloths - rash like papules and clogged pores. I lean toward natural products because I'm developing weird reactions to the chemicals in beauty items, and these St. Ives cleansers are on my no-list now.

My poor face feels tight and burnt, my eyelids are red and I dread leaving the house now. Argh!

If you have bullet proof skin, this could be ok, for folks like me, run the other way and don't look back.

Natural? Doubtful. But then again, poison ivy is natural.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2012 12:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not saying I would definitely purchase again, but it is a pretty good cleanser. My skin feels pretty normal after I wash with it, which is good for my combo skin. Sometimes I mix a little in my hands with a small amount of baking soda for some exfoliating action. It does a pretty good job of removing light make-up as well.


on 11/30/2011 12:34:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This really moisturised my skin while cutting through excess oil and dirt. I really enjoyed using it. I can't seem to find it anymore in my local Woolworths. But I will definitely buy it again.

It was a bit more than mild so it was very effective.


Back to Top