Sonia Kashuk Bristle Hair Brush

4.1

60 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/21/2015 10:10:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I agree with other reviewers about the quality of this brush. I do not own a MP because of the price tag, but I've inspected them several times up close. I do not see what the fuss is about or how it is much different than my beloved Sonia Kashuk. The SK is awesome in every way and easy to keep clean. I do wish the handle was longer but overall, a great brush. Really feels great on the scalp and doesn't break my hair or give me detangling grief. More importantly, my kids love this brush. I have repurchased only to have extras. I've had my original SK for almost ten years and it still works, looks, and cleans up great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/20/2015 9:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had been experiencing a lot of hair thinning without really knowing why. It was hard to diagnose because the last couple of years have been a jumble of pregnancy (ahhh the glory of a pregnant head of hair), followed by the unavoidable postpartum hair loss, different meds, different diets, switching to sulfate/silicone free, etc etc etc. While my hair was by no means noticeably crazily thinned out, I could definitely tell something was up. I cut my lower-back length hair to chin-length because I just couldn't deal with the stringiness.

Anyhow, that's the backstory. I was perusing the MUA recent reviews, as one does when one is bored, and stumbled upon one for this brush. I was unaware that it was supposed to be a dupe for the Mason Pearson -- long story short, it led me to the MP brush reviews, and I became totally *obsessed* with getting one but just couldn't deal with the price tag, so I settled for the Sonia Kashuk version. It was a little less than $15 at Target.

So like...my hair thickness has increased by at LEAST 50% in about 1-2 months. The only thing different in my routine is this brush. I literally went from losing a large mass of hair in the shower every day, and while brushing/styling too, to maybe losing 10 strands of hair per day? I'm not even kidding. OH -- and, I am a very oily person. Granted it's winter, but I have NEVER been able to skip daily shampoos. And now my hair looks totally normal and fluffy and amazing on the second way? WTF is this magic?

My hair is now past shoulder length. I don't do much actual styling (I am lazy) but this brush serves all my purposes. It feels amazing gliding through my hair, especially the scalp, and makes my weekly coconut oil treatments really efficient too, as I feel like the oil is getting everywhere it needs to go.

I will probably eventually upgrade to the MP (aka ask for it for the holidays...) but this little thang has legit changed my life, well, when talking about my hair, haha. It has been the best thing I have done for my appearance in a longggg time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2015 10:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love this brush. After receiving the full-size one I immediately thought I should get the travel one. They're almost equal in size, I was surprised at how small the full-size one is. I've never tried the MP brush to compare it to, but this makes doing my hair so much faster and easier. It's quickly become my favorite brush.


on 1/24/2013 10:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Not a fan. I bought the small travel size brush to throw in my purse whenever I needed to fix my hair. This makes my hair frizzy and wiry whenever I run it through. The plastic is cheap as far as the bristles go. It's supposed to be half boar bristles half plastic but it just doesn't cut it for me. It doesn't smooth my hair , it just makes it worse. Especially whe I straighten my hair. I like how the brush looks but so far its just a waste of money for me.


on 11/13/2012 11:57:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this two weeks after I got my mason pearson just for comparison. This looks exactly like my MP handy brush except for the handle. Head size, length and look of bristles are the same. One big difference though compared to MP is, MP pneumatic cushion works. This one the cushion is hard. Even if you push the bristles hard to move the cushion inward, the cushion hardly budges. Spornette cushion moves a little. Denman's cushion is as hard as this brush. Also this has a strong burnt rubber smell that my MP and Denman doesn't have. Spornette Luxury has a mild burnt rubber smell. This is also a lot scratcher than MP. MP is the most gentle to the scalp, then Denman ( but does not quite reach my scalp ), then Spornette Luxury and this brush comes last. All of the brushes here I mentioned are mixed bristles. IMO if you are in a budget or just don't want to pay the high price tag of MP, for thin or medium thickness hair Denman is your best bet. For thick hair, I would go with Spornette Luxury. If you have money to spare I would still get the MP. It has all the reasons why it cost that much. If this brush doesn't have that strong smell and doesn't feel too scratchy on my scalp ( I may have more sensitive scalp than other people ) this would have been a good alternative to MP.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This brush I great. I use it for everything, blow drying, back combing, and smoothing out curls when styling for weddings. I just wish the handle was longer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/21/2012 6:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love this brush. I really wanted an MP but it's way out of my price range so I got this instead. It really helps distribute the oil in my hair to make it shiny and allows me to get by another day without washing. Highly recommend!

*Edit: I still like this brush a lot but came back to take a star off because the bristles started to bend within a month of moderate use. Still one of the better boar bristle brushes I've used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2012 11:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've owned the Sonia Kashuk brush for about 2 months. I do not own a Mason Pearson brush to compare the two, but I have to say I really like this brush so far. The full size is nice for my short but abundant hair. This brush isn't designed as a detangling brush so it's not particularly good at wrestling through knotty hair; I detangle with a wide tooth comb anyway so it's not a problem for me.

I use this brush two different ways:
Pre-shower: I flip my head upside and brush my hair and scalp, concentrating on the scalp then moving down the hair shaft. The boar bristles really seem to loosen up the buildup so I get a really good shampoo.

Post shower: I brush my hair with this brush after I blow dry and style my hair as a final touch. The brush does an excellent job smoothing down my hair and spreading the oils from my scalp to the ends of my hair. I've noticed that since using this brush every day my in-between shampoo days are far more tolerable. Because the bristles spread the oil from my scalp so well it helps to alleviate the "greasy scalp" feeling I used to get when I didn't wash my hair.

Overall this brush is pretty great for what I use it for.

However--I am knocking one star off of this review and warning fellow MUAers to exercise caution when washing/disinfecting this brush. I washed the brush for the first time using my typical routine: scrub the brush head with a mild shampoo, rinse with warm water, then soak the brush in a solution of vinegar and warm water for 20 minutes to disinfect. My other brushes came out fine, but following the vinegar and water soak I noticed that the coating covering the plastic handle was flaking off. Some of the black paint is flaking off as well. As far as I can tell the glue holding the brush together is fine and the brush itself is in one piece, but time will tell.

So a word of advice: when you wash this brush don't use vinegar to disinfect and/or skip the disinfecting altogether if you want your brush to remain in good quality.

Besides that minor setback, the Sonia Kashuk is my favorite brush of the moment!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2012 5:24:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got the hot pink/lime green LE one. I love this brush! Instead of snagging and pulling out my hair, it seems like it gently untangles..which I also love! I gave it 4/5 because it causes a lot of fly aways. I already had a problem with those and wasn't looking for something to increase it. The bristles also hurt my scalp, rather than feel great like some people have said. However I think the pros of this brush are more important. I'm going to buy the big version soon, and my other hair brushes will soon see a trash! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2012 6:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i love this brush. i purchased the smaller size to bring everywhere, because i didnt want to carry my precious Mason Pearson junior around. the length of the nylon bristles catches my hair well, stimulates my scalp and distributes the oil down to my ends, so my hair looks much less greasy and more healthy. the rounded handle gives a comfortable grip too. although the actual boar bristles are not up to par with my Mason Pearson's this brush is still a great buy, and should be a staple for those who want great hair. i use this brush more often to quickly smooth out my hair, but i use my Mason Pearson as more of a hair treatment, using slower strokes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Sonia Kashuk Products

image

Remove

248 reviews
Back to Top