Estee Lauder • Double Wear Light SPF10 • Liquid

rated 3.9(741 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kliesch12 on 8/30/2014 1:16:00 PM more reviews by kliesch12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

First review!! This foundation is simply amazing. It is the first foundation that has lasted all day. By the end of a long day I usually get home and wash my face by supper time because it's half melted off anyways. This one goes strong from 6:00am-12:00pm. And probably even longer if I were to test it! It has a beautiful matte finish that looks so flawless and not at all cakey. It also doesn't have an orange tint which I find with so many foundations. I love that this as spf so I don't have to worry about buying a lotion with spf to put on underneath. It's also water resistant. If I'm dripping sweat during a workout my makeup looks perfect at the end of it which is insane. It is suppose to be water resistant so I'm not quite sure how it would work if you went swimming... lol but I know it lasts through sweat! I keep looking in the mirror and smiling because my skin looks that awesome.

My boyfriend hates foundation. Probably only because he can tell I have crap all over my face. He can't tell I'm wearing anything with this stuff on! He has no idea! He thinks my skin is this flawless! It's amazing. So that tells you how natural this foundation looks. My sister was looking at my face trying to figure out if I had any makeup on or if my skin just looks this awesome.

ALSO I bought the double wear concealer stick which is also awesome for putting over top of acne scars or pimples before applying the double wear light foundation :)

Will repurchase for sure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nosymonky on 8/16/2014 5:05:00 PM more reviews by nosymonky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I loved it so much that I bought the huge 6.7 oz pro size bottle from eBay. It stays well, light to medium coverage. I do set it with Bare Minerals mineral veil powder and it looks absolutely flawless, like it's your real skin. It stays for about 5 hours then I do need to blot a little here and there. Overall it's a 10 to 12 hour stay on me for a combo skin. I am acne prone and even after a year of use it has yet to break me out. It's definitely my HG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 baronesserl on 8/13/2014 6:06:00 AM more reviews by baronesserl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG foundation! I've been using it for over 4 weeks now and it's absolutely fab. It's got great coverage without looking heavy, it lasts all day and a small amount is enough for my face which means that after 4 weeks the bottle is still not empty. Also, I've got v e r y sensitive skin and most foundations make my skin break out horribly after 3 days (wheals) but with Double Wear light nothing of that sort happened. I'd recommend this to anyone with sensitive skin who is looking for a high end foundation that is economic in use!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emmamaidens on 8/9/2014 7:35:00 AM more reviews by emmamaidens

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

My HG foundation. Was previously using MAC studio fix fluid happily and switched to this just for a change. It gives me the 'cant believe this is my skin' feeling everytime I look in the mirror feeling I hadnt achieved with the MAC. No the coverage isnt buildable but thats what the original double wear is for. Sometimes I do notice my skin feeling a bit dry due to the powder finish but I attribute this mostly to my winter skin. Will try a hydrating primer underneath next :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 abmnik on 8/1/2014 9:36:00 PM more reviews by abmnik

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

This review might be a bit premature but I will update once I've used it for a few weeks.

Anyhow, I just bought this foundation a day ago and it is perfection. If you have trouble with foundations lasting on your skin through a long day, and hate touching up, then this is made for you. The coverage is adjustable, I like things fairly light adn natural and that can be acheived with this foundatiojn. I only apply it where I need it and blend out the oblivion where I don't! I used a flat paddle brush too apply it and will experiment with other things but the classic foundation brush did work very well for me. I have oil-/combination skin and I've tried a host of foundations (l'oreal true blend, MUFE HD, MUFE face and body, becca ultimate complexion, NARS sheer glow to name a few) and nothing lasts on my like this does. The fact that I don't have to touch up _and_ my skin looks natural is a huge win. Love it! Hope I keep loving it. :D

Breakdown,
PROS: flexible coverage, VERY long lasting, semi-matte/natural finish, fuss free, great for oily, combo, and normal skin (not sure about dry skin though), slightly cheaper than most high end founations.
CONS: none. I guess I might need to mix colours but I always have to so it's not a big deal.

UPDATE:-
It's breaking me out, my skin hates long lasting anything I guess. This really saddens me because it does look absolutely gorgeous and lasts all freaking day! I do still highly recommend it but if your skin is prone to clogging with heavy products then get a sample and test this out for a week before you commit. Hopefully you'll be luckier than me!
(I didn't take any lippies off, I still think this stuff is out of the world, my skin is just finicky.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starfire154 on 8/1/2014 6:59:00 PM more reviews by starfire154

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this foundation. It covers really well (and i suffered with acne for years) and paired with the mac pro longwear concealer nothing on my face ever budges. I have long busy days, and once this foundation lasted on me from 9 am in the morning to 11pm, and I was drenched in rain walking to university, waitressing, and working my other job all day. Even after the rain it looked the same its amazing! I use an ecotools buffing brush to apply this foundation and have no issues with application, takes about 3 to 4 minutes. I have tried a lot of long wear foundations to match my busy schedule (including revlon colorstay) but I find this is the only one that doesn't feel like a stain on my skin, yet its not heavy enough to be a nuisance. I would definitely buy this again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Adrianna281 on 7/31/2014 2:38:00 AM more reviews by Adrianna281

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This is amazing, a good foundation BUT it takes a lot of time for it to be blended beautifully. I like to blend it to oblivion to give me that porcelain look but still natural. It takes me about 20 minutes, it dries quickly so better work fast. It's a powder finish, and does stays put throughout the day. My only issue with this product is that you have to choose the right brush for it to be blended well, takes a lot of time ( A LOT), and makes the pores visible on my nose if I don't buff it for a good 10 minutes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 theartyard on 7/24/2014 4:21:00 AM more reviews by theartyard

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The funny thing about this foundation is it grows on you. After using this foundation, I do find myself coming back to this one. HOWEVER, whilst this foundation has many great points, there are a few things that I dislike about it which is enough to make me want to change to a different foundation.

PROS:
-Looks natural: Granted, this is one of the best things about this foundation. It looks like your own skin and doesn't cake.
-Colour match: This will depend on what your skin tone is but for me, I love the colour. I wear it in 0.5 and although I wish there was a shade slightly more warm-toned to suit my Asian skin, this suits my colour better than any foundation.
-Oil Control: This does have better oil control than a lot of my other foundations, however its oil control does not trump Revlon Colorstay's (old formula)
-Packaging: squeezy-bottle where product is dispensed from a nozzle- I like it because it reduces contamination

Ok so why would I want to change to a different foundation you might ask?

CONS:
COVERAGE: The coverage is just not buildable! I have acne-prone skin and when I try to build up coverage in certain areas, you just can't. The existing layer of foundation on the skin gets wiped away by my beautyblender (this doesn't happen with other foundations) and because this foundation stays put, these horrible patchy areas stay that way and you can't build foundation on top. You probably won't know what I mean if this hasn't happened to you before, but when it does it is infuriating because it ruins your entire face of makeup. Also, concealer doesn't sit well on top of this foundation. So basically, if I want to build up coverage, this product does NOT work for me.

Time-consuming: because of the coverage issue, this product takes me so long (TOO long) to apply. I have to be extremely careful when using this to ensure I apply it correctly. This is the key reason stopping me from repurchasing because it takes me at least 30 mins to apply. It's a shame because when applied well, this product does look good on the face.

Expensive- you really don't get a lot of product for what you pay for

Oil Control- like I said before, the oil control is good compared to other foundations. However, I don't like to touch up and at the end of the day I find this product slides around my nose area and where my glasses sit on my nose. I apply it at 9am and by 6.30 p.m I want to wash the foundation off my face.

Breakouts: I cannot say for sure if this is the cause of my breakouts but I do notice my skin becomes less clear after using this, so acne-prone people please be careful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cher101 on 7/10/2014 10:07:00 PM more reviews by cher101

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Love this foundation! Though it took me a while to realize this :). I was wearing Chanel Vitalumiere for a couple of years. At first I thought the Chanel was great because I had slightly dry skin in the winter months. However, I started to develop surface acne on a regular basis. I tried a sample of Double Wear Light in the winter but for some reason, went back to the Chanel. Anyway, in total, it took me about 2 years of using this Chanel foundation to realize it was part of my skin problem. I was coming home from work at night with an oily messy face. Every night I had new breakouts. About a month ago I decided to pull out the Double Wear Light sample again and this time I realized how awesome it is! I used the rest of the sample for a week, with no new breakouts. I decided to purchase a bottle. It has been a month and my breakouts have stopped, I do not come home with an oily mess on my face, my make-up stays put all day, and my skin looks so much better. The Chanel vitalumiere was exentuating my flaws whereas the Double Wear Light does a perfect job of hiding my flaws, while not looking at all unnatural or cakey. I wear Intensity 3 which is a perfect colour match for my medium, olivey complexion. Love love love this foundation!!! I am so happy I made the switch and that my skin is finally clear again. The only downside to this foundation: you have to work it into your skin quickly as it dries fast and also when it is difficult to wash off at night. Overall, highly recommend this for acne-prone, oily or combo skin and for those who want decent coverage without a cakey look.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BamBlastBoom on 7/8/2014 8:13:00 AM more reviews by BamBlastBoom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Being super oily, so far this is my favourite foundation.

I used to wear DW or Revlon Colourstay but they were just too thick and DW was way too hard to spread out for me without getting overlaps/patches, even with moisturiser applied underneath.

This is basically the same as DW in my opinion, however its less thick and dries a bit slower.

You should NEVER buy this if you have dry skin, or a lot of skin flakes, as it is a drying foundation.

If you apply it wrong without moisturiser underneath you will also most likely get a dry powdery look (like the woman in the pictures) but done right it looks amazing and last for ages. (I wore this an entire day to an amusement park in hot humid weather) and it looked great even after 9 hours.

Also since it dries its crucial you get it in the exact colour of your skin otherwise it will be noticeable so get a sample and let a patch dry on your skin before buying.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products