Clarins • Hydra Quench Cream • Moisturizers

rated 4.2(98 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 pianoBUTTER on 4/2/2014 12:42:00 PM more reviews by pianoBUTTER

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

My skin absorbs this really fast but after a few hours it starts getting greasy and shiny. I've tested all of the moisturizers from the HydraQuench range but none could ever work. They don't hydrate or moisturize my skin as much as I need them to. I got a few samples of Clarins Bright Plus HP range recently and thank god both day and night creams suit my skin and the weather here (I live in the tropics). They're more hydrating compared to HydraQuench and my face looks fresh everyday even after long hours on campus.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rubyred23 on 3/20/2014 12:20:00 PM more reviews by rubyred23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've recently taken a keen interest in skincare after a friend of mine reminded me that you only get one face, and it's not like having a nice handbag - you can't just save up for a new one when it starts getting shabby!

I decided that the one thing I really needed to address in my skincare regime is my moisturiser. I have dry and flaky skin in the winter which is also prone to dehydration.

I never really spend money on moisturiser and have always preferred the Olay complete care moisturiser with SPF 15. I wear a full face of makeup every day to work and Olay provides such an excellent base for foundation.

I decided to splash out and get something with more hydration but which also has a light consistency so that I could wear it during the day, under my foundation.

I read up on different moisturisers and the Clarins Hydra Quench seemed like it would be great.

The PROs for this cream are: 1) It has a lovely light consistency; 2) it absorbs quickly; and 3) I feel like I am really treating my face when I put this on!

The big CON for me is that it does not seem to "agree" with my foundations.
As in, when I apply my foundation over it, the makeup turns into little balls on my face and actually won't even stay on and ends up getting on my clothes etc. Twice now I've had to actually wash my face and start from scratch again which is a total pain in the morning when I am inevitably rushing. I've had this effect when I've used Estee Lauder double wear foundation, MAC Pro Longwear foundation and my little compact from Benefit. That is three foundations!

I think I will have to start using this at night instead. :(
So here I am, 50 poorer and back to my quest of finding a reliable moisturiser that will hydrate my skin and still allow me to apply my foundation without it turning into millions of horrid tiny balls!!!

Has anyone else experienced this or does anyone have any suggestions?


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 valerieetc on 2/23/2014 12:49:00 PM more reviews by valerieetc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I have been using this cream for a week only, but so far I love it!
I was hesitant about getting the normal/dry version at first because I tend to avoid rich creams which refuse to sink in, but this one turned out to be surprisingly light. Besides, my skin does seem to dry out during winter and months of excessive central heating.
Since I haven't figured the down sides yet (except for the price, ha!), here are the parts which I especially like:
1) The smell is heavenly. I am still trying to figure it out - cucumber mixed with apple? It is faintly sweet and refreshing, and not heavy at all.
2) It sinks in fast and leaves no film or residue of any kind. To compare, my previous Shiseido moisturizer left a thin layer of an invisible substance which felt like finely milled powder or even chalk.
3) I've found that it is extremely pleasant to massage this into my skin. I suppose this cream is rich enough to allow this, whereas all the previous moisturizers that I used sank in really quickly or just stuck to my skin immediately and refused to move around.
So far I highly recommend this product - it is perfectly suitable for normal skin, and I suspect that combination skin would benefit from it as well :)

UPD: OK, a few weeks into this and I have mixed feelings already. I've been getting a weird breakout lately which seems to go away and then comes back even worse, and I'm afraid that this moisturizer only makes it worse. I kinda suspect that my skin is (and has always been) sensitive to an overload of artificial ingredients which you usually find in something non-eco-friendly. Will be switching back to LUSH products for the time being..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 millietizzard on 2/4/2014 9:11:00 AM more reviews by millietizzard

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this moisturiser after using the Clarins Cleanser and Toner for Normal to Dry skin.
I get quite dry in the cheeks with my T-Zone being normal to a little bit oily in summer.

I first used this moisturiser at night time and found that it sank in quickly and left my skin super soft. Smells nice (can be a little overpowering for some?)
The following morning I used it again after cleansing and toning like always, and found that it left an unpleasant layer on my skin and I could feel sweat sitting on top of it almost immediately.

A few hours later I found that this had caused tiny red bumps to appear around my chin and mouth, however these disappeared by the next day.

I think this is a nice enough moisturiser in dry climates but the humidity does not mix well with this moisturiser. It is nice to use at night and I recently went to Sydney for a week and it was fine there as it was much less humid.

Nice glass jar however, would prefer if this was in a pump.

So, in conclusion, nice moisturiser, leaves skin feeling lovely and soft, great for dry climates and steer away if you live in a humid climate/ perspire on your face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fivezero on 12/20/2013 8:32:00 AM more reviews by fivezero

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I purchased this early last year as my first foray into higher end face cream, after trying many drugstore brands (Neutrogena, Nivea, Olay, Dormer, La Roche-Posay, etc.) and being unable to find anything that worked well on my dry but cystic acne-prone skin. This Clarins cream ended up working very well for nighttime use - any other thicker night creams I'd tried would break me out. It keeps my skin moisturized but not oily, feels great going on, and absorbs quickly. The scent is subtle and very pleasant.

It also saved my skin while I was on vacation in Europe this year. I'd stupidly taken a travel bottle of a Bliss face wash (which I'd never used at a stretch of more than a few days at a time) and my trusty Neutrogena daytime moisturizer. After a week of Scandinavian weather, the Bliss cleanser had made my face red and itchy. It was totally miserable! I ended up purchasing another jar of the Clarins at the Frankfurt airport duty-free (thought I should get something I knew would work, although there was surprisingly little savings to be found even matched up to the Canadian prices I am used to!) and my face cleared up almost entirely by the next 1-2 days. That will teach me to pack light on a trip!

I will keep purchasing this cream, but since I have not tried many in this price range, it will maintain a 4/5 rating for now. It should get docked partial pointage because of the packaging, as well: the jar, while heavy, lovely and expensive-seeming, is not especially hygienic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetdase on 10/24/2013 9:55:00 PM more reviews by sweetdase

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product based on the good reviews. I have been using the Clarins cleanser based on reviews on MUA and thought it was good so I decided to try this product out as well as I needed a new moisturizer. The only con about this product is that I can't use it as a day time moisturizer. I thought I could, but unfortunately, when I apply make up on top of the cream, the cream balls up and turns into little shavings/pills. That was the only disappointing thing about this product. So now I use this as a night cream to use it up. The cream is moisturizing and I dont mind the scent at all. Unfortunately, it doesn't come in a pump packaging so as always, hygiene is the problem. If it weren't for the pill forming problem when applying foundation or BB cream, I'd definitely use this as a day time moisturizer, which was the main reason I bought this cream in the first place. Too bad it didn't work for me. But I still gave it 4 lippies since it does deserve a decent rating because the product actually works. Just not underneath makeup. I personally would not buy this cream for night as I usually use a thicker one, therefore, I would not repurchase it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 becky_stokke on 9/21/2013 12:16:00 PM more reviews by becky_stokke

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

After using the hydra quench riche creme for years I finally have to give up. They seem to have changed the formulation, and they certainly have changed the scent. The creme is no longer for cold climates it seems, and is thinner, though still thick. It used to have a very light scent, if indeed any at all. Now it stinks. And I just bought a new pot, why do companies "fix" something when it's not broken? I despair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anna12345 on 8/31/2013 10:49:00 PM more reviews by Anna12345

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this and have been using it for about a month. It has been working reasonably well on my normal to combination skin but I have mixed feelings. The pros are that it absorbs quickly and dries matte: there is no oily residue. Makeup goes on top very well. The con is that I really dislike the fragrance. I ended up using most of it on my neck and arms rather than on my face. Clarins makes fantastic products but they tend to load their products with annoying perfumes. For this reason, I will not be purchasing this product. If you can put up with the smell, it is quite a good moisturiser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Matillyrose on 6/30/2013 9:20:00 PM more reviews by Matillyrose

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I really like this cream when used in conjunction with the Hydra Quench Serum BUT on it's own it is not moisturising enough for my dry skin.

Really good to wear under primer and foundation during the day when you don't want your foundation to melt off your face but I find I need to add extra moisture hence using the serum.

I would repurchase the serum because it is good under any moisturiser but I have other day creams which are better than this for my dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crmelody on 6/27/2013 5:28:00 PM more reviews by crmelody

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great moisturizer. Won't repurchase because there are betters ones out there that are more eco-friendly.

Pros: moisturizes well, plumps skin
Cons: unnatural ingredients

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarins products

More Moisturizers products