La Roche Posay Physiological Cleansing Gel

4.0

78 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA, PEG-7 GLYCERYL COCOATE, POLOXAMER 124, POLOXAMER 184, ACRYLAMIDE/SODIUM, ACRYLOYLDIMETHYLTAURATE COPOLYMER, ETHYLHEXYL ETHYLHEXANOATE, ISOHEXADECANE, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, AMMONIUM POLYACRYLDIMETHYLTAURAMIDE / AMMONIUM, POLYACRYLOYLDIMETHYL TAURATE, POLYSORBATE 80, SORBITAN OLEATE, T-BUTYL ALCOHOL, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, MYRTRIMONIUM, BROMIDE, BENZOIC ACID, PARFUM


on 3/13/2015 1:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Sensitive, combination, Rosacea skin
Can turn my skin red and dry if i use too much product or leave it on for too long. Using a tiny pump (pea size), massage over my moisten face with my finger tips for a few seconds and rise off thoroughly works best for me.
This does not remove my Kate BB cream or eye liner. I pre-cleanse with Bioderma. Have used this for 1.5months by my dermatologist recommendation..
Edit: 26/06/15 on my second bottle. Using it once a day instead of two works best. Less drying effects.



on 3/9/2015 3:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Gorgeous! This is very gentle and feels soft on the skin but still like a really good cleanse without stripping the skin or one of those choking residues (if you know what I mean). The bottle is neat with the dispenser. The price is a tad steep for my liking but not too steep to keep me from loving this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/13/2015 5:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product for years now, I don't think it is a miracle treatment at all but I have very combination skin and this is perfect, not over drying but gets rid of everything!


on 12/14/2014 9:49:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is my new favorite cleanser.

For reference, I've got super dry and increasingly sensitive skin. I don't like to use lots of products; want to keep the aggravation down. I use this both to remove makeup and to cleanse skin. It checks all the boxes. It seems to have calmed my skin and, truly a bonus, doesn't dry me out. I think it both tissues or rinses off; I always rinse (I know, that's probably contributing to the dry sensation; it also contributes to the clean sensation) -- so, the bonus for me is that I can rinse and not feel dried out. I do use this to remove eye makeup, too -- tackles mascara easily. Love, love, love.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/7/2014 4:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I switched to this product after years of loyalty to Effaclar Gel - but only because my skin changed from being outright oily to dry combination (read: dry cheeks with a somewhat oily t-zone) as a result of climate change. It does what is promises; gently cleanses your face without that uncomfortable tight feeling. The product has a very pleasant scent that reminds me of fresh bananas. For some reason the kind of fragrance used by French skincare brands never irritate my fairly sensitive skin.

Having said that, I have always been a fan of double cleansing - in other words, I take off my rigorous makeup with a micellar solution before proceeding to cleanse the remains and other nasty stuff accumulating on my face throughout the day. Therefore I cannot guarantee this cleanser will take off your makeup on its own, but if you use a separate cleanser for that or don't wear makeup at all, then La Roche-Posay Physiological Cleansing Gel may be perfect for you.

TL;DR: My new HG cleanser for my newly acquired combination skin with dry cheeks and oily t-zone. Cleanses well enough without stripping your face of its natural oils. May not be enough to remove makeup completely on its own.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/2/2014 5:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My skin is super oily which is caused by it being dehydrated. It is also quite sensitive and new products (particularly those with a long list of ingredients) often give me those painful under the skin spots. I have been using this cleansing gel for around two months and have had no breakouts from it - it is alcohol free, fragrance free, soap free and paraben free. I had been using Clean & Clear deep cleansing cream for a couple of years and only recently found out that the alcohol in it was actually making my skin oilier as it would strip my skin and then my skin would go crazy and over compensate by producing bucket loads of oil! I use this after a make up wipe and Lancome Galateis Douceur cleanser and it cleans my skin brilliantly, removing all traces of my double wear light foundation.

I've knocked one mark off this because it can leave my skin feeling a little tight, although this is quickly remedied by my toner (Lancome Tonique Douceur) and my moisturiser (La Roche Posay Hydraphase Intense Legere).

At around 12 it's actually a good price considering the quality of it and the fact it's the best face wash style cleanser I've tried (from low end to high end). I will definitely repurchase this when I run out.


on 10/23/2014 10:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Keeping it simple: This product was just OK. It cleaned my face but left it red and a little bit sore, I didn't break out as much whilst using this morning and night but my skin texture didn't improve and I started to notice small spots under my skin. I don't know whether this product was too harsh on my skin or whether its just not very good. I am now trying clinique take the day off cleansing balm. I hope this will be better and will make my skin clearer :)


on 5/27/2014 8:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I found this cleanser really stripping and drying. After using it for a few days my hands and face were completely stripped. Had to throw it in the bin. I wasn't expecting this to happen considering the cleanser doesn't foam. Packaging is functional and actually works so a lippie for that...


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Update '14: I moved on from this to MD Formulations AHA cleanser which after a 15 year search is my HG cleanser. Recently after a laser hair removal treatment I moved back to this for one evening, and had forgotten how tough it is to completely rinse off and tacky feeling this is. I woke up with two new pimples. Still definitely a great and gentle product, but if pore-clearing is your primary concern and you need a lot of exfoliation to prevent breakouts, this won't cut it. I probably wouldn't rebuy it since I've found MDF and boots botanics has a similar gentle cleanser which foams but magically is not irritating to my skin- and also makes me feel like i'm free of any leftover product film.
This is what I wanted Cetaphil to be. It's actually got the gentle, non-irritating, non-foaming quality of Cetaphil but the cleaning power of something along the lines of Bioderma sebium, but there's no feeling of stripping the skin at all. Having said that, this is a great facial cleanser for reactive skin, its not a makeup remover.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2014 1:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've used this product a few times now. It leaves my skin the way it was before: oily and dehydrated. My skin feels tight but it's still shiny. It doesn't remove all my makeup. I used a cotton pad after this with a makeup remover and it showed dirt and some black makeup on it. I don't like the smell. It smells sort of like banana. On the plus side it doesn't cause my skin to break out.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top