La Roche Posay • Physiological Cleansing Gel • Cleansers

rated 4.0(71 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 sciencegeek on 5/27/2014 8:44:00 AM more reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I found this cleanser really stripping and drying. After using it for a few days my hands and face were completely stripped. Had to throw it in the bin. I wasn't expecting this to happen considering the cleanser doesn't foam. Packaging is functional and actually works so a lippie for that...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 niftypineapple914 on 2/19/2014 9:21:00 AM more reviews by niftypineapple914

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Update '14: I moved on from this to MD Formulations AHA cleanser which after a 15 year search is my HG cleanser. Recently after a laser hair removal treatment I moved back to this for one evening, and had forgotten how tough it is to completely rinse off and tacky feeling this is. I woke up with two new pimples. Still definitely a great and gentle product, but if pore-clearing is your primary concern and you need a lot of exfoliation to prevent breakouts, this won't cut it. I probably wouldn't rebuy it since I've found MDF and boots botanics has a similar gentle cleanser which foams but magically is not irritating to my skin- and also makes me feel like i'm free of any leftover product film.
This is what I wanted Cetaphil to be. It's actually got the gentle, non-irritating, non-foaming quality of Cetaphil but the cleaning power of something along the lines of Bioderma sebium, but there's no feeling of stripping the skin at all. Having said that, this is a great facial cleanser for reactive skin, its not a makeup remover.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bornitaq on 1/8/2014 1:55:00 PM more reviews by bornitaq

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this product a few times now. It leaves my skin the way it was before: oily and dehydrated. My skin feels tight but it's still shiny. It doesn't remove all my makeup. I used a cotton pad after this with a makeup remover and it showed dirt and some black makeup on it. I don't like the smell. It smells sort of like banana. On the plus side it doesn't cause my skin to break out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cheyneromero on 12/11/2013 1:20:00 AM more reviews by cheyneromero

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to daily cleansing gel that I use morning and night. I love the matte gel texture, it's unscented and extremely gentle yet effective. I use two other cleansers in combination with this in the morning, but when I travel or only have time for one, this is my first pick. It just leaves my skin feeling very balanced and fresh, and it doesn't dry out my skin or make it feel stripped. I used to use CeraVe as my base cleanser, but I like the slim bottle and overall packaging of La Roche-Posay more (though the cleansing effects of both felt pretty much the same, I will admit). CeraVe's bottle is very bulky and was always spilling in my travel bags. Plus, this cleanser is French and makes me feel ever so slightly fancy each time I use it. I'm a sucker for fancy face washes, especially extremely functional ones such as this. Try it if you haven't already!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tvall on 12/6/2013 11:01:00 AM more reviews by tvall

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am really enjoying using this cleanser, I use it in a morning to quickly wash my face and then in the evening after I've removed my make up using cliniques take off the day balm. I'm not sure how it would do at removing make up well on its own as it is really gentle but I don't mind as I always pre cleanse to remove my make up (and I always will!)

This cleanser is really gentle, it doesn't foam or have a strong scent and most importantly doesn't strip my sensitive skin or leave it feeling tight.

I do wish it would foam just slightly as I don't know about you but then it would feel maybe a bit more like it's cleaning - but saying that when a product foams in my experience it normally leaves that horrible tightness. So I'm ok with it!

EDIT: The cleanser is still great but not very good for problem prone skin. This cleanser isn't a deep enough clean for me anymore, even after Ive removed most of my make up. Although it is gentle, it is probably best for those with sensitive skin and not many skin issues in terms of acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ssim2 on 12/6/2013 10:54:00 AM more reviews by ssim2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this cleanser and I think it's thus far the best cleanser I've used. It was introduced by my dermatologist a year ago when I was beginning to breakout especially at my jawline. When using this product, my dermatologist had advised that I would just need 3 to 4 splashes on my face so that there was a thin layer of protection that can keep my skin moisturized. I wasn't used to it at first as all my life, I prefer to splash it until I feel my face not oily and " squeaky" clean. Then I feel the difference - more softer, no tightness and skin flakiness... Gradually I feel very comfortable and clean just a few splashes. It also helps to calm my sensitive skin... Would also stock up as much as possible whenever there is promotion cos it is pretty pricey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annicelestial on 12/1/2013 11:42:00 PM more reviews by annicelestial

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is the best makeup remover for me.

My skin is always been a little acne prone before I start to put makeup on, and it got worst all thanks to Fancl's makeup removing oil. And then I've tried Bioderma, Bifesta and Curel, Bifesta is a little stripping, Bioderma only cleans well with large amt and really good cotton pads, Curel is cool but I'm using up 1 tube every month. All of them leaves me with small bumps still and regular breakouts, BUT, much better than Fancl.

Until few weeks ago the Curel remover in my local drugstore is running out of stock and LRP is on offer, and I got this cleanser with the effaclar duo. Unlike Curel's oily texture (it's gel actually but somehow it feels like oil on the face), this is really refreshing and cooling. I use 2 pumps each time and followed with my daily cleanser, flora water and effaclar duo, and I'm finally getting to acne free skin.

A good cleanser is everything really, I have Darphin's Purifying balm and Dr Brant's Pore Effect, they are great and effective products but they alone can't stop my skin from breaking out if I don't clean my face properly.

The price is really cool too, at least for someone like me who spent big money on many useless acne treatment products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Curlycat on 11/17/2013 6:21:00 AM more reviews by Curlycat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

+
It's doesn't irritate my skin.
The makeup comes of pretty easy. I use it with soaking wet cottonpads, I've noticed that it's more gentle for the skin than to use dry cottonpads.
Doesn't dry up my face afterwards.
It smells good, like citrus or summerflowers.
It lasts for a couple of months.
It's cheap.

-
Irritates my eyes a little bit.
The pump is a little stiff.

= I will repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Miloshy on 11/15/2013 11:03:00 AM more reviews by Miloshy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE THIS STUFF! this is the best cleansing gel I have tried so far...I was kinda skeptical before trying it...I used to buy only Chanel, Dior, Lancome, Shiseido cosmetics but after trying this and vichy's purete thermale soft & soothing toner...I just realized that u can get extremely good products at the pharmacy and spend much less than what u would spend for luxurious stuff from the perfumery...they work just as good, trust me! So I tried also sebamed moisturizing care gel, vichy's nutri extra hand cream, avene's cold hand cream, la roche-posay cicaplast baume b5 and I'm so glad I did coz now I won't waste my money anymore on Dior, Chanel etc stuff. and my skin is getting better and better. I'm so happy. Anyway I got combination skin...my cheeks are kinda normal but my nose and forehead r kinda oily and my chin always gets a few premenstrual under-skin blemishes...so I started using this gel 3-4 weeks ago and this time I got only 3 blemishes on my chin but they r kinda small so I could cover them up easily. I'm not saying this gel prevented new ones, can't tell yet, but it definitely cleanes my skin gently (with Clarisonic) and it doesn't clog up my pores at all so it's not comedogenic...u can safely use it if u have acne prone skin...I think it would be great even for dry skin coz it's sooo gentle. I will keep repurchasing it FOREVER.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sugarfreecandy on 10/31/2013 7:30:00 PM more reviews by sugarfreecandy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

January of last year, I remember looking at myself in the mirror and seeing the deep cystic acne that using Murad's acne line has left me with. After countless more other products that tried to battle the acne on my face, I decided to go to a dermatologist. The dermatologist made his own acne line and was amazing. He also put me on small doses of isotretinoin(accutane) so I wouldn't feel its side effects as much but still get the results I wanted. Fast forward to August 2013. I'm done my course of accutane and have clear skin. I knew I needed to start with a basic cleanser and a gentle exfoliating product to keep my skin in top shape. Having sensitive and still a bit of an acne-prone skin, this was hard to find. Reading the countless amazing reviews for this product, I decided to give it a try. I'm so glad I did! This product is amazing. It's so gentle and easy to use. One pump is enought for my whole face. I don't use it to remove make-up as I don't really wear any besides some eye make up that I remove with my trusty Bioderma. It does not clog my pores or irritate my skin. It calms down redness and makes the skin feel soft, supple and incredibly comfortable.

Definitely an HG product for me. I will always repurchase.

Also, it works very well with Effaclar Duo. My regimen has been very simple since I found this. This and Effaclar Duo are my life savers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Cleansers products