Kett Hydro Foundation

3.8

27 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

PURIFIED WATER, GLYCERIN, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, MAGNESIUM ALUMINUM SILICATE, TRIETHANOLAMINE, CELLULOSE GUM, SILICA, METHYLISTHAZOLINONE, DECYLENE GLYCOL. MAY CONTAIN (+/-) TITANIUM DIOXIDE, IRON OXIDES, ULTRAMARINE BLUE, CHROMIUM GREEN OXIDE, D&C RED #6 BARIUM LAKE, D&C RED #7 CALCIUM LAKE, FD&C YELLOW #5


on 7/1/2015 8:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Kett is the best water based makeup. When i was looking into air brush makeup all most of the information i could find was about dinair so I bought that system. I like dinair hardware but their make up is not good it shows every imprecation ; pores wrinkles, it is too matte! Now lets talk about kett... Kett does what a foundation is supposed to do , which is to improve the look of skin. Kett has a satin finish; very natural, and is blend-able until dried and easy to touch up if you make a mistake. If I want a matte look I just use powder. If you like temptu s/b, you will like kett as your water based option. Also the colors are very realistic for neutral and olive complexions which few brand have. But if you have pink or red in your skin please try kett's ruby series.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/11/2015 10:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted this foundation to be the answer to my foundation needs so badly. It combined the best and worst of results.

The color pigmented my skin DEAD ON. I have ethnic, light Asian skin. Most foundations that claim to be 'warm' made my skin look bizzarely sun-burned due to too much pink or red. Kett's 'olive' shades truly have a yellow undertone that complemented my skin beautifully.

The foundation was rich in pigments -- I found that I only needed 3 drops in the airbrush for a natural, everyday look. I could easily add a few drops more to cover anything I wanted. 'Less is more' definitely suits this product. I have tried Luminess foundation, and Kett's foundation sprayed and blended out much more easily.

It finishes satin-velvet with neither too much shiny dewiness or flat matteness -- very skin-like in appearance. Unfortunately, I have very oily skin, and this product seemed to make my skin produce more oil. Even with blotting papers, I could feel my face sliding off, yet the foundation itself remained in place and looked the same after a ten hour workday. Despite its weightless appearance, my face felt humid, sticky and just uncomfortable after several hours of wear. I do not recommend it to anyone with very oily skin. It had a moisturizing effect which I think would be more appropriate for normal or dry skin types.

A look at the ingredients reveals a very simple list with glycerin as the base. I thought this would not aggravate my very acne-prone skin. To my dismay, after two weeks of flawless nice-looking skin, clogged pores began to erupt along my jawline and chin. Perhaps the formula was too emollient, or I may have had a sensitivity to the colorings and preservatives.

Even though Kett looks and performs great, I will not sacrifice the health of my skin. Although I will not be using this as an everyday foundation like I had hoped to, I still will use this on special events only when I need to look my absolute best. Hopefully, the event will not last too long, because I know I will be rushing to get this sticky stuff off my face and avoid a breakout!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this product after watching a popular makeup artist on you tube, he recommended this foundation and had nothing but praise to give about the staying power and flawless coverage. So I decided to buy this online it cost £22 which is quite expensive for a foundation! It stated that it can be used with a sponge or a airbrush machine, I just used a sponge. At first I did not like the application I felt it was very runny and had next to no coverage then trying different techniques such as using my sigma flat top kabuki brush I grew to like the coverage it did give an overall nice flawless coverage! After about an hour my face was extremely shinny ( even with a primer) and felt like my face was like an oil slick! Every time I used this product I had this effect. I also noticed after using this a couple of times my pores looked clogged and I formed tiny bumps all over my forehead! Overall not for me!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2013 7:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm just confused. I purchased a few products directly from Kett mainly because of Wayne Goss's raves. Whom I love but I don't understand why he likes this so much. He stated that with other products there is usually something, one thing, that will get to him after a while but with this product there's nothing. Well I'm not stupid I know how to apply foundation and make up in general and I'll tell you I'm so sorry to have to say this but it is actually the worst foundation I've ever used and not just for one reason. To start off, you don't even have to wash your brush afterwards - just hold it under the water and it rinses clean. I'm not kidding - try it. Therefore if any moisture or water touches your face the foundation will come off. It is the opposite of water resistant. It looks nice while on the skin but there are many others that are more skin-like. I have applied this with a water-based primer, without any primer, with a beauty blender, with a stippling brush and a buffing brush. It dries extremely fast therefore it makes it hard to blend.. You pretty much have to do one part of the face and then the other. Lastly I have never in my life used a foundation I could detect/feel on my skin more than this. (This is with any form of application) You can feel it on your skin. I hate to say all this because I want to love it so much. Which is another reason I've waited a while to review it - because I've been trying it over and over. Oh also, I got all the trial colors in the red based category and all the colors above the first one (R1) are so extremely red! Very very red. The only way I could get them to work would probably be to buy an adjuster. Now, I also bought the contour liquid (which it says on the bottle is also the Hydro foundation). I've never seen anything like this. It's the most horrible disaster ever made. It dries almost INSTANTLY. It's actually impossible to blend. I used it on my plain skin, on moisturized skin, on top of hydro foundation (with and without primer) and on just primer skin (with a water-based primer - like the product) and it's useless. The color is awesome but you just can't get it on the skin blended nice because it dries so fast and is very blotchy and spotty. I've tried applying it with fingers, with multiple brushes and even a wet sponge, In fact I called the company (nice people) and they suggested the wet sponge part and that still didn't work. I even mixed some of this with a moisturizer in a clean pot - just makes it worse. So this has all the problems as the foundation plus these. This is just a nightmare - I'm sorry to say
P.S. If anyone reading this is a NW20 and wants a list of foundation comparisons - I have a list prepared in my notebook for you.

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2013 1:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

UPDATED JUNE 11, 2015: *I've made updates to this review now that I've had more experience airbrushing with this foundation*

My overall impression: The shade accuracy is so perfect and has realistic yellow tones, the finish is the most skin-like of all airbrush foundations I've used but it wears off VERY fast (oily skin - 4 hours, normal skin - 6 hours). I don't wear it alone but instead use it as a finishing/setting mist over my favourite airbrush foundation (Your Name Airbrush foundation) and oddly enough it keeps everything in place and keeps oil in check.

I'm half Asian and half Caucasian so I have a very unique skin tone that is hard to match. I am neutral olive with a very slight, undetectable hint of pink and I sit at the darkest shade of fair, almost bordering a medium. When I wear foundations in the fair range I tend to have a very pink face and when I wear foundations in the medium range I end up with too much orange even with mixing. Kett Hydro O3 (Olive range) gives me a 99.98% accuracy to my skin. It's that slight hint of pink in my skin that throws off that .02% but I'm sure that adding half a drop of foundation from Kett's Ruby shade range can fix that.

I bought the Kett Hydro Foundation trial pack in the olive shades and tested them on three different girls. The first time I tested the foundation I thought my airbrush gun was clogged and nothing was coming out at all. It didn't look like there was anything being sprayed until I noticed that the girl i was airbrushing started looking flawless and all of her redness and blemishes had vanished. It turns out that the makeup was so light and a perfect match to her skin that I was fooled into thinking that nothing was dispensing. I tried it on the next girl and the same thing happened. Unfortunately, those girls' makeup didn't last after a few hours.

I had sprayed an entire bridal party with the foundation and the photographs taken immediately after application looked beautiful. The makeup photographs so perfectly without that harsh chalky finish that most makeup causes (a result of titanium dioxide). Our necks matched our faces even in the harshest flash lighting by camera phones. However, the photos that were taken of us at the end of the night didn't look that great. It appeared as though our makeup had disappeared and we were all back to our blotchy appearances. That's when I decided never to wear Kett alone.

I experimented with mixing it with other foundations and that seemed to disappear into the makeup instead of giving me the best of both worlds. Then I experimented using it as a finishing mist and that yielded the most perfect results. It has a velvety satin finish to it so it makes my skin look very healthy while providing a good match.

The initial spray test was done with my Dinair airbrush system and it sprayed soooo slowly. I had to dilute it with witch hazel or glycerin just to thin it out a bit to spray faster. When I tested it out using a professional system, the application was much faster and sprayed more area.

The Hydro Blushes and Hydro Contours are very tricky to apply perfectly. They are super pigmented so it has to be applied at a lower setting, the trigger should be pulled back very slightly and should only be sprayed in 3 light passes at the most. I find that if I spray them first and then apply the foundation over them, that will give the most natural look and avoid harsh lines. The highlighter is very natural and very beautiful.

Despite its cons, I still rate this a 5 because of the shade accuracy, skin-like finish and how it works as the perfect setting/finishing spray on top of my existing foundation to complete the entire look. As far as the makeup by itself, I would probably rate it a 3.5 or 4 due to its duration.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2013 11:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Nice foundation with buildable coverage. I use Sigma F80 brush to apply and I need to use a lot of product (too much) with this method. Need an airbrush gun! Natural and undetectable finish. Long lasting. Would not re-purchase only reason being I don't have an airbrush gun.


on 10/24/2012 1:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Goodness, this foundation is meant to be use light handedly. Many ladies here has put too much of this foundation and it will accentuate dry areas if you do that. The trick is to put a maximum of three drops and use a buffer flat top.. First pat the foundation on the brush, then pat all the parts of the face. Once that is done, proceed to buff it into the skin. If there are still redness or anything that needs to be covered use a concealer!

MANY WOMEN MAKES THE MISTAKE OF USING FOUNDATION AS A CONCEALER. Hence, cakiness and patchiness!

This foundation is skin like. If you do not achieve skin like then its time to cut back on the amount

EDIT:

I have oily skin now and this is the only foundation that last me from 9am till 1145pm. No joke. My Christian Dior Forever (new formula) comes second. I have changed my changed my routine though. First I apply benefit porefessional for open pores problem, Spot conceal, and then I used my studio blusher brush from Elf to apply my foundation like painting a canvas. And it worked beautifully. I used that particular brush because my flat top brush from coastal scents was wet. Who knew it worked awesomely. Try it out girls. Oh one more thing, since I have a small face I apply one two drops on each side of my face. I'm about a Nc 20 and an 01 and R1 mix 1:1 ratio.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am very picky about foundations, but I love this foundation! I spent several trips to Sephora trying to find the right foundation, but they were all too pink or orangey. Or they were too matte & accentuated dry spots. Cyclops also makes me break out, so most HE or DS foundations won't work.

I ordered samples of Kett in O5, O3, and the yellow color corrector. I'm a very yellow NC35, and my Kett shade is 1/2 drop yellow, 1 drop 03, 5 drops 05. The finish is like a satiny version of MAC F&B. It looks very natural and the dropper bottles help control how much foundation I use.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/5/2012 3:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

After searching for a foundation for a long time and spending alot of money trying to find one that does not irritate, clog my pores or break my skin out, I finally hit the jackpot with Kett. The ingredient list is simple and without silicones or parabens as other posters have already stated. I've waited a month to write this review to see if my uber finicky skin would react. It hasn't.

The sample bottles are generously large and cost only $10 so you can try different shades. After experimenting I get an exact match with three drops of O1 (which is the lighest yellow based shade I have ever encountered) and two of R1 (which is red based).

I found Kett to have very good coverage even after applying it with a damp sponge. I don't have alot to cover (usually) and it blurs my large pores on my nose and upper cheeks beautifully. The consistency is watery and I work each part of my face seperately and quickly and blend as it will dry fast. I tried applying a second layer to see how far the coverage would go and it blended beautifully but I did not wait for the first layer to dry completely. Like I said you have to work fast. With a second layer I got medium to full coverage on my skin. However, a red blemish might require some concealer.

Kett has a great color selection (based on olive and red ranges) and it is fun to work with. If you can't find a perfect match, I found it easy to mix shades for an exact match. It is the most natural looking foundation I've ever worn. I also love the little bottles of color correctors.

The ingredient list is so simple the only things that could possibly break acne prones & sensitives out is the preservative or if you are sensitive to glycerin. I have extremely sensitive skin and break out with most foundations but not this one.

I order directly from the Kett corporate office in NY and their customer service is fantastic. They are so nice and helpful. I live in NJ and I ordered 3 samples on a Tuesday and received them the next day!

Needless to say I am ordering full sized bottles soon (though the samples would last me a year). If you have sensitive skin and suffer from acne or are acne prone, please do yourself a favor and try Kett.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2012 10:30:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

** Not Tested On Animals **

Skin type: normal to dry but acne prone.

Desperately seeking a new HG foundation since I found out MAC test on animals after being bought out by Estee Lauder. MAC is now sold in China, and Chinese law requires that ALL cosmetics owned by foreign (non-Chinese) companies be tested on animals.

My skin tone has a warm-neutral-light olive tone. For reference, I am MAC NC25 - see my notepad for my colour matches to other brands.

BEFORE: applied a water based primer + water based moisturiser.

CONSISTENCY: like water.

APPLICATION METHOD: I used 3 different methods, beauty blender, fingers & flat topped stippler. I did 2 layers & the coverage was still quite sheer, so the 3rd & final layer I used my fingers so I could pat it on & really build up the product.

LONGEVITY: I didn't actually wear it out like I intended because I wasn't able to achieve adequate coverage.

OVERALL: I have acne scarring & some discolouration, so really I am looking for full coverage. Also, the time it takes to do 3 layers is not feasible for day-to-day use. I really wanted to like this product & I feel bad for lowering the overall score! One good thing about this range is that it is highly customisable & it is possible to achieve an exact colour match.

RE-PURCHASE? Only if I had air brush equipment.

**Purchased samples from CRC in shades O3 & O5, my colour match was approximately 2 parts O3 + 1 part O5.**


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top