LORAC • Visual Effects • Mascara

rated 2.8(36 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 buttons723 on 10/10/2013 10:35:00 PM more reviews by buttons723

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love the formula and staying power of this mascara but the wand ruins any positive effects of the actual product. The applicator brush effectively piles a glob of mascara at the base of my lashes and then makes my lashes clump together. Why spend money on a high end mascara that you have to brush out after "applying" it?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 roxyd562 on 7/4/2012 8:07:00 PM more reviews by roxyd562

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The formula was super dry. I dont know if I got a bad one and the plastic alien looking brush would make my lashes clump together. I purchased this in a set from sephora, that had three eyeshadows, blush lipgloss... It wasnt a waste cause I got to try other things from the brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 alm1217 on 4/25/2012 9:38:00 AM more reviews by alm1217

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

The formula produces great results - my lashes look longer and fuller...and it looks very natural as well. However, I cannot get past the brush! It's oddly shaped, and it really affects my ability to apply it. I tried applying it a few ways, but I honestly don't want to put that much effort into applying mascara - I want to swipe and go. Also, drugstore mascaras tend to work better for me anyway, so I'm probably just going to stick with those. I got this LORAC mascara in a kit; that was the only reason I tried it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bluemymind99 on 9/22/2011 2:44:00 PM more reviews by bluemymind99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I keep a tube of this handy for special events, and ONLY special events. The effects are way too dramatic for regular daytime use. The stiff plastic bristles of the oddly shaped brush deposit the product at the very base of the lashes, which makes all the difference in terms of drama. Your lashes will be glossy black, sky high, and thick. The price you pay for lash nirvana is that VE is a very high-maintenance mascara. Because the brush paints color on your lashes instead of brushing it on, you get a lot clumps and, if you're not careful, a lot of smearing, as the formula is quite wet. So do keep a lash comb handy. It will allow you to get rid of clumps and even out the mascara's distribution across your lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jess428 on 11/10/2010 9:04:00 PM more reviews by jess428

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I bought both the black and the midnight blue in a set (2 for $20, so not a bad deal at all for high-end), and after getting used to them, I love this mascara. It took awhile though! The black one especially is very "goopy", and I know now to have some tissue on hand when using. I don't really have the same issue with the blue for some reason....apparently I got a lucky tube! Yes, it is gloppy and messy, but if you can stick through the mess and learn to just clean as you go, it is worth it. My eyes look quite dramatic after using either, and the blue is a gorgeous color. If you don't mind putting in some effort and clean up time when applying makeup, this is worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rachel85 on 10/2/2010 1:21:00 PM more reviews by rachel85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

i love it ! it doesn't make them full full but great great length and stay and its a nice rich black color .. i will buy again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 aipc29 on 9/26/2010 11:15:00 AM more reviews by aipc29

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Very gloppy and clumpy. I tried using a lash comb to comb out the lumps, but that didn't work well. There is something in this mascara that prevents you from building length and volume. Very poor quality from Lorac, I was shocked they would put out such a poor product. The Midnight blue color was so-so and even appeared grayish in color. This is going back to the store for a refund. Dont waste your money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shellbell090702 on 9/15/2010 3:13:00 PM more reviews by shellbell090702

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I needed a new dark blue mascara, and on a whim I bought this just based on the beautiful color. In the past, I haven't been wowed by LORAC mascaras so I reluctantly gave this one a try since I love everything else in the LORAC collection. I have to say that I was really surprised at how much I loved this mascara. First of all, I kept layering and twirling my wand and my lashes kept getting more defined and curled. Second of all, I have black lashes, and this mascara turned my lashes the exact color that is in the tube. There was no flaking or running and my lashes stayed curled without clumps. I have green eyes, so I love deep plum and navy mascaras to bring out my eyes, and this mascara did just that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 susanwylie67 on 9/8/2010 9:36:00 PM more reviews by susanwylie67

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I like another of the reviewers, splurged on this product, and was really dissapointed. The brush is bizzarre, difficult to use, and does not live up to the hype at all. So, I tried using the mascara with another wand, only to find out that the formula, was just "ok". I honestly did not see a difference between it and other drug store brands I have used. Actually, for lengthening, I would say Lash Stilletto was better. So, while I will splurge again one day on mascara I'm sure, it won't be on Lorac.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Sunbabe684 on 7/16/2010 2:51:00 AM more reviews by Sunbabe684

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

SO angry that I spent so much on this mascara. It was my first splurge on expensive, "high-end" mascara, and I believed what they were selling about how the new, special brush made all the difference. Well, ai've tried it, and I absolutely hate it. The weird 4-sided applicator brush is difficult to use, doesn't remove clumps that well, and it puts on too much product at once that you can't get off once it's on. I understand I could use a different brush right after to smooth out my eyelashes, but I don't want to! Why pay for an expensive mascara that you need to use something else to fix?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LORAC products

More Mascara products