Physicians Formula Organic Wear Pressed Powder

2.9

83 reviews

42% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENT LIST #1: MICA, JOJOBA SEED OIL*, CORN STARCH*, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, KAOLIN, CALCIUM CARBONATE, OLIVE FRUIT OIL*, GLYCERIN, SOYBEAN OIL*, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, CINNAMIC ACID, SODIUM LEVULINATE, TOCOPHEROL, WATER. MAY CONTAIN: IRON OXIDES, TITANIUM DIOXIDE. * CERTIFIED ORGANIC INGREDIENT (ECOCERT). INGREDIENT LIST #2: MICA, CORN STARCH *, OCTYLDODECYL STEAROYL STEARATE, KAOLIN, OLIVE FRUIT OIL *, JOJOBA SEED OIL *, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, CINNAMIC ACID, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, GRAPE SEED OIL *, SOYABEAN OIL *, RICE HULL POWDER , BAMBUSA ARUNDINACEA STEM POWDER, MAY CONTAIN: TITANIUM DIOXIDE, IRON OXIDES. * CERTIFIED ORGANIC INGREDIENT (ECOCERT)


on 5/7/2015 1:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I hated this powder. never showed up on my face. case it's in is cardboard and flimsy. This was a waste of time and Money



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I must say Physician's Formula always has a great look and packaging when it comes to presenting their products. They look beautiful, however you judge a make up by its wrapping or price, just because physician's formula products are quite pricey does not mean its the best in show. I must say the pressed powder on my dry and sensitive skin did not give me negative reactions, but it did not apply well. I can barely see the results. And even more disappointing is that it smelled really bad. It smelled like a strong stench of bamboo skewers and soil/dirt from the ground. Once applied onto the face, I still smelled the stench and I had to throw it away, I could not stand the bad odor.


on 3/16/2015 4:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I seem to be in the minority when in that I really like this powder. It stays matte, has decent (but not heavy) coverage, and evens out my skin tone. I use it over foundation or tinted moisturizer. I have never used it alone, so I can't attest to its effectiveness as a powder foundation. I get compliments on my skin when I wear it. It is difficult to find in stores near me, so I order it from drugstore.com where it is often on sale for under $9. The only con is that it can look chalky if over-applied, which can highlight imperfections. This is great as a light, everyday powder for a natural look. Very few powders work for me. Just my luck one of my favorites is not a very popular one! I hope it doesn't get discontinued.


on 11/7/2014 1:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I really wanted to like this powder because it's organic and I have a love-hate relationship with Physician's Formula makeup. The first thing wrong with this powder is the smell. I can't identify exactly what the scent is or what it reminds me of, but it bothers me.

This face powder is very pigmented. It's almost like a powder mineral foundation, which I believe is one of the suggested uses for it. This powder layers on and can start appearing chalky and uneven after a couple of swipes with it. I have not yet been able to blend it or smooth it to make it appear more even. Even when I apply this powder lightly with a light face brush, it still goes on very thick. It rests on top of my skin and accentuates every imperfection on my face, especially wrinkles. It is very noticeable on my face, and it gives it a very sickly, unnatural, white cast.

The packaging is not cute to me, it is cheap and annoying. I know it's supposed to be sustainable, and I appreciate the gesture, but in reality, coupled with the very peculiar and unpleasant odor, it gives this rather pricey for a drugstore brand powder a very cheap feel.


on 10/17/2014 7:36:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like this product. I wear it over my Everyday Mineral makeup (my perfect match is Sand) as I need something that tames the shine and last a few hours, and isn't full of nasty chemicals. This does it. The color, translucent medium, blends with my olive, medium skin tone just fine. I have normal skin, so the staying power of the powder works for me.

Yes, the smell is a bit off-putting, the main reason I didn't rate it as 5 lippies. I hope the PF folks read these reviews and add an essential oil or something lovely to counteract the odor. But for a pressed power that is organic and helps the shine, I'm satisfied.

The packaging is also fine for me. I wanted something for my purse, and it is durable enough for my bag. I rather like it, in fact. It feels substantial, earthy. I'm not planning to use the paperboard compact around my pool or the beach anyway. (!)


on 5/23/2014 11:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It SMELLS. My boyfriend would comment on this everytime he leaned in to kiss me. As a product, it works, does its job, but I would NOT buy this again because it literally stinks!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2014 2:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

(I said "Yes" to repurchase but I'm having a sordid affair with the Hourglass Ambient powder as my go-to face makeup. See my review!) I have mostly unblemished skin that's normal-to-combo, and I was previously using the non-organic PF powder as I'm lazy and can't be bothered to apply liquid foundations. Curious to try the Organic Wear, I picked it up in Translucent Light (same shade as the non-organic stuff). I honestly don't notice much of a difference between the organic and non-organic, other than the smell, which I don't think is very strong and I don't mind it either way. I apply the PF face powders with a MAC kabuki (182?) and it's very nice for evening out my skin...but be careful, it can get cakey/overly powdery if you're too heavy-handed on application. I'm not a huge fan of the cardboard packaging -- feels cheap and if it gets wet, you're in trouble. I also felt the organic wear lasted longer than the non-organic powder...but I dunno. I will probably buy this again if I can find it: my store had the organic wear on super-sale, and then it was gone. :( EDIT 8/12/14: It appears that this product is on its way out, as my color is impossible to find in stores. Booo!


on 1/23/2014 11:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This looked like powder. It gives a white cast.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Bad color payoff, it's really translucent... Felt more drying than other types of pressed powders I have purchased before. I couldn't stand the smell either... Smelled horribly.
As I have read in comments before it has a cute packaging and all of that, but that's not really important, at least for me. Could work for setting liquid foundation (like all pressed powders out there). All in all, nothing special about this one.


on 4/17/2013 3:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Unlike the other reviewers, I really like this pressed powder. I use only mostly natural products. I have been using Pur Minerals pressed powder in Porcelain, which was a perfect match for my skin tone, and made my face look great. But with a $30 price tag, and how it only lasted me about 4-5 weeks, I had to find something a bit cheaper. I bought Physician's Formula Organic Wear in Translucent Fair, hoping for the best. When I got it and tried it out, I was pleasantly surprised. It went on smoothly and matched my skin tone perfectly. I'm so happy that I've found a cheaper, but still natural pressed powder.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top