Cover Girl • Perfect Blend Eye Pencil • Eyeliner

rated 3.8(132 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Notaglamourpuss1 on 12/29/2013 7:24:00 PM more reviews by Notaglamourpuss1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't understand what's happened to Cover Girl. The entire line has gone downhill ever since Proctor and Gamble bought the company although I do think the lipsticks have improved since the old days. However the overall quality of the products have suffered greatly since Noxell Corp. sold it to P&G. Even the names have gotten tacky- Clump Crusher (sounds like a child's toy), Lash Blast ( another child's toy name?), Lash Blast Fusion (sounds like a video game) and the list goes on. Silly names do not make a good product. The only non embarrassing name is Outlast but those products are another story. Evidently an appropriate name doesn't make a good product either.
That being said, this eyeliner I bought was in the plum shade. It went on easily but within minutes one of my eyes started to water. The upper eyelid started to itch and get red. So much for opthamologist tested. When I used the black, this did not happen. I learned that there are less color pigments in black than plum so the potential to irritate sensitive individuals is less. Anyhow, it smears quite easily.
Save your money and if you want a drugstore brand, get Revlon,which is far superior to the Proctor and Gamble owned Cover Girl Cosmetics and not the way it should have stayed Noxell owned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rainkiss10 on 11/20/2013 6:13:00 PM more reviews by rainkiss10

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

My go-to liner... The blue color stays all day on whatever weather! Buy it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MikuM on 10/30/2013 11:20:00 PM more reviews by MikuM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got milias around my eyes after I used it for 2 weeks. Had to get them removed from doctor's office. Very bad experience.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sl40 on 6/6/2013 2:36:00 PM more reviews by sl40

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff smudged and I looked like a drug addict by the end of the day. Not a pretty picture. I'll stick with my EL Double Wear pencil. At least that stays where it's supposed to.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TheReviewLady on 5/22/2013 4:09:00 AM more reviews by TheReviewLady

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I gave this product a slightly low point for price because here in Australia, everything cosmetic-related is too expensive -- heck, everything is expensive(!)/end_rant. On to the review: as I am a woman of a certain age, I have been shying away from the drugstore cosmetic aisles for a few years now. But recently I have discovered gems (Lanolips, Revlon lip butters... etc) and this is among them. I used to use this pencil in black-brown when I was in high school in the 1990s. The formula has not changed, but I did. I thought I needed to move up in the world and I started using Estee Lauder. Recently, I've been trying to save money and bought a CG perfect blend eye pencil in black. I have no idea why I switched brands because I can't tell the difference. The CG pencil is soft, smudgy, and a good size to stick in your bag for short trips away from home. I like the rubber smudger at the end of the pencil. I use CG's perfect blend pencils to create a smudgy shadow around my eye, for definition. The black shade looks very rock-n-roll, like a slept-in mascara smudge, the black-brown shade is very natural if you are a brunette or black-haired individual like myself, and the taupe is nice smudged into the socket like a creme eyeshadow. I own all three shades. I will repurchase these and hope they are never reformulated. Note: as these pencils do not create a perfect smudge-proof line, they are not good for making a 60's-inspired cat eye.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SWilisons on 3/8/2013 11:14:00 AM more reviews by SWilisons

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I wore this eyeliner to a concert. I was on the floor near the stage, and it was hot, crowded, and I got pretty sweaty lol. But at the end of the night I went home, looked in the mirror and this stuff HAD NOT BUDGED. It literally looked like I had just applied it. I knew then that I had found my HG eyeliner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 graysuit on 1/23/2013 9:13:00 PM more reviews by graysuit

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Okay! This is the best eyeliner I have used. I have used this FOREVER! I love this eyeliner. It is simple and the sponge blender makes this very versatile. I am so glad Covergirl has kept this eyeliner. This is the best of the simple makeup. It lasts all day and all night. Sometimes I have gone to bed without removing my makeup and it is still in place. Oops! Don't sleep in makeup! This is the best kept secret in the eyeliner category. It goes on smoothly and the price is right. I don't need bells and whistles to buy this eyeliner. It's simplicity speaks for itself. It's longevity speaks louder. This is a great eyeliner worth the price and then some!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missmetal on 12/6/2012 9:07:00 AM more reviews by missmetal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my all time favorite eyeliner.

I always buy this eyeliner pencil!

It goes on smooth, gives great coverage and pigmentation, never messy.... It stays on until you wash it off, and when you wash it off, it comes off like a breeze!

When I wear this, I never have to touch up, I can wear this for 48 hours & still have perfect eyeliner!

5/5 score from me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yourdearjuliet on 11/8/2012 1:09:00 AM more reviews by yourdearjuliet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I found that these actually weren't bad for a drug store price. Although, it would wear off on my oily lids by the very end of the day but I've had that problem with every liner I've had. The color in black or brown is perfect though and goes on smoothly and dark. I do like this although it's not quite my HG of pencil liners. But definitely worth giving a shot!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SymmieC on 9/12/2012 7:47:00 PM more reviews by SymmieC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My HG eyeliner. Goes on smooth, perfect for water line, or smokey eye. Rich true color. Lasts for quite awhile even on waterline. I will say this though, if you are using it (or anything) directly on your waterline, expect it to wear off eventually or even smudge a little. Nothing that a slight touch up doesn't fix. :) I have used this for years and only strayed occassionally, I always end up right back. Covergirl does a couple things right and this eyeliner is one of them!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Eyeliner products