Le Labo • Vanille 44 • Fragrances

rated 4.1(22 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 beautyjunkyannonymous on 9/27/2013 9:45:00 PM more reviews by beautyjunkyannonymous

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Upon first spraying this on my skin I get vanilla and, strangely, a black pepper scent for the first 5-10 minutes or so. After that it morphs into something that, on my skin at least, smells very, very similar to Burberry Brit. If I had never smelled Burberry Brit before I would appreciate the Le Labo more but at the price they are asking for a bottle of this stuff it doesn't feel "special" enough to me. It's slightly spicy, warm, comforting, and a little sexy. I think it would work best in the fall and winter. I've had this on for about 6 hours now and the scent left on my wrist is quite faint and reminds me of the scent of MAC lipstick if you are familiar with that comforting vanilla scent. Comparing this to Burberry Brit, I prefer this as it is definitely softer to my nose, and not quite as loud.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaryEllen on 12/23/2012 4:01:00 AM more reviews by MaryEllen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This smells much better in the sample vial. On me, it's vaguely, slightly nauseatingly, artificial-powdery sweet with very little vanilla and absolutely no incense, smoke, woods, booze, citrus ... nothing else. Staying power is about two hours. It smells like a cheap air freshener. My wallet is thanking the deities of perfume that I dislike it, but it is a huge letdown given all the mystique that surrounds this fragrance. I, thankfully, will not purchase a bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 leeyah87 on 8/22/2012 8:56:00 PM more reviews by leeyah87

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Vanille 44, like other Le Labo creations, has a misleading name. The name would have you believe that vanilla dominates in the fragrance, but it doesn't. The vanilla is *technically* there, but it's playing peek-a-boo and hiding most of the time.

Vanille 44 opens with bitter and cool aldehydic citrus on top of soft amber and woody incense. The citrus softens a bit as the fragrance progresses, but no drastic development from there. The aldehydes give the scent a fizzy cola carbonation feel the entire duration of the scent, so I completely understand the comments about root beer and cream soda. Sillage is above average and lasting power is phenomenal - 24 hours on me!

Vanille 44 is a nice, safe scent, but I can see many vanilla fans being disappointed. If you're not expecting vanilla when you sniff this, then you may enjoy it more at first sniff. I am a vanilla fan and was disappointed at first, but now I love it. It's a great vanilla to wear in the heat.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 airubgirl on 1/26/2012 2:30:00 PM more reviews by airubgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This is a vanilla fragrance that is smokey and sexy without being sweet or foody at all. It swirls around you like the finest incense with the vanilla coming into play in the heart and even then it never overwhelms the entire fragrance. The vanilla provides a softness, a supporting role as opposed to the main star and it works well. All the notes seamlessly meld into one another without any of the little transitional hiccups that can occur with some scents. This fragrance just seems to smoulder on my skin, very soft and sultry never ever making me think of food. It is not at all powdery on me, but dry and smooth. This is one I could see wearing in the summer as well as the winter. Formal attire or jeans. So sad it can only be purchased in Paris, but when I get there this spring I will be bringing a bottle home for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 liangaf1 on 1/6/2012 3:36:00 PM more reviews by liangaf1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Like my love of makeup, I have a massive love of perfumes. I wish I were a one-scent woman, but I like a variety, and tend to buy multiple perfumes. I purchased this one during November when Le Labo was providing online shopping access to their exclusive city scents, and I purchased the 1.7 oz size without ever sniffing it first. It took a bit of a gulp before finalizing the purchase - $300 for an unsniffed scent is tough! So to start, yes, when the bottle is empty, I would send it back to them for a refill (I love that they refill the bottles, and for the city exclusive scents, they will refill those as well). The scent is a more 'manly' version of vanilla, not all sweetness and sugar. There's a dark undertone that's hard to describe. To me I have trouble really noticing it late in the day (it seems to fade) and I get the sense it's a light smell, but I have had occasional people comment on it. I wish I loved it enough for it to be 'the one' but I am glad it's part of my collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ajblondie on 11/27/2011 1:21:00 PM more reviews by ajblondie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am still kicking myself that I ordered a sample of this perfume, 6 plus the fact that I could only buy it during November should have sounded very loud alarm bells in my head but oh no I was sucked in with the exclusive only through November pr that le labo use. I sprayed and did exactly what I told myself I should not do and that was fall in love with, I am not a lover of out and out vanillas, for example l'artisan is way too vanilla for me, Le Labo have managed to do something really special with their vanilla, it twists and turns as you wear it, sometimes there is a sweet almost creamy floral aspect to it then next there is the woods and smoky aspect, always with a faint underlying creamy vanilla.
I then checked the prices, as I only have 3 more days if I want to buy it, I wanted to cry but I still want it, maybe the small 15ml bottle will keep me happy for now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FeeFee34 on 10/8/2011 1:04:00 AM more reviews by FeeFee34

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Dearest wallet, dearest savings and account, and dear, dear paycheck, I have some excellent news for all of you. You will not be obliterated, depleted, or utterly ravaged in any attempt to obtain a bottle of Vanille 44.

I love me some good vanilla and have wanted to try this forEVAS. And it's nice. Vanilla, incense, woods. It's dry, more of a falltime scent, and, unfortunately, markedly masculine on me. It's not an unpleasant scent, but unfortunately this isn't as soft and mouth-watering as I'd like. Apparently I'm really not a fan of incense in fragrance, because this is too dry, with too much incense and woods, for my taste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheEmpress on 12/11/2010 12:59:00 PM more reviews by TheEmpress

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have to be honest. I'm a vanilla lover and have sampled sooo many of them. Finally got my hands on a decant Le Labo-Vanille 44. I have to agree with some reviewers. This is a very soft, subtle skin fragrance. Although it is said to be unisex, I believe it leans slightly on the masculine side. You have to douse yourself in it to smell it. The lasting power is about one hour. I've found Le Labo Vanille 44 to be no different from some of the newer smoky, woody and boozy vanilla's. Trust me....Guerlain, the Montales, Serge Lutens and others have done it much better since then. Definately not worth the hoopla or the price they were once asking and still asking for small decants.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blr360 on 1/29/2010 4:59:00 PM more reviews by blr360

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is indeed a cuddly, serene scent. It was initially very vanilla on me, then faded to the woodsy base and blended with my skin after about an hour when it was skin but better. I wish the vanilla stage lasted longer, but otherwise this is perfect!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 willy56 on 12/15/2009 8:03:00 AM more reviews by willy56

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Blue    

Le Labo Vanille 44 has become my new signature fragrance- before this TF Tobacco Vanille. A smooth ,creamy,subltle, madagascar vanilla that settles on my skin like a cashmere blanket on a cold winter day. So smooth, warming and luxurious. At this point I have decants and lucky to have them-so hard it is to get a full bottle!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Le Labo products

More Fragrances products