Cover Girl • CG Smoothers Concealer • Concealers

rated 3.7(287 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 karlabee96 on 11/4/2014 5:50:00 PM more reviews by karlabee96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Okay so I really love this concealer and I wish I didn't lol mostly cause of its price its like $5-$6 dollers and my local Walmart for only 4 g. Of product. . So I constantly have to be buying it again ! I have it in color illuminator and thats the only color I ever buy it in ! It makes my eyes look awake and pretty and my face a lot brighter! :) its so easy to appy its so smooth and super blendable !!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PMAR on 8/21/2014 4:27:00 PM more reviews by PMAR

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Such a cute cosmetic!
I usually buy high-end concealers, but all of them would crease! I even tried the Amazing! concealer and that also creased. I was pretty fed up with it, and thought this time around I'll try a drugstore brand. I searched high and low for the best reviews and came across the CG Smoothers concealer. I am so happy I did because this doesn't crease at all. It is easy to put on, not heavy at all, it glides smoothly and blends easily. It does dry fast so make sure to blend as soon as you apply. I use a concealer brush to blend, but a finger works too. I have dark circles that I cannot get rid of. This concealer masks them, and makes it look very natural.

To set my concealer, I use Laura Mercier brightening powder. Just a dab of the powder seals my makeup and it lasts longer, too. So I use a drugstore concealer and a high-end powder. Crazy, but this combination works amazing for me.

I'm almost out of the concealer and wanted to try something else, but I can't get over the fact that it doesn't crease. I am truly sold on this product and will continue to buy again. Give it a chance- it may not be for everyone but it works for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 starlight38 on 6/10/2014 1:38:00 PM more reviews by starlight38

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I've trusted this concealer for years! It is great for blemishes and hyper pigmentation, providing medium to full coverage. However, like others have said, it isn't the best for under eye circles. It does, however, brighten up your eyes. I can easily find this when I need more, the price is right, and the packaging is convenient for traveling (though maybe not the most hygienic). The color selection is pretty good and the texture of the product is smooth. A great basic concealer, especially for a first time concealer user. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kwb on 4/29/2014 5:03:00 PM more reviews by kwb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I used this stuff for years, it wasn't my HG, but definitely better than anything I'd tried (up to and including 50 and 60 and even 70$ concealers from high end brands, waste of money, frankly), as well as multiple drugstore concealers. The reason I liked it for so long was the consistency and the texture of it. I used it throughout highschool during my awful cystic acne/Accutane phase, where my skin was very oily, then very dry, and just a mess everywhere. It is very creamy, has good coverage, and stayed put some days...I would say for about 4 hours it's okay, unless it's crazy humid or hot out (but I'm Canada, so that's like only a month or two out of the year, not a big concern for me). The reason I ultimately switched (well, other than the fact that I mayyyy have found my HG concealer, a bit early to tell yet), is first of the all, the colours suck. Just awful, WAY too pink, or orangey, and quite dark. I'm not a pale person and I had to go to the lightest shade so it wouldn't look weird, but again, very very very pink. My skin is very yellow toned, so I had to wear foundation over this to cover that fact up, and I despise foundation, so I was never happy about that. Otherwise it looks like I had pink blotches everywhere. That was my biggest gripe. The coverage was good, but not perfect. My skin is actually pretty good these days, but I'd have to put two or three layers on to cover my spots/redness, which runs the risk of getting cakey (which it has on some days). Since my skin is more dry than oily these days, I also find it looks awful on dry skin. It looks fine at first, but as it dries, it accentuates the patches and flakes like crazy...and this is after exfoliating and moisturizing. I would often redo my entire face at work (washing and moisturizing) just because the dryness looked so much worse than it actually was. For the price however, if it kind of matches your skin tone and you're not super duper dry, it's a decent drugstore concealer. It does the job it promises to do, and much better than other drugstore concealers, was super easy to apply when I was first dealing with covering up acne and was a makeup noob, and it never ever broke me out or aggravated my existing pimples, but the colour choice and dryness issue became too much for me. It has been faithful to me, but I've finally found something that works much better. (If you're wondering - Vichy Dermablend Foundation Stick, wonderful stuff).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KJette on 2/22/2014 2:07:00 PM more reviews by KJette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Blargh, I really wanted this to work for me! I'm fair with yellow undertones and bad dark circles, and I had hoped this product could save me. I bought it in the 'Neutralize' shade, but it was just weirdly light and greyish yellow on me. Unfortunately the rest of the colours had pink and salmon undertones which weren't going to work. The formula itself isn't bad, good coverage and pretty smooth (but I found it a bit drying). I love the packaging, how simple and quick it is to use. Unfortunately our love just wasn't meant to be.

If you find a colour that matches your skin, I bet it's great! However, for my neutralizing needs I now go to Maybelline Dark Circle Treatment in Neutralizer, which is a more flattering shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rdo on 1/31/2014 3:31:00 PM more reviews by rdo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Moderate coverage, creamy and blendable

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maynek22 on 1/19/2014 2:28:00 PM more reviews by maynek22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really love this. I am very fair-skinned so use the the neutralizer shade. It covers my dark circles without a cakey residue. In the past I used another CG product (I don't remember what it was, but it came in a container with a sponge wand applicator), but I had often had milia around my eyes. I don't have that issue with this product. Convenient packaging too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashley54501 on 1/2/2014 5:15:00 AM more reviews by ashley54501

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this concealer. It covers my dark circles well, and looks very natural. It doesn't feel heavy or look cakey. I haven't had any issues with it creasing or drying out my skin. Despite being in a stick form, it is creamy and easy to blend. I would consider it medium coverage. It also works good on blemishes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkglitterca24 on 1/1/2014 9:54:00 PM more reviews by pinkglitterca24

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this concealer! It is so smooth and creamy. The best part about it is that it just glides on and you don't feel it on your skin. I am in 715 Medium and I bought this because I had a coupon for Cover Girl and needed a new concealer. I actually read the reviews on this website before purchasing and I am so happy I did. My severe dark circles look so bad and this concealer perfectly covers them up. For maximum and long lasting coverage, I use two layers. My freaking dark circles make me look like a zombie and I am so insecure. When I have on the concealer, I look much better and the color matches me perfectly! I dont even use powder because it doesn't crease AT ALL :) It is an amazing product that I need to repurchase again soon. You need this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xenobia1968 on 10/18/2013 10:14:00 PM more reviews by xenobia1968

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

In a previous post I said I didn't use any other covergirl cosmetics, but I forgot about this! How could I forget this?!?! I use Revlon colorstsay in buff as my foundation. OK, so this is how I do it. You know those stupid, red zits that simply won't cover up with ANYTHING?!?! Well, after I put my foundation on and let it set, I take the very tip of this concealer and "dot" it on the blemish. I never blend it, move it, smudge it or anything like that. Just dot and go. It is amazing at covering any imperfections. My only gripe would be that if you accidentally brush against it, it will come off. That's why I carry it with me :-) I can just dab the spot again and go. Love this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Concealers products