Boots • Expert Anti-Blemish Serum • Treatments

rated 3.5(29 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 CourtL128 on 9/11/2013 10:36:00 PM more reviews by CourtL128

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is effective, cheap and doesn't irritate my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Nemezienna on 2/9/2013 10:52:00 AM more reviews by Nemezienna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

After my sister had told me great things about the Boots line of skincare, I decided to give this serum a try. I initially wanted their scar serum for my acne scars but accidentaly grabbed this one instead but decided it might work just as well. Boy was I wrong! This product just did not work for me. After only two or three uses, I started to break out like crazy on the areas of my face where I applied this to so i'm POSITIVE this serum was the culprit! I still have an entire bottle of it left so maybe i'll give it another go in the future, but for now, NO THANK YOU BOOTS.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 qisme615 on 8/9/2012 6:46:00 PM more reviews by qisme615

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was breaking out but couldn't use benzyol peroxide anymore (allergic reaction occurred). I had bought this awhile back but forgot about it on the shelf.
I read the reviews here and figured to try it, worse is that I would still have my breakouts.
I read that with salicylic acid/willow bark takes awhile to work and that you would experience purging. And on the bottle it says to use it up to 4 weeks to see results.
So the first couple of days I noticed I was getting more breakouts. The type you could feel but can't see (those were on the side of my cheeks). I had a whole bunch on my forehead which was obvious. I was freaking out. Usually I would stop a product because it wasn't working right away. This time I decided to stick with it and see if there were any results.
I'm also using the Boots (Organic) night time moisturizer (the one that has rosemary in it) and also their day time moisturizer (Organic line too) with SPF 12, but I put on Clarins SPF 40 too.
My prior breakouts might have been due to using moisturizers that were too heavy for my skin. So it clogged my pores.
Slowly but surely the breakouts were going away. It wasn't overnight or 2 weeks. It's a little over a month now and I'm ecstatic that I stuck with it and not just jump to the next product. I have tons of skincare products which are only half used. I still get little pimples here and there but it is much better than before. This helps dries it out (it doesn't dry out my face though) and I can feel it when I'm washing my face.
However, for the big red pimples I use this along with the Bye Bye Pimple (it has willow bark and sulfer). Just a dab of the BBP (it's pink but who cares) and the next AM, wow, it's smaller and not getting bigger.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zernelle on 7/10/2012 2:30:00 PM more reviews by zernelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this serum when I forgot to pack my usual serum while traveling. I generally don't need anything more moisturizing than a serum on my combination skin, but this product actually makes my face feel dry and tight, so I have to follow with a more moisturizing product. It doesn't irritate my skin or cause breakouts, but it also doesn't seem to do anything to prevent acne either. Overall, I'm unimpressed.

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Salix Nigra (Willow Bark) Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Polyacrylate, Citric Acid, Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol, Methylparaben, Sodium Citrate, Aloe Barbadensis Extract, Lupinus Albus Seed Extract, Tetrasodium EDTA, Carbomer, Polysorbate 20, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Propylparaben, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide 7, Isobutylparaben.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Whenandwhere on 4/3/2012 12:52:00 PM more reviews by Whenandwhere

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this serum for a month now and finally feel like I can give an accurate review.

My skin is acne-prone and for the past three months I have had some pretty bad breakouts on my chin and cheeks along with a few very small zits on my forehead. I thought to try this product because I was looking for a light BHA that would not be too harsh and I liked the small ingredient list on this product. I had never used any Boots or Boots Expert products before so I was going out on a limb with this one.

I use this morning and night right after my cleanser (Olay Foaming for Sensitive) and it is a thin clear substance that is more liquid than gel. I use one pump for my entire face and neck. It doesn't smell and it doesn't sting, which I find a plus.

After 2 weeks of use, my forehead and cheek acne cleared up. I have gotten NO new breakouts on those parts of my face. Can I get a hallelujah!?!? However I am still having some chin breakouts... But no cysts since starting this product. It isn't a miracle product but it surely is helping. For my chin, I am starting a new BCP because I suspect my issues are hormonal. I will update if anything changes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kmp72479 on 2/20/2012 7:24:00 PM more reviews by kmp72479

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not usually this harsh about a product, but this stuff was terrible! I've been using Neutrogenia 3-in1 Acne Stress Control Treatment which is great but it was discontinued, so I was looking for a substitute and tried this product. The day after trying this product I developed one pimple, then the next day two more, and the next another! I NEVER have that kind of an issue with breaking out. I quit using the Boots Serum after that and used the tiny bit of Neutrogenia 3-in-1 Treatment left and the little bit of Juice Beauty Blemish Serum I had to get by. I now bought four bottles of my discontinued Neutrogenia product on Amazon and am using the AcneFree 3-in-1 Acne Night Repair in the mean time. My experience with Boots Anti-Blemish Serum was awful and anything but anti-blemish! I wouldn't recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* muffingrl on 6/2/2011 5:30:00 AM more reviews by muffingrl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product didn't work for me at all. Prior to this, I was using the Neutrogena Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 treatment which works great, but I wanted to try something new. After reading some reviews on MUA I picked it up at Target for under $10. The serum does come in a pump bottle which is nice and convenient, but you can't see through the plastic to check how much you have left. The product is scentless and lightweight. My main complaint is that it did nothing for my skin. It certainly didn't harm my skin, but it didn't treat my spots either, so I guess I'll be going back to my Neutrogena.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tiinnhh on 5/29/2011 1:37:00 PM more reviews by tiinnhh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was an impulse buy at Target a few weeks ago. I had quite a few active breakouts at that moment so I purchased this and used it day and night in addition to may 5% BP spot treatment. After a few days I noticed a reduction in breakout size so I stopped the BP and stuck with this serum. i have been using this religiously day and night for two weeks on its own and my skin has not only cleared up wonderfully, but it is also smooth and supple. This product is truly amazing & a total steal at only $8. I highly recommend everyone try it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Crivera313 on 4/4/2011 5:24:00 PM more reviews by Crivera313

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this product doesn't improve my skin nor make it better I wouldn't re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flauros on 3/29/2011 5:30:00 PM more reviews by flauros

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is really helping my skin improve. I use this after cleansing my face at night and in the morning and it has stopped the formation of new blemishes. I went through a few months of lots of blemishes popping up for no reason, and this has helped clear my face up again. I definitely recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Boots products

More Treatments products