MAC • Slimshine - Missy • Lipstick

rated 4.2(31 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ElaineLuvsMakeup on 10/3/2010 4:18:00 AM more reviews by ElaineLuvsMakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm very picky about lip products - I think about 80% of my lip glosses to lip sticks rarely get touched after the first or second uses.

That said, I think I've used Missy the most out of all the lip sticks I've ever owned. I guess it isn't really like a lipstick, but I like how it doesn't dry out my lips and it makes me look less like a zombie. Great for transitioning into lipsticks for someone like me who prefers lip glosses. I bought Missy after I'd bought High 90's, which was a bit too bright for me to wear everyday. Missy is more of an everyday color for me and I do wear it a lot.

I'm about an NC25-30 (35 if I tan), with neutral to yellow undertones. This is a wonderful color that doesn't make me look washed out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 happywoman28 on 5/19/2010 11:20:00 AM more reviews by happywoman28

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my all time favortite summer lipstick.
I have pale skin, deep blue eyes and dark blond hair and this
pale smooth coral is what I've always searched for but never
found until now.
It is that sheer, orangey see through, shiney bright pop on my
lips that makes my whole face light up.
I have very pigmented lips and usually have my natural lip color
show through and ruin whatever color I apply to them, but no
problem with that here,. And yes it does appear sheer, not heavy, so that's quite a trick.

Love love love this. I just wish there were more product in the little tube. If I use this every day it will be gone in a month so I'm saving it for when I need to look gorgeous. Now if I can just find a matching, sheer orangey blush to match.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mschumps on 5/7/2010 12:28:00 PM more reviews by mschumps

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Such a lovely colour! I'm Asian, with medium, olive-based skin, and this buttery coral-pink lipstick works well with my skin tone. It's a thick formula that applies pretty sheerly. It's buildable, so you can layer it on for more pigment.

Lasting power - okay to pretty good. Def need to reapply after eating.
Smell - none, really
Moisturizing? - yes
Finish - non-sparkly sheen that gives your lips a nice glow.

Sadly, the Slimshine line is being discontinued so get your Missy or favourite shade soon . . .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 skimcap on 5/5/2010 10:42:00 AM more reviews by skimcap

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I received this as a gift, its a pretty nice coral pink lipstick. I found that the shade was a bit too cool even though in the tube it looks warmer than it is. It also is a bit drying and the staying power isn't that great.
For anyone who wants a sheer cool coral lipstick then this is a good colour for them but I do advise applying a lip balm with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Juliasyji on 4/20/2010 5:21:00 PM more reviews by Juliasyji

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am so sad that they discontinued this. Missy was my go-to lipstick. I finished missy in one month. That's how much I love it! and I never ever finish make up like EVER!
This had the right amount of color and shine. It kept my lips really hydrated and felt velvety smooth going on.
Great staying power too!
But what I really loved about missy was the color!
It was such a pretty peachy, coral, orange that just looked so natural while making your lips pop for a burst of vibrant touch. It looked nice with natural eye make up as well as darker smokey look too.
It was simply one of the best.
R.I.P

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lookupitzcybill on 4/6/2010 5:28:00 PM more reviews by lookupitzcybill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm LOVING this slimshine!!! It's definitely close to HG for a coral/pink lippie! Great for spring and summer, basically whenever the sun is out! Application is smooth and this lippie is quite pigmented; I just dab it onto my lips or lightly go over them. I find that this color is very similar to MAC Shy Girl (except without the frosty appearance) and similar to MAC Fresh Salmon lipstick (minus the glitter/gritty feel of the lipstick). I'm about an NC40 or a bit lighter and it's looking great! Brings a pop of color, but not too bright! I definitely see this looking great on lighter skin tones! Looks somewhat natural. It does have a somewhat orange undertone but don't let that scare you! Just don't over apply this lippie.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Heechul on 1/8/2010 9:13:00 PM more reviews by Heechul

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Slimshines are like buttery-smooth lipsticks and I do love them for that sheer look. However I think it's smarter for me to stick with the lighter shades (like Missy) rather than the dark reds or plums in this line since they're so creamy.

If you have wrinkled lips, they will definetely seep into the lines.

The color is bright, fresh, and actually quite deep orange if you layer it on.

I like the overall effect but sometimes it looks too deep of an orange over my pigmented lips, since the slimshines do play on your natural lipshade.

If you want a more pigmented version of Missy, you should try Ravishing (cremesheen), or CB96(?)(MAC frost).

Very lovely color, not sure about repurchasing, but great orange that I'll pick up if I never need it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 linhn92 on 12/31/2009 2:20:00 AM more reviews by linhn92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A really nice, flattering, sheer pink/coral color. I'd repurchase if it wasn't discontinued right after I bought it. The formula is really smooth, but also extremely soft. I'm pretty sure with constant use, this would be gone in no time. So it doesn't get a lot of love, just because I don't want to use it all up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ragazza on 11/24/2009 9:08:00 PM more reviews by ragazza

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Love this lippie. It's sheer, moisturizing and has good staying power. I always pair this lipstick with MAC's eyeshadow quad, Natural Flare (LE). It's sooo pretty!! I would definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bernboo on 10/5/2009 1:56:00 PM more reviews by bernboo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful coral color that glides on smoothly. Very moisturizing. The only con about this is that the lippie is so fragile that it tends to break off a bit on the slant. I have 3 slimshine colors and all seem to be pretty amazing. Pigmentation is not the greatest but it does the job and I prefer the glossy look of these to regular drying lipsticks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products