Chanel Beaute Initiale Energizing Multi-Protection Cream SPF 15

3.6

32 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/9/2011 10:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this as a winter cream. It feels light but is hydrating. It feels very thick and creamy to me, like a cloud, not oily at all. It has a beautiful light scent - roses maybe? - and it doesn't make my sensitive skin break out. I'd recommend this to someone young with combo/dry skin who wanted a low spf, because it doesn't have that many anti-aging benefits, but it makes skin look quite fresh and radiant. Chanel <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/9/2011 10:10:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

unstable sunscreen.... avobenzone mixed with octinoxate...spf lasts about 60 minutes in the sun....not a good spf protection

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/2/2011 4:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This product essentially claims to moisturize, prevent early signs of aging, and revitalize the skin. Even with the hefty price tag of $75, I don't think it's a bad deal if this one product can do all that. Unfortunately, it doesn't. I have combination skin with an oily t-zone and dry cheeks. I don't consider myself to have super dry skin, yet I don't find this product moisturizing enough for the evenings. Plus, it contains SPF 15, which is puzzling because Chanel does not offer a night version of this cream. Not only it is not moisturizing enough, I also don't see any signs of revitalization despite the Chanel lady assuring me that this was going to make me look like I get 8 hours of sleep every night. My skin doesn't look brighter, or even better for that matter, and I've been using this product for six months. As for anti-aging, I'm not sure; I think I would have to use it for number of years before seeing any visible evidence. Currently, I am using it as a day cream to wear under my foundation. I have the pump bottle, which is convenient and hygienic. I like the consistency of it since it's not too thick or thin and blend easily into the skin, yet it's not too oily. It also sinks into the skin very quickly, which is good because I don't have time in the mornings to sit around waiting for my moisturize to sink in before putting on makeup. Also, there is a soft perfume scent that disappears after application, and I find it quite pleasant. As a day cream, this is a pretty decent product but so are many others and for less than half the price. As such, I'm going to have to pass on this one the next time around.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2011 11:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Got a sample of this with my perfume purchase and I've been using it every night for a week. Overall, I don't notice an improvement in my skin. I've gotten better results with Avalon Organics Vitamin C Cream and St Ives Renewal Cream (with AHA and BHA). Not only are those two more effective, they are much cheaper. I don't mind paying for quality but this is not good quality. It's heavily fragranced, which I find unnecessary in a skincare product. I'm acne-prone and it doesn't break me out but that's all I can say for it.


on 2/3/2011 10:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I dont know, i am on the fence about this product.
I find Chanel skincare generally quite good, and so when i needed a new day cream i decided to switch it up instead of using the usual clarins multi active day cream. i chose this one because i wanted one that contained SPF.
texture - its quite a rich thick cream, but it gets absorbed quickly. however, like the previous reviewer, i feel like there is a "film" that is left over my face immediately. give it another 10mins and it is not as tacky. in fact, i find it is a good base for makeup. it smells quite strong but not in an unpleasant way. SPF products also tend to be scented a bit more heavily as the SPF itself can smell quite unpleasant to some.
Packaging - i like the packaging but i find it very cumbersome and takes up a lot of space. not good for travelling at all.
overall, after a few weeks, it is very mediocre. I dont think it is worth the price...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/17/2011 2:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I usually love Chanel products, but this was a huge disappointment. I was expecting this to be comparable to Age Delay since the SA told me this was supposed to be AD's replacement. This was a huge step backwards for Chanel. This product sits on top of the skin and doesn't seem to sink in for a while, even after massaging it in. The scent is nice, but a bit too strong. I did not feel like my skin was soothed or quenched. For the price of $75, I was expecting something much better. Will not repurchase. I will most likely take this back and exchange it for Hydramax serum.


on 12/13/2010 8:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Black

I really don't like to spend this much on creams, but my skin became desperate this winter season. I have normal/combo skin and I started getting flaky around my cheek area and I initially purchased Clinique and it didn't help at all. So I decided to give this a try since I've had such great experience with their Age Delay line years ago and now I'm glad that I purchased this instead.

Anyway, imho, this is a little thick but when applied, it sinks in to my skin easily and doesn't leave a greasy touch at all. The next day my skin still feels moisturized and in 3 days the flakiness disappeared from my cheek area. The flakiness was actually there for about 2 weeks now and the Clinique moisturizer did not help at all. This cream is lightly fragranced but not overwhelming.

The packaging is nice too. Comes in the classic Chanel jar with shiny black lid.

Would definitely purchase this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/22/2010 2:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

At first I have got a sample, and it was perfect. So I decided to purchase the full size. After two days of usage I got huge acne pimples all over my face. This is a pity. The sample was perfect. Have to through away whole pot :-(


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using the pump version for a couple of weeks now and I like this a lot. I have sensitive skin so the SPF in it does tingle a bit, but then it goes away (ALL products containing SPF do this to me). It absorbs nicely, does not leave my face greasy and my skin feels soft and velvety. This is heavy enough to moisturize dry areas, but not so heavy that it leaves my skin shiny and it does not appear to be clogging my pores. I work out a lot and have noticed my face sweats normally with this product and during workouts it does not feel thick or heavy on my face.
....
I gave this 4 lippies due to the price......a bit outrageous, but I do feel like this will last a long time.
....
**EDIT/UPDATE (11/14): I purchased the jar to use for winter months as the pump is not heavy enough. Both versions work excellent on my skin however, I will have to switch between the two for the seasons (which is normal for most people).
....
After two months of use, the SPF is no longer bothering me and my skin has cleared up from previous breakouts (I never have a lot of breakouts anyway, but I've had even less using Chanel; I was using ProActiv). My skin is still really smooth, especially under make-up and it keeps my make-up looking fresh all day. For this, I can deal with the price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have the pump bottle version and love the hygienic packaging. I also love whats inside! I used to use Liz Earle Skin Repair but got so sick of using loads of make-up to take away the shine it left, it just didn't sink in, also it didn't contain an SPF which I didn't like. I got a sample of this moisturiser with a purchase and gave it a try. Ilove that it sinks in easily and quickly leaving my skin soft and non-greasy. It has a beautifull delicate floral scent which I also love. It's a pleasure to use everyday and while it is almost 3x the price of the Liz Earle it does 3x the jobs - moisturising, SPF and matte. Will definatly repurchase although suspect this will take a while since a little goes a very long way!


Back to Top