Rimmel Fix and Perfect Foundation Primer

3.0

521 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Propylene Glycol, Phenyl Trimethicone, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Dimethicone, Polyethylene, Talc, Dimethicone PEG 10/15 Crosspolymer, Magnesium Sulfate, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Lauryl PEG 9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Lecithin, Fragrance, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Methylparaben, Gossypium Herbaceum Powder (Cotton), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, Silica, Dipropylene Glycol, Tocopherol (Natural Vitamin E), Triethoxycaprylylsilane, BHT, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Butylphenyl Methypropional, Benzyl Salicylate, Linalool, Geraniol, Alpha Isomethyl Ionone, Citronellol, May Contain ( /-): Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Mica (CI 77019), Chromium Oxide Green (CI 77288), Ultramarines (CI 77007)


on 2/2/2015 11:29:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to like this.... But unfortunately i did nothing for making my foundation stay on longer.... If Anything it made me even more oily.



on 1/18/2015 6:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This literally burns my skin every time I put it on. And it makes my skin take on an awful color. It's definitely not one of Rimmel's best. Tried the Stay Matte Primer and that worked an awful lot better.


on 12/13/2014 11:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this and used it a few times and threw it out cause it broke me out badly.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

It's alright, I found that the undertone was too red for my yellow-toned skin and I assumed that the colour would blend in since it's just a primer and not a foundation or a BB cream. I does the job and keeps foundation sticking on for a little longer, not as long as other primers tough. Good for beginners.


on 9/13/2014 6:26:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This primer is ok. It's more of a BB cream, in my opinion. The color is a bit frightening at first, but it blends in. It's affordable, so it's worth trying. I prefer L'Oreal magic perfecting base. But if you have decent skin and on a budget then give this one a go.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my favourite primer by far. I wear it every day & it has not failed me. I have used MAC, Napoleon & many other brands but this Rimmel wonder is far superior. With other brands I had issues with breakouts. I love the slight peach tint, it gives a great base to work with. This product is also very affordable.


on 9/7/2014 8:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I want to start by saying that I have always had HORRID skin. I have had eczema since I was 4 months old and I'm also blessed with a moderate amount of acne as of a few years ago. About 2 years ago my eczema started flaring up on my face and nothing was helping it. Acne formed on top of that and so when it all cleared up I was left with scarring. This past summer my acne came back and I couldn't cover it up for the life of me...
Then I found this primer. I was skeptical because it's so inexpensive and my skin is terribly sensitive, but I was at the end of my rope to I gave it a chance. It did not irritate my skin at all! Nor does it break me out in pimples. This is coming from someone who can't even use regular Chapstick. It makes it smooth and my make-up looks so much better because of it.
This stuff gives a little bit of coverage which is an excellent base to start with. It does have an orange tinge but if you rub it in it shouldn't make a difference. I would say that this primer is better for people with darker skin tones. It also gives my foundations excellent staying power.
The only things that I don't like include how you couldn't see the color through the bottle and that it's a bit oily. Would not recommend for someone with oily skin.

In summation:
Pros: inexpensive, minimal coverage, lightweight, doesn't irritate/break out my skin, goes on smoothly, and gives makeup staying power.
Cons: bad packaging and a little oily.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I wasnt a huge fan of this. Of the two primers in the 'Fix and Perfect' line Rimmel has, I liked this one least. It is tinted, and it's not that dark, but it is dark enough to that it is darker than my skin and changes the color of my skin slightly. I found this primer to be pretty liquidy, and I like thicker primers. It wasn't terrible, I just felt like it didn't do much for my foundation.


on 8/4/2014 1:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like how this softly evens out my complexion. It is not makeup so don't expect much coverage from this as it is not its purpose. I wish it controlled my oil but it does make my skin look nice. So far out of ALL the primers I have used this is by far my favorite with Revlon in second. I do not use primers on a regular basis because I find them just an extra useless step in my routine. If they truly controlled oil then I would use one everyday but I have seen none that have yet to do that.


on 8/2/2014 11:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE TIME!

After watching a video on youtube that used this product I realized I was using this wrong, I had been trying to put on way too much. You really only need a teeny tiny bit, and when spread out it doesn't look orange. I put this under the L'Oreal True Match liquid foundation, and could not see it, and it helped prevent the foundation from getting dry/cakey around the base of my nose. I wouldn't recommend using this primer with powder foundation, as it stuck to it weirdly, but when used with a liquid foundation and applied very very sparingly it is okay. I would probably still not buy it again (I liked the feel of the clear gel one better, and the color of this one is kind of alarming) but I'm going to keep this after all.

---
Original review:
Arrrrgh. At Ulta I was getting tired and accidentally grabbed this instead of the clear gel primer I had tested (002, I think) -- the packages look almost the same except one is blue and one is purple. Anyway... I tried it.... it doesn't really do anything except make my skin orange. No noticeable difference in pores or smoothness. I usually use powder foundation (in a lighter shade than this) and the orange just makes it stand out and look cakey.. Do Not Want.

The packaging is fine but I wish you could see what color was in the tube.

I wouldn't buy it again, in fact I'm planning on returning it. :|

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top