L'Oreal • HIP Shine Struck Liquid Lip Color Reserved • Lip Gloss

rated 3.9(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shanplum on 8/31/2012 6:11:00 PM more reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a very beautiful browny/mauve/pink and I think this would suit all skintones as it carries the tones warm and cool and looks completely natural on the lip. Looks good with or without liner. These have a beautiful non-sticky creamy texture and that is saying alot as I am a gloss hater usually.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* steffmd25 on 11/27/2010 8:37:00 PM more reviews by steffmd25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is an excellent dupe for my MAC Song and Dance. No shimmer, just a brownish pink. Very pignented. It's a good nude color for WOC. I got this for $2.99 at CVS on clearance, I would never pay full price for these or BOGO. They could have made the applicator smaller. I have full lips, buy come on, the applicator is huge. Oh, another complaint, these need to be sealed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 WishDreamer on 11/12/2010 9:54:00 PM more reviews by WishDreamer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

smells really delicious and color comes on sheer but not to sheer.good coverage though got it on clearence at cvs but im glad i got it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anitag on 9/24/2010 4:30:00 PM more reviews by Anitag

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought 2 HIP Liquid lip colors and absolutely love them. Aswell as Reseved, I bought Pretentious (more browner).
They're a cross between a lipstick and gloss which I really like and the color payoff is very good, as a lot of drugstore glosses don't even show on my lips (i.e Maybelline).
Both of these come out natural shades on my pigmented two toned lips and manage to even them out. When they wear off after eating/drinking they still leave enough product so that I can see something (even if others can't!) and more importantly they don't dry out my lips, just moisturize without stickiness and are not 'over-shiny'. I don't particulary like the feeling of heavy lipstick and have dry lips during the winter months, these are not heavy at all.
The only thing that I dislike about them slightly is the fragrance - sweet cake batter, but thankfully, it fades soon after application.

I think these have been discontinued, as per usual, I find something I like and it gets binned!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LazyLittleLady on 9/8/2010 11:00:00 AM more reviews by LazyLittleLady

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I picked three of these l/g's on 75% discount. Reserved is my favorite of the three. It is a very creamy, a pinky-brown color and it is very opaque compared to many of the d/s l/g's. It definitely is work appropriate and a pretty nude, and smells like cake. Two things I don't like about it is it has a very bitter taste (umm, not that I'm actively tasting it) and the doe foot is kind of strangely shaped and seems to pick up too much product. I definitely don't think this gloss was worth anywhere near its original price but 75%...definitely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jhadiq on 6/25/2010 7:03:00 PM more reviews by jhadiq

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is one of the better drugstore glosses I've tried. The texture is somewhat close to NYX Megashines, which I like. This is smooth, slick, shiny, and unsticky. Feels very nice on the lips. Unfortunately, since it isn't very sticky, it also doesn't last very long on the lips. I like that this gloss is a nice opaque creme that goes on evenly. Props to L'Oreal for that, since many creme glosses seem to go on streaky on me. It seems to fill in the ridges, too. Comes in a standard tube with doe foot applicator. Smells and tastes like coconut/caramel, but the neither the scent nor taste is very strong, and quickly fades.

The color is a nude pinky-brown. "Reserved" is an apt name for this color. Very good, uncontroversial choice for work. I rather like it. Would I buy again? Hmmmm. Not sure. The texture is just a little too slippery than what I normally like. I'd probably try other colors if I could get them on clearance or on a BOGO, but would not pay the full $12 price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GuerlainAds on 5/20/2010 8:35:00 PM more reviews by GuerlainAds

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

NC35 here.

This is not bad but certainly not worth $12. The best thing about this gloss is that it smells like caramel and it's opaque and pigmented. The color selection isnt that great; most of the colors are pretty dark and muddy looking. That's what this color is: muddy-looking. It's a pinky-brown and that is the shade that I prefer for a MLBB look but I think there is too much brown for my taste and since its opaque, it looks even darker. It has a slanted doe-foot wand and it sucks: it deposits way too much product each time. Also, these glosses dont come sealed and I would check each gloss before buying if I were you to make sure that they werent tested before.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jujubot on 5/20/2010 7:51:00 PM more reviews by jujubot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was at the drugstore and didn't expect to buy anything. When I was looking at makeup, I noticed that this lip gloss was 75% off (original price was $12). I would not have bought it if it had not been on sale. When I got home, I tried it on, and I was really surprised.

I have darker tan skin, and I prefer nude color lip gloss (nothing that stands out too much). Reserved look good on me. I like that it was not sticky and that the texture was really smooth and creamy. Like other reviewers mentioned, the smell is sweet, kind of like caramel. It's not sheer---it's full color. So I am pleasantly surprised and would buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NuMama on 10/15/2009 10:41:00 PM more reviews by NuMama

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love the product, not the color. I've been hunting for what I consider a good nude gloss. This looked pink against my dark NC 45/50 skin and I don't do pinks. Otherwise, I like the coverage which is like a lightweight lipstick. It is initially shiny then the shine wears away. Color lasts a couple hours with no eating or drinking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Darkshadow on 8/29/2009 6:19:00 PM more reviews by Darkshadow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I will not buy this again simply because I do not enjoy it that much. It is a nice, nude color. But it irritates the back of my throat a bit. Not nice. I think the pigmentation is a bit much, as well. It just looks fake. Too creamy/heavy. A good dupe would be "wet" by Victoria's secret. It looks more natural, but it goes on a little lighter. I like that one better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Lip Gloss products