L'Oreal HIP Shine Struck Liquid Lip Color Reserved

3.9

14 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/31/2012 6:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a very beautiful browny/mauve/pink and I think this would suit all skintones as it carries the tones warm and cool and looks completely natural on the lip. Looks good with or without liner. These have a beautiful non-sticky creamy texture and that is saying alot as I am a gloss hater usually.



on 11/27/2010 8:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is an excellent dupe for my MAC Song and Dance. No shimmer, just a brownish pink. Very pignented. It's a good nude color for WOC. I got this for $2.99 at CVS on clearance, I would never pay full price for these or BOGO. They could have made the applicator smaller. I have full lips, buy come on, the applicator is huge. Oh, another complaint, these need to be sealed.


on 11/12/2010 9:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

smells really delicious and color comes on sheer but not to sheer.good coverage though got it on clearence at cvs but im glad i got it!


on 9/24/2010 4:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought 2 HIP Liquid lip colors and absolutely love them. Aswell as Reseved, I bought Pretentious (more browner).
They're a cross between a lipstick and gloss which I really like and the color payoff is very good, as a lot of drugstore glosses don't even show on my lips (i.e Maybelline).
Both of these come out natural shades on my pigmented two toned lips and manage to even them out. When they wear off after eating/drinking they still leave enough product so that I can see something (even if others can't!) and more importantly they don't dry out my lips, just moisturize without stickiness and are not 'over-shiny'. I don't particulary like the feeling of heavy lipstick and have dry lips during the winter months, these are not heavy at all.
The only thing that I dislike about them slightly is the fragrance - sweet cake batter, but thankfully, it fades soon after application.

I think these have been discontinued, as per usual, I find something I like and it gets binned!!!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I picked three of these l/g's on 75% discount. Reserved is my favorite of the three. It is a very creamy, a pinky-brown color and it is very opaque compared to many of the d/s l/g's. It definitely is work appropriate and a pretty nude, and smells like cake. Two things I don't like about it is it has a very bitter taste (umm, not that I'm actively tasting it) and the doe foot is kind of strangely shaped and seems to pick up too much product. I definitely don't think this gloss was worth anywhere near its original price but 75%...definitely!


on 6/25/2010 7:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think this is one of the better drugstore glosses I've tried. The texture is somewhat close to NYX Megashines, which I like. This is smooth, slick, shiny, and unsticky. Feels very nice on the lips. Unfortunately, since it isn't very sticky, it also doesn't last very long on the lips. I like that this gloss is a nice opaque creme that goes on evenly. Props to L'Oreal for that, since many creme glosses seem to go on streaky on me. It seems to fill in the ridges, too. Comes in a standard tube with doe foot applicator. Smells and tastes like coconut/caramel, but the neither the scent nor taste is very strong, and quickly fades.

The color is a nude pinky-brown. "Reserved" is an apt name for this color. Very good, uncontroversial choice for work. I rather like it. Would I buy again? Hmmmm. Not sure. The texture is just a little too slippery than what I normally like. I'd probably try other colors if I could get them on clearance or on a BOGO, but would not pay the full $12 price.


on 5/20/2010 8:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

NC35 here.

This is not bad but certainly not worth $12. The best thing about this gloss is that it smells like caramel and it's opaque and pigmented. The color selection isnt that great; most of the colors are pretty dark and muddy looking. That's what this color is: muddy-looking. It's a pinky-brown and that is the shade that I prefer for a MLBB look but I think there is too much brown for my taste and since its opaque, it looks even darker. It has a slanted doe-foot wand and it sucks: it deposits way too much product each time. Also, these glosses dont come sealed and I would check each gloss before buying if I were you to make sure that they werent tested before.


on 5/20/2010 7:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was at the drugstore and didn't expect to buy anything. When I was looking at makeup, I noticed that this lip gloss was 75% off (original price was $12). I would not have bought it if it had not been on sale. When I got home, I tried it on, and I was really surprised.

I have darker tan skin, and I prefer nude color lip gloss (nothing that stands out too much). Reserved look good on me. I like that it was not sticky and that the texture was really smooth and creamy. Like other reviewers mentioned, the smell is sweet, kind of like caramel. It's not sheer---it's full color. So I am pleasantly surprised and would buy this again.


on 10/15/2009 10:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love the product, not the color. I've been hunting for what I consider a good nude gloss. This looked pink against my dark NC 45/50 skin and I don't do pinks. Otherwise, I like the coverage which is like a lightweight lipstick. It is initially shiny then the shine wears away. Color lasts a couple hours with no eating or drinking.


on 8/29/2009 6:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I will not buy this again simply because I do not enjoy it that much. It is a nice, nude color. But it irritates the back of my throat a bit. Not nice. I think the pigmentation is a bit much, as well. It just looks fake. Too creamy/heavy. A good dupe would be "wet" by Victoria's secret. It looks more natural, but it goes on a little lighter. I like that one better.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top