Giorgio Armani • Luminous Silk Powder • Powder

rated 4.2(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 FrizzBgone on 6/8/2013 10:49:00 PM more reviews by FrizzBgone

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I use it with the Designing Lift Foundation. I have never been able to use powders. My skin is very dry and any powder I used emphasized that. I use the DLF in 2 and the Luminous Silk Powder in 4. The SA recommended the powder in the 4. She said I would be too pale with it in the 2. It is a perfect combination. My skin has a soft matte to satin finish. It doesn't look dry and the combination of the powder and foundation last all day. After about 8 hours, I will sometimes add some powder to touch it up. I use a fluffy powder brush to apply. I don't like the sponge that comes with it.

For reference: my skin is sensitive, dry & dehydrated, with some fine lines.

Highly recommend. I have already purchased a backup of both the foundation and the powder. Wouldn't be without it. I have also used the powder over other foundations and it has worked well; however, the Designer Lift Foundation is my current favourite.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dowagr on 2/16/2013 2:45:00 PM more reviews by Dowagr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I use it together with GA LSF. it really sets the foundation nicely, creating a smooth and silky finish. The powder is really fine and smooth, I like it a lot. Only issue i have is that it's really pricy for a powder cake of this size. I also do not like the black sponge that came with it. It doesn't pick up enough powder and doesn't spread on my face with ease. I use it with a La mer loose powder sponge and it works better that way. I am still looking for a right furry sponge to replace the original sponge, so I can bring this out for touching up. all in all, very please with it... I would definitely buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moomooknickers on 10/15/2012 6:32:00 AM more reviews by moomooknickers

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Awesome, just wish there were more of it in the compact because it applies generously. Looks fresh, professional and lasts. No irritations and doesn't clog pores. Use it over foundation rather than alone, unless touching up shine prone skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ihazcats on 9/21/2012 2:05:00 PM more reviews by ihazcats

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is my favorite setting powder yet. To those who are complaining that this does not give enough coverage... this is a SETTING powder meant to be used in conjunction with the Luminous fdnt (or any other one)

Beautiful, silky, does not settle into pores, lines, and simply provides me a lovely, matteish finish. It will not cake and is great to reapply with. It looks natural and although it is not amazingly long wearing (must reapply every 5-6 hours or so) It looks amazing during that time. It does provide me with a small amount of coverage so on my "good skin days" I will simply sweep this on for minimal coverage and a lovely polish to my face but this works great under any liquid foundation as well.

I have extremely sensitive, clog prone skin and this does not irritate it at all. Win!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cherryumbrella on 7/31/2010 12:20:00 AM more reviews by cherryumbrella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I have sensitive, combination type skin. This powder is pretty good, does not cake when melting off, stays on for about 4 hrs before touching up, and looks natural when it starts to come off. There are probably other cheaper powders out there that can do the same thing, but I have sensitive skin and would rather not take the chance. This feels abit drying on my cheeks (ok unless you have very dry skin on the cheeks area like me) but feels nice on my T-zone. I would buy this again despite the price, since it is non-allergenic and natural looking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chanel2110 on 4/24/2010 12:20:00 AM more reviews by chanel2110

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't think I'd buy this again. It's very, very light. Probably the silkiest powder I've ever used, and for that reason, it doesn't provide a lot of coverage. I liked it with LSF, but with any other foundation it just wouldn't work out. It looked pretty dull on my skin, and I used the shade 5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ibrusat on 1/16/2010 5:45:00 AM more reviews by ibrusat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Nothing special for me, very expensive. It looks cakey and the quality does not justify the high price tag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 doris2788 on 7/21/2009 7:38:00 PM more reviews by doris2788

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I use this powder in shade #4, and it works great. It is the best powder that I have ever used. It has a smooth, velvety texture, and it comes with a mirror and a sponge for easy application. For those of you that don't know, if you place the sponge in the compact, it fits perfectly. just put the leather side over the mirror, and close it. It also prevents the mirror from getting foggy ;] This powder claims to have micro-fil technology, so it doesn't set into fine lines. I use this over my sunscreen, I don't wear foundation, so I just wear this one product for a sheer coverage. It gives my skin a matte, radiant look. I would definitely buy this product again. The price isn't too high, plus it is all worth it.
P.S. I actually did a whole report on this, I compared this to one other powder, I typed up a whole page on a word document; but since I don't want to advertise, you can just message me if you want it :]

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 onmanee on 1/28/2009 2:36:00 AM more reviews by onmanee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have to say that I actually love this powder. I am using #4 light yellow undertone. I use this powder on my bare skin and with foundation the result is amazing! My skin look flawless. I am not sure about oil control since at the moment the weather is kind of cold so my skin don't get oily as much. The only thing that I don't like about this powder is the puff that come with it and the price but oh well it's GA. I don't use the puff but I use the powder brush to apply, the result is better. Yes, when I ran out I will repurchase it again. I wish they redesign the package with the half-moon brush with the double deck package it will be awesome.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 orangeislove2424 on 11/22/2008 2:25:00 AM more reviews by orangeislove2424

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this product a while agoin hopes that it would end my search for the perfect foundation. At first I was very excited because it was quite expensive, had great reviews, and came with some extra freebies. Though the packaging was pretty, it was a little hard to open. I had to stick my nail into the crack to pry the lid up, but it wasn't hard work or anything. it also came with the primer and LSF samples. They looked very small but last a lot longer than you'd expect. OK, pros and cons.

POWDER:
Pros: Looks really pretty when you put it on and blends in very nicely. It gives you a matte look, which simply makes your skin look flawless (at first) no glowyness or anything like that.

Cons: Up close it looked really obvious that there was powder on your face! Plus the coverage becomes really uneven, and it comes off really easily (every itch ends up making your face look like a quilt of covered and uncovered, and it's really obvious) Does not stay on long at all...3 hours I'd say.

LSF (over primer, under powder):

Pros: Helps to complete the "flawless" look just after you've put all your make-up on and check it out in the mirror. Blends pretty easily, but not very moisturizing for skin even though it is liquid.

Cons: After the powder came off it left this cakey, gross thing covered in LSF behind! My skin looked scaly almost, and it was really obvious and gross. Not a good look.

PRIMER (under both powder and LSF):

Pros: I don't really know...haha

Cons: You have to leave it on for a long time so it can dry and settle. If not, and sometimes when you do, you'll find yourself discovering little rolled up pieces of dried primer when you put on other make-up. Kind of like when you put a thin layer of glue on your hand and take it off when it's dry by rubbing it without your nail. Doesn't help things stay on longer.


Overall, not the best. But, I do have a really difficult skin type. I really was disappointed because I've been looking for a while, but it isn't awful. I guess it just isn't a layering product. Plus, I live in a really dry. cold climate in really high altitude...so that kind of doesn't help either!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Powder products