Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Powder

4.2

18 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

NYLON-12,TALC,ISODECYL NEOPENTANOATE,MAGNESIUM STEARATE,DIMETHICONE,PHENOXYETHANOL,ETHYLPARABEN,TRIMETHYLSILOXYSILICATE,TRIISOCETYL CITRATE,PROPYLPARABEN,ISOBUTYLPARABEN,CETYL DIMETHICONE,METHYLPARABEN,BUTYLPARABEN,IRON OXIDES,TITANIUM DIOXIDE,MICA


on 4/12/2015 7:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a powder that would help set my makeup yet add a little extra coverage to my face. I used this on top of the Giorgio Armani Lasting Silk Foundation and I found that it made me look way orange by lunch time! I normally use a shade lighter and the clerk insisted that it was...but it does' even remotely look anything like the other powders that I've used in the past. I do have to admit that it does work well with my skin (normal to oily combo skin - my t-zone is horrendous!). It doesn't make me oily and it doesn't dry me out. Nor does it gather/pool. I think that I"m a little harsh in my rating, but I think that oxidization to the point where I look like I had a bad spray tan on my face is a big no no. I think, sometime, in the future, I might try another shade, but for now, I'm going to stay away.
I wear shade 7 in Giorgio Armani Lasting Silk Foundation and Shade 5.5 in the Luminous Silk Powder.



on 4/2/2015 3:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It is great powder to use on the final stage of your makeup. Works good on my dry skin and didn't clog my pores. light finished but cover all the imperfections and bring glowing and luminious effect all day long without shiny look but i think the powder sponge is too thin.

Overall this powder is worthed to buy and you'll get what you pay for.



on 6/8/2013 10:49:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I use it with the Designing Lift Foundation. I have never been able to use powders. My skin is very dry and any powder I used emphasized that. I use the DLF in 2 and the Luminous Silk Powder in 4. The SA recommended the powder in the 4. She said I would be too pale with it in the 2. It is a perfect combination. My skin has a soft matte to satin finish. It doesn't look dry and the combination of the powder and foundation last all day. After about 8 hours, I will sometimes add some powder to touch it up. I use a fluffy powder brush to apply. I don't like the sponge that comes with it.

For reference: my skin is sensitive, dry & dehydrated, with some fine lines.

Highly recommend. I have already purchased a backup of both the foundation and the powder. Wouldn't be without it. I have also used the powder over other foundations and it has worked well; however, the Designer Lift Foundation is my current favourite.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/16/2013 2:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use it together with GA LSF. it really sets the foundation nicely, creating a smooth and silky finish. The powder is really fine and smooth, I like it a lot. Only issue i have is that it's really pricy for a powder cake of this size. I also do not like the black sponge that came with it. It doesn't pick up enough powder and doesn't spread on my face with ease. I use it with a La mer loose powder sponge and it works better that way. I am still looking for a right furry sponge to replace the original sponge, so I can bring this out for touching up. all in all, very please with it... I would definitely buy it again.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Awesome, just wish there were more of it in the compact because it applies generously. Looks fresh, professional and lasts. No irritations and doesn't clog pores. Use it over foundation rather than alone, unless touching up shine prone skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/21/2012 2:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is my favorite setting powder yet. To those who are complaining that this does not give enough coverage... this is a SETTING powder meant to be used in conjunction with the Luminous fdnt (or any other one)

Beautiful, silky, does not settle into pores, lines, and simply provides me a lovely, matteish finish. It will not cake and is great to reapply with. It looks natural and although it is not amazingly long wearing (must reapply every 5-6 hours or so) It looks amazing during that time. It does provide me with a small amount of coverage so on my "good skin days" I will simply sweep this on for minimal coverage and a lovely polish to my face but this works great under any liquid foundation as well.

I have extremely sensitive, clog prone skin and this does not irritate it at all. Win!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Fine

Eyes: Other

I have sensitive, combination type skin. This powder is pretty good, does not cake when melting off, stays on for about 4 hrs before touching up, and looks natural when it starts to come off. There are probably other cheaper powders out there that can do the same thing, but I have sensitive skin and would rather not take the chance. This feels abit drying on my cheeks (ok unless you have very dry skin on the cheeks area like me) but feels nice on my T-zone. I would buy this again despite the price, since it is non-allergenic and natural looking.


on 4/24/2010 12:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I don't think I'd buy this again. It's very, very light. Probably the silkiest powder I've ever used, and for that reason, it doesn't provide a lot of coverage. I liked it with LSF, but with any other foundation it just wouldn't work out. It looked pretty dull on my skin, and I used the shade 5.


on 1/16/2010 5:45:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Nothing special for me, very expensive. It looks cakey and the quality does not justify the high price tag.


on 7/21/2009 7:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I use this powder in shade #4, and it works great. It is the best powder that I have ever used. It has a smooth, velvety texture, and it comes with a mirror and a sponge for easy application. For those of you that don't know, if you place the sponge in the compact, it fits perfectly. just put the leather side over the mirror, and close it. It also prevents the mirror from getting foggy ;] This powder claims to have micro-fil technology, so it doesn't set into fine lines. I use this over my sunscreen, I don't wear foundation, so I just wear this one product for a sheer coverage. It gives my skin a matte, radiant look. I would definitely buy this product again. The price isn't too high, plus it is all worth it.
P.S. I actually did a whole report on this, I compared this to one other powder, I typed up a whole page on a word document; but since I don't want to advertise, you can just message me if you want it :]

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top